reviews for: listing #43855 - Palm Springs, California House rental

Moroccan Villa in Palm Springs
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  yes
  • type  House
  • baths  4
  • hot tub  yes
  • community 
  • sleeps  8
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $275 - $375 /nt
    $1,375 - $1,875 /wk
    $4,125 - $5,625 /mth

sort by:

Perfect, Peace, Private

Review submitted: August 28, 2014   Date of arrival: August 16, 2014

We had a late arrival and everything was easy to arrange House is perfect with very private back yard and pool, more than ample parking in secure drive. Extra 4th bedroom on upper floor with shower and kitchen is perfect with lower bedroom with shower for 2 family sharing. Master bed with amazing en suite! Kitchen with everything you need just a quick visit to local Ralph or Trader Joes - then barbq and you never need to leave property. Easy booking, easy check in - just lay back and enjoy. We will return!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

"WE NEVER WANTED TO LEAVE"

Review submitted: July 8, 2014   Date of arrival: June 25, 2014

I was part of the family that stayed in your house July 25 to July28. It is one of the most comfortable, beautifully done houses I've ever been in. We never wanted to leave! I am curious if you ever lived in Morocco; built this house because of a love for the Moorish/Moroccan architecture. We loved it and will return as often as we can. Thank you very very much

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Our favorite rental!

Review submitted: May 20, 2014   Date of arrival: May 15, 2014

We're 6 friends who get together around Mother's Day every year. This house is our very favorite rental in Palm Springs. We love the large bedrooms with baths and the rest of the house is comfortable and homey. We absolutely love the outside space- best pool ever. Thanks for making our 4th stay in your house so pleasant. We look forward to next year!

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Great character home in Deepwell.

Review submitted: May 17, 2014   Date of arrival: February 1, 2014

This is the second time that we have stayed in this Deepwell home. The character and layout of the home is great. It is a wonderful location for biking, which we enjoy daily.

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

It's a beautiful home in a great location.

Review submitted: May 13, 2014   Date of arrival: October 28, 2013

This is a lovely place to vacation. The kitchen was excellent, the bedrooms were large and airy, the property was clean and well maintained. The swimming pool and hot tub were wonderful - we didn't even want to leave the house to enjoy Palm Springs! We were 3 couples, and we all had nice rooms. I would recommend this property!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Fabulous and Private property!!

Review submitted: May 10, 2014   Date of arrival: December 17, 2013

This property is fascinating and so cozy. I love the history of the neighborhood. Take a walk and see Liberace's mother home and Loretta Young's home. This home is beautiful and also has its own history. Owner is great to work with too. I highly recommend this home. I would stay here again.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Lovely Time in Palm Springs

Review submitted: May 9, 2014   Date of arrival: June 30, 2009

Left on 07/10/2009 for a stay in June 2009 | Stacy
Our family stayed at this home in early June 2009. The house is wonderful. The master suite, is indeed a suite with a very nice bathroom and very interesting shower, HUGE! my kids loved taking showers in it. The second bedroom is very nice. My kids shared that room and it has a private bathroom with tub and shower. To get to the upstairs room, you will need to walk through the den. The upstairs room is very nice and overlooks the pool/backyard. The den has a futon, if needed and connects to a bathroom that also can be reached from outside. The kitchen is huge and has all you could need for cooking.

The pool was wonderful. They have a few pool toys and rafts. In front there palm grove toward the street to the side. We liked to sit at the little table provided and have a glass of wine, while listening to the palm trees in the wind. the property is VERY private.

We had a wonderful time and would definitely go back to this house. Thom was very easy to work with and Bob, the person who shows you the house in Palm spring was very helpful and nice.

More Details ?

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Simply Paradise

Review submitted: May 9, 2014   Date of arrival: June 15, 2009

We enjoyed our trip to this home immensely! It was quite simply: the BEST vacation EVER!!

We shopped locally and cooked our own meals all week. We swam in the pool all day every day. We enjoyed walks in the neighborhood. We loved the amenities, including the gorgeous shower in the master. The shower itself was worth every penny!!

We visited the Tram, which was majestic! We also went to Knott's Soak City. This was much more fun than anticipated!!

Everyone had more than they needed in this wonderful home. We loved that we were able to bring our dog and know that she was safe in the enclosed yard.

The yard was well cared for. The gardeners visited twice during the week, as did the pool cleaners.

We loved having wireless internet access, as well as several bathrooms! The extra bath near the pool was very convenient!

The children were very happy here (ages 7 and 9). We loved the heat (which was around 110 degrees most days).

We would visit this home again without question!!

More Details ?

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Charming, Homey yet Hip

Review submitted: May 9, 2014   Date of arrival: October 8, 2009

We rented this place for a birthday weekend and found it to be a lovely home away from home. It was surprising cool for this time of year.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great, Great, Great!

Review submitted: May 9, 2014   Date of arrival: September 1, 2009

Wonderful house, very private and well furnished. We had a great time!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We loved "The Compound"

Review submitted: May 9, 2014   Date of arrival: April 15, 2011

We loved living in "The Compound"

Left on 05/28/2011 for a stay in April 2011
My family of four (including a teenager) and another couple who are dear friends rented this home during our kid's Spring Break. The entire process, from reserving the property, to the check-in experience, to the responsiveness of the owner to an issue that arose during our stay were professional and much appreciated.

With many of the period homes in Palm Springs decorated in 1960's modern themes (which we love by the way), we have found the furnishings in those properties to be modern to a fault...making sofa's and chairs uncomfortable.

This home is a drastic change from that feel. The decor is beautiful, warm and above all else - comfortable. We only left the house for bike rides and perhaps two meals during our stay. We frankly did not want to leave the backyard and living areas.

We hiked at the Agua Caliente Reservation, rode our beach cruisers to the air museum, downtown, gorgeous neighborhoods and to Ruth Hardy Park.

This property is certainly one that we would return to!

More Details ?

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Best Family Vacation

Review submitted: May 9, 2014   Date of arrival: October 1, 2013

The Family Vacation ever
Left on 05/02/2013 for a stay in October 2011
We did a Family trip, My husband, our two son's our daughter in law and our two grandchildren. Found this house on Vrbo. It was wonderful, the grandkids spent most of their time in the pool, the guys golfed, we rented a motorcycle for our oldest son's birthday from Eagleriders, My daughter in law and I shopped. The house was so comfortable it was very clean and loved the fact it was gated so it was very private. The true test is, when you ask the grandkids what's your best vacation, they still say Palm Springs. Give this place 2 thumbs up!

More Details ?

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Spectacular and Cozy Place

Review submitted: December 22, 2013   Date of arrival: December 17, 2013

First I would like to say that the owner and property manager were great to work with. I love this home and the neighborhood. It is called the Deep Well and it has such a interesting history. The instruction book in the house which is really helpful also contains a history of the neighborhood and who used to live there back in the 50's and 60's with the addresses. It was fun to search them out on my walks. It is located close to everything. The property is so secluded when you close the front gate and you feel really safe. The yard and pool are beautiful. The home is well decorated and the kitchen is well stocked with all the cooking utensils that you will need. The master bathroom is amazing as the whole house is. Our 3 days went by too fast and I would definitely be back.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Great Vacation Spot!

Review submitted: October 14, 2013   Date of arrival: September 1, 2013

I spent the month of September here and I just can't describe what a delightful experience it was! Everything was perfect! The pool and the grounds are spectacular and the house is large but surprisingly cozy and homey. The owner and house manager are a dream to deal with - very accommodating and eager to make your whole experience enjoyable. The kitchen is fabulous and has every utensil imagineable and state-of-the-art appliances. I had local friends come for dinner and others from LA and Arizona come in for a weekend or two and they were so jealous! The location is central, everything you'll ever need is within a mile or two. There are plenty of good restaurants around but really, when you're in such a great place, why would you ever want to go out to eat?!?! Even though it's mid-city, once the gate is closed, you have peace and quite and seclusion. I can't tell you how fabulous the month was, even the gardener and the pool guy were great. Maybe if I just say that I'm already renting it again next September, you'll know how much I loved the place! Even my two little dogs are counting the days until our next desert getaway!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

A Relaxing Private Paradise

Review submitted: September 10, 2013   Date of arrival: August 24, 2013

We just returned from a wonderful week at this beautiful Moroccan home. My husband and I were looking for a very private and comfortable place to celebrate my birthday by ourselves. This was the perfect place. The house itself is lovely and has lots of room, but because there were only 2 of us we mostly stayed in the pretty master bedroom and fantastic master bath, the well equipped kitchen, and the comfy living room. There is a pretty palm tree garden in the private front area, but the place we enjoyed the most was the very private back yard. The whole area is surrounded by tall trees and hedges and lovely plants and grass. The pool is just great and there is also a nice Jacuzzi. We used the outdoor BBQ and really enjoyed dining outside. All the necessities were there for a great vacation, including placemats, candles, all cooking accessories and nice linens. This is a wonderful location to just get away from everything and we are looking forward to our next visit. Fortunately we only live a few hours away in San Diego, so it will definitely be a place where we will return. We have stayed in many VRBO properties in the states and abroad and we can truly recommend this as one of the best.

Recommended for: age 55+, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Paradise in Palm Springs

Review submitted: September 5, 2013   Date of arrival: August 14, 2013

My boyfriend and I along with our dog spent 7 days in this gorgeous Moroccan style home. The location of this house is in a very nice, safe residential area. The streets are lined with immaculate houses and palm trees. Driving up to the house we were in awe. We felt like celebrities pulling in to the driveway after the powered gate opened for us. We received a warm welcome from the Property Manager Bob who let us know everything we needed to know to have a wonderful stay. We were ecstatic to know that this was "our house" for the next week. The view of the pool out the living room windows and patio doors was breathtaking. We loved that you could see the mountains from the yard and were blown away from the views at all angles inside and out. The house is so immaculately clean and has everything one could possibly need. All we needed were some groceries and we were set. We had planned on going to LA for a day but didn't go because we wanted to stay and enjoy the house and pool. We even ordered food in so we could spend more time at the house. There are many good restaurants within minutes away. Thom the owner is super awesome and has an absolutely gorgeous home with so much character. We are in love with Palm Springs and are counting down the days to go back. We would book the Moroccan Villa again in a heartbeat!! It is a dream! Tracy, Dennis and Sydney

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Charming, Private and Perfect!

Review submitted: August 17, 2013   Date of arrival: August 2, 2013

The Moroccan inspired Villa has been my vacation choice for 3 years now. The description is very accurate and the home is very well maintained. The home has absolutely everything you need to enjoy your stay. The only items you need to add are your own food. The kitchen has all the necessary items for creating a delicious breakfast lunch or dinner. You can eat at the very large dining table adjacent to the kitchen, or just outside at the covered patio table. The listing is very accurate and all rooms are private with the exception of one bedroom that is used to gain access to the bedroom upstairs. There is a bathroom close to the pool and all 4 lounge chairs are comfortable. There are large pool towels available in the master bath. The master bedroom and bath are spectacular and must be seen to be believed. The owner Thom, is very easy to work with and Bob is very accommodating at check in. He has great customer service and provides all necessary information. The entire process is effortless and a pleasure. One of our day trips included Knott's Soak City, which is only 10-15 minutes away. There are plenty of grocery stores close by and multiple shopping opportunities as well. The Wi-Fi is included and compatible with essential phones and tablets. The home and yard are very private. This is perfect for family and friends to enjoy a quiet relaxing home in the desert.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Couldn't have loved it more!

Review submitted: August 15, 2013   Date of arrival: July 29, 2013

WOW! I almost hate to write the review I should because I want this beautiful place to be available next time we come to Palm Springs! I must be honest- We had one of the most enjoyable stays I can remember anywhere. Better than presented. Amazing help and care by Bob, the manager, and the owner, Thom. We are coming back!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Very nice and well maintained property

Review submitted: August 12, 2013   Date of arrival: July 5, 2013

We have been rented this property in July 2013. This house was the highlight of our short vacation in Palm Springs. Very well maintained, very clean with everything that we needed. The pool was perfect. This was a nice surprise for us to find what was advertised and more than that. Congratulation on such a clean well maintained property.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Family Vacation

Review submitted: June 18, 2013   Date of arrival: June 8, 2013

We rented this beautiful home for my mother-in-law's 75th birthday and had a wonderful time. The layout of the house was perfect that everyone had their own bedroom with a bathroom. My in-laws loved the history of the home and we had to spend one night watching Ma and Pa Kettle movies. Bob was very accommodating and called us once the house cleaners were out to meet us and let us check in early. Thank you Bob.
We loved the pool, the weather was fantastic and the temperature for the pool was perfect. We never used the hot as the pool was warm throughout the night. So much fun swimming at all hours. The backyard is designed with so many beautiful plants and trees and the privacy is amazing you wouldn't even think you had any neighbors.
My girlfriends and I are already planning a return trip in maybe October. After staying here I wouldn't stay anywhere else in Palm Springs!!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Family Christmas Vacation

Review submitted: January 28, 2013   Date of arrival: December 23, 2012

We were a party of 6 adults ranging from 26 to 66, wishing to go somewhere warm and different for the Christmas period. This property piqued our interest with its interesting pictures and history. We did not want to rent a more modern home for our stay. The pictures and property description were accurate. The location was very good: Deepwell is a very attractive older part of Palm Springs, but close to restaurants and grocery stores, and a short drive to the downtown area. Unfortunately, the weather was not typical during our stay, as the temperatures dropped to the low 50s during the day with a brisk, cool wind, but as we come from a more northerly area, this did not detract. The pool and hot tub were enjoyed by all, despite the cooler temps. We utilized the well-stocked kitchen area during our stay, even cooking a most delicious Christmas dinner! We also enjoyed using the outdoor barbecue. The property was clean, and we were shown through by the manager (Bob—thank you so much) and allowed to leave our luggage before the usual check-in time. This was most appreciated. The owner was most helpful in answering questions prior to our arrival, and we also would like to note that he was most accommodating to several issues that arose during our stay. He made our first vacation rental a positive experience. We would recommend this property to families or groups of friends with ages such as ours. There are 3 bedroom suites with bathrooms ensuite, as well as a den area with a bed and another bathroom. Another plus of the property were the citrus trees and their delicious fruits. Thank you for facilitating a great Christmas vacation, Thom, and for your professionalism.

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 5 / 6

 

Perfect home!

Review submitted: December 27, 2012   Date of arrival: December 6, 2012

Our family of 5 with ages 18 months to 91 years old stayed for one week in this house. It was perfect! We all had our private bedrooms. Thom was excellent to work with and responded within a few hours. The kitchen had everything you need to make dinner. The pool and jacuzzi was clean and perfect for all of us. Not only was the house comfortable to stay in, it was nicely decorated. We would definitely stay her again and recommend this home to a family or friends that want to vacation together but want some privacy.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Awesome!

Review submitted: August 30, 2012   Date of arrival: August 6, 2012

Our family of 5 stayed a week at this AWESOME Palm Springs home. The house is huge! The backyard is beautiful, the pool is absolutely the best. The master bedroom & bath is something I've never seen before, it was gorgeous. Everything you need is here. Just go around the corner to Ralph's for groceries and you're set. This home is completely private with the walled front & back yards and giant shrubs and trees. The neighborhood is very quiet. Thom was wonderful to work with, always quick to answer emails. I think this house might become our yearly family vacation home! We stayed there about 3 weeks ago and we are already looking forward to next summer and doing it again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Wonderful stay, beautiful home!

Review submitted: June 13, 2011   Date of arrival: June 3, 2011

We spent the last 10 days enjoying this beautiful property. Can't recommend it more, the owner was gracious and very helpful to us. We'll be back.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 5

 

Wonderful, warm and beautiful!

Review submitted: December 6, 2010   Date of arrival: November 22, 2010

We have rented many homes in many places as we prefer self-catering to hotels/motels. Most of the time, correspondence with the owner gives us a pretty good idea of what the rental experience will be like--or if we should rent at all. My correspondence with both Thom Thompson (owner) and his property manager was consistently cordial, courteous, timely and helpful...so, it follows that this trip should be a success, and it was! We had never been away from home for Thanksgiving, so our nine night stay here was a change of pace and an adventure. The house is accurately described and well-photographed, but can't convey the livability of the property. It is spacious, beautiful, has terrific light, decor and color, but is also very comfortable. We cook, and found the kitchen really well supplied--and with neat things to use. The MBR and, especially, the bath, are large and quite splendid, but easy to get used to. The bedrooms and layout worked well for us, and there are plenty of indoor/outdoor lounging areas, and, there are also lots of interesting books, art, objects to look at. In short, my family of four felt at home here quickly, loved the outdoor areas, pool and spa, slept well in very good beds, enjoyed the privacy of a gated, atmospheric home in an otherwise mid-century architecture neighborhood, and hope to return next Thanksgiving. Our two dogs also had a great time, and both the immediate neighborhood and nearby desert areas were great for walking and hiking--especially the trail behind the PS Museum and two off leash areas in Palm Desert. We had good meals at Melvyn's (Thanksgiving) and Sherman's; La Perlita was just as good as Yelp said it was. I would most definitely recommend this house and am sending the link to a friend even as....

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 10 / 10

 

Moroccan Villa

Review submitted: November 28, 2010   Date of arrival: October 23, 2010

Very much enjoyed our stay at "The Moroccan Villa". Everything was as pictured and described. Private, quiet, and quite luxurious. Palm garden is very cool. We entertained quite a bit...guests were knocked out by the charm of the place. It begins to feel like home quite quickly.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Charming and Private

Review submitted: October 19, 2010   Date of arrival: March 1, 2010

Charming private home away from home
The Moroccan inspired villa exceeded our expectations. It was even lovelier and more charming than the photos suggested which is quite a feat. The location was ideal and offered incredible privacy and peace and quiet. We had all the amenities we needed (some of which were not listed on all its websites including a DVR recorder and internet access) which were outlined during our warm welcome. This rental offered truly everything we could have wanted from a vaction home and we look forward to a return visit. More...

· By winnipegwintersarenotfun from winnipeg, manitoba, canada on 6/19/2009 for a stay in 3/1/2009

Helpful votes: 4 / 5

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Quiet, Private and Comfortable

Review submitted: October 19, 2010   Date of arrival: September 1, 2008

The Morracan Villa....
Gave us a most enjoyable place for rest and relaxation.
We found it full of character and had everything we needed and some.
The privacy was awesome, with the beautiful landscaping surrounding the entire yard.
The electric gate for entry with the car was great.
The maintainnace staff that we met while we were there also made us feel at home with the nice friendly conversation that we had.

The pool and jaccuzi were enjoyed after a day of shopping,sightseeing or golfing.

The kitchen and ammenities were excellent.
We enjoyed the BBQ by the pool nearly everyday and the sun and lounge chairs when we wanted.
We had nice location and easy access for our exploring, day trips and the grocery shopping or Restaurants when required.

We had an awesome 2 weeks stay at this home and felt good after living a little like the rich and famous.
Thank you for the opportunity to rent such a beautiful touch of paradise.

We highly recommend this home for a Family getaway, and especially for a nice quiet , romantic escape...
It truly worked for us.... More...

· By Two Shoes from Red Deer Alberta Canada on 6/9/2009 for a stay in 9/1/2008

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We want to move it!

Review submitted: October 19, 2010   Date of arrival: November 14, 2008

My partner and I agree that this is perhaps the best overall place that we've stayed in thirty years of traveling in North America, Africa and Europe (where we currently live). I lived in Palm Springs and already knew neighborhood (a good one and well positioned) and had already been in hundreds of homes in the area so I chose wisely. This home is well equipped, has a smart lay-out (bedrooms are separated and private), is warm and welcoming and has a fantastic private pool area that is important in the desert. Downsides? You might get spoiled.

· By Former Palm Springs resident from Prague, Czech Republic on 5/21/2009 for a stay in 11/1/2008

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Exceeded Our Expectations

Review submitted: October 11, 2010   Date of arrival: January 1, 2009

The Moroccan inspired villa exceeded our expectations. It was even lovelier and more charming than the photos suggested which is quite a feat. The location was ideal and offered incredible privacy and peace and quiet. We had all the amenities we needed (some of which were not listed on all its websites including a DVR recorder and internet access) which were outlined during our warm welcome. This rental offered truly everything we could have wanted from a vaction home and we look forward to a return visit.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Vacation Rental

Review submitted: September 25, 2010   Date of arrival: September 13, 2010

Recently spent a whole week at this villa and we were very pleased. The house is beautiful,clean and comfortable (home away from home atmosphere). I would recommend to anyone who is interested in planning a vacation visit to beautiful Palm Springs.Excellant customer service information provided by the owners.

Recommended for: age 55+, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review