reviews for: listing #43416 - San Diego, California Studio rental

Sold
  • bedrooms  0
  • pool  no
  • type  Studio
  • baths  ½
  • hot tub  no
  • community  University Heights
  • sleeps  1
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $1 - $1 /nt
    $1 - $1 /wk
    $1 - $1 /mth

sort by:

Family vacation San Diego

Review submitted: March 19, 2009   Date of arrival: March 12, 2009

This was a great get away for my family of five and 2 year old grand daughter. The two master bedrooms were very spacious and the three bathrooms were indeed as described, such a plus with five adults. Bob was very hospitable from his informative emails to his welcoming phone call as we landed in San Diego. He met us upon our arrival and made time to call during our stay to give us a weather update. The location was pefect for us. We visited Sea World, Legoland, Balboa Park, the Zoo, Old Town,La Jolla and Coronado Island and we did not use a full tank of gas for our 7 passenger van! Restaurants, shops and a lovey park for the toddlers are all within a block of the house. The neighborhood was quiet and safe.
I would highly recommend this beautiful property, tastefully decorated and very clean. We spent one relaxing evening cooking on the gas grill and enjoying the patio and house amenities.

Thanks Bob for your hospitality. Bob also worked with us since our travel dates changed from our original plan. If we ever return to San Diego as a family, I will indeed rent this house again.

As to the attractions, all were fine. The only downside was our "dining with Shamu." The luncheon was pricey at $40.00 per person so we were disappointed when the show during the luncheon did not meet our expectations. It was too short and the outdoor dining in March proved to be a bit too cold since the dining area is in the shade. Otherwise, Sea World was great.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Owners response: Thanks so much guys! We do indeed, hope to have you back again!

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Joyful Family Reunion

Review submitted: June 19, 2013   Date of arrival: June 9, 2013

We utilized this home as the gathering place for relatives - some from out-of-state like us, some local. IT was comfortable, tasteful, clean, attractive and very accommodating to our needs. We did venture out to some attractions, and I was always happy to retreat back to the house as driving in the San Diego area is crazy! At the house, I could really relax and if I needed anything, it was easy to walk to the store or a great restaurant, or, to the park across the street so the little ones could play. We cooked up a lot of food in the fabulous kitchen and we utilized the bbq grill as well. We spent hours and hours on the patio enjoying the comfortable climate and each other. I recommend this place to anyone who needs a great place to stay in San Diego. We had ages 3 through 88 years old represented and everyone loved it.
Thanks, Bob! it was wonderful meeting you:)

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: So nice of you to say such kind words!
WE sure hope to have you back again someday soon!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Memorial Day weekend stay

Review submitted: June 3, 2013   Date of arrival: May 24, 2013

Had a great stay with 8 people total in this wonderful house. Was just a block away from the chic University Heights drag which was nice to hit at night and in the morning for a breakfast burrito. Would highly recommend, probably sans kids, but otherwise a great place to call home for a few days. Very centralized within San Diego.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks so much!
Hope to see you again!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Beautiful home in a perfect location.

Review submitted: April 25, 2013   Date of arrival: February 5, 2013

This lovely home is located in a quaint neighborhood just one block from from a strip of fun and interesting coffee shops and restaurants. We wanted a place that was beautiful to enjoy by itself and this house fit the bill. There were 4 generations of our family represented on that vacation and every one of us enjoyed our time immensely. The well-stocked and beautiful kitchen made cooking our meals every bit as fun as going out. The entire house is just beautiful to behold and we were all comfortable.
Bob was very helpful and thorough in coordinating our arrival and departure needs as well as recommending some great restaurants in the area. I don't recall the name but the Italian restaurant a few miles away lived up to the recommendation. We're Italian and seldom eat out at Italian restaurants but even my grandparents visiting from Italy enjoyed every bite! Do go.
Many have commented on how close everything is. Can not be overstated.
This was a perfect house, situated in a perfect location, and gave us a perfect San Diego stay.

Owners response: Thanks so much for your kind words and bringing your own personal touch about our home. Hope to have you back again real soon.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Lovely Home & Excellent Location

Review submitted: April 1, 2013   Date of arrival: March 23, 2013

This home is lovely, well appointed and Bob is very organized and responsive. It felt like we were truly on vacation given how nicely appointed and well cared for the home is. We loved all of the windows and doors outside. The bathrooms are luxurious and we used the outdoor space everyday. The location is SO close to all freeways. The kids loved having the park across the street and being walking distance to restaurants and stores in University Heights. This is a truly a terrific home base for exploring San Diego. The area is busy, so it is a little loud in the house at times, but not problematic. We had young children and the stairs were not problematic. Everyone loved it and we would return in a heartbeat.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: So glad our home worked out nicely for your stay in San Diego!
We certainly hope to have you back in a heartbeat!!
Take care for now.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Christmas Charmer

Review submitted: January 2, 2013   Date of arrival: December 21, 2012

My family of 6 (all adults) enjoyed Christmas week in San Diego. A big part of our enjoyment was this wonderful home. The property was clean and well-maintained. We especially enjoyed the two sided fire place. It provided warmth and Christmas spirit to our holiday home away from home. Bob met us on our first day and gave us the grand tour as well as a little history of the home and the area. The two master suites are well appointed. The upstairs suite having its own veranda was an added bonus. Since we were so close to many attractions we took advantage of as much sight seeing as possible during a holiday week. We visited the Zoo, Balboa Park, Midway Museum, Gaslamp district, La Jolla, Del Coronado, Coronado Golf course (a pro golfer sighting!)and the Holiday Bowl Game. We would recommend the dueling piano bar "Shout House" (adults only). Sunday evening was quite entertaining. Restaurants we enjoyed included Table 926 (a bit of a drive but worth it - 1/2 price bottles of wine on Weds) Seersucker in the Gaslamp area was also a good choice. Closer to home we enjoyed both Fig Tree for a good pizza and pasta and Cafe 21 for brunch. We felt very comfortable walking around the neighborhood. One sunny morning we strolled through the park and past many other beautiful Craftsman homes. We would definitely recommend this home for a San Diego home away from home. Thanks Bob!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Wow! That was a fantasic review! You make us proud to be vacation home owners! Hope to have you back again in the future.
Happy New Year!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Very Happy!!!

Review submitted: December 10, 2012   Date of arrival: November 29, 2012

We had a lovely stay. We were a big Family with my parents, inlaws, husband and 2 kids ( aged 2 & 7) ..what a great home bob has renovated....very comfortable and welcoming. We loved the outdoor areas had a couple of great steaks bbq'ed with the BBQ and loved the stone shower. Bob came and met with us and provided us with some great suggestions to restaurants and local expertise which was greatly appreciated. So convenient to everything...from Costco, Trader Joe's, Sea World, Dwtn, Old Town....you name it!! A nice little park literally 15 steps away for younger kids and great for morning jogs around the quaint neighbourhood. Thank you so much Bob!! Hope to be back soon!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: It was so nice to meet you all!
Such a nice family and so glad your stay turned out great!!!
We certainly hope to have you back with us again someday soon!
Take care for now.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

It was right choice

Review submitted: November 11, 2012   Date of arrival: October 31, 2012

Craftsman Charm had added great value to our few days stay at San Diego. Indeed, it is close to all places we wanted to visit and because of its location it helped us to see couple of places that we did not consider earlier.

The property was very clean, well-organized and there are more than what we expect as minimum. Simply, whatever I read in the site is true and no surprise of any sort was faced.

It was a pity that I have not met Bob in person but all my email communications and the phone conversation we held revealed a great helpful person.

Simply, it was great trip to San Diego that I, my wife and the kids had enjoyed greatly. I would look no further if I make it again to San Diego.

Owners response: It's rare that I am not able to meet a guest on both arrival and departure, but you are right, by our conversation and e-mails and the fact that you were truly able to enjoy our home the way that we hoped, is what makes this even better.
It would be great to have you back again and to get the chance to finally meet.
Thanks so much!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Look No Further!

Review submitted: September 7, 2012   Date of arrival: September 5, 2012

We just returned home from a week's stay at this beautiful home in San Diego. Our travel party consisted of 4 adults, a teenager, and a 2 year old. The home was very clean, and the online description and photos were accurate (unlike some properties we have rented in the past). Bob met us at the home upon our arrival and thoroughly went over the features of the home. We found the neighborhood to be quiet and our son especially enjoyed the playground at Trolley Barn Park, a short walk from the house. The house was in a perfect location....close to the Zoo, Balboa Park, the beaches, Old Town, downtown, the airport. Everything was just a short drive away. We would highly recommend this property to family and friends and would definitely stay here again the next time we visit San Diego.

Owners response: So happy to hear it!!
We keep hearing great things and it just validates our efforts is making our homes the best places to stay in Sna Diego!
Hope to see you again real soon!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Craftsman Charmer is exactly as advertised.

Review submitted: September 6, 2012   Date of arrival: August 15, 2012

This is a very clean and well maintained property. There is nothing misleading about the listing description or photos. Our group of six adults immediately felt very comfortable here and we found it hard to leave at the end of our week. The location is very close to downtown San Diego, several beaches (Mission and Ocean Beach are great), the zoo, golf courses, restaurants, and many more fun things to do and see. University Heights, the neighborhood surrounding the home, is a great place to grab a bite to eat or to have a drink or two. The owner went out of his way to make our stay as relaxing and hassle-free as possible and he very much succeeded. I would definitely recommend the Craftsman Charmer to friends and family and would look no further if I ever found myself back in beautiful San Diego.

Owners response: Can we say a big thanks for your great review and how thankful we are that you have found your home away from home in San Diego in our Craftsman Charmer!! We wish you all the best and many happy returns!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great renter and great location

Review submitted: August 15, 2012   Date of arrival: August 11, 2012

Bob the owner was so nice and was right there when we pulled up. He went over the whole house, told us about some of his favorite places and the house was so nice and clean.

And the location to San Diego Zoo, Sea World and USS Midway was totally amazing! We had a 7 year old and 4 year old with us so it made it soooo nice to have it close.

And we had breakfast at the Parkhouse which was literally a 2 min walk and I've never had eggs that good before. And then I stopped at the little local coffee shop and had an amazing coffee.

I would highly recommend staying at this house if you want a beautiful, clean home that is owned by a super, friendly great guy!!Pp

Owners response: So nice to meet you and so glad you got to take advantage of what San Diego and our little village has to offer!
Take care and hope to see you again soon!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great first vacation in San Diego

Review submitted: June 28, 2012   Date of arrival: June 8, 2012

Exceeded our expectations, one of the most accurate property VRBO descriptions we have ever rented. Will come back from sure, next time we visit San Diego. This wasn’t our first choice of Bob Pellaton homes because that was rented during desired time frame, but it accommodated the six adults in our party with only minor compromises. The daily, hour plus, walks from the house were all unique and very enjoyable; we even walked to Balboa park twice. But not the days we went to the Zoo and Museums. Fifteen minutes to almost everywhere even La Jolla. One of the most surprising features was just how nice the neighborhood was and how friendly everyone deals with on street parking.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you so much ~ terrific and unique review!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Charming Indeed!!!!

Review submitted: April 30, 2012   Date of arrival: April 27, 2012

This house was so lovely and charming....very true to the pictures. It was clean and well equipped, comfortable beds, and an awesome patio to sit and enjoy the beautiful San Diego weather on. We only wish we could have stayed longer. Bob was very professional and organized and always very kind and helpful. This is number #2 of the 4 houses by this owner....we are looking forward to renting all of them eventually. Thank you again for everything!!
Rob and Kim

Owners response: Thanks so much for your kind words and so great to have you stay with us again!!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Fantastic Home

Review submitted: April 23, 2012   Date of arrival: April 19, 2012

This was such a fantastic place to stay. Not only was it very close to the freeways and everything else one would want to do in San Diego - It was well kept and nicely furnished. I will certainly try to stay here again next time we visit. The owner (Bob) was very helpful. Thanks for opening up your home to us.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Ideal location

Review submitted: April 23, 2012   Date of arrival: March 7, 2012

My wife and I met two other couples here for vacation and it turned out to be the ideal facility to house us all. We have two small kids, 2 and 6 months and another 3 year old was present. The neighborhood is great for walking and there is a nice kids park across the street. The nearby shops and restaurants leave no need to drive for entertainment or food. It is centrally located in regards to the main SD attractions. We would stay here again in a heartbeat.

Recommended for: families with young children, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Owners response: Thanks so much for your review. Hope to have you back again real soon.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

An excellent location

Review submitted: April 8, 2012   Date of arrival: April 3, 2012

The house is perfectly located for most of the San Diego attractions and interesting places. The neighborhood is quiet and the house is very well equipped and in excellent condition. I will recommend it to anyone visiting San Diego.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Wonderful location, great place!

Review submitted: March 21, 2012   Date of arrival: March 14, 2012

First off, I should say that my kids, ages 6 and 8, told me that they were going to call Bob and try to purchase this property for themselves. They had even worked out which bedroom each would claim...so Bob, if you are ever selling, let them know!

This house is in a great location, is well appointed, the back patio is terrific and Bob is a very organized owner. I know this because our family owns and leases vacation properties in Hershey PA--and Bob takes this seriously--he called me to confirm dates and details. He was there on day one and went over how to use various appliances/etc. The house had a pile of brochures and a list of recommended places/restaurants. Many places were within walking distance of the house--I highly recommend the Mexican restaurant on Park (one block away).

I will definitely keep Bob's number on my cell--so that when I return to San Diego, I can return to the same house. Highly recommend!

Owners response: Thank you so much for your wonderful compliments!
Your family was so nice to meet!

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Charming Craftsman lives up to its name!

Review submitted: March 5, 2012   Date of arrival: February 20, 2012

This is one of the most beautifully put together properties we've stayed at. Spotlessly clean, thoughtfully appointed with a great layout for a family with small children. We enjoyed cooking at home and relaxing on the patio with our two little kids. Bob dealt with any inquiries promptly. We chuckled every time we plugged a destination into the Tom Tom - nothing was more than 15 minutes away. It's rare for a rental property to live up to your expectations but in this case, this lovely home really did and the location is peacefully quiet, has a cute high street with restaurants and cafes and a playground at the end of the street. Highly recommended. Thanks Bob.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks so much ~ great thoughts for our home!!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great, comfy house, as advertised!

Review submitted: March 5, 2012   Date of arrival: February 24, 2012

My two sisters and I loved our week in this house, which is indeed a "charming Craftsman." The house has been completely updated. The 3 bedrooms and 3 baths are all lovely and comfortably appointed. The weather was colder and more gray than we expected, so the roaring fireplace was especially cozy. The kitchen is exceptionally well equipped. Bob was a delight to work with.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Owners response: Thanks so much for your kind thoughts!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Wonderful experience!

Review submitted: January 20, 2012   Date of arrival: January 14, 2012

We absolutely loved this rental house. The house was clean, comfortable, and as charming as the pictures. Bob was there when we arrived and was a pleasure to meet. The house was centrally located and we loved how quickly we could go to any of our destinations.
The fireplace was wonderful! We spent several evenings playing games in front of it!!
We were over and above pleased with our stay!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Owners response: Your family is awesome! We are so happy you enjoyed yourselves! Keep us in mind for future visits, we'ld certainly like to have you back again!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great place, great location

Review submitted: January 13, 2012   Date of arrival: January 8, 2012

This was a lovely, well done home in a great neighborhood. There are many interesting things to do in University Heights and we enjoyed staying there and trying new restaurants within walking distance. The house itself is a very good quality home, with nice stone and tile accents throughout. The kitchen didn't see much use as we were there for work and long hours away, but seemed very well appointed if needed. Beds are comfortable and big, and the home was very clean and obviously well maintained.
It may have been on the large size for us as there were only a couple in our party, but we enjoyed the extra room that we had and the sense of having your own space. I would recommend this to friends and other business travelers, and I would stay here again if traveling with my own family. We didn't try the Ethiopian place, but I will recommend another, the Cueva bar for their empanadas, plus Oz is a great owner that obviously loves his craft. Thanks for the house Bob,
WWcrew

Owners response: Thanks so much for your nice review. So glad you enjoyed our home and neighborhood as much as we do!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great house, great location

Review submitted: January 6, 2012   Date of arrival: December 14, 2011

We needed a good size house for a family event and this one really filled the bill. It was a great size with separate living and family rooms, a great kitchen well stocked with utensils and three excellent bathrooms. It has a great layout, very unique and lots of Craftsman charm. It was in very nice condition with very comfortable furniture and beds. It has two really nice bedrooms and one that served its purpose but wasn't too memorable. One of the bedrooms is located above the garage. It is accessed by a spiral staircase that worked fine for us. That bedroom has a very useful counter with sink, a very nice bathroom with a cool shower and a terrific covered and partially enclosed balcony We could've spent the entire day up there and been happy. The house has a central San Diego location, great access to I-8 (but no freeway noise), and a location one block from the University Heights commercial area. We were too busy to use it, but there is a nice park within 100 yards of the house. The house has a garage with electric door opener and convenient direct access to the house. It's also only a couple of minutes to the Hillcrest neighborhood with all its amenities. If we were to need a good size place again this would definitely be our first choice.

Owners response: Truly appreciate your kindness!! We certainly aim to please our guests and have a good feeling we'll be seeing you again real soon!
Take care for now.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Central Location

Review submitted: January 6, 2012   Date of arrival: December 14, 2011

What a great place! We stayed here while attending a family wedding. We were able to relax and enjoy this warm and comfortable home. The neighborhood was nice and quiet. I wished we had had more time to explore the many stores and restaurants that were a short walk away. Our bride and her bridesmaid fell in love with the downstairs' master bathroom and the 3 way mirror. Everything was well appointed and it made you feel like you were at home. We really liked having a garage for off street parking. It very convenient to park and have direct access to the house. Bob was a great host and made sure we were informed about everything. It will be very hard to stay in a hotel again after our stay here.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Owners response: Thank you so very much for your kind words.
We certainly hope to have you back again real soon!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Thanksgiving weekend with family and friends

Review submitted: December 4, 2011   Date of arrival: November 23, 2011

My husband and I rented this house for four nights to celebrate Thanksgiving with friends in the San Diego area. Our adult children and their spouses stayed with us and three couples fit comfortably, especially nice that everyone had their own bathroom. Very private and totally furnished. Nice to have the barbeque and a well outfitted kitchen, even had a coffee bean grinder. Nice gas fireplace and plenty of sitting areas for playing games, watching TV or just relaxing. Something for everyone. Will stay again and recommend to anyone visiting San Diego.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks a bunch for your review. So glad to hear how you enjoyed our home.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wow! What a great house.

Review submitted: November 29, 2011   Date of arrival: November 19, 2011

My family of 6 had a great time in this beautiful home. Everything was perfectly maintained and Bob was a great help. He was very professional with the arrangements and communication. He even met my sister-in-law at the house before our arrival so she could leave a welcome gift for us. The neighborhood was very nice and we all walked to several restaurants during our stay. We enjoyed the Ethiopian restaurant the most. Thanks for a great time! We hope to visit San Diego again and stay in this lovely home.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Yes!

Review submitted: July 21, 2011   Date of arrival: July 14, 2011

This home is beautiful and clean. We found the location perfect for beach and Sea World access. Wish we had more time to explore the neighborhood restaurants/shopping. The park down the street was great for our kids.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Truly as Stated and SO MUCH MORE!!

Review submitted: June 13, 2011   Date of arrival: May 25, 2011

The pictures truly do justice to the property, its relaxed yet astere.Close to everything should you only want to walk to it,what a great neighborhood!yet centrally in located in the city itself,easy to get back to, should you want to drive and we did! It was Perfect!. It's quite obvious great pride is taken in the property and it had everything we could ask for. Man o' Man it was fun!! Bob was there at the begining and at the end. Could not ask for a nicer guy! Answered all our Q's and told us not to hesitate to call if we had any others.
In todays world, it's great to get your money worth and this property did just that!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: It was truly great to meet the both of you and can't wait to have you back again.
Take care and thanks so much for your kind words!!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Family get-together

Review submitted: May 29, 2011   Date of arrival: May 23, 2011

This was a wonderful place to gather for my mother's 80th birthday. We had three adult couples plus an eight year old and my twenty something sons. The house is definitely charming, very comfortable, and supplied well, with Internet, and lots of space. The patio and balcony space were a nice addition to the indoor space. We loved the proximity to a park for frizbee, and it was close to the San Diego attractions we visited: Balboa Park, the Harbor, Downtown, and Sea World. Bob was easy to work with and the neighborhood was quiet. I definitely recommend this rental, and hope we can return sometime soon.

Recommended for: families with teenagers

Owners response: Thank you soooo much!
So glad things worked out great for you.
Hope to see you again real soon.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Beautiful home

Review submitted: May 27, 2011   Date of arrival: May 19, 2011

Very beautiful home for family vacations. Everything and everywhere is ideally located and available. This home is exquisitely appointed and very cozy. I would stay here again for another family vacation. Bob is just wonderful to work with and is very friendly.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you!!
Take care and maybe we'll see again real soon.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great House, Terrific Location!

Review submitted: April 2, 2011   Date of arrival: March 26, 2011

My entire family loved the house, especially the patio. Everything was exactly as advertised or better. Bob was very responsive when we had a question or two. 10 minutes away from everything. Nice dining within walking distance. We will be back!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Owners response: Thanks you guys ~ take care for now.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Lovely home away from home!

Review submitted: January 31, 2011   Date of arrival: January 23, 2011

Our family of six adults plus small grand dog spent a wonderful week in this charming home in the University Heights district of San Diego. The house was lovely and perfect for our needs. The patio at the house was sunny and warm even in January! We were able to sit outside every day when we were at home !

With four people coming from out side of Philadelphia and two from Arizona we needed help in finding a place to stay that would work for all of us, including the dog. Bob was very helpful. He was able to answer all of my questions before I rented the house. When we arrived he took us around the house and showed us where everything was. We made good use of the stove, dishwasher, washing machine and dryer with fine results. We even used the fireplace several times on cool evenings.

The neighborhood was very close to most attractions. We really enjoyed being able to walk to restaurants and the little coffee house only a couple of blocks away. We ate at two restaurants in the neighborhood. Lei, a funky tropical eatery where the food was good and the specials reasonably priced, and an Abysinnian/Ethiopian restaurant where the food was very good and the service excellent.


We highly recommend this home for family vacations. Thank you Bob for all of your help!

We have a few suggestions for people coming from outside of the area. We used a Garmin GPS constantly! It saved us valuable time getting from place to place. We also made use of the go San Diego card for three days of sightseeing. Lots of running from place to place to make it worth it but we enjoyed everything that we experienced.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: What a great review! Thanks so much. We certainly aim to please and thanks for leaving our home in such incredible condition when you departed. Truly hope to have you back again in the near future!!
Take care.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

This is a wonderful property run by a very warm and helpful owner

Review submitted: January 11, 2011   Date of arrival: January 6, 2011

I just came back from a week in San Diego. I was there on business and took my wife and daughter(18 years old) and our daughters best friend. We fell in love with this house the minute we walked in. The owner Bob Pellatin was absolutely wonderful from the minute I made contact with him over the web to introducing us to the property upon our arrival. The property is decorated beautifully with ample space for our family and more if we wanted. The location is perfect being just 10-15 minutes away from virtually anything you could want to do in San Diego. I will in the future make sure I only seek out properties owned and decorated by Bob as he helped create an experience that will be remembered forever.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: You are so kind! Your words truly made me smile!! Sincerely hope to have you back to stay with us in the future!!
Take care for now.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Wonderful stay in SD - Fantastic House - Highly recommended

Review submitted: December 30, 2010   Date of arrival: December 13, 2010

We were two families with 4 children under 10, and we really appreciated the amount of room we had, and just how beautiful the house was. The quality of the house and all its fittings is very high, and it has been furnished like a private home, rather than a rental, so we instantly felt very relaxed and comfortable. It was all the little touches that made things easy and feel so much like home: rugs and cushions, board games, sharp kitchen knives, wi-fi and local bus timetables... And the fireplace was heaven in the evenings! My children were not happy when our time was up - they really wanted to stay longer!

The location was very convenient, especially the park and playground just across the road which was great for our young children (this was a surprise as it was not featured in the description at all, but it made a big difference for us!). A good coffee shop was a short stroll away, and we had groceries delivered which we ordered online, and could top up with milk and bread from the store a few minutes' walk away.

The one downside was another incident with the neighbour who objected to us parking across our own driveway, and damaged our car tyres. Nothing to do with the house itself or the owners, and avoidable if you know the neighbour's obsession! But do use the garage if possible.

We would definitely stay here again and our friends in San Diego were so impressed that they plan to rent it for their relatives when they come to stay!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Owners response: Thanks so much and hope to have you back again real soon!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Lovely house, great atmosphere, terrific location

Review submitted: December 19, 2010   Date of arrival: December 3, 2010

We found it really warm and comforting to return to this house each night. The decor was very stylish but in an friendly and inviting way. We had 6 of us stay in the house (including 2 couples), and it was nicely set out so we could have our own space. The house was in a quiet spot but with lots of interesting things nearby. Bob was waiting for us when we arrived, and his intro and overview was useful. The places we have stayed in on this trip to the USA have convinced us that we will use houses sourced from HomeAway on our next trip to the USA.

Recommended for: families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks so much & certainly hope to see you again in the future!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great thanksgiving vacation spot

Review submitted: November 28, 2010   Date of arrival: November 23, 2010

We loved staying here for Thanksgiving with our family - daughter, son-in-law and 2 small grandchildren.We visited the museums at Balboa Park, spent hours at the nearby park with our kids and our dog, and enjoyed the fireplace and coziness of this home. With the exception of one cranky neighbor ( who deflated our daughter's car tires!) everything went very smoothly - and thank goodness this happened on the last night of our stay. Thanks Bob for the great introduction to the property. The house was everything we hoped for in an out of town holiday visit and it meant a lot for us to be able to bring our dog, Daphne, along with us.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks again guys! Knowing that we were very accommodating and that our home was none the less a wonderful place to spend your Thanksgiving Holiday, unfortunately we can not control the behavior of those in confrontation with a neighbor. Thankful, you are very happy with our home as all guests have been and will continue to be!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

San Diego Property Get Away

Review submitted: October 7, 2010   Date of arrival: September 28, 2010

We had a great stay in San Diego while stayting at Bob's centrally located property.
In total there were 6 adults staying in the house with access to good restaurants in the area that Bob had recommended. They were within walking distance so we could easily get to them from the house.
All major attractions were located within 15 to 20 mins. by car and particularly easy to find on major routes.
The house had all the ammenities and the beds were very comfortable.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Owners response: Thanks so much and hope to have you back again soon!

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Absolutely Perfect Family Vacation in San Diego

Review submitted: August 12, 2010   Date of arrival: August 3, 2010

First of all let me agree with everyone else that Bob is an awesome host! He was there promptly for check in and check out. He is also available by phone for any questions about the house or tips on how to enjoy San Diego.
We stayed in the home with 2 families. A total of 4 adults and 4 children ranging 13-17 in age. It was the perfect size with plenty of room to stretch out after long days of seeing the sites. The pictures really don't do the place justice as Bob is a master decorator as well.
While staying please do yourself a favor and visit the local eateries that are only a block away. You can easily walk down Spaulding to Park Blvd where they are located (2 minutes). We had a great dinner at Soltan. Bagels, pastries and coffee each morning at Twigs and multiple visits to my personal favorite El Zarape. Amazing mexican takeout food including all kinds of burritos and tacos. A very creative and cheap menu. I found out later that they are rated #1 by Fodors. Also a short drive away was RK sushi/japanese. Again, great food at a fair price.
When Bob says you are within 15 minutes of everything he is not kidding.
Both families agreed that this home was a perfect choice!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Owners response: It was so nice to meet you all!!! Hope to see you again real soon!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Cute place!

Review submitted: August 12, 2010   Date of arrival: August 7, 2010

This was our first time renting a house instead of a hotel, and now that we have discovered it, we may never get a hotel room again! We had 9 people and were all very comfortable in this house. In fact, my 5 year old daughter thought it was my aunt's house, since they were already there when we arrived! We all had our own space with the 3 bathrooms and it is nice having a kitchen to use. It was close to everything we wanted to do (a highlight was the Hornblower dinner cruise we did on the bay...beautiful!) and it was also nice hanging out in the living room or family room together playing games at night. I would definitely recommend this house to anyone staying in the San Diego area! Bob was also very helpful and easy to work with.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks so much! Hope to have you back again real soon. Maybe next time you can try one of our other homes for fun!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Charming rental

Review submitted: July 12, 2010   Date of arrival: June 24, 2010

My first experience with VRBO and it was very positive. We were in San Diego for our daughter's soccer tournament. The house was very nice, centrally located and we were very pleased with the accomodations. We really enjoyed our stay and would highly recommend this house for your vacation. Would love to come back and use this same house again. The owner was very helpful in answering our questions. Very easy to work with. Thanks again!

Recommended for: families with young children, sight seeing

Owners response: Take care you guys and hope to see you again real soon!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Cozy!

Review submitted: June 30, 2010   Date of arrival: June 5, 2010

The house was just like the pictures.It was perfect for 8 adults and a 16month old.We walked to restaurants and the park was great.It was a perfect place to spend my birthday with my family.We enjoyed Sea World,Wild Animal Park,and Sea Port Village and just being together. We have alot of fun memories. The house was very cozy it made you feel like home.Thanks again Bob.The Barefoot Family

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Owners response: Thanks so much Nancy!!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Wonderful San Diego home

Review submitted: May 7, 2010   Date of arrival: April 27, 2010

We spent over a week in this property recently. It looks exactly as the pictures indicate; the owner was terrific; the location is in Hillcrest, close to restaurants, galleries, etc., which can be strolled to. There is parking for 2 cars, one in garage, the other in the driveway. On street parking is good during the day. We hosted a shower with 20+ people and the house accommodated the crowd very well. The appliances are upscale and accurate, kitchen is well stocked though if you plan to bake, bring your own bowls.

Bob - get that garbage disposal fixed! This was a great stay and we'd certainly do it again.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Owners response: We would like you to know that we take every comment to heart. There are now mixing bowls at the house. As far as the garbage disposal, that is in perfect working condition! Maybe you couldn't find the switch to turn it on!
Take care for now and would love to have you back!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Spring Break Family Get Together

Review submitted: April 7, 2010   Date of arrival: March 27, 2010

Hi Bob, I was just sitting here thinking that just a week ago we were vacationing in San Diego! We really wanted to thank you for providing us with such a "charming" home away from home!! You have a beautiful well maintained place with a nicely appointed kitchen. We truly enjoyed cooking out and eating on the patio after a hard day of play! Staying at "The Charming Craftsman" was a wonderful part of our vacation. We will highly it to anyone we know who is planning a visit to San Diego. THANKS AGAIN!!!

Owners response: Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts! Hope to see you again real soon.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

cozy, you get a very warm feeling from the house

Review submitted: January 18, 2010   Date of arrival: January 6, 2010

this house was so great, the location was perfect, not more than 15 mins to anything, the harbor, downtown, beaches. i love the 2 way fireplace. i would definitely stay here next time im in san diego. and bob was very friendly and helpful. very accomadating even in such short notice. thanks again from all of us

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Take care & hope to see you real soon!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: December 17, 2009   Date of arrival: December 17, 2009

My husband and I and my two brothers and their wives stayed here while visiting SD for my sister's birthday. Since we rarely get to see one another, it was great to all be together rather than in a hotel--and much less expensive too! Everyone in our family who stopped by had to take the "grand tour" and oooh'ed and aaaah'ed their way around the house.

Things we especially liked in no particular order: good beds and pillows, lots of hangers, stylish furnishings, quality kitchen appliances, beautiful floors, nice neighborhood with good restaurants in walking distance, Fiestaware dishes which are made here in West Virginia so we felt right at home, garage!!!
We enjoyed our stay so much! Thanks, Bob and Anthony.

Owners response: Thanks so much and hope to have you back again!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Best Vacation Rental Ever

Review submitted: December 8, 2009   Date of arrival: November 22, 2009

The house was more charming than we had hoped and everything was just as promised. (We have rented properties from other sites and this has never before been the case.) Bob made us welcome from our first inquiry through departure.Great neighborhood! Great Thanksgiving for us. Hope to stay there again.

Recommended for: age 55+, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks so much guys!
Glad you enjoyed yourselves!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Review submitted: November 10, 2009   Date of arrival: November 10, 2009

Loved the house. We enjoyed walking around the neighborhood. We visited with several stores and restaurants nearby as well as the park. The home was just as you said...close to everything. It was perfectly located for almost everything we did in San Diego this weekend, which was A LOT.
Everything in the home worked properly and there was plenty of dishes, etc., in the kitchen. I would definately consider staying there again if I have the chance to get back to San Diego. Thanks, Bob. It was a pleasure working with you.

Owners response: Thanks so much Debbie! It was nice meeting all of you and we truly hope to have you back again!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Wouldn't stay anywhere else in San Diego!

Review submitted: October 22, 2009   Date of arrival: October 2, 2009

Stayed in this lovely home when we were in San Diego while my husband attended a conference. Space was just perfect for our group-- 4 adults and 3 children (ages 5, 3, and 1). When looking for a place to stay in the area, the rave reviews on this property and Bob sealed the deal! House is as gorgeous as it looks in the photos, with top of the line everything. Neighborhood was great... really felt like we were living in the city for a week, which we would choose any time over the sterility of a hotel. Wonderful restaurants nearby... I am STILL having dreams about the adasi dish at the Persian restaurant one block over. I can't remember the name, but it's up the alley and to the left. YUM. Also-- there is a big park less than a block away, and it was a great place to visit every day with the kids. There is also an outdoor space at the house that's great for kids, too. It's a fenced in patio, so the kids could be outside playing safely together or with their toys, and I could see and hear them inside when I was making a meal. (If you've traveled with kids, you know what a bonus this is.)

House is within easy driving distance of all the major sites in San Diego. We hit the beach... the zoo... Coronado Island. And it was a quick 10-minute ride to the convention center for my husband in the morning. Bob was awesome... very responsive before the trip with any questions, and very available if we had any questions or needs when we were staying in the home.

If you are searching for a place to stay in the San Diego area, you can end your search now. Trust me... I've been burned before with vacation rentals by owner, which is why the glowing reviews on this property and owner were so influential in my decision-making. Next time we make a trip to San Diego, we hope to stay at this house. Thanks for everything, Bob... it was a true pleasure!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks so much for all of your kind words. This is exactly the way we hope to have all of our guests feel!!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

BEYOND FANTASTIC!

Review submitted: October 18, 2009   Date of arrival: October 13, 2009

We were personally met by the owner upon our arrival. He could not have been more friendly or accommodating. The photos do not do the house justice. The neighborhood is charming. Close enough to the freeway and action but in a nice residential area. Restaurants and nice bars are just a block away. Ralphs and Trader Joe's about a mile. Balboa Park, museum and zoo about 5 minutes, Old Town about 10. The house is just beautiful. It is obvious that it's restoration was a "labor of love" by its owners. The owners have provided "a home away from home." The kitchen was very well equipped and the outdoor terrace with dining table, lounges and huge gas grill was fantastic! which was ideal for our family's 7 year old's birthday dinner, the reason we came to San Diego. IDEAL! After a day of touring we each fought for the jacuzzi tub! We have traveled the globe and avoid hotels at all cost. This is one of the best house rentals that we have ever stayed in and an outstanding value.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: It was truly nice to meet you and hope to have you back again real soon!
All our best to you in the meantime.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: September 9, 2009   Date of arrival: September 9, 2009

My husband and I rented Bob and Anthony's home
with my daughter and son-in-law, the end of July.
It was the perfect home for us since the upstairs
bedroom was in another part of the residence and
allowed both couples complete privacy. We felt like
we were staying in a friend's home. Everything was
there that one would need and more! The air-
conditioned house was spacious but yet charming;
the Craftsman flavor was throughout even though
updated and contemporary. We used two of the
bedrooms but there is a third smaller room that
would be great for kids. One of the master baths
had a jacuzzi and there was a wonderful stone-
walled shower on the main floor. Having the garage
was an added bonus also. We have family living in
the area and this locale was great for us but would
be convenient really for anyone. There are coffee
houses, restaurants and of course the park within
walking distance and friends arrived practically at
our door by bus. As you see, I highly recommend it,
plus the owners are wonderful and seem to always
be available!

Owners response: It was our pleasure! Thank you & hope to see you again.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

A Wonderful Time in San Diego!

Review submitted: September 3, 2009   Date of arrival: August 6, 2009

Our memory of a wonderful time in San Diego is still lingering. Our accommodation was perfect ... a great location close to everything, all the comforts of home and more. The photos are fabulous but the warm welcoming feeling you get upon entering can't be captured in a photo. Thank you Bob for sharing this beautiful home with us ... we will most definitely return!

Janis & Sandy

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: We certainly hope to see you again!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: August 17, 2009   Date of arrival: August 17, 2009

This was the perfect place for us, and even more beautiful in person than in the pictures. We (my husband and I) were traveling with my 2 year old and my parents and found this house to be exactly what we needed and more. And, Bob was wonderful - so warm and hospitable. I will stay at this house every time I am in San Diego. I cannot imagine staying anywhere else.

Owners response: Thank you so much! I was so nice to meet you & hope to see you all again real soon.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Beautiful and Relaxing

Review submitted: August 13, 2009   Date of arrival: July 22, 2009

I am so glad I found this beautiful home to rent for my weekend in San Diego. Such a great hassle free rental. Everything in the home was set up so lovely. So close to so many places, walking distance. Great neighborhood!!! Thanks to Bob for making it so carefree and possible for our group to enjoy our time there.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Owners response: Thanks again! It's a pleasure knowing our home can extend it's charm to allow others to enjoy and make their own memories!
Take care for now.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: July 28, 2009   Date of arrival: July 28, 2009

The house was just lovely and comfortable. I especially liked the upstairs balcony. Great for our dog. Close to activities and perfect for getting on and off the freeway. Bob and Anthony were very nice and professional. Two parking spaces which were much appreciated. Could drive into downtown without using the freeway. Neighborhood was pretty quiet even though the main street was just around the corner. Nice wood floors. Lots of light. Very happy with the whole experience.

Owners response: Thanks Mary!!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Absolutely a wonderful place to stay in San Diego!

Review submitted: June 8, 2009   Date of arrival: June 5, 2009

We had a group of 8 adults and one baby and the house fit our needs perfectly. The house is decorated so beautifully!! The beds were very comfortable and the kitchen is great becuase it opens out to the family room and dinning room so we were all able to congregate and hang out together. The house is centrally located to anything you want to do in San Diego, so you are literlly minutes away from everything. Grocery shopping for food only is minutes away...Trader Joes, Whole Foods, Ralphs...as well as the Parkhouse Eatery which you can get to by foot in a few minutes. Great food there! Our only regret is that we didn't stay longer.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: You were all such a great group of people!!
Hope to have you stay again.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Marvelous accomodations

Review submitted: May 26, 2009   Date of arrival: May 14, 2009

Great house and location for a visit to San Diego. The house was as lovely as the pictures and extremely comfortable for 4 adults and 2 children. Location near highway 8 was amazing for getting to the beach fast, great malls and shops just across Texas Street and easy commute to downtown convention centre. The pack n play was perfect for our 2 year old and it fit nicely in the master bathroom closet area. I'd highly recommend this spot for families as the park across the street is perfect for children and pets. Owner Bob was there to greet us when we arrived and was prompt in responding to our requests. The courtyard was perfect for lounging outside and eating. I'd recommend coffee at Monica's on Adams and having a drink at Lei's on Park Drive.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Owners response: Hope to see you guys again!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

WOW what a home from home!

Review submitted: May 9, 2009   Date of arrival: April 12, 2009

This home was really comfortable and had everything we could have wanted. The beds were a real welcome after a long journey. We were amazed how close everything was and we made the most of our 4 night stay. Bob was a true host and nothing was too much trouble, even when giving directions to the nearest supermarket. We loved our stay we only had one problem and that was that no-one wanted to leave. I would recommend this property to anyone, our family has rented over 30 properties in the last 8 years and this rates as one of our favourites. Great home, excellent location and exceptional host made for many happy memories.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you so much for your kind review! You are such a nice family and we hope to have you back again someday!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Beautiful spacious house

Review submitted: May 4, 2009   Date of arrival: May 1, 2009

My cousins and I went to visit San Diego for a couple of days and we loved staying in this property, the first night we were 8 and the second night we were 6. The house is well furnished for 8 people but definitely more comfortable if 6. I loved the kitchen setting since it has anything you need to cook. The rooms and all the areas were very tastefully decorated, the location was perfect to go anywhere in central San Diego and the Manager was a delightful person to deal with. We'll be for sure coming back to stay in our next trip!!

Recommended for: age 55+, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: Maki,
Thank you so much for your review. It is guests like you that make owning this home as a vacation rental a pleasure.
Bob (Owner)

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

where memories were made

Review submitted: April 18, 2009   Date of arrival: April 8, 2009

The house was exceptional, very clean and comfortable, the beds were great, and the service was even better. I will stay here again on our next visit to San Diego. Great park accross the street, walk to good restaraunts, great central location. I can't see how it could have been better. I give it this house and the owner the best rating possible.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Owners response: Nice meeting you all!
Thanks again.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Wonderful location

Review submitted: April 9, 2009   Date of arrival: April 1, 2009

We rented the house the first week in April since our son was getting married in San Diego. It turned out to be the perfect location for us. It was 10 to 20 minutes from the events we held, from Paradise Point to Old Town. The house was so comfortable we were happy to come home and relax on the beautiful patio. This would be a great location for SeaWorld also. It was so close to the Zoo that we met groups of our guests there twice.
We shared the house with our daughter, son-in-law and our 2 small grandchildren. The 2 master suites gave us plenty of space and 2 port-a-cribs were perfect for the children. A big plus was a great park and playground just a block away.
The house was just what we wanted and just as advertised. A great experience!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: We're so glad this worked out so nicely for you! This is the second time that we have the same family use both of our homes at the same time. Their close proximity to each other really makes the difference!
Take care!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

great house with all the amenities

Review submitted: April 3, 2009   Date of arrival: November 9, 2008

We stayed here for two weeks in November with two small children (took a 3 month old across the country!) and had a wonderful time - Bob set up the fanciest pack and play I have ever seen for us and had the house cleaned early so we could check in after a long flight. The house is even better than the pictures, the beds and sheets are fabulous (and we were there before there was a king upstairs! - we stayed downstairs instead and put the baby up) and the little touches like tide, dishsoap, body soap, etc that they keep for you to use are so nice. No one wants to buy that stuff and have to leave a bunch....I love to cook, but hate using the lousy cookware you usually get at rentals, but they have everything your could want and it is very high quality. I am a decorator and picky, and I can't go on enough about the house and the wonderful owners. The daybed in the front room is the most comfortable thing I have ever laid on - my husband and I laid at either end and read in front of the fire every night after dinner when the kids were in bed. We basically set up house and we all loved it and had a great time - Thanks guys!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you soooo much for your kind words!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: April 2, 2009   Date of arrival: April 2, 2009

We can't thank Bob enough for sharing this home with us! Two families (four adults & two 2-year-olds) spent a long weekend in sunny San Diego, and this was the perfect place to call "home base." It was awesome to have Bob meet us upon our arrival to give us a tour & answer any questions. Easy parking, nearby park, quick access to freeways & major attractions ... why would anyone even consider staying at a hotel, when something like this is at your fingertips? We are already considering an annual visit to this gem! THANKS!

Owners response: Thanks so much you guys!
Take care for now.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: March 23, 2009   Date of arrival: March 23, 2009

My new husband and I stayed here with close friends to celebrate our downtown San Diego wedding and couldn't have been happier! Full of charm and plenty of gathering places, this house provided us with the perfect place to entertain our out-of-state wedding guests and prepare for our big day. Close to everything - large retailers, grocery store, restaurants, and a park for our dog made this an ideal rental. Our guests loved it so much, they are already planning the next group vacation! My husband and I highly recommend this property for anyone looking to stay in San Diego. Bob was professional, accommodating and warmly welcomed us to the property.

Owners response: Ashley & Nathan,
Thanks you so much for your wonderful comments!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: March 9, 2009   Date of arrival: March 9, 2009

Our family of 3 adults, 2 grandparents and two 1-year olds loved this house. The location is great. It's close to a hip neighborhood, and has easy access to the freeways. It makes for a great base in San Diego. The best part, though, is how comfortable and beautiful the house is. I wished I lived there yearround! The owner is great--very responsive and professional. Couldn't have asked for better. We'll be back next year!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Brilliant Stay

Review submitted: March 3, 2009   Date of arrival: February 19, 2009

Gorgeous house in a great location.
I came with my family (brother and Grandparents) in Feb 09 and loved every minute of our stay.
Bob is a great guy who made sure we had everything we needed and gave us a thorough tour of the house.
There was information in the house about everything there is to do in San Diego as well as everything you need for a comfortable stay.
The decor is beautiful and every evening after a day of sightseeing we were always looking forward to going back to the house.
The house is walking distance from a large array of cafes, restaurants and coffee shops.
Loved our stay and would certainly recommend this house to others.
Thanks Bob

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Owners response: Nice meeting you! Thanks for the great review.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Laura Yuma, Co

Review submitted: March 2, 2009   Date of arrival: February 25, 2009

We had a party of 6 stay here for a meeting that was at the conference center. We were able to split the cost which saved us quite a bit over a hotel. The house was so cute. We really didn't get to enjoy it much because of basically just sleeping there. We would of loved to have stayed longer. It was well equipted with everything. Hopefully another time. Thanks alot Bob we had fun in San Diego

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Owners response: You are so welcome. Hope to see you again!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

We'd Stay Again

Review submitted: February 19, 2009   Date of arrival: February 13, 2009

Great location in a fun neighborhood. The owners are gracious hosts.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks guys! Hope to see you again!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wedding Weekend

Review submitted: February 3, 2009   Date of arrival: January 23, 2009

We rented this charming house to accomodate family and guests during the weekend of my Daughters Wedding. We live in North County (San Diego) but logistically it made sense to move our "wedding headquarters" near the venue which was in Downtown/Gaslamp San Diego.

We couldn't have been more pleased with our decsion!

From the moment we began our communciation with Bob (the owner) to the last day of our stay.. we felt as much at home and welcomed as in our own home. As you can imagine that was very important during the Wedding Weekend!!!
The details and thoughtfulness of the homes layout and amenties really put this rental house at the top tier of any that we have rented in the past.

Every guest said they wanted to move in!!!
The children loved the park, the adults loved the cozy fireplace and nearby access to shopping/dining
and I loved the upstairs master retreat.. (sometimes a little downtime IS good)

We made many happy memories here and by the way took many beautiful pictures of my daughter and gang getting ready for the big day! We will alway remember the time spent at our home away from home.

Thanks for the memories!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: That was so beautifully said!!
Thanks so much!
Bob

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: January 5, 2009   Date of arrival: January 5, 2009

I got married last November and I wanted to find a place that my family can stay at and feel right at home. Everyone loved this house! They kept raving about how beautiful and comfortable and it was so much better than staying in a hotel. My bridesmaids and I got ready in this house. It was perfect! The owners were very very nice. We accidentaly misplaced one of our wedding cards which had $100 (cash) and Bob called us right away and we picked it up a couple days later. It help since we lived close by but I highly recommend it for anyone traveling to San Diego. Trust me you'll love it!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: January 3, 2009   Date of arrival: January 3, 2009

We LOVED this place! It was the perfect location, a beautiful, quality home, and the owners are wonderful. A much better solution for traveling with teenagers than a hotel room!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

So glad this was for real!!!

Review submitted: December 14, 2008   Date of arrival: December 4, 2008

Bob was so wonderful to deal with and accomadating. the house was wonderful and we would love to stay again.The washer and dryer were a plus.
Location was good and easy enough to find.
I wish there had been a book there for guests to sign and make comments. It would be interesting to see where others come from that stay there.
We would highly recommend this renter and his property to anyone.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Amy,
Thanks again for staying with us and I think we will start a guest book at the home!
Take care for now.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Made for a wonderful family reunion

Review submitted: November 8, 2008   Date of arrival: November 2, 2008

We had a great time in this gorgeous house. It looked every bit as beautiful as the pictures! We were back in San Diego for a visit after moving away several years ago. We had a group of 9 including 4 little ones, and the house was a perfect place for the little cousins to play and the adults to hang out and chat. It was too bad the weather while we were there did not allow us to use the patio and bbq. The house was well stocked with virtually everything we needed in the rooms, the kitchen, the laundry room, and the bathrooms. The wireless internet access was definitely a thoughtful plus. The location, though off the beaten touristy track, is central. Due to the proximity to all the major freeways, there's easy access to anywhere in the county we needed to go. We'd definitely come back here when we visit SD again, and highly recommend it to anyone visiting San Diego. Thanks, Bob, for a great stay!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks to you all as well!
Bob

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Location!

Review submitted: October 21, 2008   Date of arrival: October 15, 2008

My friends and I came to the city to visit a friend that had moved here a year ago and we were all quite pleased with our accommodations. Bob called me as I was stepping off the plane and welcomed me to San Diego and he met us at the house as we arrived, he is a exceptional person, very pleasant and gracious. The neighborhood is quiet and safe and all the people we came in contact with were all very friendly. Everything was located just minutes away! The house itself was unbelievable, it has everything you will ever need and I travel often and always rent houses and I can promise that the downstairs master bed will be one of the most comfortable beds you will sleep in, I wanted to take it home with me and I have a sleep number bed! I know that when I return to San Diego I will be booking this property and would recommend this to all!! :)

Recommended for: adventure seekers, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks Gina! Your review is as kind as the person you are. Hope to see you all again soon!
Bob

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

First Time In San Diego

Review submitted: August 7, 2008   Date of arrival: July 28, 2008

We sayed here for 3 nights as the last stage of our Californian holiday.The house was perfect and the location was quiet but still close to local shops/restaurants.We visited the San Diego Wildlife park, took a harbour cruise, crossed the border into Tijuana and swam off Coronado state beach where the water seemed much warmer than anywhere else on our 3 week holiday.
Great end to a great holiday and Bob was just as nice in person as he sounds from his e mails.

Nigel and Family

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect Vacation!

Review submitted: August 6, 2008   Date of arrival: July 23, 2008

Very comfortable beds, plenty of extra linens, extremely clean throughout. Kitchen is well equipped, as is whole house. Washer, dryer & dishwasher took all the work out of vacationing with kids. There's even a portable child gate! Perfect location, quick and easy access to San Diego Zoo & other Balboa Park attractions. Convenient to groceries, etc. Across the street is a very nice park for kids to play (or to walk dogs). Owners provide awesome customer service. Highly recommended.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Loved this dog friendly house!

Review submitted: July 23, 2008   Date of arrival: July 18, 2008

We rented this home with another couple and we each had a dog. It was the perfect place with a park right across the street for the dogs. The home was spotless and there wasn't a detail that the owners overlooked. We would definitely stay there again.

Thanks Bob and Anthony for a great experience!

Linda and Jeff
(from the Bay Area)

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly

Owners response: You are absolutely welcome. Thank you for your kind words. We hope to see you real soon.
With Warm Regards,
Bob & Anthony

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

From Texas to San Diego

Review submitted: June 30, 2008   Date of arrival: June 20, 2008

Well we are finally home, just to let you know our stay was wonderful. We have stayed at alot of vrbo homes it is a great way to enjoy a town with family. Easier than staying in two or so small rooms at a hotel and the kids have room to play etc....

You thought of everthing right down to the flowers in the vase. We barbecued one night and it was great sitting out in the back yard, I am afraid we made all the neighbors hungry... The kids 5, and 11 loved the house they thought there were great places to hide. The house is perfect, very quaint with neighborhood restuarants. We ate at two which were the best. We ate at Park House eatery for breakfast, and Adams Avenue Grill for dinner.

We live in the country on a ranch with a bunch of animals so being in a City, doing city things was great. We went to Coronado twice. We did not get to go to the park, but it was on our list, maybe next time.... You have a great vacation home and best of all our refund arrived before we did...... Thanks for great memories for our family....... Sharron

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Nancy & the Nurses.

Review submitted: June 15, 2008   Date of arrival: June 12, 2008

Bob and Anthony,
Thanks again for such a great place. We all had such a blast and the house was fabulous! You thought of everything!! We were in awe of all the details inside and out. What an amazing place you have made there and it was so fun seeing your article in the San Diego magazine..your house looks pretty incredible. You really have a gift. We all left with so many ideas for our own homes : ) My daughter lives in a craftsman house in OB on Voltaire. I just love all the old architecture. You really did such a great job incorporating the new without compromising the old!! Well anyway, we will be there annually and will stay longer : ) We will also drum up some Phoenix business for you!!!
Love,
Nancy and the Nurses : )

Recommended for: girls getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review