reviews for: listing #43715 - Mazatlan, Pacific Coast House rental

Gorgeous House in Centro Historico - 1 block from Ocean
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths 
  • hot tub  yes
  • community  Old Town Mazatlan
  • sleeps  4
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $170 - $220 /nt
    $1,170 - $2,000 /wk

sort by:

Great Location

Review submitted: March 27, 2013   Date of arrival: February 9, 2013

Perfect Location. Great house.

We had a week in Centro part of which overlapped with Carnaval.As we were a block from the sea front where a lot of activity was going on, eg music, until 4 am, it was noisy. We knew that before we booked as we wanted the experience.
The property was clean & quite well maintained. Unfortunately the hot tub was not working & due to the coolish weather in Mazatlan I missed it. It would have been nice. However, in fairness, the owner compensated us well for this in a refund of part of our rent. There were a few minor maintenance problems, which are inevitable given that the owners have not been there for a while & Mexican maintenance isn't as speedy as that in North America.
Although the kitchen was well-equiped we ate out a lot as the prices were reasonable & the food good.
While in Centro it is worth finding out what is on at the Angela Peralta, we caught the St Petersburg Ballet & also the monthly Art Walk. Various websites keep one aware of other activities.
Near Casa Romantica there are lots of great places to eat; Bahia, 2 doors away, Molina, Water's Edge, Paulina's Cantina as well as the many better known ones in Plaza Machado. In the Plaza we have had 2 negative experiences. The 1st was a couple of years ago where we ordered an expensive tequila we drink at homw, which they watered down. We did get our money back & the 2nd this year where I asked the price of a glass of house wine & they charged us more than double. One glass was refunded. We generally find Mexicans to be very honest, so this was disappointing.
Finally, I would definately recommend this property to potential guests. However, the 2nd bedroom is really a mezzanine accessed by a spiral staircase. This is fine for younger people, or those more agile than us. We did not use it.
As we did not have a phone,(free internet is provided, we contacted the owner when required & received excellent & swift responses.We would rent again, depending on our plans etc.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Beautiful Garden in Romantic Neighborhood

Review submitted: April 3, 2012   Date of arrival: March 27, 2012

This home is gorgeous and the location is perfect. Literally one block to the beach where we watched the sun sink over the ocean each night. A few minutes walk towards town on the wide sidewalk along the water took us to where the cliff divers dive over some treacherous looking rocks into the water at sunset. Walking the other direction in the early morning we walked all the way to the lighthouse where we had an amazing view and worked up a healthy appetite for breakfast! This neighborhood is so romantic, one can't help but dream about fixing up one of the places for sale! The square has live music and outdoor restaurants, families walking their dogs and small children playing each evening. What really stands out about this place for us is the friendliness of the people in the neighborhood; there seems to be a blended community here with so many foreigners owning property and living here, and we have spent a lot of time in Mexico and have only experienced that friendliness/comfort here. It goes beyond the tourist experience and feels more like a community. Bravo, Mazatlan! Also, for this house, the magic is the large outdoor space with the pool, the flowers blooming, the privacy, and the rooftop patio with the mattress and chairs. Most places do not have a large outdoor garden area and certainly not a small private pool! Our kids loved it and spent time in the pool each day. We have loved every minutes here and can't wait to return!

Recommended for: families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: Mazatlan is truly paradise,especially the Centro Historico area where our house is located just a block from the beach. We truly enjoy the romance of the old town. The mix of people from the locals to Americans and Canadians make each visit special and wonderful to look forward too. Doesn't matter if you're visiting for 3-days, weeks or months, you feel right at home on the very first day. Our management team is there to assist when needed. Safe, secure, lovely, the Centro Historic area of Mazatlan is worth visiting. Come see us soon! Many guests tell us the same thing, they don't want to leave our house!

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

So perfect! I would like to stay forever.

Review submitted: March 18, 2012   Date of arrival: February 15, 2012

What an amazing house! The home is beautiful from the front door with all the amazing stained glass all the way up to the roof top patio. My husband and I were lucky enough to spend 10 days here and loved every minute. The location could not be more perfect and we would always chose the Historic District over the Golden Zone. The traditional homes, best beach, restaurants, shopping, theatre, gallaries and a spa only a block away. Luise and the neighbors were so friendly and helpful we felt welcome and safe. Thanks Cheri and Peter for sharing your wonderful house with us.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: We must say we have been so blessed with the fantastic guests that have visited our home in Mazatlan. We do hope each traveler searching for a beautiful home to vacation gives our Casa a visit. We promise to make you feel as welcome, special and comfortable as all of our guests have expressed. It is true, the experience in the Historic District of Mazatlan is a wonderful one. It is nice to be a part of the local scene. Everyone is friendly, helpful and welcoming. You will feel like you have lived in Historic Mazatlan forever, even on your first day! Come join us in Mazatlan, see what the rave reviews are all about!

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Casa Romantica in Centro Historico

Review submitted: March 15, 2012   Date of arrival: March 2, 2012

We just stayed for a week at Casa Romantica. It is a beautiful house in a great location. We found the house to be as the owner described/pictured and was clean and well maintained. The finishes in the house and the appliances are high end. The owners were great at communicating by phone and e-mail.
For travelers that like to be immersed in the local culture this is a perfect location. It is also great for travelers that like to eat some meals at home and some out. There were many grocery stores and restaurants within walking distance. The beach is a block away. We loved the mercado and the shrimp ladies. If you don't like to walk there are taxis, buses and red trucks that are readily available and will take you wherever you would like to go for a good price. The house has a beautiful courtyard and roof top terrace that we enjoyed. We felt very comfortable at Casa Romantica. The neighborhood was friendly and there were a lot of Americans and Canadians walking around.

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: My husband Peter and I renovated this house in 2000. It was an absolute ruin. Our goal was to create a comfortable, luxurious masterpiece for ourselves and for guests that would visit our home. We have had many great vacationers stay at our house over the years and have been incredibly pleased with the respect people have paid to our home. We work hard to keep our home clean and maintained so that each guest will walk away with an incredible memory. We have an excellent staff that takes pride in caring for our home and ensuring our guests are at ease. We have had reports that people feel incredibly safe and comfortable in our home. We do have great neighbors in Mazatlan. We look out after one another. If you haven't ever been to Mazatlan, you should plan a trip there soon and stay in the heart of the city where you can truly get a feel for what Mazatlan has to offer. Mi Casa Su Casa! See you soon!

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 

Charming house in perfect location

Review submitted: April 23, 2011   Date of arrival: March 14, 2011

We have just come back from Mazatlan after spending a wonderful month at Casa Romantica in the historic area. The house is certainly beautiful and was very well maintained. The owner Peter had been there prior to our arrival to make sure that all was in order and he and Luis, the manager, couldn't have been more helpful. We spent most of the time outside enjoying the birds and warm weather and the evenings swimming in the pool. Location, location, location! It was perfect...close to the Malacon with all its outdoor patio restaurants and beautiful views of the sunset. We regularly visited the Machado, just a few blocks away, where the restaurants too were excellent. A few blocks the other way was the market where we shopped for fruit, vegetables and fish. Our neighbours were wonderful.....most welcoming, always there if we needed them and very anxious to help in every way. The Guide put together by Cheri and Peter is very helpful and their recommendations pretty much bang on. If you get a chance walk to the top of the Lighthouse to witness wonderful views of Mazatlan and enjoy a meal at the lovely little restaurant on the harbour, La Puntilla. Also try the smashed potatoes offered after 7:00 p.m. in a little stand on Zaragoza up a few blocks from the Malacon.

Recommended for: tourists without a car

Owners response: Reading this review makes me want to drop everything and visit our lovely home in Mazatlan! We are are so grateful for our past guests and guests that have not yet visited our home and experienced all of the wonderful things to do and see in the Historic District of Mazatlan! La Puntilla, remembering wonderful lunches there with Peter's parents who visited all the way from England! What a treat to show them our beautiful home in Mazatlan. If you are planning a trip to Mazatlan, rent our house. Why stay in a hotel when you can rent a beautiful masterpiece in the heart of the city!?! See you soon!

Helpful votes: 7 / 8

 

You've just found it! This is the one!

Review submitted: October 14, 2010   Date of arrival: October 2, 2010

How can you possibly describe paradise? Oh right, THIS HOUSE. Before I even start to comment on how perfect the house is, let’s start with the owner, Cheri. I had about 101 questions to ask her about the house and the area of Mazatlan and she would always promptly return my emails with not only the information I requested, but with lots more helpful info as well. She provided us with maps, and an amazing home made guide to the area comprised of information that her family and guests have learned over the last decade - she even translated how to ask for a cab to the house from the airport for us. The guide was not typical stuff you can find online, I'm talking about some of the best kept secrets of Mazatlan.

The house was absolutely perfect. Amazing stained glass, tall ceilings, A/C, full kitchen with fridge, stove, oven, grill, Jacuzzi out back with little waterfalls, upper level outside for relaxing in the sun, and the garden will blow your mind. We went for our honeymoon, and we will never forget this house! The pictures simply don't do it any justice.

We HIGHLY suggest going to "Isla de la Piedra" (Rock Island) to hang out with Eli (and family) who in part owns "Pizza Benji's" aka "Don Juan's". If you go soon you'll also meet Deepac, the British Indian who's been traveling the globe for the last two and a half years.

I feel like there are still 100 more positive things I could say about this house, but I'm running out of space. Feel free to ask Cheri for our contact info (Jon and Kayte) - we'll be a good reference for life!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: It is people like Jon and Kayte that we continue to share our lovely home. My husband Peter designed this beautiful house as a wedding present. We got married in the back yard of of our neighbors adjacent to the house in 2000. We fell in love with Mazatlan. We found the ruin and gutted it. Peter is a theater architect by profession he designed the house with an incredible artistic flair right down the the gorgeous stained glass doors and windows. Additionally, he designed the Ellie Caulkins Opera House here in Denver, CO and has just recently written and illustrated a Family Heirloom Gift Book "Santa & The Little Teddy Bear" Now on sale through our website. Visit this amazing man's work of art.... It is with pleasure we invite you to visit our home in Mazatlan - Casa Romantica! Mi Casa, Su Casa!

Helpful votes: 7 / 8

 

A glorious house in a perfect location

Review submitted: February 16, 2010   Date of arrival: January 19, 2010

The house is beautiful and luxurious. The owners provide a wonderful guide to Mazatlan and all the activities and restaurants within a short walk away. The house is a block from the ocean and malecon. Old Mazatlan is a delight combining the colonial center and ocean. The house is perfectly positioned to avail yourself of both. At the end of the day, sitting in the back garden is rejunvenating. It is a great house to shop in the markets and cook one's own dinner but with the amazing restaurants a short walk away, my husband and I did not use the house to its full potential. However, we certainly enjoyed luxuriating in it. I should add that we often meet interesting people on vacation but on this vacation (only one week) we became friends with the people we met. This is an incredibly friendly place.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 12 / 15

 

Charming slice of paradise!

Review submitted: January 6, 2010   Date of arrival: December 26, 2009

Our family enjoyed a 2nd year in this lovely, elegant home. It offers comfort & space, privacy, and convenience to quaint, historical town. We love to cook, so again we purchased kilos of fresh shrimp from the shrimp ladies, & many things from the mercado to grill. Hikes to lighthouse, yoga on the beach, Vernados baseball game, haggling with vendors, cocktails & waiting for the green flash at sunset with friends & relatives, eating (El Cuevo del Leon & La Copa le Leche)--all good fun.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Check out our deals. Plan Early! We're filling up fast, have had requests all the way through to December 2010. Thank you to all who have stayed and enjoyed our home, and to those who have not exprienced Centro Historico in Mazatlan, you must consider it. Mi Casa Su Casa!

Helpful votes: 13 / 15

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review