reviews for: listing #440119vb - Las Catalinas, Costa Rica rental

Casa Pinita a beautiful home with amazing Ocean views to the Pacific!
  • bedrooms  4
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  4
  • hot tub  no
  • rates (USD)  $ 600 - $ 1,415 / night
    $ 4,000 - $ 9,905 / week
  • sleeps  11
  • pets considered  no

sort by:

Casa Pinita--Great Place to stay while in Costa Rica

Review submitted: July 16, 2014   Date of arrival: June 21, 2014

Hello all.

Everythign was perfect during our week-long vacation at Casa Pinita (Las Catalinas, Costa Rica)

Casa Pinita is a great place to relax. And it is perfect for 2 families to share. It is designed with 2 master suites on the first floor (each with en sutie bathroom); a guest room and kitchen and family room on the second floor; and on the third floor is a huge room with 6 twins beds (4 bunk and 2 trundle)--perfect for all the kids.

Each morning breakfast was prepared by the "house Mother"---an attendant provided as part of the rental. And she even kept all of our clothing washed and dried and put away. That is a feat in itself.

Casa Pinita was exactly as described on VRBO and was very clean and well maintained. On the second floor, there is a large patio with a very nice gas grill.....we made chicken and beef kebabs one evening and grilled fish another. The kitchen is great for those who like to cook....and there is a nice blender for those who like to make margaritas!

The concierge services at Las Catalinas were perfect as well. They checked in with us each day to see if we needed anything. They booked various day trips for us (sailboat ride with snorkeling, zip line, river boat cruise) and handled a rental car issue that we had and set up massage and Chef services. They directed us to local restaurants and to the local grocery stores as we needed.

Great vacation!!






I would whole-heartedly recommend this rental for a Costa Rican vacation. In fact, we will probably reserve it again in the near future.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Spectacular

Review submitted: July 13, 2014   Date of arrival: July 13, 2014

La Pinita offers a spectaular array of amenities. The beach is easily accessible opening to your own piece of paradise. Sunsets are prisms of color; sunrises warm and yawning! The sand softly touches the toes ... the ocean inviting a swim. La Pinita nestles itself quitely within that ecospace ... three stories of Costrican sand castle. My wife and I love this place!!

Recommended for: families with young children, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Understated luxury in a beachfront setting

Review submitted: July 7, 2014   Date of arrival: June 21, 2014

My Casa Pinita experience was absolutely perfect. From the moment we arrived and walked along the pedestrian-only walkways reminiscent of old Mediterranean towns, we knew coming here had been a great choice. The house's three level design with rooms and social areas on separate levels allowed everyone to have more than enough privacy and quiet when they needed it while the spacious kitchen/living room/lounge and patio area were great for socializing, barbecuing and hanging out.

We loved the understated luxury furnishings and pampering we got. Fresh handmade tortillas made from scratch and traditional "Tico" breakfast prepared by our always-smiling "house mama" Anita was a special treat. It really allowed us all to get a hands on taste of the local Pura Vida lifestyle and Costa Rican joie de vivre (or is it "je ne sais quoi"?).

The protected beach has gentle waves which is great for families with kids and the water was so clear I saw many colorful parrotfish and even a spotted eagle ray gliding gracefully beneath my Stand Up Paddleboard.

Can't wait to go back!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Costa Rican Adventure

Review submitted: July 6, 2014   Date of arrival: June 23, 2014

This was the perfect vacation home. I made a video of the best memories of my trip... feel free to watch http://youtu.be/-t43wr22rg0 .We visited Casa Pinita with a group of friends this summer. With its private beach the house is luxurious and very spacious. I enjoyed the Costa Rican people the most. The staff at Casa Pinita helped us arrange mountain biking, deep see fishing, scuba & zip lining. Brasilito is a small town 10 minutes away where you can buy groceries and enjoy meeting other locals. If you are training for a race (running, tri, swimming) this is also a spot for elite athletes. The house has its own kayak and a paddle board, I went snorkeling everyday.The food at the restaurant next door is delicious and the host Tanya will make you feel at home immediately. I recommend the ceviche mixto or the vegetarian spring roles. Casa Pinita comes with its own maid (Anita) and she is amazing, always smiling and helping you feel relaxed. I took too many clothes as I did not realize the house was fully equipped with a top of the line washer and dryer. Anita carefully washed and folded my clothes everyday. The night was very quiet so sleeping was a joy. We woke up to a fresh local tropical juice followed by amazing Costa Rican coffee and local breakfast. I have travelled to other places in South America, Europe and Asia, and nothing compares to this experience.

Recommended for: tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

I'll be back in a heartbeat

Review submitted: July 4, 2014   Date of arrival: June 20, 2014

Upon arrival

I loved how clean, safe, and incredibly comfortable the house was immediately. The beach is footsteps away and there is a wonderful restaurant beach side along the beach front promenade.

With more time

How soon can I get back, I kept thinking. Who else can I tell about this place? How smart was I for selecting this house in this part of Costa Rica.

Overall assessment

You will love the location, incredible staff, amazing beach and tropical wonderland vibe. These things definitely exceeded my expectations. I've stayed in Costa Rica before, at a private home, and the difference with this one is the staff who looked after us like family, private access to the beach, and a great community feel. The layout of the area (it's a town in the making with a surf shop, a great restaurant, and cobblestoned streets) made me feel like I was staying in a colonial town (think Old San Juan meets a Tuscan village) that happens to be part of a resort (like Club Med but with better food and no crowd).

What we did

The two beaches that are part of the property have amazing rock formations that are teaming with underwater life. Perfect for snorkeling. I saw an octopus, 100s of unique and very colorful fish, starfish, sea urchins, and I played tag with a few puffer fish. Nearby we visited small towns with lots of character, went fishing (highly recommended), and had some wonderful local meals. My friends did the tour and zip lining adventure as well. We had a bunch of cooks in the house too and we had multiple meals together in the house (easy access to supermarkets in the area, helps to speak Spanish). It was an easy kitchen to work in and had everything we needed -- we cooked our own fish, made soup, and even slow cooked a brisket on the outside grill. We were in food heaven. The mornings were fruit and a neat "Tico" breakfast prepared by our wonderful head house lady, Anita.

I'm coming back. This home is a real treat.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Both Inviting and Elegant

Review submitted: March 25, 2014   Date of arrival: July 6, 2013

I stayed at Casa Pinita as part of a large group, including numerous children, in July of 2013. Both CP itself and Las Catalinas as a whole exceeded our expectations. We would love to visit again in the future!

Many beach condos I have stayed in over the years were overpriced relative to how updated the property was. Not so with CP. It is newly built, and, as such, is in great shape. Its design and décor exudes a comfortable Central American sensibility. On the ground level are two bedrooms with attached baths, a courtyard, and an outdoor shower. The middle level is the heart of the property. It includes a fantastically equipped kitchen, a living area, and a large kitchen table. I would also be remiss if I did not mention the wonderful selection of books and games arrayed on the wood shelving behind the television. A patio area on this level that overlooks the development was also a hub of social activity, as we cooked several meals on the grill during our week there. The middle level also includes a small study/nanny suite with attached full bath. Finally, the upstairs provided a wonderland for children in our group. With four bunk beds and two trundle beds, we were comfortably able to sleep all of the children upstairs.

Our “house mama” was a great amenity. She cooked us a traditional Costa Rican breakfast each morning, as well as guacamole in the afternoon. Absolutely delicious. The staff at Las Catalinas were also extremely helpful and responsive, both in resolving minor issues with the condo, and in recommending local attractions. In particular, we enjoyed zip lining at Hacienda Guachipelin and a catamaran snorkeling trip. Also not to be missed is hiking on the trails above Las Catalinas; the views are magnificent.

All in all, a top notch property and development that will only get better as time passes. The contingent staying in CP was part of a larger group of 25; more than a few of our party enjoyed the stay so much that they looked into purchasing one of the units at Las Catalinas. It was definitely a memorable vacation.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Absolute Paradise!

Review submitted: February 25, 2014   Date of arrival: February 16, 2014

We just returned from a weeklong stay at Casa Pinita, which was pure heaven and wishing I was there still! It was three couples and the house is perfect for a mixed group as you have common areas as well as your own space - the second floor open air patio is amazing. The house is absolutely gorgeous with everything you could ever need/think of, all of which is top of the line. The setting is beautiful beyond words can describe - we watched the sun set every night either from the beach or third floor balcony (and saw monkeys every night at this time, which was an added bonus!). The beach is pristine and never crowded - there were always open hammocks and beach chairs. Lots of activities at hand including SUP, kayaking, trails, etc. And venturing out into the neighboring beaches/towns was super easy and fun to explore.

The service and friendliness of the staff and 'house mom' were unparalleled. We started every day with a traditional Costa Rica breakfast (eggs, rice and beans, and handmade tortillas) or fresh fruit smoothies and came home every afternoon to homemade guacamole and pico de gallo. The staff can take care of anything you need (groceries, directions, booking excursions, etc) and we were utterly pampered the entire time. Everyone is friendly and is truly interested in helping make your stay the most amazing as possible. They all go above and beyond - from the time you make a reservation until the moment you drive away. I truly can't say enough positive things about the people that make this exceptional community that much better.

Everything was perfect and we could not have asked for a better place to stay. A wonderful change from a typical resort visit and felt like home for a week. Can't wait to go back!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Hi Laura,

Thank you so much for your amazing words! It was great to meet you and we are all glad to be able to make your stay so unique and wonderful! we hope to see you again soon!

Regards,

Las Catalinas team

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Effortless beauty and relaxation

Review submitted: February 19, 2014   Date of arrival: January 23, 2014

From the moment we walked through the door the entire experience at Casa Pinita exceeded our expectations. The house is beautiful and spacious! The entire resort staff is welcoming, and went above and beyond to make sure our stay was perfect. From morning hikes, to lazy afternoons on a beautiful beach, to watching the sunset from the back porch with a glass of wine - we were in HEAVEN! Will for sure go back!

Owners response: Hi,

Thank you very much for your lovely feedback! It is really a pleasure for us to have you stayed with us.
I do hope we will see you again in the near future!

Regards,

Las Catalinas Team

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A perfect vacation

Review submitted: January 8, 2014   Date of arrival: November 26, 2013

We spent the week of Thanksgiving at Casa Pinita with a group of friends and family. It was a perfect vacation. Casa Pinita is amazing. It is a beautiful home with all the amenities you could ask for. It is so comfortable and we were really able to relax there. We were pampered by the friendly staff, and we enjoyed cooking in the awesome fully equipped kitchen, but we also ate some delicious food at the Greenhouse restaurant. The beach is beautiful and never crowded. Our 2 year old loved playing on the beach and he enjoyed 3 hour naps in his quiet, air conditioned room in Casa Pinita. We can't wait to go back!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Luxurious character & comfort

Review submitted: January 6, 2014   Date of arrival: November 28, 2013

We stayed at Casa Pinita for a long weekend with large group of friends. We were very impressed with the beautiful house with lots of character. It was great to have so much space to share with our party, and also the possibility to get a quiet moment in your own suite. The maid service was amazing - not only was the house perfectly clean at all times, we even had delicious fresh tortillas every morning!
The house is very close to the beach, which was never crowded and has a great shade so you can hang out all hours of the day.

Recommended for: families with young children, romantic getaway

Owners response: Hi Rocio,

Thank you very much for your review!
We are happy to know that you enjoyed your stay, definetely Casa Pinita has a lot of character!
We hope that you can come back to visit us in the near future.

Best regards,

Las Catalinas Team

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Fantastic Place in an Amazing Location

Review submitted: December 30, 2013   Date of arrival: November 26, 2013

This is a wonderful house in the superbly designed and executed Las Catalinas Development. Not everyone may care about this, but as an architect and engineer, we were extremely impressed by the quality of construction, design and attention to detail of the development and the house itself. It feels like being in a spanish colonial Carribean outpost, but with all the modern conveniences. Instead of cars and noise, home are separated by landscaped alleys and courtyards with fountains. The beaches are excellent for exploring, and very uncrowded. The restaurant associated with the development is excellent and a good value, and the staff were super friendly and professional. Casa Pinita has great common spaces for social time, and super quiet, private bedrooms for when you want some quiet - perfect for for a mix a couples with and without kids.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Hi Tim,

Thank you very much for your review. We appreciate your comments and you observation on the design of the houses and the town, we always make sure to think of all the small details to be able to portrait our vision of Las Catalinas town.
We hope we can see you again visiting us!

Best regards,

Las Catalinas Team

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Casa Pinita is the paradise of paradise.

Review submitted: November 14, 2013   Date of arrival: August 15, 2013

The house is spectacular and beautifully decorated with unique details and finishes that make a rainy afternoon a welcome opportunity to stay indoors. We were traveling with young children and appreciated the close proximity of the house to the safe swimming beach. It was easy to run back and forth between the house and the beach for lunch or forgotten items. The neighbors, staff and store/restaurant teams were welcoming and warm. Really, an incredible house in a unforgettable place.

Recommended for: families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Paradise to enjoy

Review submitted: September 15, 2013   Date of arrival: August 21, 2013

Our stay at Casa Pinita was amazing, we enjoy the view, the house, the rest. The house is pretty amazing, we found everything we need. The maid help was very polite and helpful. We highly recommend this extraordinary house.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Best Ever.

Review submitted: August 25, 2013   Date of arrival: June 22, 2013

The Accommodations at Casa Pinita were superb. All the amenities of home were available. Natural
views were AWESOME! The maid service was great, very friendly. We highly recommend to the
WHOLE FAMILY. Very happy to be there, it was PARADISE on earth.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Paradise Found!

Review submitted: August 25, 2013   Date of arrival: July 28, 2013

My husband and three kids (10, 8, 5 yrs) stayed at Casa Pinita. Wow! It is a brand new house with the most amazing decor stocked with every item you would ever need. The kitchen is a gourmet kitchen I wanted to cook in, even on vacation. It was a luxurious home with all the modern conveniences in a beautiful development along the best beach in Costa Rica. It was just steps to the beach with the perfect waves for our three girls to play in with the supplied boogie boards from Casa Pinita. I think my favorite part of Casa Pinita was the "house mama" that came with our rental. She was a sweet Costa Rican lady who did all the cleaning, laundry, cooked the best breakfast, and even babysat our girls. Casa Pinata is close to Tamarindo and Flamingo as well as the Liberia airport. We loved it so much we considered buying a place in Las Catalinas. You cannot go wrong by planning your next stay at Casa Pinita! We will definitely be back!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Paradise Found

Review submitted: May 27, 2013   Date of arrival: February 18, 2013

From the moment we walked in the door, we fell in love. Stunning setting just yards from the beach, with every modern and brand new amenity. European charm with every American convenience, spotlessly clean. Kitchen is large with every appliance you would want, and the living room is cozy and just like home. Multiple outdoor decks with fabulous views and a great grill. You can cook your own gourmet meals, hire someone to cook for you or go to the one restaurant built so far within walking distance, or drive to very nice restaurants in nearby towns. Room for two or three families, with a kids' room upstairs and parents either next door upstairs or in privacy downstairs. Drive from Liberia airport is not too far, but there are two routes, and the shorter route definitely requires four wheel drive and is a bit of a rugged but fun adventure through streambeds and some steep rocky patches.

The nearby beach is placid and beautiful, great for kayaking. Wildlife is everywhere, birds, iguanas and monkeys. The staff is always attentive and charming, and the "house mama" who made breakfast, did laundry and kept everything impeccable was kind and funny.

We stayed in the highest end hotels elsewhere in Costa Rica (Arenal and Manuel Antonio), and Casa Pinita was much, much, much nicer. Newer, cleaner, bug-free and mildew-free. The photos on this site are beautiful but truly don't do the place justice. We had to drag our kids away kicking and screaming after two nights, and only wish that we could have stayed far longer!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Stunning getaway!

Review submitted: November 18, 2012   Date of arrival: October 24, 2012

I was so fortunate to be able to stay at this BEAUTIFUL beach getaway. The house itself is incredible, and is perfect for any type of group. Families with kids, couples traveling together, girls/guys retreats, even honeymooners...Casa Pinita would be comfortable and wonderful for any vacation.

From the moment we arrived at the property, we were well taken care of by a friendly, bilingual staff who genuinely care about their guests. We loved our quiet mornings drinking coffee on the porch listening to the ocean. Our afternoons consisted of swimming, paddle boarding (you can rent any water sport equipment from the on-site outfitter!), enjoying the beautiful beach (3 minute walk from Casa Pinita), and exploring the secret bays along the shore to the north. Lola's restaurant for lunch is a MUST! It was always great after a long day to come back to a clean house, as the "House Mama" always took such good care of us and the house. The evenings were full of cooking and music (iPod docks throughout the house!), and were always so restful.

There are many places to adventure and explore near Las Catalinas, and it is so fun to see the culture around you.

Would not trade our time at Casa Pinita for anything. We could not have asked for a more perfect place to spend our time! Hope to go back soon!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Wonderful!

Review submitted: November 16, 2012   Date of arrival: October 24, 2012

Beautiful!! The pictures and description of Casa Pinita are just a small taste of what you get to experience! My week long stay at Casa Pinita during the said, "rainy" season was full of sunshine, beautiful beach weather, helpful bi-lingual staff who were always available, and a wonderful home to lounge in after a day of adventuring or playing at the beach. Casa Pinita was fully equipped to meet all my vacationing needs and the staff was quick to ask if there was anything else they could help with! I recommend catching breakfast or lunch at Lola's after your morning cup of coffee on the beautiful porch!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great house for friends or families!

Review submitted: October 17, 2012   Date of arrival: September 28, 2012

I recently had the opportunity to stay at this house and it was awesome! It is totally set up (as it is owned by a family with young children) to be the ulltimate family house...but is stylish and adults traveling together would enjoy it just as much. The bunk room at the top is any child's dream with 4 colorful exotic bunks and 2 trundles. But beware - your kids will never want to leave! The 2 bedrooms downstairs are so comfortable and the living/dining/kitchen great room is a great place to hang around. I want that dining table in my own house...where can I get it?? The small library with the fold-out bed is great for the single friend, nanny or grandparent. The patio is set up perfectly for entertaining and sitting outside with your wine, listening to the water and the monkeys (yes, there are monkeys hanging out in the trees!).

The house is the perfect comfortable retreat to return to when you finish paddleboarding (the on-site outfitter will get you all squared away) in the cove or hanging out at Lola's for a relaxing lunch (the on-site restaurant...it is so delish - I keep thinking about that pizza I had:). Our "house mama" (woman who is in charge of the housekeeping for the home) was so kind and on top of all of our needs. We felt completely pampered which is what we wanted from our beach vacation. She can even make breakfast for you!

Transit to the house was an easy 40 minutes from Liberia where the airport is airconditioned and beautifully newly remodeled. Since this is just a 3 hour flight from the US (Houston)...we will definitely be back and would 100% stay at this residence again!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Paradise

Review submitted: October 17, 2012   Date of arrival: July 13, 2012

A little touch of Europe in Costa Rica! Wow. This idyllic escape far exceeded my expectations. The facility was spectacular, the people were friendly, the views amazing, and the paddleboarding in the quaint little cove was great.

Recommended for: families with young children

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

"Awesome Casa Pinita"

Review submitted: October 16, 2012   Date of arrival: October 13, 2012

My husband and I spent four wonderful days at LC's Casa Pinita. The description in the listing is more than accurate, both about the location and the house. We are anxious to return with the family soon.
The cleaning team was so efficient, with many details i.e. flowers in every corner of the house, local newspaper brought to us each morning ( as we requested ), fresh linens and towels, etc. The management personnel was always helpful, friendly. Sunsets and evenings on the beach ( 3mins. walk from Casa Pinita were a fantastic bonus!). Yes, we definitely recommend this experience for families, friends, honeymooners, and anyone looking for a special vacation.
linens and towels, including kitchen

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review