reviews for: listing #43936 - Luray, Virginia Cabin rental

Kalmia Log Cabin: hot tub, mountain views!
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  no
  • type  Cabin
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  yes
  • community  Shenandoah Woods
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $225 - $225 /nt
    $1,250 - $1,250 /wk
    $4,000 - $4,000 /mth

sort by:

Absolutely Perfect!

Review submitted: September 23, 2009   Date of arrival: September 7, 2009

I can't say enough nice things about Kalmia. It was the perfect, cozy, secluded cabin I had dreamed of! Its location was remote, yet close enough to so many great attractions that it still felt convenient.

The view of the sunset over the valley and mountains was incomparable -- we particularly enjoyed it from the relaxing comfort of the hot tub! And having a cup of coffee out in the rocking chair on the deck in the mornings (or a glass of wine in the evenings!) was beyond relaxing.

The owners of this lovely property have thought of everything! The gas fireplace and the widescreen satellite TV made the inside just as inviting as the outside. All the appliances and conveniences we could have hoped for were there. The huge binder filled with directions, restaurant listings, pamphlets on local attractions, and much more was greatly appreciated and frequently referenced!

Finally, the cabin was immaculate! We walked in (love the fresh cedar smell!) and could immediately see that the place was kept in pristine condition. We are clean freaks and we never felt the need to scrub everything down, as we have in past rentals!

We have rented many vacation homes, and Kalmia ranks right up at the top! We hope to return again and again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 7

 

oasis on a mountain

Review submitted: September 6, 2012   Date of arrival: August 30, 2012

We had a great time! The pictures accurately reflect the beauty of the cabin and breathtaking views. The cabin had all the amenities we needed for a relaxing getaway. We will definitely be back!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

LOVELY

Review submitted: July 5, 2012   Date of arrival: June 29, 2012

Kalmia was a lovely cabin set on the mountainside. Clean as could be and all supplies provided. Jason was accommodating and checked on us after huge storm roared through. (no damage and no loss of power when much of the area went black).
The porch with view of valley, sunset, storm and the city's fireworks sets this location apart.

Helpful votes: 1 / 3

 

4th anniversary

Review submitted: December 29, 2011   Date of arrival: December 26, 2011

wonderful stay! we went to celebrate our 4th anniversary and had a great time. the views are breathtaking and the hot tub is a bonus! Thank you Mr.Cave for everything!

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Best Vacation Ever

Review submitted: July 20, 2011   Date of arrival: July 14, 2011

It was perfect in every way and we loved the town of Luray. Can not wait to go back.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Nice place for relaxing!

Review submitted: February 23, 2011   Date of arrival: February 18, 2011

My wife and I just spent a relaxing 3 day weekend at this cabin and we had a great time. The cabin was very comfortable and had all the comforts of home. The only thing I would make you aware of is this cabin has a very steep driveway that is curvy at some parts. If it snows a little, you will be snowed in because it would be unsafe to drive up and down. The cabin was clean and well cared for. We had a minor issue with the fireplace which Jason helped us resolve within 15 minutes. We were very pleased with this cabin and the customer service from beginning to end. NOTHING to complain about. Would definitely recommend to friends and family.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks for the kind words! Just to let everyone else know, the driveway is paved and we do have lots of snow removal equipment. When it does snow we can usually clear the roads quickly. The price of a great mountain view is a steep driveway.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Amazing cabin -- couldn't recommend more highly

Review submitted: June 21, 2010   Date of arrival: May 28, 2010

My girlfriend and I stayed at Kalmia over Memorial Day weekend and we couldn't have been happier. The cabin is amazing -- it's absolutely immaculate and the pictures don't do it justice. We also were fortunate enough to meet Jason, who was kind enough to set us up with a password to his Netflix account, which streams directly to the 52" tv in the living room. Perfect for a night curled up on the couch.

The area is beautiful, the cabin is close to Luray as well as Shenandoah, and it's as comfortable as a place could possibly be. We can't wait to go back, and if you're looking for a fantastic cabin in a perfect location, Kalmia is it.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

It's All Good

Review submitted: June 15, 2010   Date of arrival: June 7, 2010

We spent a week in your Kalmia cabin, and we had a great time. The cabin is new, and it was immaculately clean. It is simply and attractively decorated, with quality furmiture and great beds. (So many owners stuff every square inch of their rentals with artificial plants and collectable clutter. I really enjoyed the clean, restrained style of the Kalmia interior). Dealing with Jason Cave was a pleasure. He is friendly and helpful, and the reservation process was expertly handled. Everything about our rental experience was positive, and we would recommend this rental to our friends without hesitation. Thanks, Jason.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Review submitted: April 20, 2010   Date of arrival: April 20, 2010

Our trip to the Luray area was relaxing and peaceful, in large part due to our experience at Kalmia Cabin. It was nice just hanging out and enjoying the view and nice weather, as well as the hot tub! Looking forward to a return trip.

Helpful votes: 0 / 2

 

relaxing Shenandoah getaway

Review submitted: April 20, 2010   Date of arrival: April 16, 2010

We spent a lovely weekend in Kalmia Cabin. The cabin has a simple, homey feel and is well-stocked with kitchen equipment, books and games, and an entertainment center with Blue-Ray, Netflix, Pandora, etc. The patio has a superb vista which we enjoyed from our hot tub, and our two-year-old daughter loved running around on the patio and outside (though watch the steep driveway). Very quiet and relaxing, and a short trip to Luray. Next visit we hope to take advantage of the close proximity to hiking trails.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: April 10, 2010   Date of arrival: April 10, 2010

Kalmia Cabin was the perfect little getaway for our family. So clean and spacious with all the essentials. Thank you for such a wonderful place to stay!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: March 24, 2010   Date of arrival: March 24, 2010

We had the pleasure of staying at the cabin for almost the entire month of March! We will miss the cabin and the awesome evening sunsets! Thanks for a memorable March!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: March 1, 2010   Date of arrival: March 1, 2010

Second trip, and still new experiences! Snow covered valley and mountain vistas. Thanks again!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: February 1, 2010   Date of arrival: February 1, 2010

This was our second time here. We have enjoyed every moment each time. The sledding all day Sunday after Saturday's six inch snowfall was our most favorite memory this vacation.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Wendy

Review submitted: December 15, 2009   Date of arrival: December 25, 2008

My husband, daughter, mother-in-law, and my parents spend Christmas and New Year 2008, as well as, a week in October 2008 at Kalmia. We LOVE the cabin, the area and the Cave Family is wonderful. We feel like this is our home away from home and will return every year for as long as we can.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Elvin

Review submitted: December 15, 2009   Date of arrival: April 14, 2009

Me the wife and the little one spent a few days in what we like to call heaven! The setting, the fire pit, the cabin itself was all perfect! We recommend it to everyone and will continue to visit on every opportunity available.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Tasha

Review submitted: December 15, 2009   Date of arrival: June 19, 2009

Our weekend get-a-way to Kalmia Cabin was amazing! My husband and I celebrated our 12th anniversary. We loved this place! It was so peaceful, quiet and romantic. Fantastic accomidations! Thanks so much!
-Tasha

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: September 21, 2009   Date of arrival: September 21, 2009

This cabin is absolutely perfect! We fell in love the minute we walked in and will definitely be returning with the family next year. Everything was clean and tastefully decorated, the kitchen was well stocked, all the electronics worked fabulously and the front porch was our definite favorite.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: September 13, 2009   Date of arrival: September 13, 2009

Our weekend at Kalmia was exactly what we needed... rest and relaxation! The cabin was perfect - what a simple pleasure. We enjoyed the views, hot tub and most of all the quiet.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: September 11, 2009   Date of arrival: September 11, 2009

We are thrilled to have chosen Kalmia Cabin as our vacation home this year. The Caves have thought of everything! The cabin was immaculate and extremely well-appointed, from the supplies and appliances to the entertainment options. We loved sitting in front of a lovely fire each night and the hot tub was pure heaven! All in all, we couldn't have asked for more. Watching the sunset from the rocking chair on the deck with a glass of wine was worth the price of admission alone!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: September 6, 2009   Date of arrival: September 6, 2009

We have really made ourselves at home here. The cabin is fabulous.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: August 18, 2009   Date of arrival: August 18, 2009

What an idyllic location and beautiful cabin. We really enjoyed our short stay here and only wished it could be longer! The views, the deck, the hot tub, even the game of Balderdash , were all appreciated! The house is attractively decorated and so well equipped it's a perfect home away from home.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: August 15, 2009   Date of arrival: August 15, 2009

Again, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay in the cabin. We're getting to be a habit. This was the first time we saw a bear and rabbits though. We especially enjoyed the hot tub.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: August 1, 2009   Date of arrival: August 1, 2009

When sitting in front of our PC screen back home in the UK, we booked Kalmia, I think we had no idea we were in for such a treat. The cabin has been great. It has a perfect location. Seems both new and lived-in and has first rate facilities. The hot tub was a particular favorite of ours.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: July 29, 2009   Date of arrival: July 29, 2009

We had a lovely time here. The cabin is beautiful and well equipped.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: July 25, 2009   Date of arrival: July 25, 2009

The cabin was beautiful and clean. The view from the deck and hot tub was great.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: July 18, 2009   Date of arrival: July 18, 2009

We came to Kalmia for our honeymoon and will be back for many anniversaries! We enjoyed the beauty of the cabin and the incredible views on the drive and on the porch. Jason and Cori are wonderful hosts and are more than willing to answer any questions.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: July 12, 2009   Date of arrival: July 12, 2009

Kalmia Cabin is a fantastic place for a romantic getaway. Inside is lovely and we felt right at home.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: June 28, 2009   Date of arrival: June 28, 2009

Our first time in the Shenandoah area... what a great week! The weather was perfect and the cabin was everything we expected and more.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: June 22, 2009   Date of arrival: June 22, 2009

Our weekend get-a-way to Kalmia Cabin was amazing! My husband and I celebrated our 12th anniversary. We loved this place! It was so peaceful, quiet and romantic. Fantastic accomidations! Thanks so much!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect Weekend

Review submitted: April 20, 2009   Date of arrival: April 2, 2009

The long weekend in the Shenandoah Valley was perfect! We arrived late evening in a rainstorm, but we woke to a beautiful sunny day--which remained for the duration of our stay. The cabin overlooks a beautiful valley, and with it facing west, we had great family sunset pics. The trip to Luray Caverns was well worth it--bring your camera for sure.

We hope to return this fall!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: April 14, 2009   Date of arrival: April 1, 2009

Me the wife and the little one spent a few days in what we like to call heaven! The setting, the fire pit, the cabin itself was all perfect! We recommend it to everyone and will continue to visit on every opportunity available.

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: April 7, 2009   Date of arrival: April 1, 2009

My husband, daughter, mother-in-law, and my parents spend Christmas and New Year 2008, as well as, a week in October 2008 at Kalmia. We LOVE the cabin, the area and the Cave Family is wonderful. We feel like this is our home away from home and will return every year for as long as we can.

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Rare getaway

Review submitted: November 25, 2008   Date of arrival: November 13, 2008

My family and I enjoyed our trip to the cabin. We were pleasantly surprised to see all of the amenities that were included, like the 52" tv, hot tub, and gas fireplace. Our 6 and 4-year old daughters played in the loft while my wife and I relaxed in front of the tv or out in the tub. Even our 6-month old son was reasonably well behaved!

Our trip was mainly to escape the grind (I am a small business owner and rarely get out of town; my wife home-schools our daughters). We did visit Luray Caverns, skyline drive, and the Town of Strasburg. The covered bridge in Mount Jackson is close, as well.

The only drawback we found was the lack of cell-phone coverage, though the owner did provide a cell phone to use on a limited basis. Come to think of it, maybe it was a bleessing to escape the blackberry for a few days! Once we were 5 minutes away from the cabin, cellular service was restored.

Given all of the features, we would certainly stay in the cabin again. We used to travel each fall to the mountains for our anniversary, but, with 3 children, a business, and various other headaches, our time together is precious. Our recent trip to Kalmia was well worth the effort!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Amazing

Review submitted: November 24, 2008   Date of arrival: November 21, 2008

Very rarely are vacation spots as beautiful as they look in the pictures provided. But Kalmia is even more beautiful. The hot tub is amazing, the house is SO cozy. The TV is great! The fire pit was so much fun. We had the best weekend ever. The owner is so nice! We definitely are returning ASAP because it was the most relaxing weekend ever!

Recommended for: girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: November 12, 2008   Date of arrival: November 12, 2008

Our family just returned from our stay at Kalmia Log Cabin. We were there for a week but would have liked to stay for a year! The cabin is gorgeous, clean, tasteful and comfortable! The views from the porch are one of a kind, especially at sunrise and sunset! The firepit was a wonderful gathering place each night to view the stars and hear the train pass through the valley. We loved the pull-out bed by the gas fireplace...a great place to fall asleep watching the stars through the front windows! There are many places to hike around the cabin and even a playground nearby for the kids. The location of Kalmia was perfect for all of the local attractions! We cannot wait to go back! The owners are helpful, hospitable, and take care of all of your needs. For a perfect mountain experience look no further!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: November 11, 2008   Date of arrival: November 1, 2008

Our family just returned from a wonderful week long vacation at Kalmia! Our group consisted of my husband and I, our 5 yr old son, our twin 18 month old daughters, and Grandma and Papa! The cabin was gorgeous to say the least. It is new, impeccably clean and in wonderful condition! It is hard to believe anyone has ever stayed there before! The decor is comfortable and tasteful. We loved the porch, especially the breath-taking views of the valley at sunrise and sunset. Curling up on the pull-out bed in front of the gas fireplace at night was the best! We shared many laughs by the firepit, and enjoyed hiking on the various trails surrounding the cabin. The location of Kalmia is perfect for all of the local attractions. We will recommend this cabin to anyone interested in visiting the mountains! We will be back as soon as possible! The owners are extremely welcoming and helpful with anything you need. Look no further!

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: September 15, 2008   Date of arrival: September 1, 2008

This cabin has it all! It is brand new and beautifully decorated...everything from the bed linens, towels, cookware, hot tub, etc. We celebrated our 26th anniversary here and will have many wonderful memories. Very relaxing the the owners were very accommodating. You won't be disappointed with this cabin choice!

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: September 14, 2008   Date of arrival: September 14, 2008

Just wanted to say thank you so much for such a nice place to stay you guys thought of everything it was most definitly home away from home. We were so glad after being away all day to know we were coming back to such a wonderful nice place where we could kick our shoes off and kick back and relax watching tv or listening to music or relaxing in the hot tub or just sitting on the deck and listening to all the night sounds which is my favorite thing to do. We really enjoyed our stay. You did a great job. God Bless ya's and Thank you again
Gary and Pat

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: September 1, 2008   Date of arrival: September 1, 2008

8/29-9/1/2008
We enjoyed staying in the cabin. Had a very nice time. Did good job in construction and placement of cabin. We will be back. Thank you and God Bless.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: August 29, 2008   Date of arrival: August 29, 2008

We had no idea what a wonderful, restful vacation we were in for. The scenery is great, just wish we could put it in our pocket and take it with us. The hot tub was magnificent. The cabin was beautiful and you furnished it perfectly. Thanks for being so kind to us.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review