reviews for: listing #4420 - North Captiva Island, Florida House rental

The Coral Reef Beach House w/heated Prv Pool
  • bedrooms  4
  • pool  yes
  • type  House
  • baths  4
  • hot tub  no
  • community  North Captiva Dunes
  • sleeps  10
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $475 - $650 /nt
    $2,150 - $4,950 /wk

sort by:

Perfect family vacation

Review submitted: June 6, 2014   Date of arrival: May 6, 2014

We stayed at The Coral Reef for a week with two toddlers and 5 adults. It was a great house for us- close to the beach, a pool to use while the kids napped and accomodated all of us rather well. Mark and Sherman were very helpful any time we had questions or needed help. We loved cruising around in the golf cart, spending our days at the beach, seeing turtles all over the island and going to visit cayo costa (definitely a must-do).

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

The week was too short!

Review submitted: March 18, 2014   Date of arrival: March 8, 2014

This was a return trip for our party of 10 which included family members ages 9 through 58. We are all so glad we made the decision to come back. We had a chance to do things we couldn't fit in last year. The house is roomy and user friendly. The opportunity to use the facilities at the club let us kayak daily, bike, and swim at the pool when the beach was breezy. Afternoons were spent collecting shells and playing in the waves. We hiked the nature preserve. The family saw eagles, tortoise, manatee, snakes, and raccoons. Young and old alike were sorry to return to the cold of Maine! Thank you Mark for the use of your fabulous home!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

An amazing and memorable trip

Review submitted: March 12, 2014   Date of arrival: March 1, 2014

We booked The Coral Reef Home knowing nothing about North Captiva Island. We had ages 8-77. The Island and home has plenty to do for all ages. No one was bored. The home has plenty of room for many people. Never felt we were in each other people's space. Couple of things we know for the next time we go... We will not bring as many clothes. No makeup or hair products needed. Which I never thought those words would ever come out of my mouth. Very freeing!!! Loved it.

Fishing is a must on the beach so bring poles. We stopped at Walmart and bought 2 on the way there and wish we had bought a couple more.

Food...I think we would bring our own groceries next time. Or have Publix pack up and we pick up and bring on the water taxi. We over bought on the food this time and will tone it down next time. And would not have been a big deal to do ourselves... Now that we understand how the water taxi service works. We took Island Girl Water Taxi and would go thru them again. The guys working the boats were great. Got the dolphins to play in the wake of the boat. We were unsure how the water taxi worked with there being so many of us and all of our things to transport. No worries on any of it. It is super easy. And they are on "Island time", My daughter flew in mid week and was running a few minutes late reserved ferry time, the driver of the car service called Island Girl and they waited for her. We also love Island Time. :) We have incorporated it into our life back at home as much as possible.

We will be going back to North Captiva and wouldn't hesitate to stay at The Coral Reef again. The island is a great way to unplug ourselves from our hectic running from here to there by this specific time lives. We loved that there wasn't a Starbuck's or even a grocery store to go run and get whatever. Everyone could just truly relax.

My only disappointment was that a week was not long enough. And that was felt but every family member. My dad (77) has asked to go back again. Which we are going to try to figure out. :)

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great visit

Review submitted: September 2, 2013   Date of arrival: June 30, 2013

We booked the Coral Reef Guesthouse relatively last minute for the holiday week of July 4. All in all, it was a great visit to North Captiva Island, and we’ll likely return. Some points to note about our stay:
The Property: The house was spacious and well-kept, easily accommodating a group of 10 with most getting some private space somewhere in the house. We did a lot of at-home cooking that week, and the kitchen had pretty much everything we needed to prepare meals for a large group.
Location: The house was a nice 5 minute walk to the beach, and a short 5 minute drive to the restaurants/stores/boat docks on the island. The closest beach even attracted a group of manatees one day, and it was great to see them up close. The beach near the island airport had the calmest waters (for the older/younger set), and seemed to attract dolphins every day. We kayaked there one day and they swam under/alongside our kayaks for a few minutes.
The Owners: The owners made the booking of the house super easy, and were very prompt about returning the security deposit after our stay.

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, pet-friendly, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

PERFECT SPOT!

Review submitted: April 26, 2013   Date of arrival: April 8, 2013

Our family had an amazing time at Coral Reef! It was our first time to North Captiva and we totally enjoyed ourselves!

Recommended for: families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Owners response: There is nothing more rewarding for a vacation rental owner than to receive such a positive review. We love sharing our home and island with so many really great guests. North Captiva is a truly unique island and the Coral reef is a truly unique home built specifically for island living! So glad you guys had such a great time!

Mark and Diane: Owners

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Time in North Captiva

Review submitted: April 14, 2013   Date of arrival: February 9, 2013

We had a wonderful time at the Coral Reef!. It is a special home and provided a wonderful place for our family to gather for a spring getaway. The home is spacious and very comfortable. The patio area by the pool is a nice benefit for hanging out while little ones swim. We gathered at the top floor every night for an amazing sunset. What a special place!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We loved our week of island living.

Review submitted: November 15, 2012   Date of arrival: March 20, 2012

We loved our week of island living.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Thanks for sharing your beautiful place with so ma

Review submitted: November 15, 2012   Date of arrival: May 11, 2011

North Captiva is like no place we have ever been to! What an amazing peice of heaven. We all had a truly great time. from playing at the beach to swimming in the pool, to driving the golf cart, to singing Karaoke at Barnacle Phil's it has been an adventure since we stepped on the boat on Pine island. We saw a bobcat, lots of turtles, 3 Manatees, lots of dolphins, Geckos, and funny birds. Thanks you for sharing your beautiful place with so many. Thanks to Sherman and Ella, the house managers, for all their hard work. The ice cream over Barnacle's Phil's was very good and fun for the kids.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Loved our stay

Review submitted: November 15, 2012   Date of arrival: July 30, 2011

I loved our stay. First time I looked around I knew it was the perfect stay. I loved the pool and Daddy loved the grill.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Perfect fix for our winter break

Review submitted: November 15, 2012   Date of arrival: February 17, 2012

This house was the perfect fix for our winter break. Our 2 families so enjoyed our stay here. The Perfect getaway!
Once here there was nothing to think about but beach, pool, sunsets etc. The house was perfect for the 2 families. 4 adults and 3 kids. Sherman was amzing and attentive. Thanks you for getting us away from our crazy lives. Such an amzing week. Thanks you.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We had an amazing time @ the Coral Reef

Review submitted: November 15, 2012   Date of arrival: October 8, 2012

We had an amazing time @ the Coral Reef. Most of the days were spent at the pool and nights watching ate amasing sunsets at the beach. The reservations only restaurant was awesome and Chef Alicia fantastic.
Can't wait to come back!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

All is what it seems

Review submitted: July 22, 2008   Date of arrival: July 12, 2008

The house is a beautiful home, and comfortable. The downstairs bbq area and pool are great, esp. with kids after a long day of kayaking, fishing or just hanging out at the beach. Went hiking at the beach and collected beautiful shells. We rented a boat and went to Cabbage Key for lunch and stopped at another island to swim and collect sand dollars. The owner was very personable, and the maintenance man was a great guy. The bikes were a little run down. The turn around seems short, i don't think it's enough time to accurately document any problems from other vacationers. If you can shop on the mainland, do it. Some of the hotels will shuttle you back and fourth to Costco and Publix before you come to island. The store on the Island does not offer much and can be pricey. It's nice to know that the Island has no cars, only golf carts. For the most part it was a great vacation spot and have already told my friends and perfect strangers about the beautiful home and Island. Glad i found it. Thanks !!!
P.S....Bring LOTS of bug spray !!!!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: I just read the reviews from a few of our previous guests and I could not agree with them more. North Captiva is a unique slice of heaven and the Coral Reef is a wonderful house to stay at while enjoying the tranquility of the island. We strive to make every stay special. We are constantly improving your amenities. In the last few months we upgraded the Livingroom TV to a 47" HD set. Added X-Box 360 with connect, and have repainted much of the exterior of the home. The place is looking great and more fun than ever. So listen to our previous guests and come and enjoy North Captiva Island and stay at the Coral Reef!

Helpful votes: 11 / 12

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review