reviews for: listing #43806 - Mission Beach, California House rental

The Happy Little Cottage
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community  South Mission Beach
  • sleeps  4
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $150 - $275 /nt
    $995 - $1,750 /wk

sort by:

Relaxing & Wonderful

Review submitted: September 27, 2013   Date of arrival: September 16, 2013

The Happy Little Cottage is just that! It is clean, neat and comfortable! We had my sister and her husband stay with us and it was perfect! The patio is a wonderful place to unwind after walking the bay or beach all day! It's location is just as it says, a block from the bay and 2 from the beach! That is what really makes it wonderful, you don't have people walking by you on the patio all day or night! Plenty of towels and beach stuff to spend the day at the beach, riding bikes or whatever! We will be planning another stay on our next trip to California! Thank you J-me for a wonderful place to relax!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Fabulous Vacation Home

Review submitted: January 14, 2013   Date of arrival: January 15, 2012

This little cottage was a delightful find, close to the beach & ocean. The house was clean & cozy, complete with bicycles, bbqs, beach chairs, toys, puzzles, books, just about anything you need for a great vacation. The owner was welcoming and of great help in the renting process, answering any and all questions. Couldn't ask for a better hostess. Would definitely go back.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Cozy comforts

Review submitted: February 2, 2011   Date of arrival: December 23, 2010

The happy little cottage is just that...full of cozy comfort and everything needed to relax and feel at home. Great location between bay and ocean, near stores, quiet area, attentive and caring owners, amenities galore. Lovely home.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Perfect - in ways big and small

Review submitted: February 2, 2011   Date of arrival: November 22, 2010

Perfect- in ways big (location, washer/dryer, space, beds, hosts!) and small (extra towels, toys for kids and adults, sharp kitchen knives, etc!). Great, comfortable place and very nice hosts -- Thanks!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Cute & cozy

Review submitted: September 23, 2010   Date of arrival: July 26, 2010

We loved the happy little cottage! It was clean, convenient and cozy. It was fun to walk a few steps to the bay every evening and watch the fireworks across the bay at Sea World. Especially loved the fully furnished kitchen. The enclosed front and back yards with tables were perfect--they kept my 2 year old grandson safely confined while we enjoyed the cool sea breezes. South Mission Beach is much quieter, friendlier and laid back than North Mission Beach!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Private and relaxful

Review submitted: September 23, 2010   Date of arrival: June 24, 2010

The cottage had everything we needed to just relax and enjoy our time together. The location was the best, located between the bay and the ocean, everything just steps away no car needed. The cottage was fully furnished to enjoy just hanging out there or sunbathing on the beach. Just a real pleasure and suited our needs perfectly.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Like home away from home!

Review submitted: September 23, 2010   Date of arrival: April 27, 2010

My brother and I really enjoyed your cottage! The location is close to everything beach, parks and the nightlife it was the excellent vacation spot. The cottage was well equipped for a comfortable stay in or time at the beach and park. Thank you J-me and Clark, we had a great time at your place!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Integrity and Kindness

Review submitted: January 28, 2010   Date of arrival: January 3, 2010

If you like supporting businesses run by kind people who care about their clients, this is your place! When I expressed I was nervous about booking online and sending complete payment to a stranger, J-Me (the owner) sent all sorts of legal information to assuage my concerns with no defensiveness. I appreciated that. Once here, we loved walking 2 blocks to the right (with a coffee shop stop in between) to the ocean to watch the surfing and activity. Loved walking 15 steps to the left to soak in the sun peacefulness of the bay. This area of town is FUNKY. Lots of family owned businesses and down-to-earth people. The gas fireplace and Snuggie came in handy during the cool nights.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great Beach Cottage!

Review submitted: December 24, 2009   Date of arrival: July 29, 2009

We loved the Happy Little Cottage! The location is perfect and it was the perfect vacation spot in the Mission Beach area-away from the noise on the beach side of Mission Blvd. The beach bikes, beach chairs and front patio were well used by our family. The beds were particularly comfortable and the cottage had a full kitchen with everything we needed. Thanks again J-me and Clark, we had a wonderful time at your beach cottage!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

What a happy vacation house!

Review submitted: December 24, 2009   Date of arrival: June 7, 2009

Our family of 4 really enjoyed our stay in this cozy little cottage. The on-site owners were very helpful and readily available. There were lots of little extras like coupons for site-seeing adventures, movies to rent, and sand toys for our children. Most importantly, it's close to the beach, even closer to the bay.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great place

Review submitted: December 24, 2009   Date of arrival: February 2, 2009

We so much enjoyed our stay as it was relaxing, sunny and we felt home 1,000 miles away from home. What more do you expect?

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Cute, convenient cottage!

Review submitted: December 24, 2009   Date of arrival: December 1, 2009

Super cute little cottage in a nifty little neighborhood. Walk to the beach across the street or the boardwalk. Close to all attractions and has the conveniences of home.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Perfect spot

Review submitted: December 24, 2009   Date of arrival: November 19, 2009

If your looking for an alternative to a hotel room and have a family this is it. Great walkway to beach or the bay. All the "stuff" you need for your stay. Easy access to La Jolla and dowtown and all points of interest. Front courtyard and back grilling area with table and pvt space. Off street parking and all around great palce. Owners great and very accomodating!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

What a great place!

Review submitted: December 24, 2009   Date of arrival: October 12, 2009

We loved the Happy Little Cottage! It is close to Mission Bay, Mission Beach and Belmont Park. The boogie boards and beach cruisers are great! We only needed to bring our clothes. J-me and Clark are very nice and helpful. My 8 year old son wanted to fish at the bay and Clark helped him catch live ghost shrimp for bait! This was truly a wonderfully relaxing vacation for our family. We will definitely be back.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Perfect little house close to the beach

Review submitted: December 24, 2009   Date of arrival: October 2, 2009

This house was a perfect place for our family while on vacation. We used the back porch every morning and evening! You can walk West and be right at the ocean or walk East and you are right on the bay. My family really enjoyed the bikes for riding aroud, and the kids loved the boogie boards! The boardwalk has plenty of fun things to keep the kids entertained, and shopping for the women! My husband spent his time fishing at the bay catchintg plenty of fish!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We would stay again

Review submitted: December 24, 2009   Date of arrival: July 20, 2009

The cottage was everything and more that it was advertised to be. The location was perfect and so was the cottage. All of the extras (bikes, beach accessories, etc.) were nice touches and came in usefull. The front and back patios were gorgeous. The grill in on the back patio came in handy. We would have loved to spend a month there and felt right at home. We hope to make a trip again in the future and this is definitely the place that would be our number one choice if available.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great little place - can't be beat!!

Review submitted: December 24, 2009   Date of arrival: May 28, 2009

My son and I enjoyed 5 nights at this cute little cottage during our recent golf trip to the San Diego area. The owners couldn't have been nicer if they tried. The cottage is clean and very cozy, and can easily accomodate a family of four. It's proximity to the bay and ocean is wonderful, and the area is nice and quiet. The excitement of Belmont Park is a short walk or bike ride away. 15 easy minutes by car to downtown San Diego. Sea World across the bay. We liked the place enough to ask if there were available nights so that we could extend our stay - no luck. If we are ever in southern California again, we will certainly be contacting these folks about another stay.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

comfy and cozy

Review submitted: December 24, 2009   Date of arrival: April 8, 2009

We loved coming home to the Happy Little Cottage after a long day of seeing the sights. It had everything we could possibly have wanted; grill, washer/dryer, bikes, a fully stocked kitchen, etc., as well as small things like a needle and thread to re-sew a button. And the beds were extremely comfortable. j-me and Clark were very friendly and accessible hosts. We will really miss this place!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Happy little hideaway!

Review submitted: December 24, 2009   Date of arrival: December 24, 2008

Just a stone's throw from the beach, the Happy Little Cottage is probably one of the best deals in So-Cal! We had a wonderful time. The splendid accommodations felt like a home away from home, and the location couldn't have been better. Great Mexican food and a cute little market just down the street. The house was spotless, and the kitchen allowed us the flexibility to enjoy our own cooking. Beautiful hardwood floors and tastefully decorated, we could have stayed comfortably for weeks on end! The neighborhood is safe and friendly, with a festive, yet relaxing atmosphere. We will definitely be staying at the Happy Little Cottage again. Thanks!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review