reviews for: listing #43314 - Perdido Key, Florida Condo rental

Ocean Front - Sandy Key 737 - Enjoy and Relax
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  yes
  • type  Condo
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  yes
  • community  Sandy Key
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $100 - $250 /nt
    $615 - $1,450 /wk
    $1,100 - $1,625 /mth

sort by:

Great stay!

Review submitted: October 17, 2013   Date of arrival: October 5, 2013

Exceptional experience with this unit, with the entire condo development, and with the owner/manager! Photos and descriptions were quite accurate. Unit was sparkling clean (a pleasing departure from the chaos of our home!), and everything in great working order. Would highly recommend to anyone looking for a great place to stay. Parking very convenient, luggage and grocery carts readily available, beach and pool access right at the doorstep! We loved having the storage locker as well, not having to lug stuff up and down the elevator each day was nice. There's not a ton of "bright lights, big city" nearby, but that's not what we want in a beach vacation anyway. But affordable groceries are right down the road at Wal-Mart (avoid Publix - pricey!!), and no-fluff restaurants are right there if you don't want to cook. The kitchen in the unit and the convenient grills by the hot tub each got lots of use from us though! Will definitely look to return to this unit next year!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Happy beachgoer

Review submitted: June 8, 2013   Date of arrival: June 1, 2013

Enjoyed our stay at Sandy Key. The beach is not at all crowded. Water was beautiful. Condo was comfortable and felt like home. Our first VRBO experience and it was great. Excellent dinner at Oyster Bar restaurant across the bay. Convenient to grocery. Great family get away location.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

amazing stay

Review submitted: June 5, 2013   Date of arrival: May 25, 2013

This is our 4th time renting at Sandy Key. As always, it was super clean, had a wonderfully equipped kitchen and a beautiful balcony view of the beach. Thanks again, John, for allowing my family to have a memorable and relaxing vacation!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Wonderful!

Review submitted: May 23, 2013   Date of arrival: May 16, 2013

Wanted to say how much we loved the condo!! It was beautiful & very well kept! Only one point of criticism, the bathtub in the master bathroom had mildew on the shower head. However, there was bleach in the laundry closet that took it off quickly. The view & campus were beautiful as well. Loved that there were two pools. Never felt crowded there or the beach. Really appreciated the hand soap, roll of paper towels, dishwasher soap, bag of laundry detergent for towels & two rolls of TP that was provided. At the last condo we stayed in, we had to purchase all those things. We will definitely stay here again!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

nice and easy

Review submitted: April 27, 2013   Date of arrival: April 20, 2013

Overall, this was one of the nicest, most reasonable accommodation deals we have had on a vacation. The view is fabulous, the space is maintained at a high standard (the unit better than the building, though--the exterior is showing its age) Right on the beach, lots of good seafood nearby. Once you get used to getting around the complex, it's very easy to enjoy yourself.

Recommended for: age 55+, romantic getaway

Owners response: Glad you enjoyed it! Please come back soon. Thanks

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

4weeks in Perdido Key

Review submitted: November 27, 2012   Date of arrival: October 21, 2012

We stayed in Sandy Keys for 4 great weeks. The condo was just as it was listed, very clean, and decorated so nicely. It was so easy to feel at home. We enjoyed the Blue Angels show in Pensacola along with the wonderful beach and golf courses. We love eating at The Fish House in Pensacola as well as the Fisherman's Corner and The Shrimp Basket in Perdido Key. We love this area and will be back again next year.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great place, great beach, great view!

Review submitted: September 13, 2012   Date of arrival: September 5, 2012

I love this place! I stayed here for 5 great days and it was great. It's in a quiet area with a gated parking lot so I felt very safe. The condo is decorated nicely, feels comfortable like home. Great beach with gated entrance. Loved the view from the balcony. Lots of seashells to collect on the beach during my stay. You can walk all the way down the beach to the state park which was great. I would definitely come back. The owner was great, super easy transaction to rent (thank you!).

Recommended for: girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Excellent vacation!!

Review submitted: September 6, 2012   Date of arrival: August 31, 2012

My friend and I took our little girls, two three year olds and a 22 month old, to Perdido Key for Labor Day weekend for a girls' weekend getaway while our husbands went to Atlanta with some friends. Our stay in this condo was perfect! The location is great; it's right next to a row of beach houses so it's not as congested as other parts of the beach. The condo itself is big, beautifully decorated, and the owner is great to work with...very helpful!
I hope to stay there again on my next beach vacation!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great Vacation!

Review submitted: July 31, 2012   Date of arrival: July 21, 2012

We enjoyed our vacation so much! The condo was very clean and relaxing and we felt like we were at home. The staff and security was are very nice. We loved sitting on the balcony and watching the waves. We enjoyed our morning walks/ jogs along the beach and in the nearby National Park. We are already looking forward to our vacation next year. Thank you John for allowing us to stay at your beautiful condo.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Wonderful time!!

Review submitted: July 18, 2012   Date of arrival: July 7, 2012

We had a wonderful week at Perdido Key last week! The condo was great! It was very nice and fully equipped with everything we needed. The view from the balcony was beautiful. We will definitely be back!
Thank you John for being so easy to work with!

Recommended for: families with young children

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

quiet, clean, convenient, relaxing

Review submitted: July 8, 2012   Date of arrival: June 23, 2012

The condo was extremely clean and well-decorated. The view was unbeatable! The master bedroom and the living room both overlook the Gulf of Mexico. The patio was a great gathering spot. The building is right on Perdido Beach, which is much quieter than Pensacola Beach proper.

Technical aspects: All appliances worked well and were CLEAN. Lots of drawer, closet and cabinet space in kitchen, bath, bedrooms, laundry area. Lots of cookware, flatware, and dishware was present. Extra towels were found in linen closets. (NOTE: Towels provided were enough for our family of four, but might be insufficient for a larger family.) Bedding was clean and crisp. Both TVs had a nice array of cable channels for the one rainy day we experienced. Free wireless was a nice touch. The layout of the condo was perfect for us (family with younger kids).

We commented frequently about how QUIET the entire building was; there were children galore, and we never heard any screaming, running, or other noise inside the building. If there were revelers coming home late, we didn't hear them.

Grocery stores, gas, Target, Wal-Mart, and restaurants are also conveniently located. The building is a short walk from a national park preserve.

The pools were relaxing. There are plenty of lounge chairs available by the pool; I never saw anyone go without a poolside chair. On the beach, chairs with umbrellas are available for a small rental fee--or you can bring your own.

NOTE: Older couples who might like to use the pool for exercising or lap swimming might want to swim early (before 10:00 a.m.), because families with children start occupying the pools around 10. If you are without children on your trip and would like to use a quiet pool area, that might be a consideration. There is a separate Jacuzzi spot for adults.

No complaints at all. All in all, a very relaxing, enjoyable getaway. Would definitely return to this unit or complex again!

Forgot to mention: there are scattered relaxation spots on the condo grounds with porch swings and benches, and there is at least one barbeque pit.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Sandy Key 737

Review submitted: June 26, 2012   Date of arrival: June 9, 2012

Other than the 13.13" of rain, the unit was enjoyable for the two couples renting it. Is located on a nice reasonably private beach, with a great view of the Gulf. The private balcony provided us with hours of relaxing, talking with each other and enjoying wine. The unit was well furnished, clean with newer furniture. We even got the added thrill of an emergency evacuation (fire reported in another unit) although a false alarm. The fire responders appeared very professional.
The owner was professional, provided necessary information and quickly returned the security deposit once vacating the unit.
Would highly recommend a Tuesday or Wednesday morning viewing of the Navy Blue Angles at the NAS Pensacola (8:30 am).

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Beach Family

Review submitted: June 18, 2012   Date of arrival: May 19, 2012

This was our third year staying in Unit 737 and we had an amazing time, yet again. The condo is clean, well-furnished and comfortable. The view of the beach is amazing and our kids had a wonderful time. Thanks for being so accomodating and easy to work with, John. We'll be back again next year!!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Gorgeous!

Review submitted: May 28, 2012   Date of arrival: May 23, 2012

This unit was absolutely perfect for my family--2 adults, 2 kids, plus my parents. The huge balcony provided an unbelieveable view of the gulf. We saw dolphins several days that we were there. The beach was absolutely gorgeous. The condo was lovely, clean, and very well equipped with everything that we needed. John was so good about answering all of my questions; even emailing me over the weekend while we were there. We loved Perdido Key as it was relaxing and quiet and free from the huge crowds. We plan to return next summer. We had a perfect vacation! Thank you, John!!!!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

We loved it!

Review submitted: May 14, 2012   Date of arrival: May 5, 2012

This condo is really nice! It is very comfortable and nicely decorated! We all felt right at home! The Owners are friendly and easy to work with. Our entire experience was amazing! It's right on the beach! Great views! Just perfect! I will def be recommending this to my friends!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect

Review submitted: May 1, 2012   Date of arrival: March 19, 2012

What a perfect place to spend Spring Break with our little family! Thank you! We loved being right on the beach and both waking up to and falling asleep to the waves crashing. Wish we could have been there longer. The Perdido Key was beautiful! Condo was clean and had everything we needed. :)

Owners response: Come back! The serenity of Perdido Key is truly a hidden gem on the Gulf Coast. Thanks for the kind words.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Beautiful, relaxing respite

Review submitted: April 23, 2012   Date of arrival: April 15, 2012

We would highly recommend this condo as a fantastic place to spend a few days or a week. The location is hard to beat -- right on the beach in Perdido Key (a quiet, family-friendly area), and the views from the 7th floor are spectacular! The condo, itself, is modern with every convenience at your fingertips -- from the full washer and dryer to the fully stocked kitchen with all new appliances.
And Sandy Key is a very well-run complex. The two pools were clean and well maintained. We really loved having the option of a heated outdoor pool, since we visited in the spring. There are Adirondack chairs, swings, and even grills oceanside ...
The maintenance crew on the property was always visible and helpful. We made use of the fitness room once or twice --- which was topnotch with all new equipment and ocean views.
And to top it off, the owner was very pleasant and enjoyable to work with.
We definitely plan on returning in the near future. It's a true gem on the Gulf Coast!

Owners response: Thanks so much for the kind words. We work hard to make our condo like home... but at the Beach! Come back soon.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

A great week!

Review submitted: March 12, 2012   Date of arrival: March 6, 2012

My family had a great stay at this condo! It's in a great location, is nicely decorated, clean, and convenient. We loved the big deck, the view, and the amount of space. Highly recommended!

Owners response: We are so glad you enjoyed your stay. Please come back again!

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Beautiful Condo

Review submitted: January 4, 2012   Date of arrival: September 1, 2011

What a beautiful condo! Our family had a wonderful vacation. The view was amazing, the weather was gorgeous, and the restaurants were wonderful! Thank you for sharing with us.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Celebrating

Review submitted: January 4, 2012   Date of arrival: September 9, 2011

We had a wonderful time at your condo celebrating a birthday and a career change. The weather was beautiful and we really enjoyed our time on the beach. Also, the showing of Patriotism throughout the complex commemorating 9/11 was very heartfelt. We thank you for sharing your home with us and we hope to visit again.

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Wonderful Vacation

Review submitted: January 4, 2012   Date of arrival: September 23, 2011

Wonderful vacation and condo was perfect for our use. Condo was all the comforts of home away from home. Beach facilities perfect and so convenient. Future vacations will definitely be held in this area.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Honeymoon

Review submitted: January 4, 2012   Date of arrival: September 26, 2011

We were here on our honeymoon. Had a great time, condo and beach was very nice. Will definitely recommend to family and friends! Hop to visit again.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

First visit

Review submitted: January 4, 2012   Date of arrival: October 1, 2011

This was our first visit to Perdido Key, and it is beautiful!!! The weather was perfect, 75-80 degrees each day. Thank you for sharing you home with us. We had a wonderful time.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Greatly Enjoyed

Review submitted: January 4, 2012   Date of arrival: November 17, 2011

We greatly enjoyed our return to Sandy Key. The quiet and serenity here in November is unmatched on the Gulf Coast. The weathermen gave us a little of everything...40's when we arrived, soon warming up to the 70's. Thank you for sharing your beautiful condo.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Fourth Visit

Review submitted: January 4, 2012   Date of arrival: October 7, 2011

This is our fourth visit to Perdido Key, our third stay at Sandy Key, our first visit to 737. We love it here. Perdido Key is the best beach area and Sandy Key is the Best Condo! We had a great visit and love your unit. We will be back! Our 5 1/2 week old granddaughter enjoyed here first beach visit (even though she went to the beach only once!). Thanks for having such a nice condo.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Wonderful Time

Review submitted: January 4, 2012   Date of arrival: November 23, 2011

We had a wonderful time in your condo. Our son is stationed here at NAS Pensacola and it was wonderful being able to spend the Holiday weekend here. The kitchen was perfect. He was very happy to have home cooked meals for 4 days! The location was beautiful. Listening to the waves crashing with a cool breeze coming in was heaven! We will definitely return to Sandy Key! Thank you so much for letting us stay here, it was truly a time we won't soon forget

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Terrific Condo!

Review submitted: August 31, 2011   Date of arrival: August 20, 2011

This condo was just perfect. The location is wonderful, the beach was beutiful, the condo was well equiped and tastefully decorated, and the area restaurants were very good. I'll definitely keep this location in my favorites and return. It was a terrific 6 days to spend with my husband and 2 grown daughters.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Wonderful getaway

Review submitted: April 7, 2011   Date of arrival: May 10, 2009

We stayed there in 2009 and the description is absolutely spot on. It is the perfect place for a vacation. It was clean and well-maintained and the owner is very helpful and accommodating. I would definitely recommend this unit. Beautiful beach and view. I wish we could go again this year.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Girl's Spring Break

Review submitted: March 29, 2011   Date of arrival: March 19, 2011

This condo was perfect! It is tastefully decorated and supplied. We enjoyed our meals on the lanai and really didn't want to leave. The complex grounds and pools are beautiful. Views were spectacular! It was an awesome place for 2 mom's and our daughters to go on spring break for our 'girls week'! Thanks so much!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Girls Spring Break

Review submitted: March 29, 2011   Date of arrival: March 19, 2011

This condo was just perfect! Tastefully decorated and gorgeous view...we loved breakfast and dinner on the lanai...and we all hated to leave. The complex has beautiful grounds and great pools! It was a wonderful getaway for 2 moms and our daughters for spring break...our 'girls week'!! Thanks so much for sharing!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Absolutely perfect.

Review submitted: August 16, 2010   Date of arrival: August 22, 2009

This was our fourth family vacation to the gulf, our second year in Perdido Key, and our first stay at Sandy Key. We have definitely found our vacation home, and we plan to return as often as possible. Although we weren't able to come back this summer, we're planning a return trip to this condo for the fall. Everything was wonderful, from dealing with the owner, to the location, to the condo itself. The condo is well-maintained, comfortable, and so convenient to everything in Perdido, but still quiet, comfortable, and soooo relaxing. The beach was beautiful, the pool was comfortable, and we couldn't have asked for a better trip. Thank you so much, you can count on seeing us again!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: August 25, 2009   Date of arrival: August 25, 2009

Thanks for a wonderful vacation condo! It really did feel like home to us. Loved the 7th floor view…and the weather this week was wonderful! We have a soft spot in our hearts for they Sandy Key…been vacationing here since 1996.Thanks Again

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: August 18, 2009   Date of arrival: August 18, 2009

We had a great time. It was the first time in many years since the whole family traveled together. Loved the condo. Felt almost like home.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: August 1, 2009   Date of arrival: August 1, 2009

We had a great time at your condo! It felt like home. We all enjoyed the view from the balcony. We were in the ocean every day and enjoyed every minute of it. Thanks for sharing your condo with us!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: June 13, 2009   Date of arrival: June 13, 2009

We absolutely love this condo and Perdido Key! This is our first time to Perdido Key and we will definitely be back. Pool was great , beach access couldn’t be better. Loved the low key, family atmosphere. Our kids loved seeing the Blue Angels show.We will be back to this condo on our next Perdido Key trip! Thanks for sharing such a fabulous condo.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: May 17, 2009   Date of arrival: May 17, 2009

We enjoyed every minute of our stay. Just my husband and I on vacation alone. First time since 1992. Love Sandy Key and enjoyed your condo.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: April 15, 2009   Date of arrival: April 15, 2009

Thank you for sharing your beautiful home. We had a wonderful trip Sandy Key. Perdido Key is awesome and so relaxing! We plan to return soon.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: August 20, 2008   Date of arrival: August 20, 2008

I recently added the comments left in the condo comment book. These are all the comments. We'd love to have you stay in our home. Please give me a call. John Whittenberger, Owner.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: July 24, 2008   Date of arrival: July 24, 2008

We had a great time here!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: July 23, 2008   Date of arrival: July 23, 2008

Enjoyed your wonderful place! Good places to eat – The Reef, Shrimp Basket, and LOVED Lamberts in Foley, AL. Worth the 25 min drive. Nice shopping at the outlet mall there too. Hope to come back again!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: July 5, 2008   Date of arrival: July 5, 2008

What a great experience for our families first time to Perdido Key! We loved it all...from the non-crowded beaches out front of this complex, to beautiful Johnson Beach, to the great restaurants, to the unbelievable Fish Market – Joe Patti's, and the never ending fireworks display right outside this room...Again, a fun and memorable week for us all! We've found a “gem” in Perdido Key. Thank you for sharing your lovely home with us.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: June 27, 2008   Date of arrival: June 27, 2008

All of the women in our family – together for the first time in 10 years – wonderful memories. Thanks

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: June 1, 2008   Date of arrival: June 1, 2008

What a great place to come and visit. Our four year old has never seen the ocean and we are so excited to be here! Thanks for sharing your home with us!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: May 22, 2008   Date of arrival: May 22, 2008

What a great place to stay. We come here every year and this is the first time we would actually like to return to the exact condo. Thank you for sharing your home. We had a wonderful time!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: May 14, 2008   Date of arrival: May 14, 2008

Beautiful Condo! Beautiful Beach! Everything was soooo nice and painless, which is the best part. Website was nice, but nothing compared to the reality! We love it. We will definitely be back!!! Thank you.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: October 6, 2007   Date of arrival: October 6, 2007

Our family enjoyed Sandy Key very much. The unit was beautiful and very clean – we would love to come back! Thanks.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: August 10, 2007   Date of arrival: August 10, 2007

What a nice place for making family memories! The boys had a great time and the condo was very spacious feeling. We would definitely recommend the Naval Aviation Museum...Nicely done and totally free! We'll be back soon.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: August 9, 2007   Date of arrival: August 9, 2007

I also found this by accident while searching on the internet. The unit was absolutely gorgeous...even better than the pictures shown on the website! I will absolutely recommend this unit to anyone I know for a place at the beach – unless its when I'm coming back! I am certain we will return again one day!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: August 4, 2007   Date of arrival: August 4, 2007

We found Perdido Key/Sandy Key by accident. What a great place to relax. Everything was perfect here. We certainly be back next year!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: April 23, 2007   Date of arrival: April 23, 2007

Beautiful weather! It is nice to see the Sandy Key Condos back and more beautiful than ever! I've been coming for years and am very happy things are coming around after Ivan. Thanks for sharing your wonderful condo. Look forward to many trips in the future. Peace Out.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: March 18, 2007   Date of arrival: March 18, 2007

The condo is beautiful.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: March 18, 2007   Date of arrival: March 18, 2007

We had a wonderful time. We love Sandy Key.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: February 23, 2007   Date of arrival: February 23, 2007

Fantastic visit to Sandy Key 737 and Perdido Key. Beautiful unit, well furnished and very comfortable. Absolutely Top Notch.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review