reviews for: listing #43823 - Bahia Gigante, Nicaragua Villa rental

Oceanfront Villa with Beach in Private Gated Community
  • bedrooms  4
  • pool  yes
  • type  Villa
  • baths  3
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  1
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $250 - $350 /nt
    $1,500 - $2,100 /wk

sort by:

Guest Comment entered by owner

Absolutely relaxing, gorgeous, friendly, and monke

Review submitted: March 13, 2013   Date of arrival: January 30, 2013

First of all, we had the best vacation our family has ever had! It was absolutely relaxing, gorgeous, friendly, and monkey-filled! We just did nothing but swim in both pool and beach. Sit on beach. Sit on porch. Eat fruit and tacos. Sleep. Sit on beach. Play in waves. Eat more fruit and tacos. Sit some more in hammock. Watch the monkeys. Drink coffee on terrace every morning to watch the sun rise. We brought no electronics or cameras. We just relaxed together. It was absolutely heaven. And although we didn't venture further than Gigante and the ride from and to the airport, we were fascinated by the country and very impressed with the grace and warmth of the people. For instance there was more resort bungalows being constructed directly across the street from us, with workers arriving every morning at 8, but we never heard a raised voice, or saw anything but men steadily, quietly, working. And what beautiful constructions. Yes, every morning we reiterated our new dream: to have a little place or our own down there! So, once more, we thank you so much for your kindness!

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Visit to Redondo beach area Nicargua

Review submitted: March 21, 2012   Date of arrival: March 11, 2012

The house was great, the view was evening better. The house has plenty of room and an open design that lends well accomodating large families. Our group was an individual family of five with the youngest child of year 10 years of age and the oldest child of 18. We enjoyed sitting on the back deck next to the pool in the mornings watching families of howler monkeys eat on the leaves in the trees right next to the deck. We spent a lot of time at Aqua Resort which is right across the street and down the hill next to the beach. The food and service at the resort was excellent.The kids enjoyed boogie boarding on the nice beach. It was not very busy so we shared the private beach with only a few others. We made a day trip to the Masaya Volcano which was awesome.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

A great Thanksgiving!

Review submitted: November 29, 2011   Date of arrival: November 20, 2011

Our group of 7 (four adults, three children ages 5, 8, and 11) stayed at this beautiful home during the week of Thanksgiving. All of the pictures and information on the website are accurate - the house is very comfortable and the views are spectacular. We had plenty of room in the house. We actually saw many, many monkeys every single day as we were lounging around the pool at the house - families of them would come eat twice a day and then linger in the trees for about an hour - it was amazing.

The beach at Redonda Bay is much better and more gorgeous than we had imagined. It was fairly secluded with gentle waves much of the time. The Aqua Wellness resort built treehouses above Redonda Bay along with a restaurant and bar on the beach (American prices, for the most part, but very convenient). There were very few people at the beach but comfortable chairs all around for anyone to relax in.

We arranged for transportation to and from the airport through the house manager, who was very pleasant and accommodating, and spoke perfect English. The house is very secluded and definately not near a city. You can walk to Gigante in about 20 minutes and there are several restaurants there (Nicaraguan prices - extremely reasonable). Be prepared to wait for a very long time for your food - but this is not a bad thing, as it is all fresh and handmade, right down to the tortillas and chips and salsa. Other than that, it is about a 45 minute drive to Rivas to even get to the grocery store, so we recommend either stopping on the way from the airport and getting groceries or sending the house manager a list of things you would like in the house upon your arrival. (this worked well for us).

Ultimately, we were very happy to be in such a secluded and gorgeous setting. We did manage to plan some trips - we took a boat ride and spent the day in San Juan del Sur, visited Rivas one day, and finally visisted both Granada and Masaya another day. After our side excursions, we were happy to be back at Redonda Bay away from it all. If we had to plan our trip over again, we would stay in this house over another location in Nicaragua.

We highly recommend this home and location - the owner was extremely pleasant to work with from start to finish and the entire reservation process to the logistics of our stay was very organized.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Nice Home nestled on a cliff within a quiet and calm development

Review submitted: January 12, 2011   Date of arrival: January 2, 2011

Beautiful home and surrounding area. We loved the playful monkeys that played in the trees just right outside the home! The owner was very helpful and responsive. The beach was gorgeous and the pool was very nice. We ate at the resturaunt near the beach. The food was not great and was a little expensive. We did take a boat trip to San Juan del Sur at the owner's suggestion and it was lovely. We were picked up right on the beach and saw amazing views along the way. I would recommend staying at this home. I would suggest that you have a car with you. We did not and were pretty much stuck at the house or beach. Nothing was close enough in our opinion to walk to. Only down fall for me, is that it is a bit secluded for my taste and doesn't have much of a nightlife. There are also steep hills to and from beach which we didn't care for but we got some exercise!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Perfect Vacation

Review submitted: October 21, 2009   Date of arrival: October 9, 2009

Great property. Fantastic views, nice private pool. Nice to be right next to the beach. Particularly enjoyed the views of the Pacific and the Costa Rica Coastline. Sunsets were amazing! Sleeping to the surf sounds was relaxing. Nearby golf was fabulous. Only drawback was we were not able to stay longer.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Surfer's Paradise

Review submitted: May 5, 2009   Date of arrival: March 11, 2009

Our group was all surfers and rented for 10 days. The house is absolutely stunning, and the views were much better than the pictures on the website. While we spent most of our time in the water surfing, the close proximity to the Colorado Pipeline made everything really convenient. The management was attentive and we also liked having our own private pool to relax by at the end of the day.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

super vacation

Review submitted: March 12, 2009   Date of arrival: March 3, 2009

I stayed in this house with a group of friends in early March. It is truly a magnificent view and a wonderfully comfortable house. In addition to the view and accomodations inside, on the opposite side of the street is a very large beach area where we enjoyed a series of beautiful sunsets at the end of each day. Security around the development is very good and all people we encoutered in the complex were very friendly.

For those who enjoy nature, the howler monkeys and a variety of birds visit regularly.

The only negative is the long ride over some challenging roads from Managua.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review