reviews for: listing #44148 - Vilano Beach, Florida Apartment rental

Surfside Retreat - Unit A
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  no
  • type  Apartment
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $175 - $250 /nt
    $850 - $1,200 /wk
    $1,800 - $2,600 /mth

sort by:

Great place

Review submitted: May 10, 2014   Date of arrival: February 1, 2014

Very nice place to stay. Nice landlady.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, people with disabilities, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Spring Break 2013

Review submitted: March 13, 2013   Date of arrival: March 1, 2013

Bellissimo! An idyllic house on the ocean!

Owners response: Always happy to share this beauty and peacefulness with others!!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

The real Florida

Review submitted: January 13, 2013   Date of arrival: January 4, 2013

While we were planning our trip through Florida we almost cancelled the stop in St.Augustin. Good thing we didn´t! Of all the things we got to see(Disney, Miami,Everglades,the Gulf Coast) we liked Vilano Beach the best.
The place is unbelievably beautiful. Every morning while enjoying our morning coffee in the sun there was a dolphin familly swimming by. The perfect place for Beach lovers.
In short: quiet,clean,friendly owner, good kitchen, close super market,20 min. walk on the beach to the resturants on the south end of vilano beach, alot to see in St.Augustine,good base for exploring north and central Florida.
When we come back to the USA we will definetly stop here again!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: The mornings out on the deck listening to the waves hitting the beach is so wonderful to hear as you sit, relax and meditate.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Beautiful View

Review submitted: December 3, 2012   Date of arrival: November 2, 2012

This was our first time traveling as a family to Florida so we were nervous about renting a place but the owner was very sweet and put us at ease by answering all our questions. My husband and I traveled with our daughter and his mom and the place was perfect for all of us. We defiantly recommend this place with its beautiful view to anyone wanting to come to Florida.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: It's nice to share the beauty and also meet beautiful people!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Surfside Retreat - Unit A

Review submitted: August 9, 2012   Date of arrival: July 16, 2012

I absolutely LOVED the place! Fit the description as advertised perfect! it was clean, roomy enough for the three of us and our dog, well kept, comfortable and had everything we needed including a grill! I loved the walkway from the back door straight down to the beach! So convenient! It was quiet, nice next door neighbors, beds slept well and the kitchen was perfect. love the fenced in area outside of the door for our dog to go out. We were there several days without anyone renting the next door unit or upstairs unit so it was very very quiet. After the upstairs renters arrived we could hear them but it didn't bother us. The next door renters moved in the day before we left but we never even heard them. Loved that there was ample parking and not having to walk a long way to bring groceries in etc. Felt totally safe there! loved the Publix right down the street. Loved the fact that there wasn't tons of traffic and not a far drive at all into St. Augusttine. My husband and son enjoyed surf fishing. Ms. Sally was a total pleasure to do business with! Wish I was there right now! Would definitely go there again! Hope we can return next year for vacation. Would be happy to recommend this place to friends/family.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly

Owners response: I just love meeting new tenants, first by phone, and then they arrive and I get to meet the actual person behind the voice. I must hold back sometime because I seem to want to become their best friend forgetting that they are here on vacation and not here to entertain me. I just always want them to feel very welcome and comfortable, like they have arrived at their summer home.

Sally

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

We never want to leave!

Review submitted: July 22, 2012   Date of arrival: May 23, 2012

Shhhh…don’t tell anyone where we are as we don’t want to spoil how wonderful it is for us to be here!
We just love this hideaway and work hard to come every chance we get. We’ve been coming here for years both for the wonderful units, beach and town. It is just perfect for us and ever so relaxing as there is everything you need for a wonderful relaxing time. This well-kept unit is just perfectly detailed for your comfort away from home. Wi Fi is a plus if you must bring the laptop as well as a phone for local calls. There is a DVD player for your enjoyment after a day of fun in the sun or shopping. This location offers something for everyone as there is the beach and the history in the old town only 10 minutes away across the bridge! Numerous restaurants are available for everyone’s taste and budget; that’s if you can pull yourself away from the beach and cottage. Watch the beautiful sunrises over the ocean right outside your back door on the walkway to the ocean and if you are lucky you’ll also witness the dolphins swimming just feet from the shore! Prepare to relax, unwind and get off the “treadmill” while lodging here and all the units attached; before you know it you will feel the lines softening on your face and a real smile spreading across your lips!
Sally works hard to afford you a perfect stay and memory in her units so you won’t be disappointed and that you, like us, will always want to return!
Cathy & Nick

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: I have awakened for seventeen years to a beautiful sunrise...even a storm on the ocean can be beautiful to watch. As you arrive you will feel so much tension leave your body. This is what I wish to share!!!

Sally

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

We plan to come back!

Review submitted: July 6, 2012   Date of arrival: May 5, 2012

This location is perfect. The beach is just out the door and down the walkway.
The accomodations were wonderful and Sally was very accomodating. The Villano Beach area is very relaxed with good restaurants -- we enjoyed Katy's and Cap's. and the Publix supermarket is just a mile down the road along with other restaurants and the pier. We enjoyed going over the bridge to St. Augustine which I think is one of my favorite cities. And we especially enjoyed the fact that after being in the city of St. Augustine the easy drive acroos the bridge to Vilano Beach was like a completely different world -- very relaxed and beachy. Customer Service was wonderful and we were nicely surprised that wherever we went there was local live music. Very fun and relaxing time. We do plan to come back and hopefully can talk the family into renting Sally's other units.

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wish we could have stayed longer

Review submitted: April 13, 2012   Date of arrival: March 29, 2012

Our only regret is that we only booked the unit for two nights. The unit was great and a fine size for us. We had two adults in the main bedroom, 3 kids in the twin bed room, and a teenager on the sofabed. There's a good counter to set up the laptop for work if needed. Plenty of room especially with the beautiful beach just at the end of a short boardwalk. We played in the surf, found sharks teeth at the beach and visited town. Could have stayed the whole week and not run out of fun activities. There's a grocery store a short drive away too so couldn't ask for a better location. Sally was incredibly friendly and helpful as were the renters in the unit next to us. And Sally returned our deposit quicker than any other owner ever has before! We'll go back again if we can!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Owners response: I am always thrilled when a renter enjoys their stay at the beach. I feel like I have known them for a while because I speak to them, generally, several times before they make the trip to St. Augustine, either by phone or email. I love people and I want them to have the same enjoyment at Surfside that I have over the years.
Sally

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wish we could have stayed longer

Review submitted: April 13, 2012   Date of arrival: March 29, 2012

Our only regret is that we only booked the unit for two nights. The unit was great and a fine size for us. We had two adults in the main bedroom, 3 kids in the twin bed room, and a teenager on the sofabed. There's a good counter to set up the laptop for work if needed. Plenty of room especially with the beautiful beach just at the end of a short boardwalk. We played in the surf, found sharks teeth at the beach and visited town. Could have stayed the whole week and not run out of fun activities. There's a grocery store a short drive away too so couldn't ask for a better location. Sally was incredibly friendly and helpful as were the renters in the unit next to us. We'll go back again if we can!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Only steps to the beach

Review submitted: September 9, 2011   Date of arrival: September 2, 2011

We were thrilled to find this property as we found ourselves trying to locate a property for a last minute mini-vacation. We found the owner very pleasant and courteous and after several phone conversations, actually felt as if were speaking with an old friend. The property was very clean and well equipped for everything. The kitchen was fully equipped for cooking your own meals; however very convenient to area restaurants and shopping. We LOVED the fact that you could simply walk out the back door and be on the beach. No ice chest to drag out for refreshments as you could be back in the kitchen in minutes. Also convenient for the non-beach loving males that had rather chill in AC and watch football on TV...everyone could do what they loved but still be a part of the group. We love the beach and have stayed many times, however, have stayed in large condo units in the past due to the reputation. No more, this property had all you could ever ask for and we loved the fact that the funds were going to a local family and local community instead of whomever from wherever. We absolutely loved this property and it was an absolute pleasure to make arrangements. We will be back!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Wonderful Stay

Review submitted: July 23, 2011   Date of arrival: July 1, 2011

We stayed at Surfside Retreat in July with out two teenage girls (and a German exchange student), and had a great time. The location (as close to the surf as you're going to get!) is perfect. All furniture and amenities were in good shape, and the deck was our favorite spot. The owner was a pleasure to deal with. We look forward to returning!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Beach House Summer Fun

Review submitted: July 15, 2011   Date of arrival: June 18, 2011

If you are looking for a retreat to leave your worries behind and relax, and recharge your body-clock batteries, this is it. The Atlantic Ocean is right outside your back door. We were lucky enough to be there for a full-moon rise... not to mention the morning sunrises everyday. The property is well maintained... there is a gas grill outside, a washer and dryer, picnic tables (with beach umbrellas), beach lounge chairs, and your own boardwalk to the ocean. One year when we were there, a nor'easter brought the tide so high, it washed up and over the bottom steps to the beach! It was great. Great food is right there on Vilano Beach (Caps), and St. Augustine is just across the bridge... to the mainland... if you must leave the beach. This is the summer getaway to leave the crowds behind, the trips in the elevator at the hotel, including the crowded parking lots.

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A GREAT Family Vacation at Surfside Retreat

Review submitted: June 30, 2011   Date of arrival: June 10, 2011

My best friend was getting married at the Serenata Beach Club and my family (my husband, 2 kids, and myself) needed an affordable place to stay in Vilano Beach. Thank goodness I found the Surfside Retreat! We stayed in Condo "A" which is a 2 bedroom 1 bathroom section of the building. Everything we needed was there, clean, and and ready to use. We saved so much money on our vacation by going to Winn Dixie and cooking at "home"! And it really does start to feel like home it's so comfortable! Just a few of the amenities we used everyday...TV, DVD, Wi-Fi, Propane Grill, DISHWASHER and WASHER AND DRYER(this was a godsend ladies!) Sally (owner) made sure we had everything we needed. She even happened to be there when my husband was feeling under the weather and she was able to suggest an urgent care facility (Solantic, across from Flagler Hospital, Walgreens right next door for Rx). They had him feeling better that night, just in time to go to SeaWorld the next day! The kids had a great time at the beach...just down your own private boardwalk! The shell hunting was a blast and after kids went to bed my husband and I even got private time at the end of the boardwalk on the benches to enjoy the moon and some time alone, together! If we ever make it out to the St. Augustine are again, we know just where we will be staying...Surfside Retreat!

Thank you so much! We had a GREAT Family Vacation!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Stay With Family

Review submitted: November 6, 2010   Date of arrival: October 16, 2010

My Aunt comes in from Colorado annually and loves to stay at the beach.. Surfside Retreat is just minutes away from Historic Downtown Saint Augustine with all of the wonderful things there is to do there.. The home is right on the beach and less than one hundred feet from Shell Hunter Heaven.. It is quiet and extremely relaxing.. We saw amazing sunrises and enjoyed a very clean beach.. If you are looking for a nice place to unplug and unwind, then look no further..

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Vilano Beach has a lot of shells and sharks teeth. You could spend hours walking the beach looking for your treasures.
Sally

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Surfsidw retreat Unit a

Review submitted: August 3, 2010   Date of arrival: March 30, 2010

We were in need of a place to stay in Jacksonville because I was a patient at the Mayo Clinic and had appointments from Tuesday to Tuesday. Sally was the only owner who showed compassion for us and allowed us to have the condo from Tues. to Tues. The condo was right on the beach. It was clean, well maintained and the description and pictures shown on this website were very accurate. A gas grill was available so we could use it and have dinner on the patio looking out at the sunset. I would highly recommend this condo to friends. We hope to rent it again in the near future."

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Surfside Retreat Unit A

Review submitted: August 3, 2010   Date of arrival: March 30, 2010

"We were in need of a place to stay in Jacksonville because I was a patient at the Mayo Clinic and had appointments from Tuesday to Tuesday. Sally was the only owner who showed compassion for us and allowed us to have the condo from Tues. to Tues. The condo was right on the beach. It was clean, well maintained and the description and pictures shown on this website were very accurate. A gas grill was available so we could use it and have dinner on the patio looking out at the sunset. I would highly recommend this condo to friends. We hope to rent it again in the near future."

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review