reviews for: listing #43937 - Luray, Virginia House rental

Old Wagon Lodge: gameroom, hot tub, secluded!
  • bedrooms  5
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  3
  • hot tub  yes
  • community  Shenandoah Woods
  • sleeps  16
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $250 - $250 /nt
    $1,500 - $1,500 /wk
    $5,000 - $5,000 /mth

sort by:

Thanksgiving

Review submitted: December 2, 2008   Date of arrival: November 26, 2008

We were so grateful to have a place that the whole family can unite and be together. The lodge was at perfect size, clean, and comfy. The kids (and adults) loved the game rooms and the outdoor pit where we made smores. It was nice to relax and be away from the day-to-day stress.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 6 / 12

 

Dirty and Run Down

Review submitted: April 23, 2014   Date of arrival: April 13, 2014

Do yourself a favor, find a different place! The gameroom is not as described, everything is old and run down, and is very dirty. The kitchen is NOT well-equipped, the dining room will seat 10 - but there is no way you could cook for that many with what is in the kitchen. The rugs are all stained, and there is a funky smell of mold. The master bathroom is a joke, anyone over 130 lbs. will not fit in the shower stall, but at least that bathroom was somewhat clean. The jetted tub made so much noise, that it is unusable. Overall, this has to be one of the worst places I have ever stayed in.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Grubby! Choose another of their homes....

Review submitted: January 9, 2014   Date of arrival: December 21, 2013

I have never reviewed a place before, but this one was so disappointing, I felt inclined to warn others. My main complaint is that the place was so dirty. Yes, it had been "cleaned." But the carets (originally beige?) were so stained and the linoleum in the kitchen had a piece missing. The walls were covered in handprints and grime. There were holes in some of the walls. The bathrooms were actually stained in the toilets and bathtubs and dirt in the corners. I can deal with a place that is not updated, but when it gets to the point where it s grimey and grubby, why won't they invest in new flooring and paint the walls? I would be embarrassed as a company to offer this house as a rental. There other cabins are much, much, better.... Stay away from this one!

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

Terrible Experience

Review submitted: October 9, 2012   Date of arrival: October 5, 2012

We arrived on October 5th at 9:00pm and to our surprise we wasn't the only guest. WE and roaches and Stink bugs stayed at the home for the weekend. When contact the owner of the problem he was no shalaunt about it.. He told us that he would send and exterminator the next day (that didn't happen) THIS WAS SUCH AN UNCLEANED HOME!!! The Tv in the master bedroom didn't work and neither did other activities in the home.. If you are looking for space this is the perfect house... but please bring roach spray and lots of lysol and bathroom cleaner.. WE WILL NOT STAY HERE EVER!!!

Helpful votes: 17 / 19

 

Secluded and comfortable!

Review submitted: September 9, 2012   Date of arrival: July 14, 2012

This property is well described in the overview. All of the bedrooms were great and larger than we expected. The house was clean and the kitchen well stocked with cooking pans for meal prep. The dining room table is huge and fit our family of 11 (5 of them 3 years old and under) very well. We also enjoyed the fire pit, picnic table, and swing set for the kids when we were outside.

The living room has a wonderful large screen TV and plenty of soft chairs for evening relaxation. The game room in the basement is a plus, and the bunk room was fun for the kids.

Our only disappointment was with the fishing pond. While the pavilion was in great shape, the pond was overgrown with algae and almost impossible to fish or paddle in. Since this was a big draw for us, we would have appreciated knowing this ahead of time. However, the house was great, so we had a wonderful time anyway.

The zoo in Luray is fun for all, and we spent many hours on the Greenway jogging, walking, wading, and birdwatching. The art museum is also unique and enjoyable. This is a wonderful place to visit with Lake Arrowhead very near by for swimming. Overall a lovely family vacation!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Owners response: We have had some issues with the pond this summer and have taken steps to clean the algae. Fountains were recently installed and are helping a great deal, and they are pretty!

Helpful votes: 3 / 5

 

Old Wagon Lodge

Review submitted: January 30, 2012   Date of arrival: January 27, 2012

4 Families which ended up being 8 adults, and 9 kids. There was plenty of room for everyone. The house was very nice and clean. The gameroom was awesome, I not sure the kids ever left that room other then to come upstairs to eat meals at the beautiful table that sat 12 (I think). When they say the kitchen is fully stocked, they are not kidding. There were enough pots and pans to cook meals for that 17, and have enough plates for everyone to eat at the same time. The pictures do not show that the house has a wonderful front yard. The kids were able to go outside and get a pretty good game of football going. The hottub was just steps from the door to the house so you were running when you got out. We have a great weekend, and would do it again!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Old Wagon Lodge Fit the Bill!

Review submitted: November 7, 2011   Date of arrival: October 28, 2011

We are a group of six 16/17-year old Girl Scouts and 3 adults from Northern Baltimore. We were looking for an inexpensive way to spend a weekend in Luray, VA seeing the beautiful October leaves and visiting Luray Caverns and the potato chip factory, all while staying together. The Old Wagon Lodge was perfect! The bunk bed room allowed all the girls to stay together. Everyone spent a lot of time in the rec room as it offered something for everyone, even a couch to just sit and talk and "chill." The kitchen was nice and big and had everything we needed. The hot tub was a BIG plus for all the girls. They stayed in it even when it started to snow! There was a DVD player hooked up to the wide screen TV so we could sit and watch a movie together (the living room was big enough for all of us!).

The best part about the Old Wagon Lodge was the owners themselves. Jason always emailed me promptly with all my questions answered. He never seemed to tire of all my questions! And when we ended up leaving early because of the unusual October snow storm, he refunded a night's stay without being asked.

The house was neat as a pin -- very clean. The only negative was when the snow got heavy, the TV and the phones went out; and without cell phone connectivity back in the woods there, we felt very isolated. The wifi, however, worked very well, and we could have emailed if we had needed to.

I recommend this house to anyone who would like privacy, anyone who has children, or a large crowd to house. We all fit in there very comfortably and could have included even more people. An entire bedroom went unused!

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 

March weekend at Old Wagon Lodge

Review submitted: March 12, 2011   Date of arrival: March 11, 2011

My two boys (ages 9 and 5) and I decided to take a last minute trip to Luray and found this nice house. Owner was very quick to answer e-mails and booked vacation on Friday morning which was the same day we wanted to come. Stayed two nights and had a great time! Gravel, mountain roads on the way to the cabin make you feel like you are really getting away from city life! Home is close to gravel road, but I saw very few cars (maybe 5? ) all weekend. If you are doing things in Luray, there is a closer way to get to town than the directions to the house so use be sure and have a map to save you about 5-10 minutes to get to town. There were only three of us in the house so it was big for us. It actually was so large, that my boys preferred that I sleep with them in the bunk bed room downstairs! Traditional floor plan but plenty of room. Furniture of good quality and not overloaded with knickknacks and junk. My kids LOVED the game room (need a sweater in the colder months since it is in the closed-in, refinished garage) and loved the outdoor playset and basketball.
Hot tub was nice too and already warm and working when we arrived. Owner was quick to respond to any issues we had (missing foosball and batteries needed for one item). My only disappointment was that there is not a very clear view of the mountains from the house (lots of trees), but I quickly got over that with all the fun stuff for the kids to do. Plus if you drive just a short distance, there are mountain views all around. My cell phone did not work consistently (1 and occasionally 2 bars), but the wireless for computer worked flawlessly. Long distance is free with home phone. As soon as you drive about 1/2 mile, I was able to get good cell coverage, but coverage did change quite a bit depending on where you are in the mountains.
Luray Caverns was amazing....kids loved the headphones for their own personalized tour. Garden Maze is a must do for all ages. We had planned on doing the zoo and Rt 11 potato chip factory but decided it was more fun to play on the playground, in the hot tub or in the playroom. And my 9 year old currently has the high score on Mrs. Pacman....so see if you can beat that!! Luray is about 10 minutes (with short cut). Speakeasy grill was good. Brickoven pizzeria was decent and they will deliver...we got carry out. There is a 7-11 in downtown Luray (turn right on the main street in downtown and go 1/2 mile) for Krispy Kreme doughnuts and more essentials!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers

Owners response: We have several other properties nearby with amazing mountain views.

Helpful votes: 5 / 6

 

Great Stay

Review submitted: July 10, 2010   Date of arrival: June 25, 2010

I can only echo what other reviews say. We had a great week here. The house is well equipped, and the game room was great. The owners reply quickly to any emails or calls, and once you're there are glad to help, even when called for a restaurant reccomendation. The house is secluded, but that's what we were looking for, a place to connect as a family. It's close to both Stanley and Luray, and if you're into cycling, the Luray bike shop has a cue card for a nice 19 mile loop that goes right past the entrance to the woods. There's also wifi, which with teenagers allowed them to do their facebooking in the evening after family time. All in all a great stay, and we are already trying to plan our next trip there.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 

A Good Experience

Review submitted: January 7, 2010   Date of arrival: January 3, 2010

The listing was descriptive and the owners were prompt in returning e-mails. The information they provided at the house was sufficient and the directions to the house were great. The outside of the home was left untidy by previous guests and there was food all around the hot tub. The kitchen stove had not been cleaned and could not be used without setting off the smoke alarms. The game room was in the garage and the garage was not heated. This is probably great in the summer, but in the winter posed a problem. It was very cold during our visit (we are from New England) and the game room was cold. The downstairs room which contained the bunk beds was also cold, but at least had some heating. The bedrooms on the first floor were fine and provided restful sleeping. The large living area was also fine. We liked the large dining room table. The kitchen was very well equipped. The lodge is surrounded by woods. There are no views to speak of, unless you drove or walked. We walked the dirt roads. Skyline Drive was closed because of the weather, so if you are traveling in the winter, you may want to call ahead. The nearby town of Luray had many shops closed for the winter. It seems to be primarily a tourist town for summer. We would return, but probably for only a short stay.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 6 / 7

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Topping Family

Review submitted: December 15, 2009   Date of arrival: August 14, 2009

We really enjoyed our stay at Old Wagon. We had everything we needed in the house including bath soap and laundry supplies. How nice! Watching the Olympics on the big screen was a highlight as well as seeing bear and deer on the property! We would definitely recommend Old Wagon to friends.
-Topping Family

Helpful votes: 4 / 5

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Deanna

Review submitted: December 15, 2009   Date of arrival: February 20, 2009

We had the BEST time at Old Wagon Lodge! The house is even better than it looks in the pictures! We are already trying to coordinate our next stay and we just got back two days ago!!!
-Deanna

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: February 24, 2009   Date of arrival: February 1, 2009

We had the BEST time at Old Wagon Lodge! The house is even better than it looks in the pictures! We are already trying to coordinate our next stay and we just got back two days ago!!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Geat Family Christmas

Review submitted: January 24, 2009   Date of arrival: December 24, 2008

We had a great time at the Lodge - it was perfect for our group of 16. The area is beautiful, the owners were friendly and responsive and the home was spacious enough for all of us.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: November 17, 2008   Date of arrival: November 1, 2008

We had a great time. Thank you very much.

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: September 9, 2008   Date of arrival: September 9, 2008

Thank you for a great weekend. We really enjoyed your vacation home and appreciated the use of the pack & play and the high chair. We had lots of fun!

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: August 15, 2008   Date of arrival: August 1, 2008

We really enjoyed our stay at Old Wagon. We had everything we needed in the house including bath soap and laundry supplies. How nice! Watching the Olympics on the big screen was a highlight as well as seeing bear and deer on the property! We would definitely recommend Old Wagon to friends.

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: July 16, 2008   Date of arrival: July 1, 2008

The house was perfect for our needs. We had a group of friends there, and everyone had a blast. The game room is great for adults, as well as (I'm assuming) children. One of the best weekends I can remember!

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: July 5, 2008   Date of arrival: July 1, 2008

The house was clean, spacious and very comfortable. Very quiet & relaxing! Also enjoyed the pond.

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: May 12, 2008   Date of arrival: May 12, 2008

Thank you for the use of Old Wagon Lodge. We really enjoyed our stay here. The house itself is lovely and all the additional amenities make your place a great place to stay. Again, our thanks.

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: March 24, 2008   Date of arrival: March 1, 2008

Absolutely exceptional accommodations. This was our second stay and we love it. I don't think there is anything that you could possibly want that isn't here! Each night we sat out around the fire (beautiful weather)and enjoyed the hot tub also. The game room is excellent. There wasn't enough time to enjoy everything so we plan to return once again. The whole family loved it. The girls want a bunk room at home!
Thank you so much for every thing.

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: March 21, 2008   Date of arrival: March 1, 2008

awesome place. kids loved it and so did we. we will return!

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: February 24, 2008   Date of arrival: February 1, 2008

Perfect for families. Had a wonderful time and will definitely be back.

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: February 19, 2008   Date of arrival: February 19, 2008

Thanks again for the use of your place. We all really enjoyed it.

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: February 19, 2008   Date of arrival: February 1, 2008

Perfect house for a couples getaway. Very secluded. Nice hot tub. Nice game room with plenty of space. Highly recommended.

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: February 12, 2008   Date of arrival: February 1, 2008

Very nice property. Well equipped and clean. Spacious and conmfortable. Good value with free tickets.
My party especially liked the game room and jacuzi.

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: November 13, 2007   Date of arrival: November 1, 2007

Great place. Very secluded. Hot tub, big screen, game room. What more can you say?

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: November 7, 2007   Date of arrival: November 1, 2007

This is a very nice place. Definitely recommend to friends. The owner lives nearby and is very helpful.

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: September 26, 2007   Date of arrival: September 26, 2007

Thanks for the wonderful home and location. See you on our next vacation. Take care, Mike, Fatima, Mikey, Zachary, Roxie

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: August 21, 2007   Date of arrival: August 21, 2007

Wanted to THANK you and the rest of the team for making our stay so wonderful. Everyone had a great time at Old Wagon and were thrilled to have a peaceful weekend to unwind in the mountains. All the small touches made our stay so much more confortable. The place is very well maintained and furnished with all the amenities one would need.

Thanks again for making it so memorable.

Ashish

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review