reviews for: listing #43219 - Aptos, California House rental

The Surf House - Surf & Sand View - Pets Welcome
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Rio del Mar
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $250 - $350 /nt
    $2,176 - $2,953 /wk
    $8,000 - $8,000 /mth

sort by:

Great beach house!

Review submitted: July 11, 2014   Date of arrival: July 4, 2014

Our family of 4 (two adults and two kids under 2) stayed there with another couple and their two little ones (under 4) and we all had a great time. The view from the balcony was amazing, and it was an incredibly convenient walk to the beach. The house was well stocked with movies and beach toys which was convenient for the kids. We were concerned about the size because there was so many of us, but it turned out perfect. The only downside was fireworks - we were there over 4th of July and people in the neighborhood kept shooting them off until late. But we were prepared because the owners had warned us. We will definitely return there if we plan another vacation in the area. The house was well stocked with all the basics you need (juice, milk, soda, condiments, paper towels, etc) which made it easy for us who were already traveling with so much stuff for the kids.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: We were pleased to know that your families had a good time, in spite of the late night noise. Most of the time Rio Del Mar beach is pretty quiet after dark, but shooting off fireworks and firecrackers on the 4th is a long held tradition that is hard to squash.
We're also glad the kids found things to play with and the adults were able to enjoy the view. We designed The Surf House with families in mind. We wanted to provide all of the things we wished had been provided when we went on vacations with our kids. Please do come back. Till next time, best regards, Lynn & Jeff

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

the surf house

Review submitted: March 26, 2014   Date of arrival: March 21, 2014

This is the best little house, my family and i have come for the last 4yrs wonderful, Jeff and Lynn are great host!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: It gives us great pleasure to know that The Surf House has become a family tradition. 'till next time, Lynn & Jeff

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Our stay at The Surf House

Review submitted: November 9, 2013   Date of arrival: October 31, 2013

We have stayed in Rio Del Mar many times and the surf house is by far one of the nicest places we have stayed. It is really well stocked with spices,cereals,popcorn, butter and even milk and orange juice to get you off to a great start. We arrived to a beautiful bouquet of flowers and a great view of the beach. The house is very clean and homey. We spent alot of time on the patio, just taking in the whole scene. We really appreciate the fact that our dogs were welcome here. The beach is great, the neighborhood restaurants are good,(especially Manuel's and Stagnaro's on the wharf)' lots of places to ride bikes and of course the beautiful sunsets. Very close to every area in Santa Cruz.We will be staying here again. Jeff and Lynn made the process of renting very easy. Thanks Again

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: We are pleased that you had a relaxing time. In the Fall and Winter Rio Del Mar has beautiful ocean sunsets. So glad you were there to enjoy them. Thank you for being such great guests. Do come again. Lynn & Jeff

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Anniversary weekend

Review submitted: October 18, 2013   Date of arrival: October 11, 2013

My husband and I spent 3 days and night at this house for our anniversary. We love being by the beach and hearing the sounds of the ocean. The house was very cozy and clean it had everything you needed which made it nice. There was places to eat at walking distance from the house that had good food. A few miles from Capitola and other neat places to go. Talked to many nice people as we walked around everyone was so friendly. I highly recommend this place if you just want to relax and enjoy the ocean we saw lots of seals and dolphins, wish we would have seen a whale but not this time. We will be going back soon.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Owners response: We are always pleased when our guest have a chance to just relax.
We totally agree....Rio Del Mar is a friendly community. Most folks are either on vacation or feel like they are on vacation.
Anytime of the year is a great time to see the seals and dolphins.
The whales migrate through Monterey Bay during the fall and the spring so if you miss them this time you are sure to have other opportunities. Best Regards, Lynn & Jeff

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Such a comfy stay!

Review submitted: September 11, 2013   Date of arrival: September 6, 2013

My sister and I rented this house to use as a base for our floral design business for an out of town wedding we had. Our hotel experiences while working with the flowers hadn't been very easy. This was totally different. There was a well stocked kitchen, every amenity you could think of including wifi, and private decks. Above all that, there was a very relaxed vibe to the place. The rooms were comfy, too. The decor is a bit kitschy with all the beach and surf related things around, but it worked! Oh, and the view is incredible. I will definitely come back, next time for a real vacation!

Recommended for: families with young children, pet-friendly, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: A stay at The Surf House is always better than a hotel. Glad you gave us a try. Do come back when you have more time to relax.
Lynn & Jeff

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

You'll be so happy you stayed here!

Review submitted: August 11, 2013   Date of arrival: August 4, 2013

My family and I enjoyed the surf house for one week just before my kids had to return to school. My kids are of all ages, a teen a tween and a baby. Everyone felt content and COZY. My husband and I could not have been more pleased with the location, amenities, cleanliness and meticulous detail the owners went through to make our stay welcoming and EASY. The SURF HOUSE could not have been better! During our stay we spent time at the beach, watched marine life from the picture window in the living room, had a bonfire on the beach, went surfing at Pleasure Point, Visited the SC Boardwalk, visited the UCSC Seymour Marine Discovery Center, Visited Roaring Camp railroad and bicycled the trail from Natural Bridges to the Santa Cruz Wharf. The location was great for everything! There is something for everyone here! Best trip we've had in years!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: We are pleased that you and your family were able to see/visit many of the attractions in the Santa Cruz area. Of course just relaxing and enjoying your time at the beach is also nice. Do come back. You were great guests.
Best Regards,
Lynn and Jeff

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Charming, lovely beach house !

Review submitted: July 31, 2013   Date of arrival: July 20, 2013

Our family of four plus our dog had a wonderful time at the surf house. The location was absolutely perfect and the house was clean and spotless. The owners were so helpful and responded very quickly to any questions I had. The house was stocked with everthing we needed and everything was in great condition. There was also a separate laundry room with all supplies which came in very handy during our week stay. We have stayed at different rentals in aptos but nothing comes close to this house. It was a two minute walk to get your feet wet in the ocean. We say pods of dolphins from the deck each day also. You are literally across the street from the best beach in the Santa Cruz area. I would highly recommend the surf house and will definitely stay there again on our next visit.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, pet-friendly

Owners response: We are so pleased that your family enjoyed their stay. There are many reasons why folks like The Surf House: the beach, the wildlife, the area, and a clean and well stocked house. We strive to provide a stress free vacation. Glad we succeeded. Come back anytime.
Lynn & Jeff

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

very good visit

Review submitted: April 11, 2013   Date of arrival: April 1, 2013

Very clean and comfortable. Nice deck, view of ocean and beach, and well supplied kitchen and beach equipment ( chairs, toys, etc). Would recommend for up to 4 adults and 2 children if one bathroom is ok. Photos are good representation of the property Will return.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for your comments. We strive to present an accurate description of The Surf House in our ad. Glad we meet your expectations. You all are welcome back anytime. Best Regards, Lynn and Jeff.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

The Surf House is paradise at the beach!

Review submitted: February 19, 2013   Date of arrival: February 14, 2013

If you're looking for a place to relax and enjoy the beach, this is the place! Everything was perfect...from the cozy well equipped home, to the fab deck, the super comfy bedding, the never ending hot water supply and the big fluffy towels - the owners here have thought of everything. Even thoughtfully stocking the kitchen with breakfast supplies and condiments. Located just across the street from one of the areas best beaches and a two minute walk to the fab Pixies Deli. We highly recommend a stay at the Surf House, you will not be disappointed!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: We strive to make our home feel like you're home away from home. We are pleased when we succeed. 'Till next time, best regards Lynn & Jeff

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Absolutely Lovely

Review submitted: May 30, 2012   Date of arrival: May 26, 2012

I was a guest of the gentleman who rented this house over Memorial Day Weekend, 2012. It could not have been more pleasant. The house was immaculate when we arrived and generously stocked with all the amenities one could desire. If I could make one change, it would be to add a fireplace for stays during the winter months. But given that it is now Summer, the house is idyllic. I highly recommend it, and I intend to return myself.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: We're so glad you had a good time. We look forward to your return. Thank you for your suggestion. It's interesting that you mentioned a fireplace. At one time the house did have a fireplace, but it fell down in the Loma Prieta earthquake. I'll have to see if I can get it back on the honey do list.
Best Regards, Lynn

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great girls weekend!

Review submitted: March 27, 2012   Date of arrival: March 23, 2012

The beach cottage was perfect! Even though it rained on Saturday, we stayed in for most of the day and relaxed in comfort - enjoying the ocean and beach views.

The cottage had all the necessities which is extremely rare. It was great to arrive and have the beds made and flowers on the table.

We have stayed in Aptos before, and this is by far our favorite place.

We look forward to our next stay later this year.

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: We are pleased that you had a good time inspite of the weather. Watching a winter storm from the comfort of your livingroom is always exciting. We look forward to your return. Lynn and Jeff

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Good times at The Surf House

Review submitted: October 24, 2011   Date of arrival: October 21, 2011

What a wonderful beach rental this is. I just took my family of four there and had an absolute blast. I'll get right to it:

- Beach access is just steps away,
- The place is stocked with all the essentials you are guaranteed to forget.
- Deck perfect for grilling. Nice view, plenty of seating, an awesome umbrella (who knew that could make a difference!) They even have a few mini umbrellas that clip onto anything.
- Coffee shop in the beach parking lot is amazing.

Thank you for a wonderful stay, felt like home away from home, except right on the beach!!!
-

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Owners response: We are pleased that you and the family had a wonderful stay. We try to think of all of the things a family might need on a beach vacation. Glad we suceeded. Thank you for being such nice guests. Until next time, Lynn & Jeff

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Can't wait to come back!

Review submitted: July 25, 2011   Date of arrival: July 17, 2011

Very clean, great views, smart layout, well stocked, can't wait to come back next year.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: We love to have returning guests. See you again.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Our family loved the Surf House

Review submitted: July 23, 2011   Date of arrival: July 10, 2011

The owners of this lovely little home obviously LOVE it...every detail has been done with love. The owners also obviously know HOW to make every visititor feel like beloved hourse quests..in the thoughtful way they have equiped this little home so that nothing was left to chance. Every item we even THOUGHT we might like to find, was there. The lovely little home was maticulously kept. I, like others who have written reviews, almost don't want to tell you how PERFECT this vacation rental is because we don't want it to become booked 52 weeks a year. This little home feels like your very own vacation cottage on the beach at Aptos.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Making our guest happy makes us happy. Your vacation cottage is here for you any time you can get away.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Reminder of Days Past

Review submitted: October 5, 2010   Date of arrival: September 24, 2010

I rented The Surf House for my sister and brother-in-law to stay in during my daughter's wedding. I found out when we arrived that their first date had been in the area of the cement ship! That was over 34 years ago! The house was even better than the pictures showed! We were so pleased. If I hadn't already been placed at the bridal house, I would have loved to have stayed there! Jeff and Lynn made everything very easy and worry free. The house was spotless and my sister and brother-in-law had a wonderful time there. I will definately keep The Surf House in mind for the future!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: The coastside is a wonderful place for a wedding. We enjoy being able to make at least part of the wedding stress free. Glad you had a good time during your stay. We look forward to your return when you can just relax.

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

A relaxation nest not far from home

Review submitted: September 10, 2010   Date of arrival: September 3, 2010

It all started when I got envious that my sister was hangin' out on the beach in New Jersey. I thought...we could do that; we're only an hour away from the beach. And my search began. Our puppy had never been to the beach or seen the ocean so I had to make sure the place was pet friendly. When I saw the view from the Surf House and realized it was right on a pet-friendly beach I WAS SOLD!

Making the reservation was a snap. The owners are very responsive and really nice people. Check-in was easy and the moment I opened the front door I was on vacation. The queen bed was so comfy we slept like logs. The weather was perfect…foggy in the AM and blue and sunny in the afternoon. Beautiful sunsets every night. We had a family BBQ over the weekend and we accommodated 7 people with room to spare.

If you are looking for one of those huge houses right on the sand that cost a pretty penny and don’t let you bring your four-legged “kids”, the Surf House is not for you. If you are looking for a cozy retreat, with fabulous ocean and white-water views, a two-minute walk to the sand, and all the comforts of home, you’ve found your relaxation nest in the Surf House. The only negative…our long weekend was over way too quickly. But I’m not sad; I am already planning our next stay. Thank you, Surf House!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Good times, Good friends, Good memories, it doesn't get better than that. Glad we could help make it happen. See you again, Lynn & Jeff

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Best Vacation Ever

Review submitted: August 17, 2010   Date of arrival: August 4, 2010

I'm reluctant to share my excitement at finding such a wonderful place to visit the Ocean from, selfishly I'd like to keep it a secret so it is always available for me. We visited the Surf House in August 2010 for our son's wedding. An anxious stressful time in our lives. The Surf House gave us a place to relax and unwind from the mix of energies around us. The Pixie Deli just two doors down is a wonderful place to eat, you can take your dogs and sit on the patio with them. Having our two Jack Russels (Odin and Ozzy) with us helped eliminate worrying about them, while long walks on the dog friendly beach right out the front door helped calm and center our nerves. The owners attention to detail is incredible, we arrived to a super clean well stocked inviting home. Their consideration makes it easy to take care of yourself in comfort and ease. We can't say enough to thank them for assisting in making our son's wedding a peaceful and pleasant time. We are anxious to return hoping our next visit will be very soon.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: There is no greater pleasure than meeting our guest's needs and exceeding their expectations.
We look forward to your return.
Lynn

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Storybook week on the beach

Review submitted: August 10, 2010   Date of arrival: July 27, 2010

The surf house was totally awesome! Cute house, steps to the beach, all the amenities you could think of, and many you didn't think of were provided. The fridge was stocked with sodas, orange juice and milk. The cupboard had individual sized cereal boxes, instant oatmeal, condiments, spices, etc!

The house was spotless (someone even scrubbed the barbecue grill)! Did I mention briquettes, lighter fluid, beach chairs, sand toys, beach towels, beach umbrellas and a boogie board were all provided??

The house was luckily NOT located on the beach strip which might have put the beach a little closer, but also seemed to be large groups of college and teenage boys, sometimes setting off fireworks on the beach late at night. Other than the fireworks, there was no noise from the party houses on the beach.

One warning, the deli down below the house seems to dump their glass bottles into the recycling bins every morning, but we still slept with the windows open to enjoy the ocean breeze!

Although we mostly ate at the house, Mangiamo's pizza in the Dearborn shopping center on Rio Del Mar blvd was fantastic! We also discovered that the fire pits on the beach get claimed very early on the weekends, but we were able to find an empty one on Sunday night and had a great time making Smores. On Sat and Sun nights folks were camped out by the pits before noon to save them for the evening.

Highly recommend!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Rich,
We are pleased that you and your family enjoyed your stay. You did an great job of capturing the character of The Surf House and surrounding area.
Thank you,
Lynn

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: July 4, 2010   Date of arrival: June 21, 2010

Comment rating: Positive
Thank you for a wonderfully relaxing vacation. It was great to arrive after 8 hours on the road to find milk and juice in the fridge; cereal, coffee, and tea in the cupboard; and sheets on the beds. No other summer rental has been so clean and well-equipped. We kept track of dolphins and sea lions with our binoculars from the living room and enjoyed many walks on the beach. We'll be back!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: September 12, 2009   Date of arrival: September 12, 2009

We were very happy and comfortable at Surf House. We walked the beach at least twice and often three time daily. Our four legged companion had her first visit to the ocean and was shocked at the first taste of sea water. It was really great to return to Rio Del Mar and I miss being so far away from the ocean.
I would recommend Gayle's Bakery & Deli in Capitola. It was as good as I remembered and we took our dinner back to Surf House on two days. You had well supplied and with everything we needed.
Enjoyed our visit and hope to return in the future, Charlotte

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: August 2, 2009   Date of arrival: August 2, 2009

Lynn and Jeff, what a wonderful place you have in Aptos! I have never stayed in a rental that was so clean and so well equipped. The view is beautiful. It is totally charming! Anyone looking for place in Aptos, should certainly check out the Surf House. If your looking for a great view of the ocean, close to the beach, and a cottage that offers great amenities (linens, towels, beach towels, sand chairs, too many to list)Your great hosts! loved our stay! We will be back!

Owners response: Thank you Karen and Joe. We enjoyed having you as guests. You are always welcome. See you next year. Lynn & Jeff

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: July 22, 2009   Date of arrival: July 22, 2009

Everything was wonderful. The house was well stocked
with everything you could ever need. The location is
perfect, across the street from the beach with a great
view. It was really "homey" and comfortable. Thank
you Lynn and Jeff for thinking of all the "little" things!
We had a great time!

Owners response: Thank you Jana. It was our pleasure.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: March 23, 2009   Date of arrival: March 1, 2009

Very sweet and comfortable house, wonderfully
stocked and a pleasure to stay in. A great vacation
house!

Owners response: Thanks Sue

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: October 18, 2008   Date of arrival: October 1, 2008

Surf House was the NICEST house we've ever rented!!! No detail is overlooked..and the view and location is FABULOUS!!! We'll definitely be back!! Thanks so much!!

Owners response: We're pleased that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to your return.
Lynn & Jeff

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: September 9, 2008   Date of arrival: September 1, 2008

Wow! More than I expected! Wonderful walking location to beach, market, coffee house and restaurants! Many extras and very comfortable beds. Thanks for your wonderful accomodations, we'll be back again! We had a wonderful 25th anniversary! Thank You!

Owners response: Thank you Rina, We enjoyed having you as a guest. See you again.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: March 24, 2008   Date of arrival: March 1, 2008

Nice Beach house Congrats

Owners response: Thanks Greg

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review