reviews for: listing #43745 - Murphys, California House rental

Villa at the Winery
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  yes
  • type  House
  • baths 
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  8
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $270 - $330 /nt
    $1,600 - $1,900 /wk

sort by:

Weekend

Review submitted: April 17, 2014   Date of arrival: April 12, 2014

Spacious home could easily hold more than six adults comfortably. Comfortable
and great location. Far enough away to avoid downtown noise and activities if
you choose .

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect location

Review submitted: November 6, 2013   Date of arrival: November 1, 2013

Our stay was wonderful. Not only was the house exquisite, the owners had every amenity available to us. We mostly took advantage of the gourmet kitchen for meals but every restaurant/cafe/tasting room is a short walk away. Murphy's has a ton of wine tasting but we found Val du Vino right next door had the best wine. We will definitely be back!

Recommended for: girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Girls annual October Trip

Review submitted: November 5, 2013   Date of arrival: October 25, 2013

The Villa is roomy and spacious. Perfect location for a girls get away!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Girl's Getaway Weekend

Review submitted: September 13, 2013   Date of arrival: September 6, 2013

My girlfriends and I put this trip on the calendar nearly a year ago. We wanted to start an annual tradition of taking a weekend to get away from kids and husbands, and just relax and reconnect. The house did not disappoint! We cooked when we felt like it, and when we didn't...there were plenty of options for great places to eat within walking distance. There was something for everyone. We will be back next year!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Exactly What We Wanted

Review submitted: July 27, 2013   Date of arrival: July 17, 2013

We stayed at the villa last week. The location was perfect - I think even closer to town than a 5 minute walk. We had three little kids and they spent a lot of time in the pool. The kitchen was indeed gourmet and the bedrooms were all great too. We'd totally come back.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Irish days weekend getaway!!

Review submitted: March 28, 2013   Date of arrival: March 15, 2013

The house was perfect for our getaway with our friends and kids. The kitchen and beautiful grounds were amazing. Excellent time had by all, and the staff at Val Du Vino were very helpful. Thanks Jessica for all your info and the wine was fantastic!

Recommended for: families with young children, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Wonderful Place To Stay!

Review submitted: February 27, 2013   Date of arrival: February 22, 2013

This house is a wonderful, warm place to stay! I hate to even say, because we want to go back and hope it is kept a secret so it is available!! Everything was just as stated, if not better! The kitchen is out of this world! The interior is open and has a wonderful French feel! Thanks so much for having this available. Oh - the winery located onsite is one of the best in Murphys! The wine is exceptional and the service awesome!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

A delightful stay at the Villa

Review submitted: February 8, 2013   Date of arrival: January 31, 2013

This was our second stay at The Villa. We enjoyed it just as much as the first, and have already reserved a third stay later this year. We are grandparents, and hosted our daughter son-in-law and two young grandchildren.

The place is clean and well kept. The owners are delightful and helpful.

The three bedrooms and three bathrooms are perfect for our needs, and the floor and furnishings are well-suited to having two small ones running about with minimal worry about hurting themselves or breaking anything.

The kitchen is truly professional grade with a full complement of really first class cookware, big side-by-side fridge-freezer, toaster, blender, microwave, two large ovens and eight (!) gas stovetop burners I love to cook, and found the kitchen a joy to work in. Everything worked, with the exception of the fridge ice maker (which may simply have been turned off).

There is a very good large-size flatscreen TV on which we watched the Super Bowl.

On both our stays we found the place thoughtfully stocked with the basic necessities -- good towels and sheets, cloth kitchen towels, a roll of paper towels, toilet paper, and even shower gel and hand soap in the bathrooms.

The Wi-Fi signal was too weak in the house for our laptops to pick up. but if one strolls a few steps down to the porch of the winery, the signal is excellent. Wish we could be here in the hot summer weather to enjoy the pool.

The only additional comment I would have for prospective renters is: Don't mess this place up! We are coming back and we want it to be as nice next time as we left it this time!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Wine Weekend at The Villa in Murphys

Review submitted: October 19, 2012   Date of arrival: October 12, 2012

Our stay at the Villa in Murphys was a wonderful experience. We came into town for a wine tasting weekend and were not disappointed. The Villa was clean, comfortable, welcoming, within walking distance to town and well equipped for a group that enjoys cooking and entertaining. We had 10 people for dinner and there was plenty of room for all around the large dining table. The weather was fabulous and we spent a great deal of time outside just relaxing by the pool. The best part is that the owners of the villa own the winery next door and they produce wonderful wines. We highly recommend this vacation rental to all, and we hope to be returning just as soon as time will allow, as we all joined their wine club and look forward to attending one of wine club events. Please put the Villa in Murphys on your list.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful Wedding Venue

Review submitted: September 5, 2012   Date of arrival: August 23, 2012

Thanks to the Val du Vino Winery Owners for the perfect Villa (home-away-from-home) experience! Fabulous venue for intimate celebrations and just steps from great wine tasting and Historic Downtown Murphys! The Villa is charming, warm, comfortable, fully equipped, in a country setting yet close to all of life's sweet pleasures! The Villa Kitchen is a dream but no need to cook with amazing restaurants such as Grounds, Magnolia Cafe, Firewood, and more...don't forget Aria Bakery for a slice of heaven on earth!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Ervine

Review submitted: August 21, 2012   Date of arrival: August 10, 2012

Our stay was awesome! It was a perfect girls weekend. The house is beautiful and very comfortable. I love the location it is close enough to everything you may want or need.

Recommended for: girls getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Murphys Villa

Review submitted: July 31, 2012   Date of arrival: July 25, 2012

Great rental-easy walk to main areas of Murphys for wine tasting and wonderful dining at V and Grounds restaurants.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Family reunion

Review submitted: July 2, 2012   Date of arrival: June 30, 2012

The house was perfect for our event. The bedrooms were all nicely furnished as were the baths. The kitchen was killer with an enormous range and lots counter space. You have to walk down to the winery to make the internet access work - ~ 100 ft

The main street and wineries are all just a few steps away

We enjoyed it a lot. I would go back there again. Highly recommended.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

The Villa is Fabulous!!

Review submitted: October 15, 2011   Date of arrival: August 18, 2011

I am a wine club member at Val Du Vino and have rented the Villa for the past two years for a week at a time for a womens' getaway. It is perfect for a group of people with three bedrooms and three full bathrooms. The kitchen is set up for gourmet cooks. There is everything you could possibly want. The pool is wonderful on hot summer days. The winery, which is right down the hill, hosts the farmer's market on Thursday evenings with a great gourmet bbq dinner by Jeannine at a very good price. So we can get all the produce we need for the week and dinner too! The house is within walking distance of everything in town. Jeannine and Jonathon are wonderful hosts...not to mention producers of some of the finest wine in the area!!

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Amazing trip, thank you!

Review submitted: May 4, 2011   Date of arrival: April 30, 2010

Thank you so much for allowing us to stay at your wonderful Villa. There were 6 adults in our party and with three full bathrooms & bedrooms there was plenty of room for everyone. The kitchen is WONDERFUL. We arrived Friday and didn't leave until Monday and only ate out for one meal becuase of that great stove. The decks and yard around the property are lovely and it's such a quick walk dowtown and as a bonus your fabulous tasting room is only steps away.

Thank you again for allowing us to rent your home, it was perfect!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, people with disabilities, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

The Best place in Murphy's

Review submitted: January 23, 2011   Date of arrival: January 21, 2011

We love The Villa and will be back many times to come. Great Location and Jeannine and Jonathon are the best. Make sure you visit the tasting room...Very good reds!

Thanks Bob and Kathy

Recommended for: age 55+, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Excellent

Review submitted: September 30, 2010   Date of arrival: June 11, 2010

Where do you start? Jeannine and Jonathan are absolutely wonderful hosts and their rental is both charming and well cared for. It truly is a home away from home. Each room is nicely decorated and the kitchen is extraordinary, fully equipped with everything you could need and quality appliances. The fact that their winery is right next door is an added bonus!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great home base for exploring.

Review submitted: August 10, 2010   Date of arrival: July 29, 2010

Great place to stay. Location was perfect for a short walk into town. The kitchen is perfect for cooking up any size meal. Pool made for a relaxing afternoon and dont forget to stop by the winery for some of there great wines.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

I want it all to myself

Review submitted: March 26, 2010   Date of arrival: March 5, 2010

What a wonderful experience. We'd never been to Murphys before and now we know we'll be going back again and again. The house, owners, wine, and town are all wonderful for a multi-couple vacation weekend. The house is well appointed, clean, comfortable, and a quick walk from everything you need downtown. The wines in the Murphys tasting rooms are fantastic and affordable. I can't imagine needing or wanting to go back to Napa or Sonoma.
The property is suppose to have internet access but we couldn't get it to work. We really didn't need it so we didn't even bother mentioning it to the owners.
If you haven't been to Murphys, definately go but don't steal this fantastic house on the weekends I want to be there! ;-)
Don't miss Val du Vino winery's tasting room. The petite syrah is lovely!

Recommended for: girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review