reviews for: listing #44166 - Austin, Texas House rental

Hancock Ranch House and/or Petite Suite in Central Austin
  • bedrooms  4
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  3
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Hyde Park
  • sleeps  8
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $225 - $350 /nt
    $1,300 - $1,500 /wk
    $4,000 - $4,000 /mth

sort by:

Comfy and welcoming

Review submitted: November 11, 2013   Date of arrival: November 7, 2013

Great home with beautiful surroundings. My family enjoyed time together on the occasion of a friend's wedding. We ate on the back porch and loved it....kitchen well appointed, location close to everything we needed; very clean! We needed to press some wrinkles out of a shirt and the iron and ironing board came in handy. Beds comfortable; bathrooms well appointed. We will be back!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

super thrilled w/ every aspect of the ranch house

Review submitted: June 16, 2013   Date of arrival: June 7, 2013

Super thrilled with the hancock ranch house. The photos on the sites could not capture what you feel when you walk through the door: the feeling that you know you picked a winner.

the spacious house is set in a nice neighborhood of austin, that is green clean and safe... a relaxing respite from the city. felt like real residents! it is spacious and well equipped, and clean. we are fussy travellers and found nothing to pick at with this place.

wi-fi was strong and easy to connect, washer and dryer worked great, dishwasher was handy with our dinner party, it was great place for our 2 year old with some toys already there and a choice of 2 high chairs. a bbq grill in the garden back yard. this was the kind of place i'd move into if we move to austin permanently

location was good too. a very short drive to a supermarket. and not too far to mopac highway 1 so you can get anywhere pretty easily.

the only negative i can come up with is that you'd probably need a car, but i find that true of all austin with so much to see around.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

super thrilled w/ every aspect of the ranch house!

Review submitted: June 16, 2013   Date of arrival: June 7, 2013

Super thrilled with the hancock ranch house. The photos on the sites could not capture what you feel when you walk through the door: the feeling that you know you picked a winner.

the spacious house is set in a nice neighborhood of austin, that is green clean and safe... a relaxing respite from the city. felt like real residents! it is spacious and well equipped, and clean. we are fussy travellers and found nothing to pick at with this place.

wi-fi was strong and easy to connect, washer and dryer worked great, dishwasher was handy with our dinner party, it was great place for our 2 year old with some toys already there and a choice of 2 high chairs. a bbq grill in the garden back yard. this was the kind of place i'd move into if we move to austin permanently

location was good too. a very short drive to a supermarket. and not too far to mopac highway 1 so you can get anywhere pretty easily.

the only negative i can come up with is that you'd probably need a car, but i find that true of all austin with so much to see around.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great house in super location

Review submitted: December 27, 2012   Date of arrival: January 19, 2012

We used to live in Austin and found the house convenient to all the places we wanted to go back and visit. There was plenty of room and we loved the outdoor space. It was very clean and had everything we needed for cooking. The neighborhood was great for taking walks. We highly recommend this house!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Highly recommended!

Review submitted: May 31, 2011   Date of arrival: May 16, 2011

We rented the Hancock Ranch for the week last week and it was LOVELY. Very clean, well appointed, quiet, comfortable, convenient. Each of the 3 bedrooms were so well furnished and comfortable it was hard to choose a favorite, the bathrooms, kitchen, dining room, all marvelousI would rent it again in a heartbeat! Thank you very much!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Petite Suite

Review submitted: September 29, 2009   Date of arrival: September 8, 2009

I stayed here for about 10 days and LOVED the suite, the location and Rachel and Nick bent over backwards to meet my needs and requests, and offered more than was advertised. Hope to stay here again. This would not be good with kids, only 2 people who want to share the very comfy bed will fit, but it was a perfect place for me this month!

Recommended for: age 55+, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A better way to travel!

Review submitted: January 15, 2009   Date of arrival: December 27, 2008

Rachel,

Thank you so much for letting us celebrate birthdays at this amazing house. We loved every bit of our time down here and will definitely be staying here next time we come down.

Thanks again! You Rock!

Katie, John and Lauren

Recommended for: adventure seekers, people with disabilities, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Luxurious Home--have to see to appreciate!

Review submitted: December 16, 2008   Date of arrival: December 12, 2008

Thank you so much, Nick and Rachel, for opening your home to us. After seeing your website, we were prepared for a very comfortable stay, but we were pleasantly suprised that your home had all the luxuries of home plus so much more! The kids loved watching their favorite videos on the ginormous TV, and we loved the open living/kitchen area. There was plenty of room for everyone, and the walk-in closets were an added bonus! The master bath shower with the dual shower heads was absolutely amazing (now we'll have to renovate our own, hehe)! The home was immaculate, roomy, with an interesting eclectic decor. We visited the Austin Children's Museum (mentioned their "open door access" for free admission), and ate at the Burger House (fantastic food at a great price)! The kitchen was very well equipped, and we were able to make enchildadas, rice, and beans using your cookware. What a joy to be able to relax and look out the back door to watch the children play in the fenced in yard, with no worries for their safety. We were even able to put your iron and ironing board to good use to ensure we looked our best for church on Sunday! We highly recommend your home for anyone visiting the Austin area--so much better than a hotel, and even better than home!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: December 16, 2008   Date of arrival: December 1, 2008

Thank you so much, Nick and Rachel, for opening your home to us. After seeing your website, we were prepared for a very comfortable stay, but we were pleasantly suprised that your home had all the luxuries of home plus so much more!

The kids loved watching their favorite videos on the ginormous TV, and we loved the open living/kitchen area. There was plenty of room for everyone, and the walk-in closets were an added bonus! The master bath shower with the dual shower heads was absolutely amazing (now we'll have to renovate our own, hehe)! The home was immaculate, roomy, with an interesting eclectic decor.

We visited the Austin Children's Museum (mentioned their "open door access" for free admission), and ate at the Burger House (fantastic food at a great price)! The kitchen was very well equipped, and we were able to make enchildadas, rice, and beans using your cookware.

What a joy to be able to relax and look out the back door to watch the children play in the fenced in yard, with no worries for their safety. We were even able to put your iron and ironing board to good use to ensure we looked our best for church on Sunday!

We highly recommend your home for anyone visiting the Austin area--so much better than a hotel, and even better than home!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A Great Stay

Review submitted: November 25, 2008   Date of arrival: September 25, 2008

Nick and Rachel,
Thank you so much for opening your home to us! We throughlly enjoyed the weekend.
Thanks again,
Carmel and Adrienne

Recommended for: adventure seekers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Hancock Guest Nest - A Hidden Gem

Review submitted: November 18, 2008   Date of arrival: August 1, 2008

Although a bit off the beaten track, Hancock Guest Nest was a lovely place to stay. My daughter and I stayed this past August while we checked out UT(Austin). The location is convenient to the local highway which took us where ever we wanted to go. We stayed in the studio unit, that had a kitchen,bed, desk, and laundry room. The decor is modern but warm. There were guide books, local magazines and videos to enjoy. There is a wonderful front yard area with a fountain that is very peaceful. Our host Nick was gracious and even offered to take us on a tour of the college. Ifyou want a different experience from the normal chain hotel room this is the answer. I highly recommend the guest cottage and if I'm lucky enough to get to Austin again I would want to stay here. I liked the decor. It felt like a modern studio apt. and also the front yard. I wish there were a table to eat at.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Sweet Hideaway in the Trees

Review submitted: November 17, 2008   Date of arrival: October 3, 2008

I just wanted to let you know that we thoroughly enjoyed our recent stay in your beautiful home. We were very impressed with the helpful travel guides, the Texas Monthly magazine--don't know if you leave that for everyone, and the overall cleanliness and decor of your home. We also appreciated your list of nearby restaurant recommendations. We ate at Manuel's Mexican, just a mile north and found it to be good TexMex. We worked on the puzzle you left and enjoyed the fast WiFi. Probably our favorite thing to do in the Austin area was rent kayaks on Ladybird Lake. What an adventure! We also enjoyed a hike up Mount Bonnell. It was a very memorable vacation. Thank you again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Southwestern Getaway

Review submitted: November 1, 2008   Date of arrival: October 24, 2008

Our recent visit to Austin was quite memorable and enjoyable. The weather was perfect! The Hancock Ranch House has a box of literature with ideas for fun activity planning. The beds are extremely comfortable with plenty of soft pillows and quality cotton linens. The kitchen is fully equipped. The location is convenient to the downtown and university areas. We enjoyed all the nearby restaurants and coffee shops. Super open floor plan for relaxing, dining, TV watching, and reading. The house was absolutely fantastic. We enjoyed everything about it, and this would be our first choice on our next trip to Austin.

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Where do I begin?

Review submitted: October 24, 2008   Date of arrival: October 11, 2008

My husband, mother-in-law, 2-year-old son and I were visiting Austin for a week from Portland, OR. Our first rental didn't really suit our needs, and the owners of this property saved our vacation by letting us know the Hancock Ranch was available and gave us a great last-minute deal.

We were thoroughly satisfied! The location was wonderful, with easy access to grocery stores, restaurants, a park/playground, and the awesome "Terra Toys" toy store (to my son's delight). The neighborhood was peaceful and attractive -- the kind of neighborhood where people obviously take pride in their property and community.

The house was incredibly spacious, clean and comfortable. We entertained friends and family who came over for visits, including five kids of all ages, and the house accommodated everyone beautifully. The kids especially loved the hammock!

I'm not sure I can find the appropriate words to describe the owners of this property, but I'll try. They were incredibly friendly, accommodating, and really seemed to care about us having a great stay. They succeeded! I would recommend this property to friends and family in a heartbeat.

Just as a side note, I also loved the decor of this house. There is a particular Swedish store that rhymes with ty-kee-ah that will be getting a little more business as a result of staying at this darling house. Loved cooking in the kitchen! :)

Thank you, Rachel and Nick. We had a super stay!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Comfy, Roomy and Nicely Appointed

Review submitted: October 21, 2008   Date of arrival: October 17, 2008

Very clean, lovely little home with nice decor and amenities. Bed was soooo comfortable. Owners were so nice! -- There were a few basics for breakfast left just for us! A wonderful surprise, especially as we arrived very late on Friday evening. Kitchen is well stocked and organized. Teens loved the big screen TV during downtime.

Would stay again!

Recommended for: families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Peaceful and Relaxing Hideaway

Review submitted: October 9, 2008   Date of arrival: September 4, 2008

I enjoyed my stay at the Hancock Ranch House . . . it was a wonderful place to relax and unwind. The yard is beautifully landscaped and I enjoyed long lazy mornings sipping coffee on the back patio. The home was comfortably furnished and stylish and close to numerous restaurants as well as the huge park nearby.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review