reviews for: listing #43222 - Destin, Florida House rental

Ocean Cabana-6 Bed Home w/Gulf View /Priv Pool (No weddings)
  • bedrooms  6
  • pool  yes
  • type  House
  • baths  4
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Crystal Beach
  • sleeps  14
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $1,800 - $4,900 /wk

sort by:

Ocean Cabana

Review submitted: July 15, 2009   Date of arrival: July 4, 2009

We stayed in Ocean Cabana the week of July 4th, 2009 and absolutely had a ball! What a perfect set up for a group with kids ranging from 5 to 16! The location was perfect for the older kids, allowing them some independence to walk back and forth to the beach, as well as an easy trot back to the house for the small kids.

The bedrooms were a great layout, with three kings, no one fought over who was getting the BIG bed! The added bonus was the pool and big back yard. Enough room for horseshoes, BBQ, Fish Frying and just sitting around relaxing.

Ocean Cabana is the second house that we have stayed at that is owned by this couple. We loved both of them and will use them again!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Owners response: This has to be one of the sweetest groups! We hope they stick with us for the duration. They are easy to work with and always leave the home in great order! Thanks!

Helpful votes: 18 / 18

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

190 Footsteps to Be Exact(to the beach:)!!

Review submitted: August 10, 2013   Date of arrival: August 3, 2013

The Ocean Cabana was very nice - it held all 14 of us very nicely and also gave us room to retreat to our own quarters comfortably when needed. We loved the proximity to the beach - 190 paces to be exact! The pool was a great amenity to have also. We spent many afternoons playing volleyball using the whole pool. We got to grill a couple times and also visited many of the beach dining establishments. The kids liked Harry T's, and Dewey Destins was amazing. A word to the wise: you must have sleeves to eat at Marina Café. We had an extremely relaxing 8 day vacation and look forward to our next visit!

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Best Vacation Ever

Review submitted: May 26, 2013   Date of arrival: May 18, 2013

This has been our best vacation ever -- and we LOVED the house and pool! Thank you for sharing it with us. It was a wonderful week! It was perfect! Hope to come back next year!

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great Customer Service!

Review submitted: May 24, 2013   Date of arrival: May 11, 2013

John and Dawn, we had an absolutely great stay with our family at Ocean Cabana. It was everything you advertised and more. We will definitely recommend it and plan to come again. Thank you and keep up the great customer service and excellent vacation home!

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

7 Years with Clearview Vacation Rentals!

Review submitted: April 13, 2013   Date of arrival: April 6, 2013

My first time to this home. My other family invited me to come along. The have stayed annually, 7 years, with Clearview Vaction Rentals. Oh what fun we had laying/floating in the pool, eating seafood, and laughing......so opposite of life back home in Indiana where work is so stressful and its 40* and rainy. Hoping to take the sun and good thoughts back home with me. Although vacation is ending, the memories will last forever!

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Choice Place to Stay!

Review submitted: April 13, 2013   Date of arrival: March 30, 2013

The house and stay was great! We could not have asked for a better accommodation for our first spring break vacation as a goup/family. The restaurants John turned us onto when we checked in were spot on and a hit with everyone in the group. I could easily see this becoming an annual event and this being our choice place to stay! Thank you so much John & Dawn! Oh and our son said here is his definition of Destin, FL:

D-elicious
E-xciting
S-eagulls
T-remendous waves
I-nteresting
N-ice balcony

F-antastic shops
L-oving sunset

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

A "Must Stay Again" Vacation!

Review submitted: April 13, 2013   Date of arrival: February 23, 2013

We can't say enough about our stay. The house was amazing and everything was as you told me over the phone...and then some. Thanks for being such awesome rental owners. You made everything easy and perfect for us. All the extras you have with this house makes it a must stay again vacation place. Thanks again and God bless!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Super Family Vacation!

Review submitted: April 13, 2013   Date of arrival: November 17, 2012

Thanks so much for a fantastic stay! The house added to a super family vacation. And our child writes: "I think it is good becuz we got to sleep in bunk beds an that was fun"!

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Another Amazing Vacation!

Review submitted: April 13, 2013   Date of arrival: October 6, 2012

Another amazing vacation! We had such an awesome vacation! This is the first time two of the boys have ever seen the ocean - it was such a magical experience for them. The highlights for our trip were the house(of course), the awesome private pool and being able to grill near it, the nice walk to the beach, the beautiful beach itself(the boys loved bodyboarding), loved the Gulfarium and fishing off the pier. Our favorite places to eat were the Fishermans Wharf, Mellow Mushroom and Fudpuckers....loved the alligators! This will be filed away in our memory as one of the best vacations, wish Dad could have been here with us, we we lucky to feel his presence on several different occasions. Hopefully we can make this an annual trip. Thank you John & Dawn....we love you!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Keep Coming Back For More!

Review submitted: May 4, 2012   Date of arrival: April 7, 2012

We have stayed at the Clearview Vacation Rental houses for several years. For a couple years we stayed at their other homes and for four years we have stayed at the Ocean Cabana. It is wonderful to walk less than half a block(190 footsteps...1 minute walk), cross the street and be on the beach. We like to walk on the beach and watch the sunset, but we are really more pool people. The pool is wonderful - just for your family. We were one of the first families to stay in the Ocean Cabana house and it has been maintained wonderfully. The description on line is very accurate and the layout is great. It has large bedrooms and one of the bedrooms is on the first floor. This was important for us, because we have one person who prefers not to climb stairs. John and Dawn are great. We have not had anything major that needed attention, but when we have needed something fixed - like the remote controls - they respond immediately. They want to make you feel at home the very first day. The house is located just a half a block from a beautiful scenic route that you can drive or walk as you follow the beach. Our favorite restaurants are on that route. We can enjoy a great sunset and dinner at one of beachfront restaurants. Of course the seafood is wonderful. Shopping is available at two malls that are located near the house; one fashion and one discount. Don't miss a stop or two at the Donut Hole - try the key lime and red velvet donuts! We would highly recommend any of the homes offered by Clearview Vacation Rentals.

Helpful votes: 6 / 7

 

Fun & Spacious for the Family!

Review submitted: September 11, 2009   Date of arrival: September 3, 2008

The house was a great spot for our family vacation. It was properly maintained and had everything we needed. The layout was perfect for the entire family to be together but not in each other's way. The living room/dining/kitchen layout is ideal. The pool is a great feature of the house after the beach in the evenings. It was quiet and peaceful and enough room and seating for us all to enjoy. We all had such a great time we plan on going back next year!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 6 / 7

 

Ocean Cabana ~ Our Home Away From Home

Review submitted: September 9, 2009   Date of arrival: August 30, 2009

We just returned from a week stay at the Ocean Cabana. It was fabulous and totally met all of our needs. The decorations were perfect for the Florida area with all the palm trees. The kitchen was stocked with all the electrical appliances. The full size washer and dryer was a definite plus as it was nice returning home with clean clothes. Its location was so convenient to local stores and restaurants. However, it was extremely nice having the gas grill in the backyard. It made having our family vacation that much nicer by staying home and enjoying the meal and everyone's company. The walk to the beach wasn't bad at all. We would get up every morning and have our daily walk along the ocean. During the day, we would enjoy the sounds of the waves and the rays of the sun...but if someone wanted to go back to catch more rays, the pool was right there. The owners were very friendly and professional as I was working on the vacation plans. Our whole group did the Blackbeard Sunset Tour. We highly recommend it! We saw dolphins and watched a beautiful sunset before returning. We would definitely recommend the Ocean Cabana & Clearview Vacation Rentals to our family and friends. We can't wait to return!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: We can only say..."we are blessed with THE best tenants", and this family was one of them"!!!! They left our place near perfect at check-out! I guess the old saying, "clean heart, clean home", still rings true! Come back soon!

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Spring vacation

Review submitted: August 21, 2009   Date of arrival: March 21, 2009

Great house, great location, lots of room, everything we needed. The only thing we could have asked for was nicer weather. Enjoyed the beach on the good days, did some geo caching around the area. The owners were very nice people and explained everything quit well. Would definitely stay again.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers

Owners response: Great people! and gosh! thats the one week we forgot to order perfect weather......it won't happen again!! Thanks!

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Primo!!

Review submitted: August 21, 2009   Date of arrival: August 8, 2009

Every one of us enjoyed our stay to the fullest. The only complaint all week was the day we had to pack up and leave. The Ocean Cabana is a beautiful, tastfully decorated home, very welcoming to all.The heated pool with all the loungers around was heaven sent. Everyone spent a lot of time early mornings and evenings conversing on the back deck. The husbands were impressed by the "man deck" on top and the BBQ pit, and the wives were impressed that they were actually cooking! LOL. We look forward to coming again in the future.
Marisa and Billy B.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers

Owners response: Fun family!!! They know how to vacation! We look forward to thier yearly return! Thanks for everything!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

13 Family Members..from Grams to Age 8

Review submitted: August 5, 2009   Date of arrival: July 25, 2009

We stayed here the week of July 25,2009,and had a wonderful time. Place was sparkling clean, beginning supplies,(TP, soap, etc) as promised. We called the owner 15 minutes out and he was there to meet us, go over ground rules and give us keys. Grams has some mobility problems so the first floor bedroom and bath were a dream.
The three fourteen year old granddaughters loved going up on the balcony at night and talking and giggling....the furnishings and supplies (pots and pans and small appliances) were outstanding. Great walking, good beach access, close to stores but practically no traffic noise.
One of the best features was the pool and surrounding deck and chairs...we would definitely reurn to Ocean Cabana or one of John's other properties.
Highly recommend renting a pontoon boat and cruising the Bay...sand bar to anchor on and some very empty beach areas.

One small item we would have appreciated were some menus from restaurants..hard to pick something just from the phone book....especially if you don't want chains (which we avoid.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Owners response: Terrific family! And yes, great tip....we will put brochures in that help when trying to locate various things around town....namely all the great restaurants, shopping and fun spots! Thanks!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Excellent for 2 families on vacation - roomy!!!

Review submitted: July 15, 2009   Date of arrival: March 14, 2009

Very clean, well maintained & comfortable home. We would definitely stay here again if we come back to Destin! Would definitely recommend this property to a friend. Loved having the washer & dryer in the house. Just a few minutes walk to the ocean with other properties located nearby so we felt totally safe. Loved having the residential sidewalks to walk every morning as well. We are picky people & this house lived up to our high standards! A lot for the money! Just a few minutes to restaurants & shopping. Loved jet skiing & sunning.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Owners response: This was a great crew! We feel blessed to have such great tenants! Hope to see them again! Thanks for everything!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review