reviews for: listing #43890 - Cashiers, North Carolina Apartment rental

Best Rate from $48 with Mountain Views!
  • bedrooms  1
  • pool  no
  • type  Apartment
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Lake Glenville
  • sleeps  2
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $48 - $78 /nt
    $350 - $450 /wk
    $960 - $1,200 /mth

sort by:

Chasiers get away

Review submitted: July 8, 2014   Date of arrival: June 27, 2014

Awesome weekend!!!!! That is the only words to describe the Prime Resort.We spent our 39th anniversary weekend in this cozy retreat. The apartment was neat, clean, attractively decorated, and very welcoming.Everything wanted or needed was supplied. We were greeted by the owner, who welcomed us as a family member. She even remembered and noted that this was a special weekend for us. All needs were met and the mountain views were delightful. The weekend ended with a special boat ride and tour of Glenville Lake. This event was greatly enjoyed. The lake was beautiful, but the waterfalls were magnificent. Are we going back? You betcha!!!!!!!
Pam and Bill

Recommended for: romantic getaway

Owners response: Unbelievable guests as Pam and Bill who arrived with thankful gifts (a 'bribe' they called it ) of freshly picked crates of the most delicious peaches we ever had (from SC of all places) ! Folks like this make our efforts feel 'all worth it' and we will continue to view our special guests as you 'like family' as you've now become ! Yes, 'bribery works' but YOU are welcome back ANYTIME (peaches or no peaches) ! Warmly, C& J

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful stay

Review submitted: July 8, 2014   Date of arrival: July 3, 2014

My boyfriend and I had a wonderful stay at The Retreat! We were looking for an affordable place to rent in the Cashiers area so we could spend our days outside and have a nice place to relax and cook at in the evenings. The location is central to all the area has to offer in terms of restaurants, waterfalls and scenic hikes. I would recommend The Retreat to anyone looking for a cozy place with atmosphere and plenty surrounding activities! Christine is very accommodating and made us feel very welcome!

Owners response: Thanks to superb guests as Rebecca and Stefan, we feel honored to have such and glad we can provide an
affordable welcoming rental. This apartment offers more than a hotel room since the kitchen, den a balcony with its
splendid mountain views are much appreciated and beckons a return stay at The Retreat! Come back anytime!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful experience

Review submitted: May 5, 2014   Date of arrival: April 27, 2014

My husband and I loved our week long stay here. The property was beautiful, the apartment was well furnished with everything you could possibly need (kitchen stuff, bed linens and bathroom towels, etc.)and the location was perfect. The hot tub was wonderful after long days of hiking nearby areas and the view from the balcony offered sightings of hummingbirds feeding, wild rabbits and a pasture across the way with horses, cows and chickens. Jim and Christine's dog Buddy was a welcome sight each morning and Christine was good at making sure we had everything we needed and helpful with stuff to do around the area. I had completely forgotten about the game room area or my husband and I would have played endless rounds of air hockey. I am very much hoping we can come back in the fall to see the leaves changing colors. I can't recommend this property enough. If you want more than the 'hotel experience' and out of the hustle and bustle of town (even one as small as Cashiers)consider staying here. You can't beat the price, the view, the wonderful owners, the area. You will NOT be disappointed.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: As vacation rental property owners, one can only hope to satisfy guests in every way since their desires and requests vary greatly. We are overjoyed when appreciative guests, as Dawn and Jeff, immensely enjoy their Retreat with a yearning desire to return. We couldn't ask for better guests feeling such contentment, savoring their vacation time in our valley location surrounded by short-range mountain views, cool mornings, and refreshing breezes as they relaxed on their balcony cuddling together with content appreciation. The site of their satisfaction here almost 'exceeds the views.'
We'll continue to do our utmost to assure a desired return stay this way and warmly welcome you back knowing 'you will always have a welcoming place here with us'.
Appreciative we are for the 'best of guests'! Come back soon! ~ Christine & Jim

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

the retreat

Review submitted: April 19, 2014   Date of arrival: April 10, 2014

Jim and Christine you are the greatest! I came to cashiers for a women's fly fishing weekend and did not know a soul. I felt welcomed and safe like I was family.
The retreat was made ready for my arrival candles and music. The breakfast casserole Christine made for me was fantastic! The bed slept like a cloud and I wish my trip could have lasted longer. Oh and the hot tub was super - watching the stars and relaxing. I cannot wait to come back and stay at each one of the "prime" properties. Meeting buddy was an extra treat.

Best to you both and I will be back.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Well, this being my 3rd attempt to reply to guest 'Terri, a woman fly-fishing Gal - (and beautiful at that :) ' ...
But, I must say, 'just when we feel that we've had the Best of guests'... Ha! It JUST gets so much BETTER!!!!
Terri was by far, the sweetest, most loving of ALL. Thank you for your presence here with us!
I can't go on enough about how thankful we are for the honor of having folks so wonderful!
It truly motivates us to 'never give up our intense efforts to help all be as satisfied as possible' since are
all our #1 priority!
Warmly, Christine and Jim

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Amazing Retreat!!!

Review submitted: July 16, 2013   Date of arrival: July 1, 2013

We were looking for a last minute get away to North Carolina. When I found this property, I thought, this is too good to be true! But then my expectations were exceeded! My wife loved the place! She kept saying I love the way it is decorated and uses all the space available. This was not our first time renting a suite with kitchen, but this is by far the best stocked kitchen! A mini food processor, a crock-pot and an espresso machine. The views were great, lots to do! The pictures can't do justice to the place. The best part was meeting the owners. Two of the most gracious individuals I have ever met. We will be back!! I will share this secret with everyone who is looking for a hide away in the mountains. Thanks you Christine and Bill! We love you guys! Chip, Brenda and Madison

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: With wonderful folks as Chip, Brenda and daughter Madison... Well..... we couldn't ask for more ! The best of
guests are the 'appreciative folks' that want and 'deserve' the best of care... THANKS for such-like ones as YOU!

So thankful we are for YOU ! Christine and Jim (Bill :) ... (it's ok ) ... Be Happy !!! oxox

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great weekend away

Review submitted: December 24, 2012   Date of arrival: December 21, 2012

My husband and I stayed this past weekend at the Retreat. What a cute place! Christine was very friendly and welcoming. We enjoyed our stay. Since we were first time guests, we took advantage of the free breakfast and chose the French toast - it was delicious! I'd have to say the best part was being able to sit in the hot tub under the stars and just take it all in.

Recommended for: romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks for such wonderful guests as YOU. Please come back! Christine

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Great!

Review submitted: September 4, 2012   Date of arrival: September 1, 2012

We had an awesome stay at this quaint apartment. The pictures do not do it justice. The living area is small - just enough room for a day bed, chair and tv. However, the kitchen, bedroom and bath area provide plenty of room. You have a private deck with hot tub and an incredible view. We enjoyed watching the blue moon rising over the mountain. Take the boat tour with Captain Jim - he takes you to the waterfalls on the lake and provides some history of the area. Oh, and don't forget to order Christine's Veggie Casserole - yummy!!! Christine goes out of her way to make your stay comfortable and enjoyable. You can't beat this amazing deal!

Owners response: The Retreat has truly become a favorite and #1 Choice of rentals here in the area as it offers all one needs for a unique and relaxing mountain stay, offering the luxury of 'being spoiled' while here where our guests are our first priority!

We aim to please with a desire for 'returning to ours' here in beautiful Western NC. It's easy with superb guests as Helen and Cheri.

Thanks so much for you two! C & J

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Delightful

Review submitted: August 14, 2012   Date of arrival: July 1, 2012

My wife and I had a delightful stay at the mountain Retreat. The accommodations were very comfortable and decorated very nicely. We gad all we needed and more. The view was beautiful from the front porch, especially the birds. In the middle of a hot summer, we were pleasantly surprised by the comfortable weather provided by the higher elevation of this area. Our teenage daughter joined us for the second week. She also had a great time. We went boating (on the very close by Lake Glenville) and hiking throughout the area. The small game room provided for the guests was a surprise and a very welcome addition. We plan to stay again as soon as possible.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: We are so thrilled when guests find all to their likin' and more than happy to accommodate you doing
everything possible for your splendid mountain retreat with cooler temps, refreshing breezes and beautiful
views as noted by our appreciative guests.

We will continue to do our utmost to put guests as our '1st Priority' as we deeply value happy folks who desire
a return stay to one of ours here in beautiful Western NC.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Stress Free Weekend

Review submitted: April 29, 2012   Date of arrival: April 20, 2012

We made it back ad it only took two weeks!! We stayed at the cabin on our first visit but due to income this was the best thing i could do on short notice. All i can say is it is wonderful to stay with these people. there breakfast is absoultly perfect!! Thank You again and we will be back soon

Recommended for: adventure seekers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: HAPPY Guests make US happy too! Thanks to Josh and Sheri who seem so appreciative for the 'R'n R they enjoy
while at one of ours. Always love return guests who treat our place with TLC! Very special folks indeed that
we are so thankful for! Christine and Jim

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Retreat Getaway

Review submitted: November 21, 2011   Date of arrival: November 17, 2011

This was just a lovely little place. It was so relaxing. My husband and I celebrated our 26 year anniversary here...So cozy and romantic. She made sure everything was perfectly placed. Christine was ever so sweet. Will return again, hopefully next time we will be able to enjoy the hot tub..... November is just not the time! Loved it! Thanks christine and Jim!

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: Wonderful guests as you are a pleasure and we hardly knew your were here. Sure wish we got to meet you to put a face with the name.
Funny how the privacy we honor all guests often results in never even meeting them. Maybe next time we will meet.
Hot Tub is set to 100+ all year and fun even in the cold, but I certainly understand. Glad to have you and please come again! You are so welcome! C&J

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A Relaxing Retreat

Review submitted: August 21, 2011   Date of arrival: August 6, 2011

The Retreat was exactly what I hoped it would be: cozy, relaxing, and private. My husband and I spent a week in this wonderful setting and returned to our hectic lives totally rejuvinated. Christine and Jim were wonderful hosts! The breakfast was excellent. The Retreat is perfectly situated near Lake Glenville and Cashiers; offering close proximity to the beautiful waterfalls and hiking trails that abound in the area. I could not imagine a better place to stay!

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing

Owners response: We honor our Wonderful Guests by 'treating them as we want to be treated, SPECIAL'. Thus we aim to please offering the utmost privacy and best of care while here. Thanks tons for wonderful guests as Paulette & Dennis!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Retreat at The RETREAT

Review submitted: August 7, 2011   Date of arrival: July 29, 2011

The retreat was beautiful and had everything we needed. It was the perfect spot to spend my birthday weekend. Quiet, relaxing and peaceful. The breakfast was delicious!! Thank you for accommodating us on such short notice. We will definitely keep your place in mind the next time we need a weekend getaway...or longer. Thank you again.

Sincerely,
Stephanie & Steve

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

My "New" vacation Spot!

Review submitted: July 8, 2011   Date of arrival: June 30, 2011

Words cannot describe the wonderful time my mother and I had celebrating her 61st b-day in Cashiers, NC and at the Retreat. From the minute we walked in my mom and I enjoyed noticing all the details of the unit from the beautiful stained-glass window to the bedside eye mask for relaxation. Christine did a Fabulous job making us feel we were in a 5 star hotel. The weather was outstanding we enjoyed every meal outside! I selected this vacation rental because of the reviews I read prior to selecting and I was pleased to see the positive reponses given by the previous patrons and the personal responses Christine provided each guest. They were not wrong and I recommend it to anyone looking for a small unit with ALL the ammenities of home... I have already told many that this is my "New" Vacation spot! Looking foward to enjoying more time at the "Retreat"...

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: It's so easy to be 'the hostess with the mostess' when we have the honor of welcoming such beautiful guests!
Heather and Anita are some of our VERY BEST! Glad you chose 'one of ours in beautiful Western North Carolina'.
We happily welcome you back Heather and Anita, anytime you're able to break away from the busy routine you hold~
The Primes

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Amazing Stay!

Review submitted: March 21, 2011   Date of arrival: March 4, 2011

We spent 2 nights and it was beautiful, great homemade breakfast,and the nicest people ever!
Everything was clean, and very private.

If I had to say something was not perfect, it was the water pressure, haha.

We will be back, no doubt.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks so much for your kinds words and glad to know of your hopes to return. Also, had no idea of 'water pressure issue', but this is an easy fix as we will 'gauge the pressure UP'. Glad you enjoyed the Hot Spa on Deck! :)
Thanks for you two ! Christine

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A very cozy comfotable place

Review submitted: March 20, 2011   Date of arrival: February 17, 2011

This little apartment has all the comforts of home and more. Very comfortable and you can't beat the price. Its sunny and bright with lots of outdoor living, decks and beautiful views. It was very clean and exactly as depicted in the pictues. I would recommend this place for a couple and maybe one child.

Recommended for: girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you Donna ~ Glad you and your mom could share the place for some much needed time here in the mountains! You are welcome back ANYTIME as you have been some of our BEST GUESTS! Appreciate wonderful folks as you and the good care you took while there! CP

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Prime property rentals: "The Retreat"

Review submitted: January 24, 2011   Date of arrival: January 18, 2011

I strongly recommend this property. The description in the owner's ad was totally accurate, and the property was exceptionally clean and well maintained. The owner was totally focused on customer satisfaction providing a most attentive, hospitable, and gracious atmosphere far above normal expectations at even the poshest, premier resorts. The accommodations were pleasingly decorated and furnished. Truly, everything one needed was already provided and with such good taste and thoughtfulness affording exceptional lodging at incredibly modest pricing. The advertised special breakfast was absolutely delightful pleasing the eyes and palate with surprising textures and flavors and delivered to the door at precisely the hour requested. My entire stay was warm and comfortable leaving me looking forward to another visit. I was in the area to visit friends and not to sight see or seek adventure; however, for the hiker/fly-fisher/walker desiring to be near the entrance to primitive, national forest mountains, trails, streams,and rivers with plenty of day-long adventure, the Retreat is in ideal proximity for family car access. I have already recommended Jim's and Christine's property to my friends, and I am looking forward to returning for a long spring visit to access the nearby forest, with which I am already familiar.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, people with disabilities, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Dear Bob ~ We feel honored to have had your stay at The Retreat and truly appreciate your GOOD CARE while there.
We are so thankful for your 'all too kind' expressions of gratitude with regard to our properties here. And while we feel 'this is a modest spot to stay for an escape from life's hectic schedule', you have been so gracious and kind as well as
one of our BEST GUESTS EVER. Yes, our guests are our #1 priority!
We anticipate and warmly welcome a future return and want you to know that 'you have a place with us, here at one of ours whenever you have a need'. We've already booked some since your 'kind referral'. Meeting and talking with you has been a great pleasure! It reconfirms that 'there's truly wonderful folks out there who deeply care in spite of their own problems they've fought to endure'. Your loving-kindness is contagious!
Thanks for You! Best Regards, Christine & Jim

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Happy to have Diane and Larry to Retreat

Review submitted: October 6, 2010   Date of arrival: September 30, 2010

Thank you so very much for your stay to the Retreat for your wedding anniversary.
Love to have your comment on your stay and want you to know that 'wonderful folks
as you are welcome back anytime you can arrange another Mountain vacation! CP

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Welcoming RETREAT Guests Comments!

Review submitted: June 18, 2010   Date of arrival: June 17, 2010

Happy to have Shannon to The Retreat and glad to have your 'comments' about your stay this way. Thank you!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review