reviews for: listing #43356 - Whitefish, Montana Cottage rental

Whit's End Cottage
  • bedrooms  1
  • pool  no
  • type  Cottage
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Whitefish Mountain
  • sleeps  4
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $60 - $92 /nt
    $425 - $600 /wk
    $1,500 - $2,650 /mth

sort by:

Prime Location in a Quiet Neighborhood!

Review submitted: September 20, 2013   Date of arrival: September 8, 2013

Couldn’t have been a better place to stay, everything was as described. We stayed for 3 nights and walked downtown every evening for the best ice cream( Sweet Peaks Ice Cream) in town. The gas grill was perfect for grilling steaks and the kitchen had everything we needed for a home cooked meal. Glacier Park was only a short drive away, and the grocery store was just up the street. Tuesday night had a farmers market with lots of fresh produce. The only thing we missed was a show at the alpine theater, it was between seasons, last time we saw an excellent show there. The only thing missing was a hair dryer and I mentioned it to Pat and she said she would add one.

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Charming Cottage

Review submitted: July 19, 2013   Date of arrival: July 4, 2013

We stayed at Whit's End over the 4th of July weekend this year. It was wonderful. The cottage had everything we needed-fully stocked kitchen and bathroom. Nice bed linens, very comfortable living room...just perfect for us.It is a short, but beautiful drive to Glacier, which we did twice. The cottage is within walking distance of the train station and downtown Whitefish. Everyday, I would pack lunches to take to Glacier than the afternoons/evenings we would walk to downtown for dinner, over to the historic train station and thru the park. It was a great trip and one I hope to repeat again soon.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 5

 

Cozy stay in downtown Whitefish

Review submitted: January 9, 2013   Date of arrival: December 30, 2012

We visit Whitefish every winter for skiing. Our New Year's visit to Whit's End was the first time we have stayed walking distance to downtown Whitefish, and we loved this location. My husband, son, and I all had a lot of work to do during our week at Whit's End, so each day after skiing, we spent our late afternoon in the living room, each working on our laptops in front of the fireplace... it was very cozy, and the wireless internet worked perfectly. I loved being able to look out the living room window each morning at Big Mountain Ski Resort to gauge how the skiing and weather looked for the day. Another thing that was notably great about Whit's End was how clean it is... we rent vacation apartments all over the world, and Whit's End was immaculate! Also, the washer and dryer were especially efficient and easy to use. Whit's End was perfect for our family of 3!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 5 / 6

 

September Visit

Review submitted: October 15, 2012   Date of arrival: September 4, 2012

Whit's End was a perfect fit for us while visiting family this fall. With a longer stay, it was wonderful having the washer/dryer available. The kitchen was well equipped. It was a pleasure making family meals using fresh produce from the weekly Farmer's Market. Finally, the plantings along the walk were lovely. We hope to return for a spring visit.

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 

Whit's End was perfect

Review submitted: May 27, 2012   Date of arrival: May 23, 2012

Charming, delightful, quaint, and totally captivating...this is how I felt the moment I walked in the door...totally right at home. Every detail was tastefully provided and I always felt comfortable during my stay. Finding this cottage for a brief personal retreat allowed me to relax and reflect while enjoying all the comforts of home, including the wonderfully fragrant lilac tree at the front door and the meticulous flower beds, my only wish was that they had been blooming. I will definitely consider coming back and hope the owner doesn't relinquish this site for condo development. Thank you for a wonderful experience, my first at vacation home rentals.

Sheila
Lethbridge AB Canada

Recommended for: age 55+, people with disabilities, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Cozy spot in town

Review submitted: May 23, 2012   Date of arrival: May 18, 2012

A buddy and I made a long weekend of golfing in Whitefish and stayed at this cozy little cottage right in the downtown heart of Whitefish. You can walk from the Amtrak station (about 6 blocks) and you are only three blocks from Central Ave with a great selection of restaurants and shops.
The cabin has a well-stocked kitchen and a little bedroom. The main living area has a comfortable fold out and a terrific little gas stove controlled by the thermostat in the kitchen. Tons of TV channels are available via satellite and they have decent WiFi access.
The bathroom is small, but the shower is of adequate size and the hot water was plentiful and the water pressure was strong.
Patricia made booking, arrival and departure instructions very clear and she was a pleasure to deal with and we managed to handle the entire rental transaction via email.
Thanks. We hope to visit again.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Ab Fab Stay!

Review submitted: May 2, 2012   Date of arrival: April 5, 2012

Whit's End was everything it promised to be!
The cottage is charming and comfortable. It's close to everything in Whitefish. We walked to restaurants and stores. My husband, two adult daughters and I stayed here for nearly three weeks. Our purpose was to visit family, but we also played vacationing tourists. We went horseback riding, to a rodeo and sightseeing. Whit's End was centrally located to all we did. It's also close to the airport.
Although we frequented plenty of the local restaurants, we cooked a lot too. Whit's End provides all the cooking utensils you might need: blender, mixer, slow cooker, a variety of pots and pans, and even a pizza cutter. Other welcome amenities include: dish TV, wireless internet, gas fireplace and a good stock of soft, bath towels. An added bonus:we were greeted daily by a mallard couple who came looking for bread crumbs. Whit's End is a great value and a delight.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Fully Renovated Lovely Rental

Review submitted: March 12, 2012   Date of arrival: March 5, 2012

This cottage is fully renovated. The property is very clean and modern. 2 short blocks off of downtown Whitefish, we walked to shopping and pubs. Many very good restaurants close by. 15 minute drive to the ski hill. We would definitely stay at Whit's End again and would recommend it to friends.

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great place in Whitefish

Review submitted: March 8, 2012   Date of arrival: February 29, 2012

We have rented many vacation homes over the years and this was one of the best. The location is perfect! Easy walk to downtown and the Amtrak station. Our son lives in Whitefish and I wanted to cook for him while there. The kitchen was great and well equiped. The house was very clean and well maintained.
Overall, we were very pleased. Patricia was very accomodating and responded quickly to any questions I had.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Witty Stay for Smart Budgets

Review submitted: January 31, 2012   Date of arrival: January 26, 2012

We got into this rental very close to our planned trip and cancelled our hotel reservations because the price was so good! Less than the local hotels with many more options for long term stays.

Charming one bedroom, one bath, with large kitchen and living room. Very close to downtown tourist areas, skiing an easy 10 minutes away and exceptionally convenient to many restaurants and other site-seeing fun such as Glacier.

We visited family in the area and had the chance to entertain our grandchildren and in-laws. Ducks in the front yard and rabbits in the back. Our grandaughter kept saying "I LOVE this place!"

Playdoh, not included......lol.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

charming place

Review submitted: January 4, 2012   Date of arrival: December 26, 2011

We stayed here over the New Year to do some skiing. It was fantastic. Within walking distance of everything - even the bus to the hill. Very comfortable place - spotless and well equipped with nothing overlooked. We had friends stay closer to the hill but paid double and had half the space! Will be back! Thanks

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Wonderful little cottage!

Review submitted: December 7, 2011   Date of arrival: August 1, 2011

We stayed in this little cottage for 2 months this past summer(2011) - it was perfect for my husband and myself! It was so cozy with the fireplace for those crisp MT mornings and very comfortably furnished and very clean. There's a little deck in back with table and chairs and gas grill for having your own barbecue. The owner thought of everything a person could possibly need in the kitchen and otherwise. Internet acccess was included and it was within walking distance to the downtown, Whitefish. We'd walk every Tuesday to the Farmers Market in the Depot Park which was about 3-4 blocks away. They had arts and crafts, fresh produce and even music was provided by some group every week. It is just a short drive up to the ski resort where you can take the lift free to the restaurant below. It's also only 12 miles to Kalispell if you need a few more shopping and restaurant options. I'd highly recommend this place. If we take a vacation there again, that'll be the place we'll want to stay.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Privacy, Clean, Comfortable, Everything we needed

Review submitted: August 29, 2010   Date of arrival: August 5, 2010

We staqyed here for 9 days and had one of the best vacations ever. The money we saved on lodging was spent on terrific meals right in town. A perfect place for a couple, or a family with a child or two that could use the sleeper sofa. It was clean, comfortable and had all the kitchen amenities of home. We were able to travwel lite since there was a washer & dryer right in the house. Breakfast lunch and dinner in town was great from the bar food to the fine dining white table cloths. Shopping, the parks with the vendors, and the friendly shop keepers gave this a small town refreshing feeling. It was very close to the rail yard and the background of train bells, wheels squeeking on the tracks and whisltes in the morning were a nice touch. A GREAT STAY.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: The wonderful town of Whitefish has so much to offer. This quaint little cottage is within walking distance from it all. We will continue our efforts to make this place feel like home to all of our guests.

Helpful votes: 19 / 19

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review