reviews for: listing #438579vb - Lake Arenal, Costa Rica rental

Home on Lake Arenal and Arenal Volcano
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • rates (USD)  $ 150 - $ 175 / night
  • sleeps  6
  • pets considered  ask owner

sort by:

It was clean, and sufficiently supplied!

Review submitted: July 23, 2014   Date of arrival: October 20, 2013

This was a great get away. Spectacular views and we were able to do everything outdoors even in the rainy season. The house was very beautiful, well decorated with hardwoods and well supplied for sleeping "most comfortable beds" and cooking, if you choose to fix your own meals. The local food was amazing and don't forget to try the homemade sour cream! Cookies and horse riding can be found a short distance from the house. Daily hikes are a must just too much to see and do, waterfalls, hikes by the volcano, zip lines, and then go and enjoy the spas. If you are a camera enthusiast the butterfly conservatory and all of the rain forest plants await your eye,. If you are in need of assistance the managers here are the best!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great location for the area

Review submitted: February 18, 2013   Date of arrival: January 28, 2013

We enjoyed this property very much as it was a great location for the activities we were interested in.The Sky Trek Zip Line experience was terrific, the butterfly tour included a nature hike, We loved eating at the local "soda" and found a wonderful working farm for a great meal experience. There are many very good restraunts close by, (we enjoyed the Fusion) Next door to the propery is a couple that have beautiful art and crafts shop alone with some very good baked cookeis!! The village of El Castilla was just what we were hoping for, the property was comfortable and quite and clean. The on site manager for the home was very helpful to us.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

J.Jones and family

Review submitted: February 3, 2013   Date of arrival: January 23, 2013

Thanks to Nancy and Julia for their hospitality!! We certainly hope to be back...
This home is beautiful and is located in a magnificent setting on the hill in El Castillo. The home affords front row viewing of Arenal, is surrounded by excellent neighbors and is within reasonable walking distance to the Butterfly Conservatory and town. Although we never saw any howler monkeys on the property we could hear them close by every morning and evening. We had the good fortune of visiting with a number of neighbors and neighborhood children and they were all warm, friendly and fun!! We thoroughly enjoyed the daily pace of the village and watching the cows commute to and from their pastures. Thanks to Julia's husband, Lilander, for the excellent horseback ride and for allowing our two young children to visit with his horses and dogs! We prepared most of our meals in house and the amenities were just what we needed.The washing machine was an added bonus. We did enjoy wholesome and yummy bread, cookies and sandwiches from Thomas and Hanna at La Gavilana which is located just down the street. The local Soda was great and the kids really enjoyed Pizza Johns. There are so many fun hikes and activities in the area that we hope to return to see more... Thanks again for a wonderful base of operations!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks so much for your kind words. I am so glad that you enjoyed our special spot in the rainforest and I hope you will return someday soon!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

volcano view

Review submitted: January 14, 2013   Date of arrival: December 28, 2012

The house is lovely - high ceilings, lots of hard wood, floor to ceiling windows. But it's really really lovely when the clouds clear and you can actually see Arenal (which was three days after we arrived). Spectacular.

This house also has the most comfortable bed I have ever slept in. And blackout shades. I could have stayed in bed all day.

But no, there's too much to do! While staying in El Castillo (for a week), we went hiking at Arenal 1968 and at Arenal Observatory Lodge, we took a day trip to Cano Negro, we took my small children to the excellent nearby Butterfly Conservatory and we spent two days soaking at The Springs Resort & Spa (highly recommended). The 9km gravel road to El Castillo is NOT an easy drive (very bumpy) but it's worth it!

It's a minor point, but you can't actually see the volcano from anywhere in the house, as stated in the description. But it is on full display in the living area - just not the bedrooms.

Also, the dining room table would seat six if there were six chairs, but there are only four chairs. Our family of six had to use a rocking chair and an end table (!) when we dined together.

We felt like the house has a few issues that still need to be resolved (understanding that it is new on the rental market). But Nancy was very responsive about everything that came up while we were staying there.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks so much for taking the time to write such a nice review. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay and were comfortable in the house. I appreciate your suggestion about getting more chairs. We have the breakfast bar with 4 chairs as well as the dining table with 4 chairs, so we assumed that seating for 8 would be sufficient, but are now planning to add 2 more chairs to the dining table.

Nancy

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Cloudforest Sanctuary

Review submitted: October 21, 2012   Date of arrival: August 8, 2012

Beautiful open comfortable house with spectacular view of the volcano. Finished in locally crafted tropical hardwoods and ceramics. Clean, bright and well appointed.
Set in a small village away from the overbuilt areas of La Fortuna which is nontheless accessible for supplies and activities. Nancy and Z were perfect hosts, helping to organize activities and providing a wealth of knowledge.
There is no better base for a holiday in the Arenal area - it suited our family of 4 perfectly.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you so much for taking the time to write this nice review. We are so glad that you liked our little piece of paradise and we hope you will return someday soon.

Nancy and Z

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Spectacular Vacation

Review submitted: October 18, 2012   Date of arrival: June 13, 2012

It was wonderful to come out in the morning to the 180 degree views of the mountains, village and volcano, relax and look out over this spectacular view, have breakfast, and listen to the howler monkeys singing their songs. The Zintsmasters were wonderful in patience and accomodating to our needs.
The house was homey, beds very comfortable, and the wood work was warm and gorgeous. The home was well stocked and wanting for nothing. Made the vacation one of the most wonderful I have ever had.
Some days it was very relaxing to sit and watch the view and the village acivity along the road in front of and below the house.
I highly recommend this home for anyone who wants the beauty and serenity of the rain forest and also enjoy the many activities available very close by.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review