reviews for: listing #439434vb - Dominical, Costa Rica rental

Perfectly located, Stunning Views, Luxurious!
  • bedrooms  6
  • pool  yes
  • type  Estate
  • baths 
  • hot tub  no
  • sleeps  20
  • pets considered  yes

sort by:

SIMPLY AMAZING!!

Review submitted: January 24, 2014   Date of arrival: January 13, 2014

We stayed at Villa Pacifica with a group of 13 people - and everyone loved it!! We found the location excellent - close to the beach, but up on a hill with an incredible view of the ocean. The back area - including huge BBQ, table, and pool - is where we mostly hung out, enjoying the ocean view and surrounding jungle. The inside of the villa is very nice and we enjoyed the open concept of the kitchen / living room area. There's an abundance of activities in the area - including horseback riding, surfing, zip-lining, national parks, etc. etc. We found Kelley super helpful - she helped arrange some of our tours and transportation back to San Jose. Overall HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

It's all that and more

Review submitted: December 19, 2013   Date of arrival: November 16, 2013

So often you look forward to vacation and the place your staying and get there it's just not all you expected. Get ready for exact opposite with this luxurious home. It was all that is claims to be and more. We had a group of 12 adults (mostly couples) and had an absolutely awesome time. The downstairs bedrooms are totally remodeled and very tastefully done. I can't say enough about the house and anyone that stays here is going to have a vacation to remember.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Celebrate, Relax and Enjoy

Review submitted: December 16, 2013   Date of arrival: October 17, 2013

Thank you for giving us a wonderful week. The time here was treasured. May the next guests celebrate, relax and enjoy as much as we did.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

MOST ENJOYABLE PLACE WE HAVE STAYED

Review submitted: October 17, 2013   Date of arrival: October 9, 2013

This is my 15th year coming to C.R. Your home is by far the most enjoyable place we have stayed. The kids loved the pool. It was a great way to spend the off days burning off steam. The view is SPECTACULAR!!! We spent most of the evenings watching the sunsets before dinner. We will definately be back. Thank you very much for sharing your wonderful home. - Southern Alberta Canada

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Peaceful shelter from the world....

Review submitted: October 17, 2013   Date of arrival: October 1, 2013

We had a wonderful stay. 17 of us made the treck from various destinations to celebrate my father's 70th birthday. On the days, rather, the hours that we didn't spend discovering the beautiful country that is Costa Rica, we spent in the pool, splashing, laughing and remembering all the good times that our family has shared. Thank you for sharing your home ans allowing us some brief peaceful shelter from the world. - Charlotte, NC - Chapel Hill, NC - Brooklyn, NY

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

Great views, great pool, but not perfect

Review submitted: September 25, 2013   Date of arrival: June 17, 2013

The main house is very nice. The three main house bedrooms are very well furnished, have AC units, and amazing views. The living room and kitchen are not air conditioned, but being on a hill overlooking the ocean, it wasn't too bad to have the windows open all the time. The kitchen has everything you need to entertain and cook for a large group. The pool and back patio area are great and have lots of room for a big group to relax.

Like the previous reviewer stated, the lower three bedrooms are very basic and one star. If you are going with a group, those staying in the lower three bedrooms should pay half as much as those who stay in the main house. The quality of these rooms was a big disappointment upon arrival, though we got used to them. There were a few bugs, but that is to be expected in a tropical environment, so that wasn't a big deal.
Another disappointing feature of the house was beach access. The distance from the beach may be walking distance, but it is not exactly walkable. The hill down to the beach is very steep. Someone could easily get hurt making the walk. That being said, we did not find one house that was right on the beach in Dominical. This house is probably as close as you will get to the beach in Dominical. You can walk to the small surf town of Dominical, but it isn't a short walk; plus, you have the hill to conquer going down/up.

The rental agent was superb. She was outstanding and met our every need. Plus, the office is a 2 minute drive away from the house if you need to speak with her in person.

Thanks to the agent, we were put in contact with one of the nicest, most honest wedding planners/chefs that we've ever met. Romulo went through so much trouble to make our wedding as amazing as we could have hoped for. You would have thought he was organizing his own wedding. This guy should be planning events in LA. He was very reasonable in price and went well above and beyond what we could have ever expected. The four people he had helping him were top-notch as well. If you need a chef or a party/wedding organizer in Costa Rica, this is the man to call!

Overall, the stay at the house was made so great because of the people. We owe the rental agent and Romulo a ton of thanks. We would even consider going back to the same house given the relatively good price and the fact that we didn't see many other houses with the space and distance to town/beach.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

The Main Part of the House Amazing, 3 of the rooms TERRIBLE!

Review submitted: September 6, 2013   Date of arrival: August 21, 2013

I was at this home with 13 of my friends. The main home is beautiful, pool area, kitchen is great. What they don't show you are the 3 rooms not inside the house. You have to walk down the side of the house on wet slippery tile (why not put something with traction in a rainy place?!), and one of the rooms is halfway down the uneven stairs. It's ok. This room had a closet...however it was filled with random things from the house and unusable. Then you get to what my friends call Sub Basement 3A and 3B. You have to walk all the way around to the back of the house, trying not to die on the wet slippery tile, and the rooms are very low quality/basic. I was very disappointed that I was stuck in one of these rooms rather than the luxury ones in the house. Lots of bugs/spiders/scorpions were able to get inside these rooms. The rest of the house is amazing, but be prepared to live in poverty compared to the house people if you have to be in any of the outside rooms. The other problem I found is the driveway and the road leading up to the house are from hell. The steepest I have ever seen on a driveway. Kinda scary. The ocean is not that close. We had to drive because the road to get down to the main road was so slick and steep, so that was a let down when I thought the ocean was closer.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for taking time to review our villa in VRBO and thank you for your 4 OUT OF 5 STARS. This is our first year as owners and we are very proud of our house and the extensive remodeling we have done. The lower rooms have received renovations and make-overs PLEASE SEE OUR UPDATED PHOTOS. Feel free to contact the rental manager for any additional information. The majority of our guests spend their time lounging around the pool area and eating area so this was our first priority. Aside from beautification, added safety measures are being implemented for the steps, including better lighting and non skid surfaces to ensure the safety of our guests.

Helpful votes: 9 / 9

 

Best vacation to Costa Rica

Review submitted: January 18, 2013   Date of arrival: January 6, 2013

The house is amazing, the location is equally amazing , and the manager was very friendly/attentive to all our requests.. We stayed in the house with a group of 14 people and everyone of us was very pleased! It's an epic place to cook a huge meal with an unprecedented outdoor patio!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you Tim, It was our pleasure having you as our guest!!!

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

Excellent Place to Stay with big groups

Review submitted: January 9, 2013   Date of arrival: December 28, 2012

We simply love the place!!!

the house is in perfect shape!, the view couldn't be better. I was there with my family (14 people) and we just love the place! 6 bedrooms... the living room, everything was just perfect!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Owners response: Thank you Ronny, It was our pleasure assisting you!!

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review