reviews for: listing #43191 - Kennebunkport, Maine House rental

82 Ocean - Luxury Waterfront In-Town
  • bedrooms  5
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths 
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  12
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $2,950 - $9,990 /wk

sort by:

Magical Stay - Awesome Place - Stunning Setting - Convenient to Town

Review submitted: December 31, 2013   Date of arrival: December 13, 2013

Had a great big girls weekend at 82 Ocean. We came for the Christmas Prelude weekend and really enjoyed being able to walk to Dock Square. We enjoyed the food and shopping and just relaxing at the house. Thank you for sharing this beautiful home with us!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Best House we ever rented

Review submitted: September 16, 2013   Date of arrival: September 6, 2013

“Our girls group travels together once a year. We have been many nice places but we agree this is the nicest place we've stayed. Your hospitality was wonderful, You have a beautiful home in a great town. Thank you for providing such a special place for fabulous vacation.”

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 

Perfect home and location for a Kennebunkport vacation

Review submitted: September 3, 2013   Date of arrival: July 26, 2013

We stayed at 82 Ocean for 2 weeks this summer. The house looks and feels just as advertised - everything in great condition, with many special "extra" touches. The location is perfect- an easy walk into town and close proximity to a nice little beach and parking passes included for Kennebunk's main beaches. It is close to the resorts from which many boat trips (lobster tours, sailing, etc.) leave, and the owners provide lots of information and recommendations about the area for those interested. Owners were friendly, approachable and responsive. Our one small nit was that the house sleeps 12 (we had 8 one week and 10 the next), but really isn't fully set up for 12 -- there are not tons of dishes, the washing machine is (really) small and the pots and pans are small size -- so it is really better suited for smaller groups. But these are really minor issues - we would return again in an instant!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks Tara for the nice review - we are so glad you had such a great time at 82 Ocean and in Kennebunkport. Incredibly ironic that not 10 minutes prior we were talking to our housekeepers about upgrading the dishes and utensils in the kitchen. We will be sure to get 16 place settings when we do in the coming weeks! But then, we do love the smaller groups of 8 like yours too. We hope to see you again in "The Port." - Greg and Heather

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Stunning Home

Review submitted: September 4, 2012   Date of arrival: September 4, 2012

“We had a wonderful stay in your stunning home. Many thanks for everything.”

Helpful votes: 2 / 6

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Idyllic Location - Remarkable Amenities

Review submitted: September 4, 2012   Date of arrival: August 24, 2012

“An idyllic location and a house to be very proud of – remarkable amenities and exquisite design.”

Helpful votes: 3 / 5

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Beautiful Home, Perfect for our Family

Review submitted: September 4, 2012   Date of arrival: July 27, 2012

“Your home is beautiful, perfect for our family. A definite favorite is your front porch! We hope to return sometime!”

Helpful votes: 3 / 7

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Gorgeous Home - Amazing Stay

Review submitted: September 4, 2012   Date of arrival: August 10, 2012

“Thank you for sharing your gorgeous home. We had an amazing stay.”

Helpful votes: 2 / 5

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Perfect

Review submitted: September 4, 2012   Date of arrival: June 22, 2012

“The home, surroundings, weather, Greg & Heather’s suggestion of what to do and where to go in Kennebunkport, were all perfect!”

Helpful votes: 2 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Wonderful House - Superb Location

Review submitted: September 4, 2012   Date of arrival: June 7, 2012

“What a wonderful house and superb location.”

Helpful votes: 2 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Loved the House

Review submitted: September 4, 2012   Date of arrival: April 2, 2012

“We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in this wonderful house and exploring the beautiful town of Kennebunkport. We hope to be back next year!”

Helpful votes: 2 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Staying Forever!

Review submitted: September 4, 2012   Date of arrival: March 7, 2012

“This house is so beautiful that after much deliberation, we have decided to stay forever at 82 Ocean! If only we could.”

Helpful votes: 2 / 4

 

Elegant, Comfortable, Perfect Location

Review submitted: October 4, 2011   Date of arrival: September 23, 2011

Two couples shared this house, but it would be comfortable for eight people easily. All information in the listing, website, and in dialogue with the owner was accurate and complete. It was pristine clean with very detailed instruction on the operation of all appliances, doors, fireplaces, etc... We walked to everything including the local lobster shack, elegant restaurants, spas, shops, boutiques, boat rental, wine shops, etc...but at the same time felt isolated and private. This is a perfect spot for multiple couples or families with older, well behaved children. Of particular note is that the owner was totally engaged and responsive even though he was overseas at the time of our rental. The owner takes great care of the property and expects the tenants to do the same. You will want to take great care of this beautiful home, too.

Owners response: Great to have you and your friends here Mark and we thank you for this review. You appear to have captured the essense of 82 Ocean perfectly. Hope you can make it back someday.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

House Beautiful - View Spectacular - Fishing Great

Review submitted: August 17, 2011   Date of arrival: June 15, 2011

"The house is beautiful. The view is spectacular. The fishing was great. We had a blast and you will hear from us again. I0t was our first time in Maine but it will not be my last. Thanks"

Helpful votes: 2 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

House is Beautiful and the Views are Amazing

Review submitted: August 17, 2011   Date of arrival: June 22, 2011

“Your house is beautiful and the views are amazing! Thanks for all your tips on things to do and places to dine in Kennebunkport that made our trip even more enjoyable. A fabulous vacation!”

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Excellent location

Review submitted: August 17, 2011   Date of arrival: June 29, 2011

“Excellent location, loved the home, the views and proximity to downtown. Weather was perfect for a wonderful family getaway.“

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Beautiful Home is as advertised – Gorgeous Setting

Review submitted: August 17, 2011   Date of arrival: July 15, 2011

“Thank you for a splendid two weeks of quality family time. Your beautiful home is as advertised – gorgeous setting, spacious homes, and a perfect layout for grandparents, children and grandchildren. Our two weeks flew by and we look forward to returning to this most special spot and beautiful Kennebunkport next summer.”

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great House, Gorgeous Views - Gourmet Kitchen

Review submitted: August 17, 2011   Date of arrival: July 22, 2011

“Your great house, gorgeous views, and beautiful weather made for a perfect vacation in Maine. The gourmet kitchen was especially incredible. We loved watching the 11’ tides in the back cove and the sunsets from the front porch. Many wonderful memories.”

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Inspiration Setting - Amazing House

Review submitted: August 17, 2011   Date of arrival: August 12, 2011

“What an inspiration setting. 82 Ocean gave our family an opportunity to reconnect on many levels. This house is amazing and so well equipped to accommodate everyone. We have many reasons to come back.”

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

An awesome getaway or family gathering home.

Review submitted: April 27, 2011   Date of arrival: April 14, 2011

This marvelous home was the perfect setting for our family gathering. Between the superb location and extensive amenities, there was always more to do than time would allow. Whether it was watching the tidal changes in the cove from the beautiful and well equipped kitchen, enjoying the Bose surround sound, basking in the heat of the sun on the sun porch on a sunny 40 degree day, or running/walking throughout the area, we had blast. Great spot you have there Greg and Heather.

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Best of Kennebunkport

Review submitted: August 23, 2010   Date of arrival: June 25, 2010

We were three couples and two singles and had a delightful time in our week. Lots of room for a variety of different activities to be going on at the same time: quiet reading, TV, playing cards, chit-chat or just watching the tide go in and out. The kitchen was very complete and laid out with lots of elbow room. Bedrooms were generous and A/C worked well for us.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 

August 2010

Review submitted: August 22, 2010   Date of arrival: July 31, 2010

Excellent location - 10 minute walk to beach one way, and 10 minutes to town centre the other.

Furnished and equipped to a high standard (contrary to others' comments, there are air conditioning units in most rooms). Good water views to front and rear (river and creek). Photo of front of house is slightly misleading - there is a road between the property and the river front, although this did not detract from our enjoyment and we had a very good holiday.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Owners response: Yes Niki is right - Ocean Ave passes right in front our house on the way to the Bushes. Please see our location map where this is clearly shown.

Helpful votes: 4 / 6

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: August 17, 2010   Date of arrival: June 13, 2010

We thoroughly enjoyed our first visit to Kennebunkport with the house being a great venue for our family - very comfortable for 11 of us and a great waterfront location. We originally planned to have 12 and it would have been a little tight for 12. Eleven worked fine.
- Ann Waller and Family, June 2010

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Very nice property!

Review submitted: August 17, 2010   Date of arrival: July 2, 2010

My family spent a week at this beautiful house and loved every minute. The rooms were comfortable and air conditioned, the breezes on the front porch were great and the patio was a favorite spot to hang out in the evenings and watch the tides just a few feet away. The location of the house is great and everything was really quite perfect. The owners were also very nice and did everything to make our stay great. Thanks!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Disappointed

Review submitted: August 9, 2010   Date of arrival: July 9, 2010

The place has NO air conditioning. It is also inland and gets extremely hot during the summer months. I stayed here from July 9th to July 16th with friends. The owner stated he can put in wall units but not to run them to high as we would freeze the lines?!? I would NOT stay here again as I found it to be bit overpriced for its location. Not suggested for young kids, the back yard has many drop offs where a young child could get hurt.

Owners response: We absolutely are directly on the water (3 sides of the house) and have AC in 4 of the 5 bedrooms. This renter had four - one year olds and a 5 yr old and left a huge mess and some damage. They spilled coffee on the Master Bedrooms new carpet, left gouges in the new sheet rock, broke a lamp shade, gouges in the bath tub and left a wine top in the dishwasher that backed up the drain on the next guest. This is not about AC or on the water, this is about us withholding their security. This is the only renter we have ever withheld one-dime of security deposit from. This Jersey renter is correct about this not being the place for families with young children with inattentive parents.

Helpful votes: 6 / 11

 

Great house,great location

Review submitted: July 29, 2010   Date of arrival: July 16, 2010

Wonderful house!! We searched for a place to have all of our family together....82 Ocean was the perfect place. Great location and the home is well furnished,well maintained and very clean.Especially loved the spacious kitchen,beautiful master suite and a front porch you will not want to leave. Breathtaking views all around the house and owners could not have been more helpful.

Recommended for: families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: And we loved having these lovely respectful people in our house!

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Amazing House

Review submitted: July 11, 2010   Date of arrival: June 9, 2010

Greg,
We had a great time... you have an amazing house. Thanks Again.
- Mark, NY NY - June 2010

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

The Waller Family

Review submitted: July 11, 2010   Date of arrival: June 13, 2010

"We just recently stayed at 82 Ocean for a family vacation and had the time of our lives!! The house is absolutely beautiful - and Kennebunkport is breathtaking! Being from Texas, we also LOVED the cool weather! Our kids keep asking when we will be going back to Maine! Thank you for sharing your beautiful home with us."
- The Waller Family
College Station, Texas - June 2010

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

We love 82 Ocean!!

Review submitted: June 20, 2010   Date of arrival: June 13, 2010

We recently stayed at 82 Ocean on our family vacation. We had the most wonderful time! The house is absolutely beautiful, and Kennebunkport is breathtaking! Being from Texas, we also LOVED the cool weather! One of our favorite things to do when was sit on the sun porch and watch the boats go by! There is so much to do in Kennebunkport and the owners of the house had great tips for fun activities and great restaurants! We will definitely be back for another visit!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 6 / 7

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: June 8, 2010   Date of arrival: January 1, 2010

Greg,
Thank you for sharing your home. It is absolutely beautiful. It is beautifully maintained, well decorated, and very, very cozy. There wasn’t anything we wished for…you had it all covered!

Thanks again for sharing your home…… It was truly a wonderful place to ring in the New Year.

Happy New Year!
- Sally, January 2010

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: June 8, 2010   Date of arrival: December 31, 2009

Dear Heather & Greg,
82 Ocean is just beautiful, the views far and wide.
We were fascinated by the ever changing 11-foot tide.
We do hope to come here in the future so near.
We wish you a very happy New Year.
- Tony & Christine, January 2010 (Prior to major Renovations)

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review