reviews for: listing #44222 - Punaluu, Hawaii Condo rental

★ BEACH Front ★ Oahu Hawaii Vacation Rental ◄★
  • bedrooms  1
  • pool  yes
  • type  Condo
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Pat's at Punalu'u
  • sleeps  4
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $99 - $129 /nt
    $699 - $829 /wk

sort by:

Retreat from the Hustle & Bustle!

Review submitted: May 15, 2014   Date of arrival: April 27, 2014

We picked this place out of a few locations mainly because of the owner, Roland. As opposed to other places we contacted, he was prompt in all his replies and was not pushy but very informative.
As for the property itself: beautiful view, on the beach, quiet neighborhood, clean, towels, bedding, 4 burner stove, microwave, sink, full sized refrigerator, lanai stocked with beach goodies, and option to sleep in murphy bed near the lanai. This part of the island is quite a drive from most of the places we wanted to see, but well worth it to come home to a quiet, beautiful, secluded beach. It was much cloudier than the other side of the island, but we still had plenty of sunshine. Highly recommend this condo, the owner, and this part of the island!!

Recommended for: age 55+, people with disabilities, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

This condo absolutely hit the mark!

Review submitted: March 3, 2014   Date of arrival: February 18, 2014

We were looking for a place to stay away from the frenzy of the big city, but close to activities and interesting places to go. This condo absolutely hit the mark. Roland was very helpful and responsive, providing all kinds of suggestions for things to do nearby before our trip. We ended up taking a relaxed approach, driving both north and south along the coast, but mostly enjoying the beach right in front of the building and taking advantage of the chairs, beach toys, towels, etc. supplied in the unit. It is also great to have a kitchen, especially when traveling with kids. Mahalo!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Most Relaxing Vacation, Favorite Part of Oahu

Review submitted: January 5, 2010   Date of arrival: November 22, 2009

This was our first time to Oahu, Hawaii and we had
the most relaxing family vacation with our 2 sons.
The view of the ocean was breathtaking and the
beach was absolutely quiet and beautiful-no
crowds to have to worry about. Very clean. The
north shore was our favourite part of the island. A
place we would visit again in the near future!
Thanks again!

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Weekend Get Away, Very Clean & Complete Kitchen

Review submitted: January 5, 2010   Date of arrival: August 3, 2009

This was a pefect place for a weekend get-away with family/friends who enjoy the beach but not camping outdoors. It was very clean with a complete kitchen.

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Comfortable, Clean, Just Like Home & Perfect

Review submitted: January 5, 2010   Date of arrival: July 30, 2009

What a great apartment! Having grown up on the
windward side, I've passed this building soooo many
times. Who knew that over 40 years later, I would get
to spend a night there with my family. It was
comfortable, clean, and just like home. Thanks,
Roland, it was perfect for us all. Aloha nui loa!

--------------

Hi, Irene. I'm glad had a great time! Thanks for your comments. Aloha, Roland

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Perfect, Like a Post Card & Sunset Dinners

Review submitted: January 5, 2010   Date of arrival: July 12, 2009

The condo was perfect, the scenery, like a post card! It was so awesome to be steps away from our own private beach!
We enjoyed having ideas of where to go and do in the area!
Every evening we had dinner on the lanai, and watched the sunset.
I am already dreaming of going back!

--------------

Hi, Angela. Good to hear from you! We’re so glad to hear you had a great time. Thank you for taking the time to submit a comment in our Guestbook. Looking forward to seeing the pictures! -Roland

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Fantastic Views/Sounds, Uncrowded & Comfortable

Review submitted: January 5, 2010   Date of arrival: July 3, 2009

We made good use of your lanai - the ocean view and the sound of the waives was fantastic! It was great to swim in the ocean every morning. We totally felt that we were in Hawaii there, the condo with all the Hawaii theme items, the uncrowded north shore area, the tropical vegetation, etc. We were happy for the trade winds that kept us comfortable and the condo was very clean.
-elisabeth

------------

Hi, Elisabeth. We're so glad you enjoyed your stay! Aloha.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Stayed an Extra Week & Thinking About Moving

Review submitted: January 5, 2010   Date of arrival: July 2, 2009

...I enjoyed the island so much that i decided to stay for an extra week. The condo was great with a breathtaking view of the beach and mountains. It's nothing compared to Waikiki in which in stayed my second week. I rented a car with my buddy for the whole week and explored all the famous beaches not far from the condo including Sunset Beach, Waimea Bay and more. I know am thinking about moving to Hawaii or at least having a long stay there.

-------------

It was our pleasure having you, Mehdi. Thanks for taking the time to leave your comments!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Amazing Views & Sounds of Ocean While Sleeping

Review submitted: January 5, 2010   Date of arrival: June 7, 2009

We had a great time here in this condo. It was located on a quiet beach with amazing waters and views! Everything you could look for was there from Off repellent to salt and pepper for basic cooking. Having a full kitchen was great and sleeping to the sounds of the ocean on the murphy bed was amazing. I highly recommend this place for it's close to everything and far away from the hustle and bustle of waikiki.

-------------

Hello, fellow Hokie! Thanks for your comments! I'm glad you guys had a great time.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Better than Maui, View, Great Beach, Best Vacation

Review submitted: January 5, 2010   Date of arrival: May 21, 2009

Dear Roland. We went to Oahu first and then Maui and we loved Oahu better than Maui, especially the beaches. As per the Condo the view was nice, and the beach in front of the condo was great to laze around and even snorkel. We didnt do too many activities around Oahu cause we were there to relax and enjoy the scenic sunsets and beaches. We had planned the activities for Maui but unfortunately cause of rains there we couldnt do as many. We did the luau on Ko'olina resort, and that was nice. Spent a day in Waikiki, and the rest of the time driving around other beaches. Since we were coming off of a hectic work schedule we didnt plan too many things. Your condo was nice, clean and cosy and had all the things we needed to get started and even cook a little. My wife and I just had the best vacation yet and plan to do this again sometime. I'll send out the pictures when I get to downloading them from the camera. Samir and Alfa

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Beautiful & Relaxing

Review submitted: January 5, 2010   Date of arrival: April 20, 2009

Hi Roland,
I was going through my email and realized I had a few loose ends, unfinished conversations, and unanswered emails to attend to. I never signed your guestbook. How about this. "The condo exemplifies the beauty of Hawaii in the style of relaxed island living. We enjoyed the condo and the area so much, we missed our flight home." Seriously!! Thanks again! ~Tamber

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great Time, Perfect & Sights

Review submitted: January 5, 2010   Date of arrival: February 25, 2009

Hi Roland~
So, unfortunately, we’re back and in our routines again, but we had such a great time and your place was perfect! I hope that I’ll be able to bring my husband when he returns from Iraq this summer... Anyways, thanks again! I'll send some pictures we took, one at the Polynesian Cultural Center, one at the beach outside (what a beautiful morning!) and one from the Byodo-In temple. Kirsten

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Location, Relaxing, Peaceful, Conveniences & Clean

Review submitted: January 5, 2010   Date of arrival: February 6, 2009

Roland.
Thanks for letting us stay in your place. We had a great time. It is great location, very relaxing and peaceful spot. We loved the walking distance to an almost private beach, grocery store close by and the scenic views all around. The apartment was nice and clean and had everything we needed. We would love to come back one day.

-----------------

Hi, Anna. Good to hear from you! I hope you and your new family are doing great! Aloha, -Roland

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Area, Beach, Mountains & Suggested Itineraries

Review submitted: January 5, 2010   Date of arrival: November 4, 2008

Hi Roland.
We loved the area - the beach view to the front and the mountains to the back. We are very pleased we chose to live outside Honolulu - this is the Hawaii we expected. The itineraries were great - we used that and a tour called the Circle Island tour to get input for our adventures on Oahu. One thing needs looking at - the door to the balcony needs to be repaired or oiled - it's hard to open or close. Otherwise the apartment had everything we needed - the beach chairs, boards and snorkeling equipment was great! Brian.

-----------------

Brian, mahalo for letting us know about the door. Our maintenance team lubricated the track, and all is well. Please come visit us again. Aloha, Roland.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Cleanliness, Amenities, Views & Activities

Review submitted: January 5, 2010   Date of arrival: September 23, 2008

Very clean. Loved the linens, nice quality. Loved the abundance of towels AND the addition of beach towels. Great to have the boogie boards and the snorkel equipment, we used both. I loved the view from both sides, the mountain side was gorgeous!
Your intineraries were wonderful! We followed them to a T! We did the north shore day in reverse. Starting at Ko’Olina, we headed north to Haliewa. There is a wonderful Thai restaurant in the center where we had the yummiest, freshest thai lunch, called Haliewa Eats. Great town, super shops. We then drove to Sunset Beach, took pictures of the huge Sea Lion asleep on the beach and then walked waaaaay to the right where I thought the best view of surfers was from the side, so you saw incredible jumps turns and wipeouts as they headed in on the swells. Turtle Bay was next for late afternoon snacks and cocktails, more surf watching. We loved Sunshine Arts, loved it, bought great surf photos for our teenagers.
We also did the Lanikai day. The waterfall hike was hysterical, you might add to your intinerary that it is quite muddy and people should avoid wearing flip flops or white sneakers! We loved Buzz's Steakhouse and had a great meal. The Bar and Grill (great fun) does not serve alcohol but does allow BYOB. All in all, super time! I'll be sending you pix of me on Sunset Beach, Tristan celebrating his 5th bday on your balcony, and our jump into the waterfall! KG

-------------

Katherine, I'm so glad you and your family had a good time! Thank you for taking the time to give me your feedback. Aloha!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Whales, Snorkeling and Decor

Review submitted: January 5, 2010   Date of arrival: September 19, 2008

Thank you for having a very nice condo for me to rent. The condo was well suited and tastefully decorated. Although I really enjoyed much of what the island offered, what I didn't expect was the pod of whales just off shore for five or six days. They were anywhere from five to ten miles out and would fully breach or roll over and flip their fins. The best time to see them was around five in the afternoon until sunset, and also in the morning sometimes. That was great! The best snorkeling around was next to and to the north of the condo property. I did have to get my own gear thought as the ones at the condo were the wrong size or inadequate. All in all, a great time! Thanks. Kelly

New snorkel gear has since been purchased. Thank you for your comments!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: November 22, 2009   Date of arrival: November 22, 2009

Hi Roland,This was our first time to Oahu, Hawaii and we had the most relaxing family vacation with our 2 sons. The view of the ocean was breathtaking and the beach was absolutely quiet and beautiful-no crowds to have to worry about. Very clean. The north shore was our favourite part of the island. A place we would visit again in the near future! Thanks again!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: August 3, 2009   Date of arrival: August 3, 2009

This was a pefect place for a weekend get-away with family/friends who enjoy the beach but not camping outdoors. It was very clean with a complete kitchen.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: July 30, 2009   Date of arrival: July 30, 2009

What a great apartment! Having grown up on the windward side, I've passed this building soooo many times. Who knew that over 40 years later, I would get to spend a night there with my family. It was comfortable, clean, and just like home. Thanks, Roland, it was perfect for us all. Aloha nui loa!

Owners response: Hi, Irene. I'm glad had a great time! Thanks for your comments. Aloha, Roland

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: July 12, 2009   Date of arrival: July 12, 2009

The condo was perfect, the scenery, like a post card! It was so awesome to be steps away from our own private beach! We enjoyed having ideas of where to go and do in the area!Every evening we had dinner on the lanai, and watched the sunset.I am already dreaming of going back!

Owners response: Hi, Angela. Good to hear from you! We’re so glad to hear you had a great time. Thank you for taking the time to submit a comment in our Guestbook. Looking forward to seeing the pictures! -Roland

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: July 3, 2009   Date of arrival: July 3, 2009

We made good use of your lanai - the ocean view and the sound of the waives was fantastic! It was great to swim in the ocean every morning. We totally felt that we were in Hawaii there, the condo with all the Hawaii theme items, the uncrowded north shore area, the tropical vegetation, etc. We were happy for the trade winds that kept us comfortable and the condo was very clean.-elisabeth

Owners response: Hi, Elisabeth. We're so glad you enjoyed your stay! Aloha.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: July 2, 2009   Date of arrival: July 2, 2009

...I enjoyed the island so much that i decided to stay for an extra week. The condo was great with a breathtaking view of the beach and mountains. It's nothing compared to Waikiki in which in stayed my second week. I rented a car with my buddy for the whole week and explored all the famous beaches not far from the condo including Sunset Beach, Waimea Bay and more. I know am thinking about moving to Hawaii or at least having a long stay there.

Owners response: It was our pleasure having you, Mehdi. Thanks for taking the time to leave your comments!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: June 7, 2009   Date of arrival: June 7, 2009

We had a great time here in this condo. It was located on a quiet beach with amazing waters and views! Everything you could look for was there from Off repellent to salt and pepper for basic cooking. Having a full kitchen was great and sleeping to the sounds of the ocean on the murphy bed was amazing. I highly recommend this place for it's close to everything and far away from the hustle and bustle of waikiki.

Owners response: Hello, fellow Hokie! Thanks for your comments! I'm glad you guys had a great time.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: May 21, 2009   Date of arrival: May 21, 2009

Dear Roland. We went to Oahu first and then Maui and we loved Oahu better than Maui, especially the beaches. As per the Condo the view was nice, and the beach in front of the condo was great to laze around and even snorkel. We didnt do too many activities around Oahu cause we were there to relax and enjoy the scenic sunsets and beaches. We had planned the activities for Maui but unfortunately cause of rains there we couldnt do as many. We did the luau on Ko'olina resort, and that was nice. Spent a day in Waikiki, and the rest of the time driving around other beaches. Since we were coming off of a hectic work schedule we didnt plan too many things. Your condo was nice, clean and cosy and had all the things we needed to get started and even cook a little. My wife and I just had the best vacation yet and plan to do this again sometime. I'll send out the pictures when I get to downloading them from the camera. Samir and Alfa

Owners response: Thanks, Samir & Alfa

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: April 20, 2009   Date of arrival: April 20, 2009

Hi Roland, I was going through my email and realized I had a few loose ends, unfinished conversations, and unanswered emails to attend to. I never signed your guestbook. How about this. "The condo exemplifies the beauty of Hawaii in the style of relaxed island living. We enjoyed the condo and the area so much, we missed our flight home." Seriously!! Thanks again! ~Tamber

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: February 25, 2009   Date of arrival: February 25, 2009

Hi Roland~So, unfortunately, we’re back and in our routines again, but we had such a great time and your place was perfect! I hope that I’ll be able to bring my husband when he returns from Iraq this summer... Anyways, thanks again! I'll send some pictures we took, one at the Polynesian Cultural Center, one at the beach outside (what a beautiful morning!) and one from the Byodo-In temple. Kirsten

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: February 6, 2009   Date of arrival: February 6, 2009

Roland.Thanks for letting us stay in your place. We had a great time. It is great location, very relaxing and peaceful spot. We loved the walking distance to an almost private beach, grocery store close by and the scenic views all around. The apartment was nice and clean and had everything we needed. We would love to come back one day.

Owners response: Hi, Anna. Good to hear from you! I hope you and your new family are doing great! Aloha, -Roland

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: November 4, 2008   Date of arrival: November 4, 2008

Hi Roland.We loved the area - the beach view to the front and the mountains to the back. We are very pleased we chose to live outside Honolulu - this is the Hawaii we expected. The itineraries were great - we used that and a tour called the Circle Island tour to get input for our adventures on Oahu. One thing needs looking at - the door to the balcony needs to be repaired or oiled - it's hard to open or close. Otherwise the apartment had everything we needed - the beach chairs, boards and snorkeling equipment was great! Brian.

Owners response: Brian, mahalo for letting us know about the door. Our maintenance team lubricated the track, and all is well. Please come visit us again. Aloha, Roland.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: September 23, 2008   Date of arrival: September 23, 2008

Very clean. Loved the linens, nice quality. Loved the abundance of towels AND the addition of beach towels. Great to have the boogie boards and the snorkel equipment, we used both. I loved the view from both sides, the mountain side was gorgeous!Your intineraries were wonderful! We followed them to a T! We did the north shore day in reverse. Starting at Ko’Olina, we headed north to Haliewa. There is a wonderful Thai restaurant in the center where we had the yummiest, freshest thai lunch, called Haliewa Eats. Great town, super shops. We then drove to Sunset Beach, took pictures of the huge Sea Lion asleep on the beach and then walked waaaaay to the right where I thought the best view of surfers was from the side, so you saw incredible jumps turns and wipeouts as they headed in on the swells. Turtle Bay was next for late afternoon snacks and cocktails, more surf watching. We loved Sunshine Arts, loved it, bought great surf photos for our teenagers.We also did the Lanikai day. The waterfall hike was hysterical, you might add to your intinerary that it is quite muddy and people should avoid wearing flip flops or white sneakers! We loved Buzz's Steakhouse and had a great meal. The Bar and Grill (great fun) does not serve alcohol but does allow BYOB. All in all, super time! I'll be sending you pix of me on Sunset Beach, Tristan celebrating his 5th bday on your balcony, and our jump into the waterfall! KG

Owners response: Katherine, I'm so glad you and your family had a good time! Thank you for taking the time to give me your feedback. Aloha! -Roland

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: September 19, 2008   Date of arrival: September 19, 2008

Thank you for having a very nice condo for me to rent. The condo was well suited and tastefully decorated. Although I really enjoyed much of what the island offered, what I didn't expect was the pod of whales just off shore for five or six days. They were anywhere from five to ten miles out and would fully breach or roll over and flip their fins. The best time to see them was around five in the afternoon until sunset, and also in the morning sometimes. That was great! The best snorkeling around was next to and to the north of the condo property. I did have to get my own gear thought as the ones at the condo were the wrong size or inadequate. All in all, a great time! Thanks. Kelly

Owners response: New snorkel gear has since been purchased. Thank you for your comments!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review