reviews for: listing #43129 - Washington, DC House rental

Newly Renovated & Ideally Located Home
  • bedrooms  4
  • pool  yes
  • type  House
  • baths 
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  12
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $275 - $300 /nt
    $1,925 - $1,925 /wk

sort by:

Great Home in DC

Review submitted: November 5, 2013   Date of arrival: October 3, 2013

We stayed here for three weeks with a very large group; it was comfortable, clean, and well located. To walk to the metro is very easy, and the shopping of Colombia Heights is less than a mile away; we did fine without a car. The only issues that we had were regarding hot water, internet, and the dishwasher, and Christian addressed all of our concerns quickly!

Recommend to any large groups that want to be able to spend time together in a home as well as get into downtown easily.

Recommended for: sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Had necessities...but

Review submitted: August 10, 2013   Date of arrival: June 22, 2013

We arrived on Saturday expecting someone to be there upon arrival. However, we got there got there, Christian just gave us the code to get into the lockbox and were able to get in. We took an inventory of house before going to the grocery store. There were no hand towels and wash clothes. There dish towels, but no dish clothes. We contacted Christian and he said he would be there by end of the day the next day. We decided to purchase our own and just take home with us. Also purchased toilet paper because there was not enough for 11 people for a week. In the bathroom on the main floor, the mirror sat on the back of the toilet. Hard to dry hair sitting there. Only the television in the living room had working cable. There were numerous light bulbs out, including the refrigerator light. There the outlets in one of the upstairs bedrooms didn’t work. One of the upstairs bedrooms had a closet, but no hanger rod. There were no kitchen garbage bags. We called Christian about the issues and he did come by and replace light bulbs and told us the situation on the other things. The back gate was heavy and required 2 people to negotiate it. Those are things that we adjusted to during the week. However, the place did have 12 bath towels, the bathrooms had hot water, and the free Wi-Fi was great, the dish washer worked. So the important things worked. If I was the owner and wanted to have good reviews, I would update some of these things and paint and other general maintenance. Given the fact that we already paid for the place, we were not going to leave. But, there were several complaints from the family about the place so we just had to deal with it.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Poorly Kept Property

Review submitted: July 25, 2013   Date of arrival: July 12, 2013

This property is horrible condition. Two of the upstairs bedrooms have sever water damage and the house smells like mold. Several of us got sick from the mold. There are no glass in front screen door and the yard was unkept an d full of weeds. The television in the living room was broken and other televisions did not have cable so we could not watch television for the week we were there, despite being advertised as having cable. The owner does not answer his phone and claimed to be out of town. He originally stated he would meet us at the property but failed to and left one key for 11 people renting a house in the lock box. I wouldn't recommend this hell hole to anyone.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Hidden Problems, but overall okay.

Review submitted: July 11, 2013   Date of arrival: May 8, 2013

My family gathered for a college graduation and renting this house was better for us than using hotel rooms. The common areas are spacious enough for daily meals and companionship for 10 - 14 people. We had a family dinner for 20 people and that also worked well. However, be aware of some issues.

My biggest concern is that our bed fell apart immediately. The slats were too short for the frame I called Christian on Thursday morning and he said he would fix it on Friday. It was not, however, even looked at until Sunday and we left on Monday. i asked Christian to provide some compensation for 4 nights of a broken bed. He ignored both of my requests.

My family all pitched in and we left the unit cleaner than when we arrived and I did receive my damage deposit back. It took 3 weeks, but I did get it.

A few other things to consider.
1. The distance from the metro train is a bit longer than most people want to walk (15 - 20 minutes), but there is a convenient bus just a short walk away.
2. The front porch has sunk about 6 inches making it a big step into the house. Fine for most of us, but a challenge for my 80-year-old aunt.
3. To get into the back means moving a large rock and a gate. Although one strong person can do this, the gate is about 10 feet across and needs to be lifted up to swing on the hinges. It's easier with 2 people.
4. The kitchen is not well supplied for 12 people to eat. Maybe enough plates, but only about 8 glasses and 3 coffee mugs. We purchased paper products to supplement.
5. There are odd things, like very few towel racks, needing to pull and extension cord into the bathroom to use a curling iron or hair dryer, a bedroom lamp in a room without any outlets, a closet without a cross bar ... so no way to hang clothing.
6. I didn't see any laundry detergent, but I did bring some. The dryer is anemic, so allow time for things to dry slowly.

It's an odd house. I think the owner could spend a little money and add a full length mirror, a towel rack or two, and get some more glasses and cups. But these things were annoying, not crucial.

Having wi-fi was great and the air-conditioning worked well. The basement was chilly and maybe could have used a couple of extra blankets, but we didn't see any.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

House was as represented but could use extra touch

Review submitted: November 16, 2011   Date of arrival: October 24, 2011

As a first time user of vacationrentals.com I became very nervous by the fact that it took the owner 3 1/2 weeks and repeated requests to confirm in writing that our final payment had been received and our reservation was secured. The house was very clean and well maintained. It was very spacious and accomodated our party of 8 well. The kitchen was well equipped for the occasional cooking we did and we enjoyed gathering in the dining and living areas. The metro station was a little ways from the house but once there access to the major sites was farely easy. As a friendly suggestion to the owner, I would say the house could use a few additions that would make it more occupant friendly. That being upgraded pillows, additional mirrors, and additional towel bars. There were 2 mirrors in the entire house and only one of those had an electrical outlet close by. It just made it somewhat difficult for 8 people trying to get ready in the mornings.

Owners response: Dear Karen,

Thank your for your review. A total of 12 towels and 12 bath towels are provided for this house and the washing machine and the clothes dryer are also provided in case you need to wash and dry the towels you have used. The metro is half of a mile away according to Google Map and can be relatively comfortable walking distance. There are actually 3 mirrors in the house one in each of the two bathrooms and another in the powder room. One of the bedroom has an extended electrical extension cord which could be used next to the mirror that don't have an outlet. You made your payment via a cashier check and we can only confirm reservation after the check clear and this is the reason it's always best to use other forms of payment such as by credit card or Paypal. I am not able to confirm when your reservation was confirmed but i must say 3.5 weeks excessive unless there was issue receiving your payment as it is our policy to confirm reservation immediately after a payment has cleared and this is done the same day if paid by credit card or Paypal. We will inspect the pillows and will replace them where needed. Again, thank you for your observations and I must assure you that we take them seriously.

Management

Helpful votes: 5 / 6

 

Very nice house

Review submitted: October 28, 2011   Date of arrival: October 8, 2011

We had 11 adults in our group and there was plenty of room for us all. The beds were very comfortable and with the 2 showers it was easy for everyone to get ready everyday. The wifi was very useful as everyone had their laptop with them. It was a nice walk to the metro (about 7 blocks) and to the bus (only 2 blocks). The off-street parking was great because we parked the cars when we got there and didn't use them again until we left (except to go to the grocery store). The house had everything we needed in the kitchen as we cooked dinner every night. We had a few questions when we first got there and Christian came over right away and fixed what needed fixing. I would definitely recommend this house to anyone visiting the DC area.

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Owners response: Toni, we are pleased the house worked well for you. The bus stop is actually on the next block at Kenyon and Georgia Avenue which is less than a full block from the house. The bus from there take you straight to downtown to most of the city's attractions. The Columbia Heights Metro is exactly six blocks away or within 10 minutes walk. Thank you for taking the time to share.

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Very Comfortable for large groups

Review submitted: August 9, 2011   Date of arrival: July 31, 2011

We had 5 adults and 5 children (4 to 11) staying in the house and the experience was very good. All of us had a clean comfortable bed to sleep in and the house was very comfortable for the week for all of us. We brought premade dinners with us and the kitchen was more than adiquate for those and to make hot breakfasts for all of us each morning. There was enough silver wear, dishes pots and pans and the dishwasher came in very handy. The wifi was very useful to all of us. One of the great points of the house was the clean safe space to park both our cars in the back yard behind a gate and off the street. We left the cars parked and walked the 4 or 5 blocks to the Metro each day. It was a bit of a walk but it was part of the adventure and there were no complaints. The air conditioning was a blessing.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Great value

Review submitted: March 30, 2011   Date of arrival: March 19, 2011

I'm really glad we found this house. It's very well kept and you can tell that its owner/manager keeps it up to date. Very convenient location as it's only a 10 minutes walk to the columbia heights subway station and all the shops you'll need while vacationing. The neighborhood is a little bit busy during the nights but very safe. The kitchen has all the amenities needed for cooking and eating. The living room has a tv and the house has wifi. There's off-street parking which turned out very convenient as DC had more parking regulations than I expected. Finally, Christian is a very diligent person, never ignored my calls and was very professional so I would recommend this house to any group going to DC

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

DC 43129

Review submitted: August 13, 2010   Date of arrival: July 20, 2010

We found the property to be very comfortable and suited the needs of our party of 12 very well. It was very clean and matched the description provided. The kitchen is nicely appointed with all the utensils/ammenities we needed. It was incredibly hot and humid during our visit, but the air conditioning kept the unit comfortable. We suggested the owner put a mirror in the main floor bathroom and make sure the internet is working. Otherwise, a nice property in a nice neighborhood. The Metro is a 5-10 minute walk through nice neighborhoods that never felt intimidating. I suggest getting the combination to the lock on the alley gate gate prior to arrval so you can park in the space provided. Otherwise, street parking is challenging. Christian was very accomodating, answered our questions promptly, and took the time to return an item we left behind. We would recommend the unit to friends/family.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 28 / 29

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review