reviews for: listing #441222vb - Bermuda, Caribbean rental

Gorgeous Ocean and Golf Views! Beautiful, Convenient, and Spacious.
  • bedrooms  4
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • rates (USD)  $ 525 - $ 650 / night
  • sleeps  12
  • pets considered  no

sort by:

Just What the Doctor Ordered

Review submitted: July 1, 2014   Date of arrival: June 17, 2014

The Four C's enhanced the paradise feel of Bermuda. Walk into this spacious property and put your feet up. Yes, there is a modern kitchen with appliances that invite you to dine at home, but there are also wonderful restaurants within walking distance. The four boys in our party enjoyed grilling hamburgers and hotdogs on the barbecue and then lounging afterwards on the outdoor furniture. My niece and I basked in the sun on the private beach, and swam daily in the calm, clear, and warm water. The sunsets there with a cocktail in hand put an exclamation mark at the end of each day. Everybody associated with managing the Four C's was friendly and helpful, aiming to please us. I loved staying close to the challenging 3-par golf course and accompanying the boys for 18 holes. The flowers, views, and diverse wildlife add to the pleasure of a round. My niece and I rode the bus to the dockyard, Hamilton, and Somerset Bridge. We kayaked, played mini-golf at the academy, and hiked the railway trails. There is something for everyone lucky enough to book the Four C's.

Recommended for: families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

The Four C's

Review submitted: May 14, 2014   Date of arrival: May 1, 2014

Staying at the Four C's was exactly as described it would be. Very spacious, lots of room for a larger group and easy access to nearby restaurants, beaches, etc. In addition the owners were always prompt with answers to questions and inquiries.

Bermuda is a beautiful island and the people are wonderful. This was our fourth time to the Island but our first in Southampton Parish. The scenery is beautiful and no matter where you go Bermuda never disappoints.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Beautiful home

Review submitted: May 5, 2014   Date of arrival: April 27, 2014

We came to Bermuda with three other couples and enjoyed our stay at this home. It was a close walk to the beach, golfing, a couple of restaurants and the bus stop to get us around. IT was very spacious, clean and had a beautiful view of the golf course and water. Our only suggestion would be to add some beach towels, a few more kitchen towels and wash cloths and pot holders. Otherwise our stay was great!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Excellent experience at beautiful house!

Review submitted: April 2, 2014   Date of arrival: October 24, 2013

We had a wonderful vacation at the 4Cs. We (family of 4) were vacationing with friends of ours (family of 5) who we don't see often, and this was the perfect house for us! The kids were able to play and do there own thing, and the adults were able to catch up, with the little ones nearby. We visited the private beach everyday and were able to get around the island via taxi and bus quite easily. Thanks to Cari and Carol for making it such an easy and great experience!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great Experience!

Review submitted: April 2, 2014   Date of arrival: March 29, 2014

Cari was very helpful in organizing everything the house was just perfect for us to spend the long weekend. Highly recommend this place.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great vacation

Review submitted: October 30, 2013   Date of arrival: October 10, 2013

Our family vacation exceeded our expectations, beginning with the wonderful accommodations provided by our host owners. They were friendly, helpful and professional. The home turned out to be even better than depicted in the pictures and description on-line. We were 6 adults and 2 small children and there was lots of room. The location and amenities were great too. We could not have asked for anything more. We would have no hesitation in recommending this property to anyone travelling to Bermuda. Thank you for making our time together as a family such a joy.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Thermuda 40

Review submitted: September 23, 2013   Date of arrival: September 19, 2013

It was my 40th birthday and we had a wonderful time. Based on the recommendation from Cari, we made our taxi arrangements through Sylvia Wilson at Trinity Transport. We arrived at the airport and Mrs. Wilson was waiting for us. On the way to the house she played tour guide and also stopped at the grocery store. The house is beautiful with plenty of room for my party of 8. My original group had exceeded the maximum occupancy but was reduced as a few friends dropped out. Without me having to ask, an envelope was provided to refund this fee. With access to a private beach and just steps away from the lighthouse the Four C's is a wonderful place to stay. Thanks to Cari and family for our great visit to Bermuda. Sincerely Tom Lakin

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

5 stars for the 4 C's

Review submitted: August 21, 2013   Date of arrival: August 10, 2013

Three generations of our family stayed at the lovely "4 C's." The four bedrooms and large living spaces were perfect for the 11 of us; the location is beautiful, the home is better than the pictures reveal - really excellent. The neighborhood is great. The lighthouse is 2 minutes away and has a great restaurant and amazing views. Henry VIII's restaurant and the "Pantry" are very convenient. The beach at Cross Bay was often deserted and always great for swimming and even snorkeling. One day we visited the Fairmont's beach (nice, but packed) and gazed longingly at our own empty "private" beach across the way. A hint: walk the back way to the Fairmont's rear entrance and catch the free shuttle to their beach next to Horseshoe Bay. Every person we met was friendly and welcoming, especially Karen who was around to greet us and help us get settled. Definitely, highly recommended!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Ideal location in beautiful villa

Review submitted: August 13, 2013   Date of arrival: July 25, 2013

We were 2 families with 4 adults and 3 children ages 11, 9 and 1. The whole Hassell family was kind, accommodating, and warm. The house location is ideal for exploring, as it was 25 mins on the bus to Hamilton or the Dockyard. I highly recommend using Sylvia Wilson for all of your taxi transportation, but plan ahead because she gets busy. Ask to stop for bus passes and at the supermarket on your way from airport.

The villa was large and comfortable, a short walk to Henry IV and the pantry (definitely get the chicken and the fish chowder- both were amazing!) and then about 10 mins. further down the road to the private beach. Or you can walk down to Cross Bay Rd and take the private stairs (all 130 of them). The beach was stunning and very private, with chairs waiting for you.

The guys played golf at Belmont Hills and Port Royal (Belmont was ok, but they raved about Port Royal). We rented a pontoon from Somerset Bridge Watersports and explored private island beaches, and a shipwreck for 4 hours. This was really a highlight and I definitely recommend it!

I have rented houses and condos around the world (Hawaii, Santa Monica, San Diego, Captiva Island, Marco Island, Islamorada, Orlando, Cape May, and Venice, Italy) and I can say this was the best rental experience I have ever had in regards to the service provided by the Hassell family.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Beautiful, Convenient Home away from Home

Review submitted: August 10, 2013   Date of arrival: July 10, 2013

The Four C's was excellent and my party thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We arrived late at night but still had a great welcome. The house is well maintained with all the modern cons and very clean. It is in a good location with a golf course, beach, bus stop and great pub with food just a few minutes from the house. Gibbs Lighthouse is also within walking distance and offers great views of the Island, it also has a good resturant. I would highly recommend this house to my family & friends and would most certainly stay there when we return to Bermuda. Thank you Four C's

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Amazing Trip

Review submitted: July 14, 2013   Date of arrival: July 3, 2013

The house was perfect for our group of 8. We will definitely come back and make annual trips to Bermuda! The owners were extremely friendly and helpful providing guidebooks, maps, suggestions, transportation contacts and an amazing house during our stay. The location was great, we were close to the private beach, lighthouse, Fairmont Southampton (where we went scuba diving). The house was clean and spacious and had everything we needed for an unforgettable trip. The Pantry has delicious chicken just as the owner suggested. (We went twice and actually pre-ordered since they are sold out early)

I've already recommended this property to friends and family and can't wait to come back. Thank you for such a wonderful getaway!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: We are always happy to be able to host great people. Look forward to your return next year. And we have added quite a few of the things your group suggested.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Awesome Stay!

Review submitted: July 12, 2013   Date of arrival: July 3, 2013

My friends and I (total of 8) stayed over at the 4 C's and we had an amazing time there. The house was very clean, walking distance to the beach, and close to golf course and the lighthouse. The owners were super nice and even invited us to their bbq. We had a packed schedule due to our limited time so unfortunately we couldnt attend but they were so nice and checked in on us every now and then to make sure we had everything we need. Great experience, easy to deal with, clean, spacious,and will def go back again. Will recommened to my family and friends. Thanks for the great experience!

Owners response: It is our special privilege to be able share not only our house, but also our most Beautiful Island with you. Your return is eagerly anticipated. You will be able to enjoy our outdoor patio dinning set when you return. Dine with the ocean and golf course in view!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Our 1st family vacation in Bermuda

Review submitted: June 24, 2013   Date of arrival: June 15, 2013

We will definitely return! The house was very clean and comfortable and the location was great! Lighthouse is right outside your doorstep. You can choose to walk to horseshoe beach and church bay if you want a little exercise. Bring comfortable working shoes. We went on a great fishing trip and caught our dinner that night. the kids met some locals and had a great time cliff jumping with them. everyone is extremely friendly on the island. after long days exploring the island it was great to know that you were coming home to such a spacious and comfortable home. the big screen tv was a plus to watch the stanley cup finals! Thank you again to the hassells for sharing their home with us!

Owners response: Always a pleasure to give great accommodations to great people! So glad that you could take advantage of the amazing activities our area has to offer. Chartering a boat for fishing is an awesome way to see the Island from a different perspective. Locals love visitors that want to have a good time and enjoy the Island. Most likely they will give you little tid bits of info that you cannot get anywhere else. So be sure to be friendly and make new friends for life. Your Island Adventure awaits you!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

House & Location

Review submitted: June 16, 2013   Date of arrival: May 31, 2013

We have just returned to Ireland following a family wedding in Bermuda. We (six adults & a baby) stayed at the ' Four Cs' for two weeks. What a fabulous house & location! A home away fom home.
The listed description definitely understates the excellence of this house & it's location. Gibb's Hill Lighthouse, King Henry VIII pub/restaurant, bus stop, beach & golf club all within easy walking distance for all ages. Large open plan living space with four large bedrooms, all meticulously clean throughout. If you don't feel like going to the beach you can top up your tan from a spacious balcony (with sea view) which gets the sun from morning to evening. Cari ( the owner) is a lovely lady and very helpful as indeed were the neighbours. A visit to the lighthouse is a must; the views from the top are spectacular. Henry's (the pub) provided good food & craic which we sampled on most evenings during our stay. Thank you Cari for allowing us to stay in your house which really added to a fantastic holiday. If you are planning to go to Bermuda I can unreservedly recommend The Four Cs. Hopefully we can return in the future.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Owners response: Exceeding your expectations is our number one priority. Once you arrive, it is your home to enjoy and explore. And there is plenty of space to do just that inside and out. Wether small children, teenagers, or adults you will have plenty to do. Our local neighborhood is brimming with fun and exciting things to do and sights to see. Please come back and enjoy our Spectacular Little Island..... like its your first time!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great House & Location

Review submitted: May 30, 2013   Date of arrival: May 23, 2013

We ended up renting this house at the last minute because another house we had reserved had to be taken off the market for serious repairs. What a great fortune it turned out to be. The location is great- you can walk to a great private beach or take a moped ride (2-3 minutes) to Horseshoe Beach. The house is right next to the Gibbs Hill Lighthouse & Fairmont Southhampton in a quiet area.

The house is updated in every way-- everything was in beautiful shape. Cari and Carol are a pleasure to deal with and are professional hosts.

I'd highly recommend this property to families and groups-- the only configuration which might not work would be 4 couples since one of the bedrooms has limited access to a bathroom and no closet (it works fine for kids).

The house is open and spacious with lots of square footage. Believe or not, the pictures don't really do it justice.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: We are glad your seeming misfortune, in the end turned out to be very FORTUNATE!
Our proximity to local attractions is definitely a plus for all of our visitors. It was a pleasure to be able to to take care of you and your family and be assured we are working on getting some closet space for our 4th bedroom.
We aim to meet and exceed our guests expectations. Thank you for giving us just that opportunity.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

We'll be back...........

Review submitted: April 29, 2013   Date of arrival: April 18, 2013

The house is amazing. Very large and meticulously clean. We were met by the homeowner Cari (Carole and Calvin's son) who gave us a tour of the house and joined us for a game of golf after we settled in. The location in Southampton is perfect for access to the whole island. We have stayed in hotels in the area (Princess, Reefs) and this was by far a better solution for 6 men enjoying a golf/fishing getaway. Cari's suggestion for fishing with Captain Sinclair Lambe on his boat Megabucks was awesome. We had a great Wahoo & Tuna dinner back at the house. We golfed at Belmont, Port Royal and Riddles Bay and all were a treat. Fantastic time had by all!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I would recomend this house to anyone and we will return as soon as we can.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Glenn, we are glad you and the guys had a good time. My dad and I enjoyed hanging out on the golf course with you. So happy that the house was to your liking. We hope you come back real soon.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review