reviews for: listing #4381 - Fort Walton Beach, Florida Condo rental

Rex & Penny's Beach Retreat
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  yes
  • type  Condo
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Sunset Cottages
  • sleeps  8
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $550 - $1,395 /wk

sort by:

Did not want to leave

Review submitted: September 2, 2013   Date of arrival: August 27, 2013

We had such a great time at this wonderful condo. It was clean and very comfortable. My family had so much fun everyday on the beach or in the pool. We loved meeting other guests at the condo and had great cook outs. The only downfall was leaving! We are looking forward to our next trip and will be renting again. Thanks for sharing y'all home Rex and Penny. Highly recommend this vacation home!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Condo was comfortable, weather was nice

Review submitted: August 15, 2013   Date of arrival: August 4, 2013

We had a good time after our initial mix up of locations was settled. We rented the room in Ft. Walton Beach, but were sent information on a Panama City place. We called Rex and Penny as we sat at the Ft. Walton place, but received no answer with no forwarding number to call. We did not have a room number and were forced to go to the Panama City room after we called several times with no answer. Once we had driven the 65 miles to PC, we settled in , bought groceries, washed all the dishes, and cooked a few meals. That night, around midnight, the original renters for the room showed up. We called Penny to sort things out, but she was very un-professional. She did find a room for the other family, but we were told to vacate and move back to the Ft. Walton room the next morning. After purchasing a large cooler for the food, and packing, we left for FWB. We still had no room number in FWB when we arrived. We called Penny once again and received no answer. After the third call, she answered with the room number, but was again very up-professional offering no apology for the inconvenience. We will not rent from this agency again.

Owners response: Yes, I am sorry your trip was disrupted Don. You know Don, there is ALWAYS some responsibility by guests. When you receive your check in information, it is YOUR responsibility to make sure it is correct. I ask that you read it over and let me know if you have questions. Yes, I sent you the wrong info. You have your check-in info 2 to 3 weeks prior to your stay. If you know you are going to Ft Walton Beach, and the check-in is for Panama City Beach, why wouldn't you question that and call me? What would have happened if it was for a different state? Would you just drive there without questioning that? All could have been avoided if you had. I happened to have been visiting my in-laws and I have hardly no cell service there, that is something I can't control. As far as you saying I was unprofessional, I had no choice but to tell you - you were in the wrong place and had to go to Ft. Walton Beach. Again, all this could have been avoided if you had read over the info I sent before your trip like I requested.

Mistakes don't happen very often and I am sorry it disrupted your trip but I hope you enjoyed the Fort Walton area and had a good time.

Helpful votes: 11 / 15

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We'll be back!!

Review submitted: July 23, 2013   Date of arrival: June 15, 2013

Hi Penny & Rex,
We had a wonderful time staying in your rental!! I have been telling all of our friends about it and hopefully that will bring you some vacation renters!!
Met your cleaning lady (Anita) and she was so sweet!!
Will be booking another week for summer vacation come January so be on the lookout for our email thenJ
Loved the location it was truly relaxing for our family!!!
FORGOT TO WRITE IN THE BOOK before we left!!! Saw your family picture sitting on the TV and such a nice looking family!!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great Vacation

Review submitted: July 23, 2013   Date of arrival: July 6, 2013

Rex & Penny,

We had such an amazing week staying in your beautiful condo! We hope to stay again next year with our new little addition to our family. Just had one question.

Thanks again,
Ashley

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Stay 03.30.13 to 04.06.13

Review submitted: April 11, 2013   Date of arrival: March 30, 2013

The area was perfect. Went to Destin a couple times & the traffic there was crazy! Was a very short walk from condo to the beach. Only complaint would be, remote's for TV's did not work. Would definiately recomment this condo/area to family & friends.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Amazing Condo!!

Review submitted: April 24, 2012   Date of arrival: April 12, 2012

We LOVED the condo!! We had a great time during our stay. We will definitely be back!! We are hoping to start making a yearly trip of going there! I would recommend this condo to everyone!!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 6

 

A condo in paradise

Review submitted: February 13, 2012   Date of arrival: August 6, 2011

This condo was great. Rex and Penny were wonderful to work with. We have stayed in several of there places and have been coming back because each place is wonderful, clean, well cared for etc. We especially love the beach and this condo made our vacation. We went to the fish store and bought 6 lbs of shrimp, steamed them up and pigged out! Took some to the beach with us the next day. Snorkeled under the Destin bridge, rented jet ski's, went deep sea fishing, and just played on the beach. We will be back!!!!!!!! Rex and Penny here we come!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 

Nice Condo

Review submitted: November 8, 2011   Date of arrival: July 23, 2011

Condo was very nice, clean and a short walk to the beach. Complex had nice pool for kids, shower to rinse sand, and outdoor restrooms. Located in a quiet away just minutes from any amenity one would need. Owners were very polite, responsive, and very easy to communicate with.

Recommended for: families with young children, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 9 / 9

 

Anne - New Orleans

Review submitted: August 23, 2011   Date of arrival: August 13, 2011

Love Love Love this condo !! It was our first time renting a condo for the week and this one certainly fit the bill. Very close to stores / restaurants. Just a short walk to the beach which we enjoyed daily. We would definitly recommend this to every one we know.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great Condo

Review submitted: August 4, 2011   Date of arrival: July 2, 2011

Penny and Rex are great!!!!!! The condo was very clean and not but 2 mins from the beach. We will be coming back and staying there again!!!! I would highly reccomend this condo to anyone!!!!!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review