reviews for: listing #43538 - Tulum, Yucatan House rental

Caribbean Charm
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Punta Soliman
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $1,700 - $1,900 /wk

sort by:

Secluded getaway on semi-private beach

Review submitted: March 20, 2014   Date of arrival: February 28, 2014

It's 38 steps, across a dazzling, white sand beach, from the house to the water's edge. We spent most of our days lounging under the palapa, reading and admiring turquoise blue water.

We took out the kayaks daily to the reef and snorkelled. We were lucky enough to see turtles a few times. They seemed to hang around the turtle grass just to the left of the house and out on the reef. There are turtle grass beds in the water but the area just to the right of the house is wide and sandy.

The house was spacious and because of the way it was designed, there is a constant flow of air through the rooms which keeps out bugs.

This property is self-catering and there are no housekeepers on-site. Unlike many of the properties on the bay, Las Brisas is a single dwelling which means you never have to share the beach area in front of the house. We have two energetic kids, so it was nice to know they could make noise without disturbing other guests.

Dan and Vera were great hosts. We met them at check-in and they took the time to answer all our questions. I did contact them during the week to ask if we could borrow a cooler for a day trip into the Biosphere and Dan dropped one off promptly.

Dan showed us where the best part of the reef was, and where the buoy was located and Vera told us the route to take to walk to Casa Cenote at Tankah Bay. (Go before 10 am and you might be lucky to have the place to yourself).

The kitchen was well equipped and there were a few staples already there. We stopped on the way down at PDC to pick up groceries and stocked up in Tulum when we needed stuff.

Soliman Bay is blissfully quiet. We ate one afternoon at Chamicos at the south end of the bay and the kids would walk north up the beach to Tienda Bob for ice cream in the afternoon. The location is great for dining in Tulum. Just remember to exit kilometre 241 on the 307.

Recommended for: families with teenagers

Owners response: We love families with teenagers !
please come back anytime ,
Vera

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Christine & Christine

Review submitted: November 4, 2011   Date of arrival: June 19, 2011

Vera & Daniel :
A little note to say thank you and let you know what an amazing time we had in Tulum.
We could stay another week...
another month ... Forever !
Muchos besitos. Hope to see you guys soon. We'll keep in touch !!
C & C.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

august 2011

Review submitted: November 4, 2011   Date of arrival: August 1, 2011

Daniel & Vera ,
We had a great time in your charming beachside home. we truly felt the raw beauty of Mexico in tyhis beautiful city and this quaint house was the cherry on top !
We also enjoyed your reccomendation of Dos Ojos ! it was incredibly beautiful.
it was a pleasure meeting you and all the best !
Best,
O'neil

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Christmas 2010

Review submitted: February 9, 2011   Date of arrival: December 26, 2010

We had the privilege of spending both Christmas and New Years at Las Brisas this year and what a fantastic escape from winter in Idaho! The house was awesome and has some very unique features-- Dan & Vera were most helpful with every little detail of our stay which was a plus as well. Soliman Bay is a very secluded location, but we totally enjoyed just kicking back with the family! There are only a couple of restaurants within close proximity, so we shopped in Tulum for groceries and did a lot of cooking-in. Additionally, Dan & Vera recommended that we have one of the locals, Estephan, cook for us and that was a real treat. The snorkeling was outstanding right outside of our front door and having access to multiple sea kayaks really enhanced the experience. We went to the Dos Ojos Cenotes one day, and for a small entrance fee (I think about fifty pesos) we found that to be an unreal adventure. Originally we were a little bit iffy about renting a car, but have no fear because it turned out to be no problem at all-- easy driving for sure, and extremely convenient, thus I would suggest getting a car when staying at this location. I highly recommend this house for anyone desiring a laid back, easy going vacation without all the hustle and bustle of the mega resort areas - We can't wait to return! Thank you Dan & Vera.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: And we had the privilege of having a beautiful & inteligent Idaho family stay in our humble beach home.
(Estephan says hi, he is now "las Brisas" official cook. Last week he made fish tacos & a mean guacamole! )
Thank you

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Great private getaway

Review submitted: December 25, 2010   Date of arrival: December 9, 2010

Very spacious house on quiet, lovely beach-best setting on the bay. Coral reef a short distance off shore easily accessed by owner provided kayaks. Bring your snorkels and masks. If you enjoy birdwatching you will love the pelicans who favor the fishing directly in front of the house. We could have watched them for hours while swinging in the hammocks or sunning on the beach. Plenty of room for 6 people. 3 double beds and a twin. Large kitchen, dining and living areas. Second floor sunny porch protected from the sea breezes for cooler days. 2 upstairs bedrooms with sunrise views. Dan and Vera are attentive hosts who work hard to make your stay perfect. Very knowledgeable about the area with lots of ideas for your recreation. House clean and relatively well-appointed, although we would have used a few more kitchen utensils, pots if they had been available. Downstairs shower is a bit of a trickle, but the upstairs one works fine. Plenty of room for private space for yoga, napping undisturbed or reading as well as common space for partying with family or friends. 10 min drive from Tulum pueblo and ruins. Many good restaurants. 2 hrs from Chichen Itza, (we did not make the trip as we were looking for rest and relaxation not ruins), but there are plenty of ruins much closer if you wish. Xel-ha a wonderful natural water park, several natural cenotes (underwater caves for snorkeling) within 20 min drive, in addition to the more touristy theme parks of Xcaret and Xplor.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Owners response: Vera , Dan & pelicans say hi & thank you !

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Las Brisas

Review submitted: May 4, 2010   Date of arrival: April 3, 2010

Las Brisas was simple and very spacious. Plenty of room in this rambling beach house to spread out and relax. The beach and bay were beautiful and quiet. Great snorkeling and kayaking. Close to great restaurants and major cultural attractions, but secluded and peaceful. I would definitely come again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: we hope you come again,
dan

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

A great place to get away!

Review submitted: April 7, 2010   Date of arrival: February 5, 2010

Las Brisas is a very nice home located in a beautiful, somewhat exclusive neighborhood. Tulum pueblo is only a short hop (drive) away and you are also close to the Tulum ruins and of course, the house is right on the beach. This is a beautiful, well kept house that had more room than we needed but it was great to have it. There's a well appointed kitchen, great living room with spiral staircase and the upstairs porches are great for evening drinks or just chilling out with a good book. There are coral reefs just a short swim off the beach and a kayak even comes with the house. Just paddle out a short distance and snorkel on the beautiful reef. I recommend Las Brisas and I recommend it's owner. Both Las Brisas and they are accommodating and sure to please!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Gracias, Daryl

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review