reviews for: listing #43917 - Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario Cottage rental

Niagara on the Lake - Luxury Historical Cottage Rental
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  no
  • type  Cottage
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Niagara on the Lake
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $150 - $350 /nt
    $1,050 - $2,450 /wk

sort by:

Fantastic Cottage Rental Getaway

Review submitted: June 28, 2014   Date of arrival: June 2, 2014

We just checked out from Niagara on the lake Cottage Rental and this was our second stay here. We are celebrating a birthday and heading out for a wine tour.

Maria made our stay warm and inviting, what I love about the cottage is it's private, you're on your own property you're not sharing your space with any other guests.

This cottage has become our second vacation home without any of the up keep just the pleasure.

A light self serve breakfast is provided so we got up when we wanted to, and prepared our own breakfast. I loved sitting outside hearing the birds singing and sipping our coffee in the back yard!!

We have all the space and privacy to feel like we were at home. Can't recommend it enough. Already planning our next stay here.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Niagara Cottage Rental what an amazing place to visit

Review submitted: August 9, 2013   Date of arrival: July 10, 2013

Niagara Cottage Rental what an amazing place to visit!

I just loved our time at this amazing cottage rental. What a great place for my family and I to spend a week in Niagara on the Lake. We've been coming for the past 4 years, and the cottage gets better and better, every time. Maria Rekrut, the owner, always has a surprise for us, she treats us so well, she has excellent customer service.

The beds are so comfortable we sleep in every time we stay there, and the self serve complimentary continental breakfast, that Maria, leaves us is so convenient and handy, we don't have to run out for breakfast, so we can get up at any time to get breakfast. Pure bliss, so very relaxing, Maria you think of everything.

The bathroom had Lavender bath products, very relaxing and the towels are so fluffy, we also appreciated the bathrobes and slippers left for us. We have abundant hot water and the water pressure is just fine.

The wireless internet works fine and we love sitting out in the backyard looking at all the flowers and trees that are on the property. You feel like we're up North with the over abundance of trees. It's a paradise for anyone who loves flowers and trees.

We'll be back again next year, we already booked our dates. I highly recommend this cottage for anyone who is looking for a great place to relax.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Hi MayLou,

So glad that you enjoyed your stay at my cottage rental. It's a pleasure having repeat guests, such as yourself coming back year after year. We're celebrating 13 years in business this year and it's been a pleasure meeting guests personally and getting feedback from them, it only improves our customer service.

We now can accommodate up to 6 guests with our pull out futon in the sitting room.

Have a great fall and see you next year.

Cheers

Maria

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Spent 4 nights - just OK - won't be back

Review submitted: July 29, 2013   Date of arrival: July 24, 2013

Here are the pros and cons. You make up your own mind based on what’s important to you.
Pros:
Good location – just a few blocks from downtown NOTL in a quiet neighborhood.
Clean
2 bathrooms – with only 2 bedrooms that’s hard to find
Beds were comfortable
Washer/dryer – I wouldn’t normally use this on vacation but it happened to come in handy
Nice quality towels and linens
Cons:
No internet service as advertised. This was a big con for us. One of us had to be connected several times a day and having to get to a Tim Horton’s to do this was quite inconvenient. There was some explanation as to a storm that had knocked it out the week before but we spoke to a number of locals about this and none of them thought that made any sense. Neither did we. After multiple inquiries we gave up. Then after we had already checked out on Sunday, we received a text saying she would look into getting it fixed.
No space to put your things in the king bedroom. We had to put our suitcases in the sitting room and our little things on the dining table. If you had to use the sitting room as a bedroom, it would be quite tight.
Televisions are only in the bedrooms. We would have liked a tv in the stting room to watch the news in the morning or when we all got home at night. We didn’t use the bedroom tvs, which were taking up valuable space for our things!
Very tight shower in the main bath and poor water pressure.
The front door sticks – they left WD40 for us to spray it. Really?!?!?!?
The $250 value gift basket is just coupons that can be found in advertising brochures around the area and coupons for complimentary wine tastings that are pretty much complimentary anyway if you buy anything at all at each winery so we didn’t see this as a perk.
This place is probably an allergy-sufferers nightmare – fur, feathers, throws, pillows, fake flowers everywhere. Fortunately, none of us suffer from allergies but if you do, you may want to consider this. In general, there was just so much “stuff” everywhere making the place feel rather cramped.
The yard was quite unkempt. We didn’t spend much time out there so it wasn’t a big deal for us but the photos on HomeAway are definitely not current. I laughed when I looked back on Homeaway at the photo of the “lovely summer blooms in the window boxes”. In reality, the window boxes are full of sad fake flowers.
So for basic functionality, this accommodation did the job for us but we won’t be back.

Owners response: Sorry to hear that you won't be back, we can't please everyone, we try our best to improve our service every year. We've been in business for 13 years and have many customers returning who enjoy staying at our cottage rental. GUEST CONCERN: No internet service as advertised. OWNER RESPONSE: We called the Cable company numerous times and they had a different reason why the internet wasn't working each and every time we called. We have changed cable companies. I'm happy to say that the internet is working fine now. GUEST CONCERN: No space to put your things in the king bedroom. OWNER RESPONSE; We have closet space enough to hold 2 suitcases, in both bedroom closets, and we have 2 suitcase holders in each closet. There are dresser drawers in both bedrooms where guests can put there clothes. GUEST CONCERN: Televisions are only in the bedrooms. ONWERS RESPONSE: We don't have space in the sitting/dining room for a TV, that's why the TV's are in the bedrooms. GUEST CONCERN: Very tight shower in the main bath and poor water pressure. OWNERS RESPONSE; No one has mentioned about the shower being tight and poor water pressure. The shower is called a "Rain Head" and it has a very soft flow it's used for relaxing in the shower. there an adjustment on the shower head that you can use if you want more water pressure and a stronger shower, it's on the shower head. We have pressurized showers, which means that if water is being used in the other bathrooms or kitchen, the shower still works at full capacity. GUEST CONCERN: The front door sticks OWNERS RESPONSE; Yes the front door sticks because of the humidity and we have found the trick of spraying WD 40 on the door to make the door open up smoothly. GUEST CONCERN: The $250 value gift basket. OWNERS RESPONSE; Please note that wine tastings are not complimentary at the wineries, unless you purchase a bottle of wine. We leave from 15-20 wine tasting passes, I don't think any guest will want to go to 20 wineries for tastings and have to pay or be forced to purchase a bottle of wines GUEST CONCERN: This place is probably an allergy-sufferers nightmare OWNERS RESPONSE; Please note that all of our bedding is Hypo allergenic. GUEST CONCERN: In general, there was just so much “stuff” OWNERS RESPONSE; View our website to see the cottage, it's 1000 sq ft.

Helpful votes: 4 / 6

 

Quaint, cozy, comfy!

Review submitted: December 29, 2012   Date of arrival: December 7, 2012

Our annual December trip to Niagara on the Lake was our most comfortable ever. This sweet, cozy cottage is the perfect location no matter what your plans may be. Whether it's strolling the shops of NOL, enjoying the wine trail or just some R & R, we loved our stay. The owner has thought of everything a traveler may need from the bathrobes to the bathroom spa supplies to the complimentary breakfast items -- there's nothing she hasn't thought off. We'd love to visit in the summer time when the grounds are in bloom - wintertime doesn't do it justice. We loved the quaintness of the cottage and, in our time there, felt like it was our own. We even talked about how we would rearrange furniture and make the diningroom a cozy livingroom with a fluffy sofa in front of the electric fireplace. It just felt like home and that made it homey and comfy. We're excited for next years' trip and know that we've found the perfect cottage for our annual trips! Thank you to the delightful owner who ensures a perfect stay!

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Thank you for sharing your lovely cottage!

Review submitted: December 16, 2012   Date of arrival: December 9, 2012

Thank you for sharing your lovely cottage with us this weekend. We enjoyed the special amenities you had chosen for us. That was a sweet and special touch. We look forward to returning next year. On a scale of 1-10 it's a definite 10++. We'll be back.

Our thanks again,

Tracy and Mark and
Phelps and Karen
From Ontario and Rushville, NY

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

This was a Fabulous Weekend

Review submitted: December 16, 2012   Date of arrival: December 2, 2012

This was a fabulous weekend with my daughters!! It was
nice to come home to a quaint space to call "our Own"!!

Cori, Candace and Bev

Edmonton, AB

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

We had a great Time

Review submitted: October 14, 2012   Date of arrival: October 12, 2012

We had a great time. The cottage is very quaint, very comfortable bed and we enjoyed the treats
you left. The cottage had everything we needed and then more.

Hope to be back next year.

Dan and Helen

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Thank you for sharing your cottage with us

Review submitted: February 26, 2012   Date of arrival: February 3, 2012

Maria,

I want to thank you for sharing your cottage with us. It is so
quaint and cozy, so much nicer than staying in your regular run of the
mill sterile hotel. We had everything we could have wished for and more,
your nice homey touches were very much appreciated.

You really did think of everything. We were sorry to leave after our weekend and thought the cottage was so cute, we couldn't bear to leave it messy. We love Niagara on the Lake but our Wishing Well Cottage stay made it all that much more enjoyable.

Again thank you so very much and you will definitely be seeing us again
sooner rather than later.

Regards,
Nancy & Jeff

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

We had a wonderful stay!!

Review submitted: February 7, 2012   Date of arrival: February 1, 2012

Dear Maria,

We always enjoy our stay at Wishing Well Cottage. This is our 4th year staying at your lovely cottage. We have spent about 30 nights here. This is our 4th anniversary and we will be back to celebrate our 5th Anniversary.

Thanks again,

Grace and John

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Wonderful Cottage - Wonderful Stay

Review submitted: January 10, 2012   Date of arrival: December 31, 2011

Wonderful Cottage - Wonderful Stay

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great place to spend Christmas Dec 25, 2011

Review submitted: December 29, 2011   Date of arrival: December 22, 2011

What a great place to spend Christmas with my children, husband and in laws. It had everything we wanted full kitchen, comfortable beds, 2 great bathrooms. We even found a self serve continental breakfast that we appreciated.

The cottage was very convenient and close to all amenities. We were sorry to leave but we will be back.
I highly recommend this cottage for family getaways and get togethers.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

GREAT CHRISTMAS STAY DEC 25, 2011

Review submitted: December 29, 2011   Date of arrival: December 22, 2011

GREAT CHRISTMAS STAY DEC 25, 2011

Perfect place for a family reunion. There were 2 grandparents , 2 children and 2 adults stay at this lovely comfortable historic cottage rental.

It has everything we needed, kitchen, comfortable beds, 2 bathrooms even a Christmas Tree. We would have liked to stay longer, but there was a reservation.

We appreciated the self serve continental breakfast, wine, chocolates, wine tasting vouchers and wine tours. All of these extras made our stay more pleasant.

The cottage is close to all the conveniences, grocery store, Tim Hortons, Gas station, Shopper's Drug Mart, etc.

We will be back, we look forward to seeing the outside garden in full bloom.

Thank you Maria for everything.

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

KEEP SINGING MARIA -THANK YOU FOR SHARING YOUR LOVELY HISTORIC COTTAGE RENTAL

Review submitted: October 20, 2011   Date of arrival: October 8, 2011

Dear Maria,

We enjoyed our stay. The cottage is adorable. Wish we could have seen the garden during the spring/summer, when it was at its best.

We enjoyed having you sing to us, that was a real treat, that doesn't happen everyday. To be sung to for our Wedding Anniversary by Canadian Soprano Maria Rekrut....that was a real treat.

We appreciated your signature wine that you left us. I understand that you have your own German Wine maker that makes it to your specifications, how fortunate to have sampled this great wine.

We'll be back and look forward to enjoying your lovely garden next summer.

Thank you for all the extras and all the customer service.

I highly recommend this historic cottage to anyone who wants a truly unique vacation experience.

Denise Lawrence

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 5

 

Falsely Represented

Review submitted: October 16, 2011   Date of arrival: September 29, 2011

The 4 of us were quite appalled at the condition of the cottage, not as advertised, not even close. The photos on the website are a minimum of 10 yrs old. The fact that there is NO internet access (contrary to the listing) was minor compared to the other disappointments. There were cobwebs hanging from all the light fixtures (some filled with dead bugs also) and the curtains appeared to have not been washed in the past several years, the deck and yard were inaccessible due to overgrown plants etc. The so-called "organic garden" has not been maintained for several years. Plug-ins DO NOT compensate for nasty odors. For the amount charged per night, there is no excuse a professional cleaning crew should not be engaged! The "welcome gift basket" consisted of a no-name bottle of wine and open, unwrapped chocolates on a plate. The "self serve continental breakfast" consisted of open containers of cereal, oatmeal, juice, milk etc. no indication of how old these items were. We will most definitely look for other accommodations on our return trips to the area. If there was a lower category than "poor" that's how we would rate Wishing Well Cottage.

Owners response: Dear Guest,

I'm sorry that you weren't satisfied with your stay with us. I would have preferred you calling me personally and discussing your concerns or disappointment.

I welcome you to call me personally at this time, and we can further discuss your comments.

Maria

Helpful votes: 5 / 6

 

Disappointed

Review submitted: September 9, 2011   Date of arrival: August 30, 2011

After reading all the great reviews from previous years and the owner's description, the Wishing Well cottage fell well short of our expectations. Our first impression on arriving was an indication, as we found the exterior plantings overgrown and not well maintained. The back deck, which looked so nice in the photos, was inaccessible due to vines growing across the entry.
The advertised wireless Internet was not available (the owner confirmed this), a significant short-coming in this Internet age. The gift bottle of wine was an Australian shiraz, not what we would expect given all the good local wineries, and there were no promised chocolates. All the advertised makings for the do-it-yourself continental breakfast were there but the cereals, pancake mix, etc. were in large, half-empty boxes, which we chose not to use since we couldn't tell how long they had been sitting on the shelf.
On the positive side, the beds were comfortable and the bathrooms fine. The kitchen appliances worked fine. We would have preferred a better, larger sitting area, with a TV there rather than in the bedrooms.
Overall, the cottage was adequate for our needs but certainly not what we were expecting. We will look for different lodging on our next trip to NOTL.

Recommended for: sight seeing

Owners response: Dear Guest,

I'm sorry that you weren't satisfied with your stay with us. I would have preferred you calling me personally and discussing your concerns or disappointment.

I welcome you to call me personally at this time, and we can further discuss your comments.

Maria

Helpful votes: 5 / 6

 

Thank you for very much for our lovely stay

Review submitted: September 22, 2010   Date of arrival: September 13, 2010

Hello Maria,

Thank you very much for our lovely stay at your Niagara on the Lake - Wishing Well Historical Cottage Rental.

We hope that you would consider having us as future guests!!

Thank you again for making your cottage available to us. We hope to see
you in the future.

Best Regards,

The Plumtrees and Sassano's

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

WHAT A GREAT EXPERIENCE

Review submitted: September 16, 2010   Date of arrival: September 13, 2010

WHAT A GREAT EXPERIENCE - what can I say, so many extras and surprizes!!!!!!

This was truly an experience we will never forget. We were celebrating my Birthday and we received a gift basket that included: a bottle of wine, box of chocolates, wine tasting vouchers/ wine tours, and a Complimentary Culinary Class!! Can you believe it, and at no extra cost ot us!!

The self serve continental breakfast was an added surprize and greatly appreciated.

Fantastic Customer Service ----Bravo,

Many thanks, we'll be back next year,

Scott Paul and Family

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Thank you so much for a Wonderful Experience!!

Review submitted: February 16, 2010   Date of arrival: January 22, 2010

Hi Maria,

Thank you so much for a wonderful experience. The changes to the cottage are amazing, it truly is a "little gem".

Thanks again, we'll be back.

Sue, Jim, Sandy & Doug

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Thank You Maria

Review submitted: February 16, 2010   Date of arrival: February 12, 2010

Thank you Maria. We had a wonderful time, until next time.

Courtney and Aaron

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Maria is quite the host!

Review submitted: December 9, 2009   Date of arrival: December 3, 2009

What a pleasure staying at the Wishing Well Cottage. This cottage was like no other I have seen before, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay here. The customer service was phenomenal and the cottage was by far a better experience than staying at a hotel. The beds (the king size bed) was extremely comfortable to sleep on. The cottage has an excellent master bathroom, with a nice size tub, and plenty of towels and shower accessories. Cooking is a wonderful idea and the kitchen is well equipped. I highly recommend staying at this cottage for all occasions; it is in fact, the perfect get-away from the hectic city-life.

Thank you Maria!

Truly,

Amina & Gavin

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

a wonderful place for our 11th Anniversary!

Review submitted: June 25, 2009   Date of arrival: June 20, 2009

My husband and I just spent a night at this wonderfully charming, cozy cottage for a romantic night celebrating our 11th Anniversary. The stay at this cottage made our anniversary one of the most memorable, and pleasant yet! We loved the privacy of having our own room, and our own kitchen in which to cook our own meals. Dinner by the window in the dining room was so enjoyable! The bedding made us feel like Royalty! Everything was very clean and Maria was such a gracious and accommodating host. We have been to Niagara-on-the-lake every year since our marriage in 1998, we have stayed at several b+b's. This was the best! We think that now, staying at the Wishing Well cottage will become part of our annual tradition.

Recommended for: romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Home Away from Home!!

Review submitted: July 11, 2008   Date of arrival: July 1, 2008

Thank you so much for sharing your cottage with us Maria. We thoroughly enjoyed ourselves and we appreciated your Welcome Gift!!

What a treat to get a local Niagara wine, a lovely box of chocolates and wine tasting vouchers and wine tour!!

Plus a great self serve continental breakfast in the fridge.
All of this included in the price, you don't get this everywhere that's for sure.

It's a 7 minute walk to downtown Niagara on the Lake and we had a great time at Shaw Festival theatre.

Thanks again, we will be back to do celebrate our 2nd annual family get together at the Cottage!!

Dr. GT & family

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 

Location, Location, Location and a Comfortable Bed

Review submitted: July 1, 2008   Date of arrival: June 21, 2008

This is more than a cottage. It is a a two bedroom house. It is conviently located so that you can walk to the main streets during the day if you want. The parking before 6pm downtown is tough and expensive so walking distance is a real plus. The play we saw during the Shawn Festival at the Court Theatre was one of the best we have seen.

Sleeping here is great. The king bed is really comfortable. The bathrooms are roomy and the water pressure good. The place is very clean. There is a large backyard that my kids would have loved exploring had we brought them.

As with anything there are down sides. Here the biggest one is the noise of the refridgerator. It can best be described as an 18 wheeler passing you on the freeway. The other bad thing is the smell of the owner's office. You have to go thru it to the backyard. The smell most likely comes from the basement. However, this is minor and you don't notice the smell when in the rest of the house.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you so much for your input. I'm glad that you enjoyed staying at the cottage for your Canadian Getaway.

So sorry about the fridge, it seems that the freezer motor was starting to go on the frizz.

As far as the back room and the odour. That is the owners private area and guests are not invited to use it as it doesn't have Air Conditioning, and so the back office is full of humidity and you know how that is with a 140 year old home.

We don't normally allow our guests to use that back area but you had asked to use it , and I didn't think that you would have found it offensive. Since, I let you know that we don't normally allow guests back there, but we did let you as a favour. So this remark is a little unfair.

I have since put up a sign that we will not allow our guests to use that area of the cottage, as we don't want anyone else to complain of the odour.

When I came to see you later on that weekend you could have let me know about the problems. When I asked if everything was OK, you said yes, that everything was fine.

Nevertheless, I appreciate your comments and thank you for pointing out how we can improve our service.

Best regards,

Maria

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review