reviews for: listing #439214vb - Holualoa, Hawaii rental

The Casa De Emdeko No Stairs
  • bedrooms  1
  • pool  yes
  • type  Condo
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • rates (USD)  $ 85 - $ 142 / night
    $ 560 - $ 999 / week
    $ 2,100 - $ 2,499 / month
  • sleeps  4
  • pets considered  no

sort by:

A Great Condo in a Great Complex!

Review submitted: March 15, 2014   Date of arrival: February 18, 2014

This place turned out to be even better than what we had imagined!
What a treat to sit out on your own lanai drinking your morning coffee in a tranquil setting or spending part of the evening chatting with friends at the sea front watching the sun go down. Priceless!
Our condo was equipped with everything we needed--every conceivable kitchen gadget, towels for the bath and beach, a nicely decorated lounge area, and a comfortable bed.
We always felt secure and appreciated how well the complex was managed. Grounds were groomed regularly and the BBQ and lounge seating area kept in excellent condition.
We'd like to thank Jolene and Jeff who obviously care that their guests have the best possible holiday. We certainly did!
Finally, we'd most certainly recommend this condo and complex to family and friends.

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

BIG MISTAKE!!!!!

Review submitted: November 24, 2013   Date of arrival: November 10, 2013

We were very disappointed with our stay. After the second night we found a different place to stay. The carpet looked stained or soiled, the shower floor was badly stained, and we saw roaches!!! We left with three nights still on the books, notified the owners twice over the situation and about a refund to no success. We were told our claims were unfounded and we were using this as an excuse because we were not happy with their condo and NO REFUND!! We saved our vacation by finding another place to stay.

Owners response: The complaint is untrue and reviews submitted by our other guests verify the condition in which we keep our beautiful little unit here in paradise. The complex has a contract with a professional exterminator to spray every unit in the complex on a regular basis and the Manager of the complex had the exterminator re-spray the unit the next day. But it was unnecessary.

Helpful votes: 0 / 3

 

Clean and convenient

Review submitted: November 11, 2013   Date of arrival: November 1, 2013

Enjoyed the salt pool next to the ocean. There was some construction going on while we were there which was noisy. When the construction stopped it was very nice and quiet. Kitchen is well equipped and nice,new appliances. Had a pleasant stay.

Recommended for: age 55+, tourists without a car

Owners response: Mahalo for your review.
Jolene and Jeff

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Nice, but...

Review submitted: November 8, 2013   Date of arrival: October 22, 2013

This is a lovely little apartment: clean, well-equipped and well-furnished. The pools and 'beach' were nice, but the beach is not your typical type. Lounge chairs on the sand are surrounded by a nice courtyard and bar and have an ocean view. (There are few sandy beaches on the Big Island, because the island is 'newer' and beaches have not had time to develop.) The area of sand abuts a rock wall with a straight drop to lava rock and the ocean below. The setting is attractive and not dangerous, it's just not what you normally think of as a beach. The Alii Dr. location is very convenient for shops and restaurants, but they are not within a safe, walkable distance (No sidewalks, lots of cars.) However, I arrived after dark and had some trouble finding it, as the complex is behind a small row of shops and not well-marked or well-lit. Also, I would have liked to have known before I rented it and arrived that work crews were well underway in renovating the stairwells by drilling and pounding concrete pretty much all day just outside my door. There were a few steps, but nothing difficult. Without the construction, it would have been a 4 star stay.

Recommended for: age 55+

Owners response: Aloha, and mahalo for your review. Most major maintenance work occurs during low season, so we suggest booking your next stay during high season to miss any construction that might be happening.
Jolene and Jeff

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Ironman Stay

Review submitted: October 17, 2013   Date of arrival: October 9, 2013

Apartment is well maintained, in great location with excellent facilities. We were in Kona for Ironman and the condo is situated close enough to Ironman to be easy to get to without being totally surrounded by the hype of Ironman. Pools are great. Ample parking.
Unit itself is good size for 2 adults. Furniture, beds, bathroom etc all in good condition. Air Con works well as does the TV and the many channels available!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Vacation

Review submitted: July 25, 2013   Date of arrival: July 4, 2013

enjoy our stay

Recommended for: romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Ready to repeat the experience!

Review submitted: June 11, 2013   Date of arrival: May 27, 2013

I recently stayed at the condo with my son for nine days. I found it to be perfect size wise and adequate with regard to kitchen supplies, spare blankets, etc. I did most of my own cooking and found the only inconvenience to be lack of an ice maker, but that is why they make bags of ice for purchase! The bed was comfortable, and my son said the sofa bed was comfortable as well. The round salt-water pool on the beach is the best selling point I can think of! I spent many evenings swimming as the sun went down, it was very relaxing. The place was clean and in good repair. There were beach towels supplied and plenty of regular towels. The laundry room is practically outside the back door and the lanai was cozy for evening meals. The only other thing that was kind of a disappointment was that one of the gas grills in the outdoor kitchen on the property didn't work, and there seemed to be a traffic jam to use the other one. I was never able to grill outside and broiling isn't quite the same. A George Foreman grill or some other indoor grill would be a nice addition, or even a gas grill on the lanai. I did see other condo's that had their own grills. Jolene was the epitome of hostess. Her communication was excellent and she went out of her way to accommodate a last minute request. I was already planning my next trip for the Big Island before I even left, and we will be staying here once again next year.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Mahalo for your review. I'm sorry that you did not see the icemaker. With the freezer on the bottom you have to pull out the upper drawer to see it. I will put a note on the fridge, so other guests will know it is there. We love this kind of feed back! It allows us to make things better for future guests. Please next time something like the gas grill is not working let us know, so we can have the property manager fix it. I know that there is a back up one that he could have put out. As far as putting a grill on the lanai it is against the house rules and if you did see someone with one I am sure that it will not be there for long. I will make sure that they are working when you come again, because grilling out there at sunset is one of my favorite things to do.
Jolene and Jeff

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Perfect Condo

Review submitted: April 21, 2013   Date of arrival: April 8, 2013

We enjoyed our 10 day stay. The location was ideal, and very quiet! The kitchen was well equipped, and the owners had our needs covered with beach gear. There are 2 beautiful pools, one being right next to the ocean...where we fed the eels in the evening. We enjoyed the cabana area, sipping our wine and having dinner while the sun set. The grounds are well-maintain, and filled with very friendly birds.

Thank you Jolene and Jeff for making our vacation a memorial one!

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing

Owners response: Mahalo for your lovely response, hope to see you again. We love repeat guests and give them a discount.
Jolene and Jeff

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Nice and convenient

Review submitted: April 14, 2013   Date of arrival: March 25, 2013

My Husband and I stayed here while visiting my son and his family. We were having back problem issues and this worked out good for us because it wasn't a really big complex. We really enjoyed the pools especially the one on the ocean. The grills were nice because you could watch the sun set while cooking and eating. Also a very nice sandy area for reading in the shade or sun bathing. It had everything we needed. I would stay there again.
The only bad thing was a few cockroaches but my son says they are very common in Hawaii.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Mahalo for the great review. Yes, bugs are common in tropical climates. The complex sprays for them frequently. Put open food in the fridge, even cereal; take out the garbage often; and keep the screens closed to keep them away. Let us know if you want to come back as we give a discount to people who submit reviews.
Jeff and Jolene

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Pretty much what we were expecting.

Review submitted: January 27, 2013   Date of arrival: January 12, 2013

The condo was pretty much what we were expecting after looking at the pictures and reading the details of the condo. We were basically only there to sleep and shower so it worked fine for us.

I do have to say that there were a few minor updates and a couple of repairs that could be made that would make a stay a lot nicer. Those would include a hotel quality mattress and a more comfortable sofa sleeper that is being used a couch.

The kitchen was well equiped that would make cooking easy. We were surpised that you could still hear the roar of the ocean since the condo is towards the back of the complex. It was nice that the condo is at ground level. We loved the location. It was close and easy access to Kona.

If you enjoy going to the beach then I would suggest renting a Jeep. Our favorite beach by far was Makalawena. It's a 20 minute walk to it over lava rock or a fun ride to it in a jeep (different roads off of the highway). 2nd favorite beach was Mauna Loa.

If you are couple that are on the go when you vacation in Hawaii, then this place would work fine.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, sight seeing

Owners response: Mahalo for your comments. The matress is very firm and a previous guest told us he liked the firmness for his bad back. But maybe it is too firm for some so we just purchased a three-inch memory gel foam topper for guests that want a softer feel. As for the hide-a-bed, it was the best one available for purchase here in Hawaii. We do not recommend it for adults, but it seems to work okay for kids. As for beaches, Makalawena is one of our favorite places too.

Regards,
Jeff and Jolene

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

A fantastic Condo and a great value!

Review submitted: October 21, 2012   Date of arrival: October 14, 2012

My stay at Jolene and Jeff's condo was everything I hoped and more. Super clean, comfortable, quiet. And the grounds outside the condo are so nice you won't ever want to leave. I was pleasantly shocked at how quiet and peaceful the condo was (even around Ironman).
Everything was perfect such as the kitchen items, appliances, internet, AC, cable, and furnishings.
Jolene and Jeff are so helpful and friendly, They truly went out of their way for me and ensured that everything was perfect.
I would definitely recommend this condo and I hope to return!

Owners response: Mahalo Jon,
It was very nice meeting you. Looking forward to seeing you again. We do give return guests a discount.
Jolene & Jeff

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review