reviews for: listing #43617 - Austin, Texas Studio rental

HANCOCK Guest Nest in Hyde Park close to the University
  • bedrooms  1
  • pool  no
  • type  Studio
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Hyde Park
  • sleeps  2
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $100 - $150 /nt
    $600 - $700 /wk
    $1,500 - $1,700 /mth

sort by:

Wonderful stay at the Guest Nest

Review submitted: November 6, 2010   Date of arrival: October 24, 2010

My daughter and I enjoyed an extended stay at the Hancock Guest Nest. We particularly loved the private little garden attached to the cottage, and the light infused space within the cottage.

The Guest Nest is private, and cozy. It reminded us a little of a loft studio in NYC. The furnishings were chic, and comfortable. The kitchen was thoughtfully designed, and we were especially pleased to discover the dishwasher! The washer and dryer and dressing room-sized closet were very helpful! The bathroom was large, and beautiful with a large rain-head shower and a very nice bathtub.

At the risk of making this delightful little cottage unavailable to myself for future stays in Austin, I HIGHLY recommend this property! The property owners were kind, and attentive to our needs when we had requests, or questions.

The location is ideal... near the university and not too far from downtown. Although we did have a car, we tended to walk around the area more than we drove. There are grocery stores and restaurants within easy walking distance. We had a terrific stay!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 8 / 9

 

I wouldn't stay anywhere else in Austin

Review submitted: September 27, 2009   Date of arrival: September 14, 2009

I stayed in Hancock Nest for the better part of two weeks. I couldn’t have been happier. the hosts, Nick and Rachel are terrific.
The cottage had everything; everything worked. It was so well laid out, so lovely inside and out, so well-situated. I would never stay anywhere else in Austin, and if I could find its equivalent elsewhere, I’d never grouse about the grousable aspects of travel again. – C.D.

Helpful votes: 26 / 27

 

We'll be back!

Review submitted: January 10, 2009   Date of arrival: December 22, 2008

Dear Rachel and Nick,

Thank's very much. We were quite comfortable and enjoyed the thoughtful amenities. Our son and his lovely bride will be in Austin about another year and a half so we plan on seeing you again. We also have friends and family who might enjoy your flat. Let us know if you get to Washington, DC!

Best Regards,

Madeline and Chris

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

A Wonderful Visit!

Review submitted: January 8, 2009   Date of arrival: December 2, 2008

Santa Fe, NM

Thank you for making our stay the quintessential Austin experience. The nest was perfect, central and a haven. We look forward to making this an annual destination!

See you next time!

Patti and Elizabeth

Recommended for: adventure seekers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Nesting in the Nest

Review submitted: January 3, 2009   Date of arrival: January 31, 2008

What a wonderful stay! A quaint, comfortable Nest. We were referring to it as out "home" the first day. The accommodations and amenities exceeded our expectations. The weather was super, 65-75 degrees every day and sunny. (In Minneapolis it was closer to 0 - 20 degrees.) Rachel and Nick were excellent hosts and did a marvelous job of preparing the Nest for guests. We felt like royalty. Thanks Nick and Rachel - you have done a great job!

Tom and Sue

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Aaaaah!

Review submitted: December 30, 2008   Date of arrival: December 5, 2008

Rachel and Nick,

We felt very comfortable and peaceful in your studio. We spent a good chunk of our stay just lounging around here - testament to the attractiveness of the place!
Thanks very much for all the thoughtful touches. We appreciate it.

Sonia and James

P.S. The food you had was just right.
P.S.S. - See you next trip!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Thanks for a Great Stay!

Review submitted: December 4, 2008   Date of arrival: November 19, 2008

Rachel and Nick,

The nest lovely. Thank you for making our stay in Austin so memorable. Your
hard work and creativeness beat any hotel.

Thanks again,
Nancy

P.S. - Love the birds!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Fabulous alternative to a hotel

Review submitted: September 25, 2008   Date of arrival: August 30, 2008

I stayed at the Hancock Guest Nest for 2 nights when I was in Austin. This was a fantastic alternative to staying at a hotel, as you have a full kitchen, laundry, private outdoor seating, free Wifi, and conveniences like an iPod dock, platform bed, and overhead rain shower. The washer/dryer and laundry room was totally worth it, as I was able to catch up on laundry before the next leg of my trip.

The Nest looks exactly like it does on the website, and the location is great as well. It is literally adjacent to a shopping center (the back parking lot of Sears is like 20 feet away) but surprisingly this isn't a negative because it's still very quiet. Convenient to restaurants, grocery stores, and a golf course where you can go for a run around the perimeter.

Highly recommended. When I visit Austin again, I'll be back!

Recommended for: girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review