reviews for: listing #434487vb - Kamuela, Hawaii rental

Red 'Ohana 2BR, Luxury Hawaiian Vacation Home above Mauna Kea and Hapuna Beach
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • rates (USD)  $ 275 / night
  • sleeps  4
  • pets considered  no

sort by:

Immaculate and great location!

Review submitted: March 7, 2014   Date of arrival: February 2, 2014

Having rented many VRBOs over the last few years, I have found that most people exaggerate their accommodations, In this case, Laura's place exceeded our expectations. The inside was extremely clean with everything looking new. Given the name, she has found an amazing number of red items for the decor - Imagine, a red microwave :)

We specifically wanted the Waimea area so that we would be close to hiking and the cooler air in the evening. It was perfect. Highly recommend.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Perfect Vacation!

Review submitted: January 20, 2014   Date of arrival: January 4, 2014

This was our 3rd trip to the Big Island and we couldn't have been more thrilled with Red Ohana. It is a clean, quiet, incredibly comfortable and well-appointed house with plenty of room. The beds were so comfortable. The kitchen has everything you need. Laura, the manager, was so warm, responsive and helpful with any questions we had about activities in the area, restaurants, etc. This was a perfect, relaxing place to stay. We would definitely go back! So many nice memories of the sunny patio, the beautiful yard and perfect comfort and spirit of aloha we felt while staying there.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Thanksgiving at the Red Ohana

Review submitted: December 5, 2013   Date of arrival: November 28, 2013

My husband has been living in a hotel in Oahu for the past two months while working on the island. I planned to fly there and spend a week at Thanksgiving with him and felt it would be a good idea to visit the Big Island and rent a house so it would be a change of scenery for him and a chance to get out of a hotel for a few days. I came across the Red Ohana and thought it looked very nice and was exactly what we were looking for. It did not disappoint! It is a lovely cottage, very tastefully furnished, and well-appointed with everything you could possibly need. Laura, the owner, is a lovely person who is extremely helpful. She booked a reservation for us at Merrimans for Thanksgiving dinner which, even though crowded, was absolutely delicious and had a lovely ambience. We loved the location and found Waimea to have everything we needed. We would definitely recommend this lovely cottage for anyone looking for a quiet little getaway with an old Hawaii feel.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Astronomer hide away

Review submitted: December 1, 2013   Date of arrival: November 22, 2013

We were looking for a nice quiet place to stay and sleep during the day while working up at the telescopes on Mauna Kea at night. We called and described our unusual needs to Laura and she was great about rearranging the housekeeping and gardening so it wouldn't wake us up during the daytime. The house was indeed nice and quiet and we could close all of the shapes and get some comfortable daytime sleep. Everything else about the house, from location to conveniences to cleanliness were perfect. After a city-wide power glitch we lost internet for a bit but Megan came over and fixed it within 5 minutes of us texting. All in all pretty ideal.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Northern Hawai'i Eden

Review submitted: August 13, 2013   Date of arrival: July 28, 2013

This place was AWESOME!! Perfect for a romantic getaway or family of 4. The manager and concierge were spectacular and provided my wife and I with anything and everything we could imagine ranging from locally caught fresh fish to perfect day trips. Any question you have pertaining to local restaurants, hang outs, sight-seeing or hidden jems can be answered by either of them. Even dealing with Tropical Storm Flossie our first full day there was enjoyable. Hanging out in the immaculately kept Red O'hana was as peaceful and comforting as a warm blanket. The lanai was perfect for greeting the day, grilling and/or reminiscing about your daily adventures. The house is situated near enough to Waimea for any necessities that you desire but far enough that you are not dealing with any of the city hustle and bustle. Most of the daily activities we did were no more than a 40 minute drive from the house, apart from going to Volcanoes National Park (1 hr 15 min). The multitude of beaches (nearest on is an 8 minute drive) that you can visit are a short drive down to the coast and it was rather refreshing to be able to drive back up to the house (about 2500 feet altitude) after a day at the beach and spend time in a bit cooler atmosphere with lush greenery surrounding you. We were also able to take some nice hikes around the area right from our doorstep. Of the 3 Hawaiian islands that I have been to, the Big Island is my favorite. The Red O'hana, property manager and concierge are top notch and if I ever have to opportunity to visit the island again, I would choose this property again in a heartbeat.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

The Red Ohana

Review submitted: June 14, 2013   Date of arrival: May 28, 2013

Our stay was absolutely wonderful. Laura was a perfectionist when it came to creating a sparkling clean environment with twice-a-week cleaning service and with all possible amenities. She was immediately available with any questions that bubbled up during our two week stay, and she gave us great suggestions as to how to spend out time and what to see. The Red Ohana was cozy with all top of the line appliances and well-stocked kitchen and bath. The house was tastefully decorated with large sofas and ottomans in the living room which made for comfortable viewing on the large flat-screen TV. We were sorry to have to leave, and would highly recommend this property!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Oasis

Review submitted: April 5, 2013   Date of arrival: March 29, 2013

Red Ohana is an oasis and a delight to return to after sun-filled, action-packed days. The back porch is THE spot to hang out and drink coffee from the Ka'u region of the Big Island, eat pastries from the Waimea Coffee Shop, and plan the next days activities or just indulge in reading a novel. The owner's attention to detail and love of the region are reflected in her tasteful and comfy design of the Red Ohana's interior. Waimea is a great location to enjoy both beach and up-country. An added bonus: delish restaurants just down the street - sushi, Thai food, pizza (amazing pizza), fresh juice bar - all without the price tag of a spendy resort experience. Go to the Red Ohana... you will love it!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 5

 

Lovely, Unspoiled, Uncrowded

Review submitted: April 2, 2013   Date of arrival: March 20, 2013

This was our second trip to the Big Island and after visiting many areas we have found Waimea to be the perfect place for those who enjoy staying in an authentic community away from the tourist traps. The Red Ohana is comfortable, cozy and well-maintained and you will find much to do within a 20-30 minute drive. Waimea itself boasts a fascinating history and you will find local museums and local spots offering live music. A lovely 20-minute drive from two of the most beautiful beaches on the island, Mauna Kea and Hapuna, and you will appreciate the cool freshness of the Ohana after a day in the sun. Directly across the street from the Ohana is the Hawaiian Preparatory Academy with beautiful grounds, a lovely running track and an indoor tennis court that is open to the public on an honor system. Tennis enthusiasts can get a very fun workout at the clinics offered on Saturday and Wednesday mornings, and they will even let you use their equipment. There is also a local farmer's market on Saturdays and Wednesdays. Everyone with whom we dealt in Waimea was friendly and helpful, and the owner is very accommodating. Could not have asked for more!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 3 / 6

 

Lovely place to avoid the crowd

Review submitted: March 30, 2013   Date of arrival: March 20, 2013

The Red Ohana gave us a restful easy week on the Big Island. The house is beautifully kept, clean, and quiet. We enjoyed the outdoor area. Waimea has everything you need without the crowds, good food (Pau and The Hawaiian Cafe), two farmers markets, and lots of Parker Ranch /Paniolo history. We could get north on Kohala Mt. Road to Hawi and Pololu Valley, or go east to Waipio Valley and golf in Honoka'a. All the best beaches are driving distance, just down the road on the west coast. The owner was gracious, helpful and made us feel welcome.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 2 / 5

 

Rockin' Red Ohana

Review submitted: January 31, 2013   Date of arrival: January 7, 2013

The Red Ohana cottage is a delight. We stayed in Waimea to be close to the food industry for a week and it was not a disappointment. It's cooler in W, but the cottage was very nice, clean and completely stocked for guests. We have a vacation rental and the owner taught me a few things with the way she had the place organized. Laura the owner, by the way, is quite lovely and accommodating. Full on 5 star.

BTW, I was initially concerned about noise as I didn't know the relationship to the main highway, however, the cottage is way in from the main road and noise was not an issue.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 8

 

Guests from Virginia

Review submitted: January 13, 2013   Date of arrival: January 1, 2013

This place is extraordinary. It feels simultaneously like home and like a luxurious vacation- beautiful furnishings, excellent yard and wonderful lanai. It's close enough to the water for quick, spontaneous beach trips, but it has the unique mauka flavor of Waimea in its beautiful greenery and cool, fresh nighttime air. The history of the place is fascinating, and the surroundings make it easy to envision Parker Ranch cowboys settling in for the evening within these cozy walls. Easy access to the unique restaurants and shops of Waimea. Lovely furnishings, regular and thorough housekeeping - a great experience for newcomers to the island as well as regular visitors.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Mahalo nui loa! We wanted to create a special place in Waimea and we are so happy that you loved your stay in the Red 'Ohana. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Happy Father

Review submitted: December 10, 2012   Date of arrival: November 28, 2012

My son got married last week and I rented this unit for him and his fiance, best man and woman to stay.
My son works in the Hotel industry and he is not easy to please but, they had a wonderful time and couldn't say enough positive things about their experience at the house and especially the beds as they were apparently extremely comfortable.

The unit was immaculate and tastefully decorated.
It took a lot of stress away from me as we approached the Big Day and it was tremendously convenient as I live less than a mile away from this rental house.

I would strongly recommend it to anyone coming to Waimea and wanting that special "up-country" feel.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Sensation Indulgence

Review submitted: December 10, 2012   Date of arrival: December 9, 2012

This getaway is remarkable! All sensations maximized from soaking up the sun while feeling the cool breeze and taking in the fresh air. Every attention to detail has been carefully thought out to make the experience care free. This home truly has wonderful accommodations and I will wholeheartedly recommend this property to the most discerning of guest.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review