reviews for: listing #43621 - Manhattan Beach, California Townhome rental

Wonderful Oceanfront Beach Retreat ! Right on the Strand!!
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  no
  • type  Townhome
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $464 - $692 /nt
    $3,250 - $4,850 /wk
    $11,500 - $17,500 /mth

sort by:

Simply wonderful

Review submitted: June 29, 2014   Date of arrival: June 15, 2014

We stayed here for a week but could of stayed forever. The house had everything we could of wished for and more. It is as shown in the pictures if not a little better! We had great fun on the bikes and with the boogie boards all supplied with the house. The location is just perfect the beach is steps away, we even had a surf lesson right in front of the house which was great fun. There are lots of lovely places to eat and drink close by we really couldn't of wished for anything more. We are already planning our return next year. Brendan was wonderful to deal with and made the whole booking process a breeze.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Owners response: Jennifer, it was so nice to have you and your family... We would love to have you guys again next year!

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

We didn't want to leave!!

Review submitted: March 11, 2014   Date of arrival: February 22, 2014

We spent 2 glorious weeks & were loathe to leave! Not only did the property exceed our expectations (the photos hardly do the beach house justice) but the decor & amenities rank up there with boutique hotels. Everything a "Foodie" could desire or need had been provided with taste & refinement. We opted to tour part of the day, then spend the evenings dining in while watching the most amazing sunsets. We cycled the Strand, lunched in the many wonderful restaurants Manhattan Beach has to offer, took a day trip to San Diego, drove to nearby canyons & toured Hollywood. At the end of the day we were always happy to return to our little paradise. Falling asleep to the sound of the ocean surf was positively intoxicating.
Thankyou Brendhan for being so solicitous. Your thoughtfulness did not go unnoticed. The cheeses were delicious! Now we must plan our return. This has been the best vacation ever!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: WOW! Thank you for the glowing review Marlene! You were wonderful guests. Your daughter Chloe is a delight also and I'm grateful the two of us were able to put this vacation together for you guys. Come back as soon as you can! I have more cheese for you to try!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Best house ever !

Review submitted: February 11, 2014   Date of arrival: October 26, 2013

Four french friends for our first time stayed in LA area. What a perfect choice we did with this house ! The first impression when we get in was "waww!!". Awesome view when sunset is coming. The pictures on the sites are as beautiful as reality. We really enjoyed our vacation in this place :)

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

One word Fabulous!

Review submitted: January 27, 2014   Date of arrival: January 18, 2014

We have stayed at many places but this is my favorite...The location is incredible. You can walk everywhere..the restaurants we ate at where wonderful..the view is one of the best I have ever seen and we always stay on the beach. The host Brenden is so accommodating...I wanted to stay an extra week (actually I wanted to move in) but had to get back home. Brenden thank you for everything and we will be back 2 weeks next time...I have already recommended it to several people...

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: Can't wait to have you back Michele!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Best Christmas ever!

Review submitted: January 6, 2014   Date of arrival: December 23, 2013

We arrived 2 days before Christmas and to say we were awestruck is an understatement. This place is even better than described. Brendhan was super helpful beforehand with all our pre-arrival questions and we had absolutely no hitches. The house is so well kitted out - you will want for nothing. It was immaculately clean for our arrival and the setting is sublime - the pictures on the website don't even begin to do it justice. Waking up on Christmas morning to the stunning sight of the Pacific Ocean and dolphins playing is a memory we will all treasure for a long time. We used the bikes provided and cycled up to Santa Monica pier to eat Bubba Gump shrimp and also cycled to Hermosa Beach. Kids and hubby surfed every day and also rented skates for the boardwalk. We always made sure we were back for sunset to have our sundowner cocktails on the terrace, which is a memory we will treasure. Manhattan Beach itself is just wonderful. It's very good for surfing and volleyball and the town is very nice. It has quaint little shops etc, as well as a Starbucks to help on your morning walk. You will need a car though if you plan to venture further away or if you want to do a large supermarket shop. That said, it is very close to LAX and there are smaller grocery stores within walking distance, so a car isn't absolutely necessary. We shopped beforehand online for our Christmas supplies at Wholefoods in El Segundo which was around a 10 minute drive away. All in all it was probably one of our best Christmases. Our kids are grown and live far away from us and we were reuniting to spend the Holidays together so I felt great pressure for the house to be perfect - a home away from home. It definitely did not disappoint. Would have no hesitation in recommending this place to friends and family and would love to return some day.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks so much for the glowing review MM! Bring your classy family back anytime!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

delightful beach place

Review submitted: December 28, 2013   Date of arrival: December 13, 2013

We just finished spending 10 days at this property and highly recommend it. It's comfortable, has a well-equipped kitchen, bathrooms with quick and plentiful hot water, and has a view that can never become boring. If you are interested in surfing, you've got surfing from dawn to dusk; volleyball, same; bike-riding, same; walking, same; people-watching, same. Plus garage parking for one car - important as parking is hard to find in the neighborhood. Plus only 10 minutes from LAX and the flight paths are not over the house. We hope to go again!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car

Owners response: Thank you Barbara! Happy ya'll enjoyed your stay. Please do come back!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Fabulous Week!

Review submitted: November 14, 2013   Date of arrival: October 12, 2013

My husband and I spent one week here in October with another couple. The unit was even nicer than we expected. The views were marvelous with great sunsets. The glass wall facing the ocean had three sliding doors that made it feel like you were outside while you sat inside and relaxed. There was a nice breeze the whole week.
The property was very clean, comfortable and well maintained. The bathrooms were a bit outdated, but very clean. I would much rather the money be invested on the ocean side of the unit as it was! The kitchen was well stocked and great to cook in. The beds were all comfortable with a great breeze for sleeping.
Brendhan was very easy to work with and delivered all that he promised. The garage was well stocked with everything you could want for the beach, as well as a nice washer and dryer. On top of all of this, the price was very reasonable compared to other places we looked.
It is a short cab ride from LAX, a short walk to many restaurants, and a reasonable walk to the pier and restaurants on that end of town. My husband took surf lessons right outside our unit.
I would highly recommend this property and certainly intend on returning!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: oh thanks guys for the great review! I'm glad you enjoyed our place and manhattan beach. ironically we just spent the first 3 weeks in november updating the bathrooms in the entire building! i'll send you a link as soon as i get everything photographed when i have a break between guests. hopefully you'll see for yourselves on your return visit.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

The Best Beach Vacation Ever!!!!

Review submitted: June 17, 2013   Date of arrival: June 9, 2013

My family and I just spent an unforgettable week of vacation on Manhattan Beach! I cannot begin to describe what a wonderful time we all had. We enjoy the beach and have taken many Florida vacations over the years. However, we all agreed that this was definitely the best beach vacation ever! The pictures do not do justice to the beautiful view, fantastic weather, awesome outdoor activities (the unit has bikes, beach chairs, beach towels, etc.), fully stocked kitchen (we love to cook), and comfortable beds. Everything in the unit is so clean and looks brand new! You are within walking distance to several great restaurants (ask the locals about Taco Tuesdays) and shops. It is also convenient to other locations such as LAX (5 miles), Disneyland (34 miles), the Farmer's Market (15 miles), Universal Studios (28 miles), etc. We were about 15 minutes from Redondo Beach where we found an awesome fresh seafood market. The unit has a small gas grill that we put to good use - steaks and seafood - coupled with a cold beer or glass of wine - while enjoying the magnificent view and listening to 70's music playing on the satellite radio - need I say more? Such wonderful memories were made with my sweet family. Working with the owner, Brendhan, was a true pleasure. He made everything so easy. This is definitely a "do over" vacation.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful oceanfront vacation!

Review submitted: April 22, 2013   Date of arrival: April 13, 2013

We stayed at this beautiful condo on the beach last week. It was so relaxing and we just couldn't get over the view! The condo was in excellent condition, clean and well-maintained, with everything we needed for the week. There were several restaurants within a 2 minute walk in North Manhattan Beach, and every day we walked (about 20 min) or rode the bikes (about 7 min) down to the Pier area where there are many great restaurants and shops. Brendan met us when we arrived, and was very responsive to our emails and questions before we got there. We would highly recommend this condo for a vacation, and we plan to come back sometime soon!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Worth Every Penny!

Review submitted: January 24, 2013   Date of arrival: January 16, 2013

My wife, 10 year old son, and myself just returned from an absolutely wonderful week at the Manhattan Beach property on the Strand. The property/location/views exceeded our expectations, and we could not have been happier with our time there. Waking up to the the 3 walls of glass, looking out to the pacific, made the start of each day absolutely amazing. Its difficult to effectively express in words the majestic views from the property, but let me tell you it would be very hard to not feel relaxed and happy in this beautiful three bedroom unit. We experienced amazing 70 degree weather all week (in January!), which made our son happy as he could spend every day on the beach, which was just steps from the unit. We rented wetsuits for $10/day at El Porto Surf Shop, which was about 2 blocks away! We also loved using the beach cruisers every day, so fun to cruise up and down the coast. The kitchen was gorgeous and had every tool imaginable, we cooked a few times, and loved it! We will indeed be coming back. Wonderful town, amazing rental. Thanks so much for a great experience, it was worth every penny!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

The perfect business trip

Review submitted: January 14, 2013   Date of arrival: January 7, 2013

My colleague and I recently stayed at Brendhan's place and we would HIGHLY recommend it to anyone traveling to the LA area. We had meetings in downtown LA -- the commute was easy back and forth and it was so lovely to come home to the beach. The entire front of the house opens onto the beach, so you can feel like you are on the beach from the living room. Everything about the house was nice, clean, and welcoming. The location is ideal for walking on the beach, biking, restaurants, shopping, coffee -- it has it all. We would stay there everytime we are in LA if the house is available.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great Place on the Beach

Review submitted: October 23, 2012   Date of arrival: September 23, 2012

wonderful location, the apartment was very clean , views of the ocean from 3 sides of the apartment, owner couldn't have been nicer . My husband loved the fact that there was beach chairs and umbrellas for the beach and bicycles so he could ride along the beach, many restaurants in walking distance. The washer and dryer was also a plus for me. Would stay there again in the future.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Amazing Place and Perfect Location!!!

Review submitted: September 23, 2012   Date of arrival: September 9, 2012

Just returned home to Oregon after the most wonderful week at Manhattan Beach! We were so pleased with EVERYTHING! When we arrived all of us were so pleased and excited: the amenities are endless: washer and dryer, boogie boards, bikes, comfortable beds, lots of dishes and linens, great flat screen TVs, everything very modern. Best of all- the most beautiful beachfront view you will EVER experience with the most awesome deck! Highly recommend this place, not only for the condo itself but the LOCATION! We enjoyed the endless stretch of the Strand and especially appreciated Brendan's list of restaurant recommendations and places to grocery shop and see which were used and so appreciated (and all very close!!). The Fish House is brand new (walking distance!) and we never would have known about it without Brendan. We will return for sure and have already spread the word to our Oregonian friends. Highly recommend Catalina Island on your birthday (free ferry ride and so many people with the same birthday!), Six Flags Magic Mountain, and endless walks on the beach, walks, runs and bike rides - WOW- what a great place.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great location!

Review submitted: July 27, 2012   Date of arrival: May 4, 2012

Brendhan was easy to work with and his place is beautiful! We had a great time. Loved that there were bikes and boogie boards in the garage to use at anytime. The kitchen was so pretty! The beds were really comfortable! You'll love his place.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Perfect Family Vacation!!!

Review submitted: June 30, 2012   Date of arrival: June 17, 2012

We based our decision to stay in this rental property on the MANY positive reviews that Brendhan's property received, and rightfully so. We are a family of 5 with two teenagers and a 7 yo so we rented the upper 3 bedroom unit. We had plenty of space for our family.

Prior to our arrival, Brendhan sent me an email with detailed directions to the unit, a map of restaurants, grocery stores and suggested places to visit during our stay which was a great help.

Upon our arrival, we were greeted by Lorie, the caretaker, who was extremely welcoming. She showed me how to use the washer/dryer, where extra towels were kept, how to unlock the bikes, where beach supplies were. She is extremely nice.

When you enter the unit you are taken away by the beautiful views from the kitchen and family room area!!! Many mornings my husband and I just sat on the balcony watching the surfers in the morning. How lucky they are to live in such a beautiful area. The unit is exactly as described on vrbo. The photos are accurate and we really didn't require anything additional during our vacation that Brendhan hadn't already provided. We had the use of bicycles, beach toys, wakeboards, umbrellas, books, games, Ipod players and on and on. The only thing I would have done sooner is buy a bicycle for my 7 year old. Its cheaper to buy the bike at the Target than to rent one for the week. We met really great renters downstairs who were return renters, which we will be next year!!

During the week I had to call Brendhan to come and fix the showerhead, as the sprayer was spraying the ceiling. He came out the next morning to replace the entire showerhead. It was great meeting him, he's a great guy!! He told us to check out certain restaurants and where to take the kids. It was great. Definitely check out the Surfcamp for your kids or yourself. Its $85 and you take lessons from 10 am-2 pm. My kids loved it!!! And very reasonably priced for the amount of time your out there.

My family will definitely be coming back to Brendhan's place next year, Ive already been told by my teenage daughters!! Thaniks Brendhan for making our trip to SoCal so memorable!! It was great to spend quality time together in a beautiful home by the ocean!! See you next year :)

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Excellent Family Vacation

Review submitted: June 25, 2012   Date of arrival: June 17, 2012

We are a family of 5 from the Chicago area. We have a 7 yo and two teenage girls. Our vacations have to provide activities for varying interests. This was my children's first time to California.

Prior to our arrival we received an email from Brendhan telling us all of the final arrival details such as, parking and key location, directions to the property along with a link to a map on great restaurants, places to visit grocery stores, etc. When we arrived, we were greeted by Lorie who showed us how to operate the washer/dryer along with other property details. She was extremely friendly and very helpful!!

The house was just as described by the photos and description on the website. It was in great condition. Everything was immaculately clean. The place was well stocked with paper products, beach towels, beach chairs, toys, games, books, bikes, beach equipment..... anything you could want during your vacation, without having to buy it!! We met great people renting the lower unit who were returning guests. My kids took surfing lessons (Surfcamp) right in front of the unit and the classes had a low student/teacher ratio and the prices were extemely competitive. They loved the instructors and even had lunch and played games on the beach. Overall I would rate this as one of the best vacations our family has ever taken!!

The beaches are clean, the strand is well taken care of with bathrooms and water all along the way!! The restaurants/shops are wonderful!! It was great to be able to ride our bike from one beach town to the next for shopping and lunch.

We will definitely return to your place again Brendhan!! Great place, great community and an AWESOME vacation!! Thanks again and see you again next year!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Wonderful Beach Holiday

Review submitted: June 1, 2012   Date of arrival: May 20, 2012

We recently returned from a fabulous week in the 3 bedroom unit at 3700 The Strand. The unit, it's location and all of the goodies for us to use while we were there all added up to one of the most relaxing & worry free vacations we have ever had. Brendhan is great to deal with and was easily reached if we had questions or needed anything and Rosario is wonderfully warm-hearted and welcomed us with open arms. We were never at a loss for things to do between watching the surfers, volleyball players and folks using the Strand, we spent many hours riding the beach-cruisers and going for walks and jogs and even spotted a few Hollywood Stars in our travels. We can't wait to return.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Fabulous Place

Review submitted: April 11, 2012   Date of arrival: March 24, 2012

We can't say enough good things about our experience with this vacation spot. We arrived earlier than check in time and the appartment was being cleaned. The lady who takes care of the place, Rosario, is a treasure! I wish I could've packed her up and brought her home with me! She showed us around and gave us tips on places to get groceries and some ideas about local restaurants. The place was spotlessly clean and was truly a home away from home with all the comforts and even live plants.
We used the bicycles provided many times to go into the shopping district. The cycle path is wonderful since you have the ocean on one side and fabulous houses on the other.
The location couldn't have been better. Waking up to see the ocean and watching the sunset in the evening, it was quite idyllic.
There were 5 of us staying for the week - 2 adults and 3 teenagers. The appartment easily accommodated us. The teens had a great time on the beach and in the surf.
We would most definately rent the appartment again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Views! Views! Views!

Review submitted: February 27, 2012   Date of arrival: February 25, 2012

My family and I repeated another wonderful stay at this beautiful home. The house is as I remembered and perfectly appointed. The kitchen puts my own to shame. The showstopper has got to be the views. From Malibu to Palos Verdes and all the amazing coastline between, it's just fantastic. It was such fun to watch the surfers and the dolphins playing right outside. Manhattan Beach has loads of activities and things to do, all within strolling distance of the house. We had a fabulous time and can't wait to go back again!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Look No Further! It was truly BEAUTIFUL!

Review submitted: January 13, 2012   Date of arrival: December 27, 2011

We just returned after staying 1 week at Brendhan's place. I usually do not write reviews however, I heavily relied on everyone's feedback when deciding on a place to stay and Brendhan's place had plenty of positive feedback - I could see why.

We arrived and we were greeted by Rosario, who was just finishing up with the final touches on the place. The place was very clean and Rosario was so very sweet, kind, and VERY helpful. My whole family absolutely ADORED her!

Everything you could imagine was there. The kitchen was beautiful, which I could tell was just recently remodeled - it was fully stocked. There were bikes, boogie boards,washer/dryer, and so much more. The beach was very nice - it wasn't crowded at all. We took morning and evening walks - our kids liked picking up shells and finding whole sand dollars. We enjoyed watching the dolphins playing and jumping in the waves. We also enjoyed watching all the surfers! We met Brendhan our last day and he was a very nice guy!

Manhattan beach is a beautiful town with many boutiques and cute little restaurants. Brendhan's place was central to everything and within walking distance to shopping and eating. The place is also conveniently located to many attractions - a ~45 minute drive to Disney, ~30 minute drive to Hollywood, ~40 minute drive to Rodeo Drive, and a ~2 hour drive to San Diego. (Although, if you rent a car I highly recommend getting one with a GPS - the highways are insane!)

If you are looking for a nice relaxing place - look no further! It was truly BEAUTIFUL!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

We have already booked next year!

Review submitted: November 17, 2011   Date of arrival: October 29, 2011

We stayed at this beautiful home while my parents
were visiting from NY. Its was the perfect gathering
place for my senior parents, my husband and I and
our teen daughter. My mom doesn't move around
too much but she enjoyed the gorgeous ocean view
and watching all the activity on the strand like
joggers, dog walkers and people watching. Down
below on the beach we watched volleyball players
and a bike path with cyclists and rollerbladers. The
ocean had birds, dolphins and surfers all viewable
from inside the home. So much activity!
Brendhan and Rosario were a pleasure and very
helpful.
We have already booked next year!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Greetings from Luxembourg

Review submitted: November 17, 2011   Date of arrival: September 6, 2011

We have been staying in Manhattan Beach for 2 weeks and it was amazing. The house is so well equipped that you miss nothing. The house is just a stone’s throw away from the beach where you can observe dolphins from your terrace. It’s just a dream. We have been there with our kids and they just loved it! Everything what you need is close to your feet: restaurants, shops, bars….and you feel so comfortable. And in a case if you should miss something Brendhan, the manager and Rosario, the housekeeper are there to help you at any time. As soon as we can we will travel back to this place

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

It was amazing!

Review submitted: June 20, 2011   Date of arrival: June 12, 2011

We just got back from a week long trip to Manhattan Beach. It was amazing! The house was great and Brendhan and Rosario were very helpful all week! I can't wait until we can do it again!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Incredible House, Awesome Views! We will certainly be back!

Review submitted: May 26, 2011   Date of arrival: May 20, 2011

We just returned from an extended weekend in Manhattan Beach. We were greeted by an absolute doll, Rosario, who tended to every need we could have possibly had. An absolute gem! The house was incredible. The views were awesome...getting to see the dolphins early in the morning was especially exciting for us. We were able to watch the kids from our deck while they spent hours in the ocean on the boogie boards provided. People watching from our deck was also entertaining. The location to stores and restuarants was so convenient and I can't forget to mention that we used the bikes too. Cruised down the boardwalk to Hermosa beach and the pier. Obviously, this was a great experience. We will certainly be back! Thank you Brendhan and Rosario...you helped get our summer off to a great start!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A Perfect Beach Getaway!

Review submitted: April 19, 2011   Date of arrival: March 18, 2011

I can't say enough great things about this house or the owner or Rosario! First the house has the most incredible views anyone could ask for. The house has everything you need and to preface where I am coming from I rent about 6 different homes a year. I am always usually disappointed with the bed but the master bedroom bed was very comfortable. The garage space was small but it was convenient and fits a compact and possibly a mid-size car or small SUV. The house had everything you need and most of all a very convenient location. The bathrooms are very clean and though they are not updated they worked just great for a beach house. We had four 16 year old boys with us and they had a blast surfing, boogie boarding and riding their bikes. The house provided the bikes and boogie boards which made it convenient. Call me if you need more specifics but the owner was very gracious, easy to work with and Rosario who takes care of the home is a gem. The home was a perfect beach get away and we will be back!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

AMAZING Vacation!

Review submitted: March 21, 2011   Date of arrival: March 10, 2011

AMAZING vacation! The owner, Brendhan, and
house cleaner, Rosario, were incredibly
accommodating. Whatever questions we had, we got
an immediate response from Brendhan. Rosario
made us feel so welcome and made sure we had
everything we needed. We stayed in the 3 bdrm
apartment, which had amazing views of the
sunsets! My parents, kids and I had an amazing
time, walking to the pier, bike riding along the bike
path and surfing the waves. I will definitely stay
here again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Best place we've stayed in our many trips to Manhattan Beach!

Review submitted: February 14, 2011   Date of arrival: February 2, 2011

Brendhan's place was wonderful - by far the best place we've ever stayed in our many trips to Manhattan Beach. It's right by the water, close to shops and restaurants. It was so nice having access to laundry, as well as lots of beach goodies. We'll definitely stay there again!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Fabulous View, Spacious and Beautifully Decorated.

Review submitted: February 13, 2011   Date of arrival: February 7, 2011

  Wow! What an amazing house and what a fabulous view!!!  We had a family vacation at this spectacular house.  It was spacious and beautifully decorated.  All the bedrooms were lovely and everyone remarked on how comfortable the beds were. My daughter and her husband stayed downstairs in the studio and both said they would stay there again.  They loved it!!! The view from that unit is just as amazing. It is furnished perfectly and the bed is just as comfortable.
  There is so much to do and see in the area and the shops and restaurants are all just a short walk from the house. We enjoyed eating at Pancho's which is just up the street.
  Rosario, the housekeeper, did a wonderful job.  The house was extremely clean and well taken care of.  She was friendly and sweet and we really enjoyed her.
  Brendhan is a gem!  He answered all of our questions and the house was everything he promised.  He also had tips on the local eateries as he knows the area very well.  He was very polite and concerned that we had an enjoyable experience.
  We are all looking forward to returning again next year.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Family from Aspen Enjoys Manhattan Beach!

Review submitted: January 31, 2011   Date of arrival: January 26, 2011

I lived in Manhattan beach, so i know the town. We loved it. 3 children, my wife and I, and the place is right on the strand. Great for runs, bike rides, surfing, sand castle building. you can see your kids from the house as they play on the beach. or vice versa. far enough away from the the bar/nightlife scene to be very quiet, yet a 8 min bike ride (15 min walk)to that fun. few great food joints right up the street that are a perfect 3 min walk to grab breakfast/lunch/dinner. was quiet, beautiful, well kept up with, and Brendhan was meticulous with the details. bikes, garage, washer/dryer all there....markets nearby, great parking for guests, views fantastic, comfy rooms, all were a bonus. We will be going back.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

An Amazing Condo with Breathtaking Views.

Review submitted: August 16, 2010   Date of arrival: August 8, 2010

When we booked Brendhan's penthouse suite last year I remember feeling a bit nervous - it was the most expensive vacation rental we had ever booked! But we (a family of 4 with 2 teenage kids) just returned back from one of our best ever vacations. We wanted lots of room, with breathtaking views, right on the beach and we were not disappointed at all. Every room was perfect in the condo. Having 4 wide screen TV's with all the premium channels and DVR's really helped too. There were plenty of towels, pots & pans, and utensils. Lots of beach and outdoor gear too. Also 4 bikes for riding along the beach each day.

The condo was very clean and all the beds were very comfortable. Near by (walking distance) there are lots of restaurants and boutiques to shop at. The whole Manhattan Beach area is very high end. Each day my wife and I walked along the beach to the nearby Starbucks and this became our morning ritual.

The beach was much quieter than I expected and we just walked to it in bare feet each day and never had any trouble finding a spot on the shoreline. Some days were were almost the only ones on the beach and it was kept so clean. We spotted Dolphins from our Condo room each day and this was always a source of excitement.

This was everything I hoped for and more. Plus Brendhan and Rosario were very helpful and friendly. I really hope we can go back next year as we had such a wonderful time.

Thanks Bren!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Review submitted: May 24, 2010   Date of arrival: May 24, 2010

I have never written a travel recommendation (even though I rely on them) but I have to now because this beach condo is fabulous. It is what you see in the pictures and video, but it's even more once you get there. The view is amazing, the sunsets incredible, and the location ideal. It is a very comfortable and welcoming place to stay. It is clean and quiet. The available bikes and beach gear is a real plus. The TV's in each bedroom is a nice touch. We ate in EVERY meal (why would you go out when you're right on the water??) We were delighted with this place and would love to go back. It was a memorable family vacation! I would highly recommend it!!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Review submitted: April 4, 2010   Date of arrival: April 4, 2010

My wife and I spent a week at this wonderful home with our two teenage kids. The location is excellant; right on the beach for swimming or beach volleyball and a short drive to the LA attractions.The property is well maintained and furnished nicely. We enjoyed riding the feee bikes on the beach path to the intersting shops in downton MB.Brendhan made renting this beach home an easy process. We had a fantastic stay!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: March 9, 2010   Date of arrival: March 9, 2010

I just returned from a 10-night stay in this wonderful condo. Floor-to-ceiling windows face the ocean providing a great view of all the Manhattan Beach activities. My son particularly liked having his own bedroom with a flat-screen TV. The owner of the condo is very friendly and helpful providing a map with all the local services and hot-spots. One minor warning - the garage is quite small so if you're renting a vehicle, don't pick a full-size car or SUV.
Manhattan Beach is a great location - an easy commute to/from the LAX airport and not far from Disneyland, Hollywood/Universal, and Los Angeles. I highly recommend this place!!

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Amazing Location!!

Review submitted: February 24, 2010   Date of arrival: February 11, 2010

I just returned from a 10-night stay in this wonderful condo. Floor-to-ceiling windows face the ocean providing a great view of all the Manhattan Beach activities. My son particularly liked having his own bedroom with a flat-screen TV. The owner of the condo is very friendly and helpful providing a map with all the local services and hot-spots. One minor warning - the garage is quite small so if you're renting a vehicle, don't pick a full-size car or SUV.
Manhattan Beach is a great location - an easy commute to/from the LAX airport and not far from Disneyland, Hollywood/Universal, and Los Angeles. I highly recommend this place!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: December 29, 2009   Date of arrival: December 29, 2009

Our new favorite spot in MB! This house is fantastic, everything you'll need for a week or longer stay. The location is perfect, just a 20 minute stroll to downtown and right on the beach. Bren and Rosario are very accomadating and so nice...Bren even made himself available to us on Christmas Day! If you are looking for a memorable place to stay that meets all of your expectations and more, look no further!

Thank you again Bren and Rosario!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: December 15, 2009   Date of arrival: December 15, 2009

A great beach getaway! The furnishings, cleanliness and
spectacular view make this a place that we will definitely come back to. We especially appreciated working with the owner on all aspects of our stay. I highly recommend a stay at "Brendhan's Place".

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: December 3, 2009   Date of arrival: December 3, 2009

It's always a bit unnerving renting a place you've never actually been to. Well, reserve with confidence! One of the best vacation week's I've ever had. The location, view, parking... everything, is as good as it gets! Thanks Brendhan.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: November 4, 2009   Date of arrival: November 4, 2009

My family visited from Tennessee and stayed in the 3 bedroom unit for a week. Everything was absolutely perfect when we arrived and the house was amazing. Beautiful views of everything from Catalina to the Santa Monica mountains. We watched dolphins play from the deck most days and took nice walks on the Strand, which is right outside the front door. The kids loved the bikes and skateboards and all of the other toys that were supplied. The downstairs units were occupied most days during our stay but we never heard a sound. Our unit was well stocked with everything you could need for cooking or relaxing on the beach. And best of all, Brendan and Rosario were incredibly nice and genuinely concerned that everything was exactly as it should be for our stay. My family will definitely be staying here again on future visits. Its the perfect beach house!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: October 6, 2009   Date of arrival: October 6, 2009

Amazing Vacation Rental! This oceanfront retreat has everything you need to enjoy a wonderful vacation. The location could not be any better, the views are amazing, and Brendhan is a pleasure to work with!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: October 6, 2009   Date of arrival: October 6, 2009

Great vacation home! The house is wonderful and has everything you need to relax and enjoy your stay. The location could not have been better and Brendhan was a pleasure to work with!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: October 4, 2009   Date of arrival: October 4, 2009

Wow, this was an incredible vacation spot. Sun, sand,
waves and views. Highly recommend a stay here. The
house is so comfortable and clean. Everything you
need is there. Location is prime, all you need is within
walking or biking distance. Brendhan is a pleasure
and most accommodating. Can't wait to return.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: October 3, 2009   Date of arrival: October 3, 2009

Its a great experience, nice view of the sunset. Highly recommended!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: September 4, 2009   Date of arrival: September 4, 2009

We want to thankyou Brendan for not only having a great place for us to spend our summer vacation in but for your warm and generous hospitality. When we first picked your place out on the internet we could see that it looked really great, but we were actually even more thrilled after we arrived and experienced it for real. Wow!!!!! The views, the cleanness and warm atmosphere of the apartment and the location made this one of our best vacations ever. We will be back soon.
Thank you Jim and Ilana

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: August 27, 2009   Date of arrival: August 26, 2009

The beach house was a wonderful weekend stay
(Aug. 8-10). I can attest to the other guest book
entries that the views from the main deck and
living room are spectacular. You don't have to
leave the comfort of the living room to enjoy the
ocean outside your back door..... but you will. It is
truly one of the best beaches that I've enjoyed in
the Los Angeles area. Plenty of activities at your
disposal but it's also fun to do nothing there. A
great stay. Bren and Rosario really make you feel at
home. I highly recommend it.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: August 26, 2009   Date of arrival: August 26, 2009

The beach house (10-16th Aug) was everything we hoped for, very clean and everything you would ever want, although a mirror in the second and third bedrooms would have been excellent. the view... what a view... sea... surfers and best of all dolphins.

We explored many of the other beaches, but we found Manhattan to be the nicest, with a lovely town just along the strand and some excellent bars, we esp likely Sharkies as it was up the hill and round the corner and does a excellent happy hour. Panchos the mexican (also round the corner) was wonderful.

There is doing we didnt like, only leaving it!! Brendan was so helpful not only with the booking, but everything and Rosario was so friendly and eager to make sure we were all ok, they were both lovely.

I would recomend this house to anyone, its location, the view and the guys that run it, it was perfect.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: August 9, 2009   Date of arrival: August 9, 2009

We chose this rental in part after reading the glowing reviews. We are now ready to add our own. First of all, you will be hard pressed to find a better view with any beach home anywhere. The house is as clean and well set up as could be. There are many places to walk/bike to for meals or entertainment. The Strand out in front is a nice promenade with joggers and people out for a stroll. We could access the major freeways easily for our day trips. One thing that spoke volumes about Brendhan; I let him know that the front door lock was having some difficulty latching in all cases. He had the lock replaced and new keys for us that afternoon. Finally, the house-cleaner Rosario, who we saw at the beginning and end of the trip could not have been nicer. We recommend this rental to anyone.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: August 5, 2009   Date of arrival: August 5, 2009

The place was spectacular with an awesome view. VERY clean and updated furnishings. Everything we needed for cooking was there. And so convenient to have bike cruisers, skateboards, and all the beach necessities. We barely left the place except to go to the beach and stroll the Strand. Very safe and the sound of the waves right outside in the morning was very tranquil and relaxing. We would definitley come back again. thanks Bren and Rosario for making our vaction stay memorable! Elaine, Brian, and Justin

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: August 4, 2009   Date of arrival: August 4, 2009

When we arrived in the beachhouse, I thought for sure it was done by an interior decorator! It was so clean and clutter free. Everything you need is right there. Ocean views, Satelite music to make the mood right, TV in all the bedrooms and just down right relaxing. Those days you want to stretch your legs, your off onto The Strand, right outside the door. It's great. Walking distance to all kinds of restaurants. Be sure to save us spot next year.

Thanks for the fun Bren. Will see you again soon!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: August 3, 2009   Date of arrival: August 3, 2009

A perfect place to enjoy the beach! The house is spotless and comfortable and the hosts are super friendly and accomodating. Everything we needed was included - bikes, skate boards, beach chairs - it was a lot of fun and we'd defintely go back!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: July 19, 2009   Date of arrival: July 19, 2009

It is like you died and went to heaven. We never left the place all week. We were hoping to do some sight seeing but that never happened. No one wanted to leave.. From watching the surfers to the dolphins, it was amazing. The house is a perfect beach house...filled with all you need for the beach, a beautiful view, and a great host, Bren and hostess, Rosario. Can't wait to go back.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: July 15, 2009   Date of arrival: July 14, 2009

The Springe beach house is spectacular; it is almost too good to be true. One doesn't have to bring a thing to have a great time at the beach: the house came with beach umbrellas and chairs, volleyball, boogie boards, skateboard and cruisers. The second floor affords you the unobstructed view of the ocean while being entertained by people- watching on the Strand. The location is bustling in the day time, and at night one can enjoy the serenity of the sound of the waves. Last but not least, Bren and Rosario are awesome. I can go on and on about how they made our vacation unforgettable, but go experience it for yourself. They simply made us feel at home. Thank you Bren and Rosario! We look forward to seeing you soon (sooner than next summer:)

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: July 4, 2009   Date of arrival: July 4, 2009

We had an AMAZING seven days in Manhattan
Beach! The property was as beautiful and the sound
of the waves were seductive and peaceful. Bren and
Rosario are customer service experts that should be
commended for their efforts. Thank you for making
our beach house vacation one we will never forget.

The Applegate family

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: June 23, 2009   Date of arrival: June 22, 2009

This place is AWESOME....truly a slice of California beach living at its best...!! When we first walked in, we and our daughters (5 and 8 years old) just said "WOW!!" The location was great...right on the Strand overlooking the beach. We had all sorts of plans for day trips and dinners out, but quickly discarded most of these as we always found ourselves just drawn to the patio to watch the ocean, the surfers, the volleyball games, and the sunsets....not to mention to the beach itself...! The rooms were very clean, with modern yet comfortable furnishings and with all the conveniences. Bikes, beach chairs, skateboards, volleyballs, boogie boards, etc, were all available. Bren was the ultimate host...very friendly and responsive. We've rented a vacation house for a few years now, and we can safely say that this was the best...we plan on making a return visit

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: June 16, 2009   Date of arrival: June 16, 2009

This was one of the most relaxing and fun vacations our family has ever taken. Bren was great to work with and his home is the perfect seaside getaway. The view and sound of the ocean are wonderful! It is just as advertised! If you can book it do it now!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: May 29, 2009   Date of arrival: May 29, 2009

Our stay was fantastic. I found Brendan's place on VHBO website and from the beginning I was impressed by the photographs and description as I have been running real estate offices on the North Fork of Long Island for 25 years and am very atune to presentation. My son was graduating from Loyola Marymount University and we wanted a place close to his college and as we live on Long Island Sound views of the Pacific Ocean. The apartment is fantastic - the living and dining room is enclosed on three sides with floor to ceiling windows and the views are mesmerizing. The Strand is fabulous - you can walk for miles, the architecture of each individual building is diverse and aesthetically pleasing. The apartment is quiet - the sound of the surf is calming. I can't say enough for Brenhan being on hand for answers to any of our questions. Having a garage was the best. We have dear friends who live close to us and I am recommending that they contact Brendhan and rent his condo - their son is going to be attending University of Southern California this coming fall. Also, the condo was so clean, the furnishings great and the kitchen very well set up.

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Review submitted: May 22, 2009   Date of arrival: May 21, 2009

First and foremost Bren is great to deal with. I forgot some things, and he brought it to my attention and is mailing them back to me. Rosario the house-keeper pays exceptional attention to the detail of the home so it is nice and neat when you get there.
The property itself is in a great location on The Strand. The ocean is the main feature of The Strand. The home welcomes it in through the frame of floor to ceiling glass doors into your living room and kitchen. The rhythm of the ocean softly vibrates through the windows in the bedrooms in the upstairs 3 bdrm 2 bath unit.
Every thing you need is where you think it should be. Everything you use works.
The home's Feng Shui leaves you at peace so you can go do your thing.
It's all lovely. Go there - but not when I want to be there please. :-)

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: May 11, 2009   Date of arrival: May 11, 2009

Staying at the Springe Family Beach House was the best part of our wedding weekend in Manhattan Beach!
We were more than pleased with everything about the house - the location, the stocked kitchen, the bikes, the BBQ grill, the decor.
We would definitely consider staying here again and highly recommend this wonderful vacation home to our friends.

Enjoy your stay!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: April 13, 2009   Date of arrival: April 1, 2009

Our family just returned from a week at the beach
and we were blown away by
Bren's wonderful beach house! It is exactly as
described and MORE! This very
clean, well-maintained unit is the entire upstairs of
a wonderful maintained
house directly on the sand or "Strand" as they call it
in Manhattan Beach.
Our 2 year old could walk down the steps to the
beach (with us watching
close by of course) as safely as can be! We are
going to recommend this
place to ALL of our friends and family! The sound of
the waves is very loud
and can be heard from every room in the house,
even with the windows closed!
It puts you into a deep sleep right away! Our
favorite things from this
beach house rental were the great service from
Bren, a glass of wine
watching the sun set every night from our very
open living room/dining
room/kitchen, and playing Scrabble by the fireplace
late into the night. It
was the best week ever and we will be coming back
again for another visit to
this wonderful beach house. Perfect for a family of
4 or as Bren says, up to
6. Thanks, Bren, for such a wonderful time at your
precious place by the
sea!
Sincerely,
Kevin and Lane

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Family Friendly Getaway with Ocean Views for DAYS!

Review submitted: April 11, 2009   Date of arrival: April 4, 2009

Our family just returned from a week at the beach and we were blown away by Bren's wonderful beach house! It is exactly as described and MORE! This very clean, well-maintained unit is the entire upstairs of a wonderful maintained house directly on the sand or "Strand" as they call it in Manhattan Beach. Our 2 year old could walk down the steps to the beach (with us watching close by of course) as safely as can be! We are going to recommend this place to ALL of our friends and family! The sound of the waves is very loud and can be heard from every room in the house, even with the windows closed! It puts you into a deep sleep right away! Our favorite things from this beach house rental were the great service from Bren, a glass of wine watching the sun set every night from our very open living room/dining room/kitchen, and playing Scrabble by the fireplace late into the night. It was the best week ever and we will be coming back again for another visit to this wonderful beach house. Perfect for a family of 4 or as Bren says, up to 6. Thanks, Bren, for such a wonderful time at your precious place by the sea!
Sincerely,
Kevin and Lane

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: April 6, 2009   Date of arrival: April 1, 2009

Our stay at the beach in this condo was FANTASTIC! The views/windows were spectacular. We saw surfers and dolphin playing in the ocean daily.The rooms were clean and quiet with very comfortable beds and flat screen tv's in each.The kitchen was full equipped. It had everything you could need in it, including beach cruisers,beach games (paddle ball, boogie board)skate boards and off street parking(garage)I would highly recommend this property for a beach get away!!!!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: March 21, 2009   Date of arrival: March 1, 2009

What a terrific place to soak up the rays while watching the world go by on the Strand -- so much activity! I also enjoyed walking to the pier and back every morning. Restaurants were great and plenty within walking distance of the house. Very upscale neighborhood; beautiful and clean beach. Hope to go back! Thanks Bren!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: March 16, 2009   Date of arrival: March 1, 2009

We had a wonderful time and Bren was an exceptional host. The kitchen is well equipped, the rooms were wonderfully decorated, and there is a fabulous view of the ocean. We had toddlers up to seniors staying here and everyone enjoyed it. Thank you!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: March 9, 2009   Date of arrival: March 1, 2009

What a great experience! I would tell anyone to stay at
this home. Bren has done a spectacular job updating
this home to be very cozy. The view is undeniably the
most beautiful!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Best days in US

Review submitted: February 28, 2009   Date of arrival: February 13, 2009

You only have to read the comments from the visitors before. I must agree to all the things written before. The view is great, also the location and the cleanness. We loved to stay at this sensational condo. Also here many thanks to the owner Bren, who has given us his hospitality.

Recommended for: families with young children, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: February 11, 2009   Date of arrival: February 1, 2009

I have rented many vacation homes in many locations in the past, and without a doubt this was one of my favorites. I spent a week there with my older mother who wants nothing more than to sit and watch the ocean all day. Needless to say, she was not disappointed. The location was perfect, close to restaurants and shopping (although we were quite happy to just sit and enjoy the view). Brendhan was a joy to work with, and even went out of his way to give me a ride to the airport to pick up a rental car. The only reason I would not highly recommend this house would be for fear that it would not be available the next time I wanted it. Can’t wait to enjoy wine at the sunset again.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: January 31, 2009   Date of arrival: January 1, 2009

Spectacular home! Mornings were my favorites because you get out of bed walk down the hallway into the family area and BOOM! -- theres this wall of blue ocean! It amazed me all 7 mornings.
Manhattan Beach is the cleanest beach I've ever stepped foot on. We walked in the surf at sunsets or had wine while watching the sun go down.
Our host Bren made this very easy and fun! -- THANK YOU!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: January 25, 2009   Date of arrival: January 1, 2009

Oh i loved it! Bren is super cool and was really easy to work with. Its an awsome place to stay. The front yard is the Pacific Ocean! Sites and sand and surf. The amenities are really top notch. Flat screen tvs, nice beds, linens and the ocean surf sounds lulled me to sleep. Close to local nightlife and restaurants within walkind distance. User friendly, well thought out, clean, nicely decorated home. I loved having friends over for 'get togethers' as the house was set up for entertaining. Id wake up to tons of surfers riding the waves, joggers, dog walkers, bicyclists all on the strand in front of the house. Id stroll down the strand in the mornings to wake up. So much better than a hotel and such a better value considering I could cook healthy meals for myself rather than dine out. Cant wait to come back!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: January 14, 2009   Date of arrival: January 1, 2009

Superb view of Santa Monica Bay from Palos Verdes to Point Dume. Walking/jogging/cycling paths just out the door. Great people watching. Very convenient to LAX. Condo well-equipped with everything needed for cooking, etc. It was an ideal place to meet up with our kids after finals!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: January 5, 2009   Date of arrival: January 1, 2009

The house is absolutely spectacular. Breath taking
views, steps to the beach (literally) and close to great
restaurants and shops. I would definitely go back
again. Thanks to Bren for everything--he made it so
easy. I highly recommend this house to anyone who is
looking for a perfect beach getaway.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: November 27, 2008   Date of arrival: November 1, 2008

Fabulous location, has everything at hand, resturants, bars, shops and more.
House, furnishings and contents just great and very comfortable. (loved the DVR so that we didn't miss favourite programs while out having fun).
Views superb, sunsets like no other.
Thanks Bren, so glad we got to meet you, nice guy.
Also great tenants downstairs, they were so friendly and helpful when needed.
The garage made parking easy.
Just a wonderful experience, hope to do this again.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: November 14, 2008   Date of arrival: November 1, 2008

Fabulous MB property! We took morning jogs on the strand to Hermosa, relaxed on the beach, watched the sunset from the deck every night, and dined at some great local restaurants. Many dining options are within walking distance of the property. Great for children--steps to the beach and lifeguards are close by. Bren was very gracious and accommodating. He provided beach chairs, boogie boards, bikes and a volleyball which kept the kids busy. We'll be back!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: November 10, 2008   Date of arrival: November 1, 2008

"Cowabunga, Murphy! Hang ten...Over the falls...Wipe-out...Pipeline"(1950-60'surfer lingo for fantastic)!

Great location, greater unit, greatest landlord. What else can be added.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: November 3, 2008   Date of arrival: November 1, 2008

Fantastic apartment, couldn't fault the location & view.
Good restaurants & shops close by.
Loved it
Thanks

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: October 27, 2008   Date of arrival: October 1, 2008

The house was very nice and worked well for our party
of 4. We liked the location, view and Bren was true to
his word. We can easily recommend this vacation
rental.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: October 7, 2008   Date of arrival: October 1, 2008

We just got back from a 4 day weekend. What a house! It was everything that we were hoping for. Lots of action on The Strand, fun to watch the surfers, the dolphins and the people. Great nightlife in Manhattan Beach. Bren was a great host. Hoping to return soon!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: October 5, 2008   Date of arrival: October 1, 2008

This house is one of the best. A fantastic location with outstanding views. Watching Beach Volleyball as you have breakfast is a great way to start the day. The house was equiped with everything our young family needed and Bren made sure that everything went smoothly. There was even a scooter for my 4yr old to ride along The Strand.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: September 3, 2008   Date of arrival: September 1, 2008

Thanks Bren
Your place is perfect! We are proud to have taken good care of it. We will pass the word to family and friends about your hospitality. Your tenants downstairs were great too! After we left your place we spent 4 nights downtown at the Checkers (for a wedding) We sulked for those days as we missed our view and our nice "home". On Monday night before we flew home, we came back to have supper at Manhatten Beach. Great finish to a great holiday.
Thanks so much
Chris and Peter

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: September 3, 2008   Date of arrival: September 1, 2008

This place is better than the photos show! Imagine waking up to view dolphins each morning. The facility has everything you need plus more. The host is most congenial. You are close enough to every amenity possible. This was one of our best holidays.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: September 2, 2008   Date of arrival: September 1, 2008

What a wonderful place to stay. Since I was born and raised in the South Bay, and having lived in Manhattan Beach, I knew that El Porto was the best and the most relaxing beach to stay on, but had no idea that I would find such an incredible house to rent. The amentities listed do not do the house justice. You literally only need to pack your bathing suits and tooth brush, everything else is there. I highly recommend it, and plan to make it an annual trip. (It is so good, I'd like to keep it as my secret place!)
Bren, you were a delight to work with, and I am so glad we got to meet.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: August 24, 2008   Date of arrival: August 1, 2008

What a perfect vacation home!! The location can't
be beat!! The home is beautiful, so clean, so well
decorated! Having parking was key!! Being on the
strand was amazing. We could walk everywhere.
Sleeping with the doors open and listening to the
ocean was wonderful. We hope to be back next
year. Thank you Bren, you're a wonderful host, we
loved renting your home!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: August 18, 2008   Date of arrival: August 1, 2008

Once in a long long long time you actually get MORE than you expected. This is definitely one of those incidents. I was blown away by the view, the location, the actual place itself and more. The pictures Bren has up on the site do not do the place justice at all. No offense, Bren, that's actually a great thing.

I rented the place with 3 other buddies and it had everything in the house that we needed and more. Not only will I rent this place again, I actually can't wait to come back!!! One last weird thing is this... we didn't even go to the actual beach all that much, because just being on the balcony looking at the beach is like being there but a lot more convenient.

Two thumbs way up, great place. Also, Bren is a good dude.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: August 11, 2008   Date of arrival: August 1, 2008

One word for this place: WOW!!!! My husband and I(with our five kids ages 11 and under) stayed at this place for one week and had the time of our lives! The first thing I told Bren when I walked in was: "This is absolutely ridiculous!" (Meaning, it was too awesome to be true). The views are unbelievable and unsurpassable. The location is fantastic, the house is very clean, the decoration and furniture are modern and new, the size was more than adequate to accomodate my family of seven. And everything we wanted from our own home was there (there was even a crock-pot!). We would definately rent this property again the next time we come back to Southern California. Again.....WOW!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: August 8, 2008   Date of arrival: August 1, 2008

Our family of four wanted a beach getaway and we
got more than we expected. The home is beautiful,
we loved the expansive views and the great sound
of the waves crashing. Waking up to the sound of
the ocean, watching the surfers and drinking coffee
on the deck was priceless. Everything you need is a
short drive away, we stocked the fridge and never
left! Beautiful and very clean beach, and the
boardwalk was also lovely. Our host, Bren, was
very kind and thoughtful...overall an Ace of a
vacation, we hope to be there again next year!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: August 5, 2008   Date of arrival: August 1, 2008

We had such a lovely time. My husband, myself and our two teenage boys took advantage of the beach almost everyday. We also road bikes almost everyday down to the MB pier or to Hermosa beach for lunch and one day all the way up to Venice Beach board walk for some shopping. Other than that, we hardly left the house but to go to the grocery store. The house is right on the beach and obviously the views are INCREDIBLE! The place is very comfortable, very clean, very nice furniture. Bren is an absolute sweetheart! He made sure we were very comfortable. This was my husbands business trip to LA and we decided to tag along and rent a house instead of a hotel --so GLAD WE DID! We'll be back!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: July 25, 2008   Date of arrival: July 25, 2008

What a place! My two girlfriends & I came out for a 4 day weekend....it was paradise! The pictures DO NOT do this place justice! The views are out of this world anytime of day. There's so much activity going on constantly on the beach and on the strand, so much to see and do. We hit the nightlife downtown a couple nights and laid out at the beach during the day. There’s nothing better than laughing with friends while sipping margaritas on the deck. We will definitely make this an annual trip!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: July 25, 2008   Date of arrival: July 1, 2008

What a place! My two girlfriends & I came out for a 4 day weekend....it was paradise! The pictures DO NOT do this place justice! The views are out of this world anytime of day. There's so much activity going on constantly on the beach and on the strand, so much to see and do. We hit the nightlife downtown a couple nights and laid out at the beach during the day. There’s nothing better than laughing with friends while sipping margaritas on the deck. We will definitely make this an annual trip!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review