reviews for: listing #44231 - St Augustine, Florida House rental

Beachcomber ..Oceanfront. Careful! This is quality!
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths 
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  9
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $400 - $400 /nt
    $1,700 - $2,500 /wk
    $5,000 - $9,000 /mth

sort by:

Another Great Vacation at the Beachcomber!

Review submitted: July 17, 2014   Date of arrival: June 28, 2014

We had another great vacation at the Beachcomber! My family stayed here last summer and loved it so much we came back this year and had another wonderful stay. So much room in this house and everyone has their privacy and beautiful view. We were also blessed with great weather. I highly recommend this home to anyone who wants to be right on the beach!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Fantastic Vacation at Beachcomber

Review submitted: June 23, 2014   Date of arrival: June 14, 2014

The house was FANTASTIC clean, everything was very well kept and efficient. Was in a GREAT location close to store , restaurants beautiful St Augustine. We all thoughtfully enjoyed the house felt so cozy and clean looking forward to our return.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Beautiful, relaxing, and clean!!!

Review submitted: June 23, 2014   Date of arrival: June 7, 2014

This is an amazing property with plenty of amenities and very clean. We had a wonderful time and most likely be back. We watched dolphins, rays, and manatees from the balcony almost every day - the only drawback is that being so close to the water means you have plenty of bugs and critters always trying to get in, so it is important to keep the screens closed! The property manager, Kendra, was easy to communicate with and delightful. Loved it!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great location for a relaxing vacation!

Review submitted: March 11, 2014   Date of arrival: February 15, 2014

We had a great time at the Beachcomber. It was so convenient to have the beach right in the back yard, along with plenty of chairs, sand toys, and an outdoor shower. Our kids had a blast. The location was great- close enough to the heart of St. Augustine to make daily trips there for meals or entertainment. The house itself was well-kept and spacious and the management company was great to deal with. We hope to return next year!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Five Star Beach House

Review submitted: February 23, 2014   Date of arrival: January 31, 2014

This was one of the best and well maintained beach houses we have rented. The three comfortable bedrooms, each with a private bath and sliding glass doors to the decks overlooking the ocean, were ideal for our group.
The living room, dining and kitchen areas were very livable and had a fabulous view of the ocean.
It was great to step onto the beach from the lower level of the house and enjoy long walks.
In the two weeks we were there we had only one minor problem with a faucet. Jenny was very responsive when we called her about it.
We would certainly rent there again on our next trip to St. Augustine.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

A perfect beach getaway location

Review submitted: July 8, 2013   Date of arrival: June 29, 2013

We are from Florida and spend a lot of time on the beach. We have stayed in almost every resort town from the Panhandle, Gulfcoast, and Atlantic. I must say, this is a true gem. The location is just enough remote to keep the crowds down, but literally a 3 minute drive to downtown. We are used to sharing our little beach world with hundreds of vacationers. Here, we had it all to ourselves(with one exception which I will explain in a bit).

The description is very accurate, everything is included. We were even surprised with a bottle of wine upon our arrival (thanks Jenni!!). The beach is literally steps from the back door. It rained a bunch the week we stayed, but who cared? With the sliding glass doors opened and just on the beach, it was very relaxing. Once the rain finally stopped, we had a great time playing in the surf. Our two pre-teens had to be dragged out of the water, they loved it.

St Augustine is a short 10 minute drive and very easy to get too. We were there over the 4th of July and found “Porpoise Point” on the south end Valono Beach and had a spectacular view of the fireworks. I will never forget that.

The first morning we were there, I noticed some very strange “footprints” in the sand. To our surprise, a sea turtle laid her eggs the night before under our balcony. Very cool. The beach “turtle patrol” came by and verified there were actually eggs and barricaded them off. We were honored to share our beach with such a visitor.

My only (and I hate to use the word complaint), issue was the place is three floors. It was not an issue for me, but my elderly father had a bit of challenge with them. By the end of our stay he had gotten used to them and had some much needed exercise. But if you have ambulatory issues, you might want to consider this.

All in all, we were extremely happy with the stay and plan on making it a tradition.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

A slice of Heaven!

Review submitted: July 1, 2013   Date of arrival: June 22, 2013

This is a beautiful & spacious house and right on the beach! It worked out great for our family (3 couples and 2 toddlers). Everyone has an ocean view room. The house has everything you need and then some. Just a few minutes from restaurants, grocery stores, sight seeing tours. We loved it and will definitely return. My kids want to make it an annual vacation spot!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Make Memories with your Family Here!

Review submitted: April 9, 2013   Date of arrival: March 8, 2013

What a wonderful vacation property! Rick and Jenny were fantastic to work with and the house was just as they described. Everything was ready for us when we arrived--including soap, paper towels, napkins, etc. They even had a basement closet that was full of sand toys, boogie boards and even a cooler! It was so nice getting to the house and not having to shop first...instead we got to take a relaxing walk on the beach that is STEPS out the back door. We have 2 teenage boys and they loved boogie boarding in the surf (although it was cold in March) and picking up TONS of shells along the beach. The bedrooms are amazing...each one has a sliding door that goes out onto a deck overlooking the ocean. You can hear the sound of the ocean in every room. For a great place to eat - visit Puccini's - it's just a 5 minute drive away from the house. And if you enjoy fishing, try a Brian Walker Charter fishing trip. After catching over 30 fish in 4 hours...we quit counting! Fantastic pictures and family memories were made at the Beachcomber. We can't wait to go back again!

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Beautiful Beach House

Review submitted: January 8, 2013   Date of arrival: December 29, 2012

Our experience was wonderful. The house is very modernized and beautifully setup. The beach is very close and the sunrises are spectacular.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Love this Place

Review submitted: September 9, 2012   Date of arrival: August 18, 2012

Everything was just as advertised. The proximity of the house to the beach was nice. Hearing the waves at night and walking the beautiful beach was therapeutic. Rick and Jenny were very pleasant to deal with. Any time I had to call for anything, there response was immediate. Shortly before our arrival, an electrical storm had damaged the TV. On Wednesday, they replaced the TV in the Family room with a Big Screen. All in our group felt that this was a very good value. It explains why the home is pretty much booked solid. Already decided that we will come back next year. Can't wait.....

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Great stay

Review submitted: July 11, 2012   Date of arrival: June 30, 2012

We had a great stay at the Beachcomber, the only problem we had the stay was just not long enough.
The house was in great shape, it had everything we needed for our stay. The best part of the house to me was the views, you can see the beach and the water from every room. Great Job, we looking forward to coming back soon.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Enjoyed our stay !

Review submitted: June 15, 2012   Date of arrival: May 26, 2012

First time vacationing in the area and enjoyed our stay despite bad weather early in the week due to the tropical storm. Great location and convenient to St Augustine but just far enough outside of town so that you have plenty of privacy.3 local seafoodl resturants within a couple of miles were all good. Beach area was never crowded and great for walking with the pets. Wonderful large decks for hanging out. House is in great condition and well cared for. Stairs and the multi levels might be a problem for elderly couples, but no issues for younger families.. Only negatives, Short driveway very close to the highway with not a lot of turnaround space and the main den area would benefit from an upgrade in the TV to a newer model, Overall had a great time and would definitely consider renting again if we vacation again in St Augustine area.

Recommended for: families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Truly "Oceanfront!"

Review submitted: June 15, 2012   Date of arrival: June 2, 2012

We have stayed at the Beachcomber twice over the past two years, and would strongly recommend it for a great family get-away! This is literally 'beach front' - great views and easy access to the surf! Also, it's very close to St Augustine for dinners, tours, and just enjoying some history.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

I miss this place!

Review submitted: April 18, 2012   Date of arrival: December 17, 2011

We rented this house for the winter. Every morning just before sunrise I would walk on the empty beach with my dog, watching the gorgeous sunrise and seeing whether the ocean had deposited another gorgeous shell overnight. The house was clean, comfortable, and well-equipped and the layout worked great for having overnight guests, who had their own king-sized bed room on the main floor with private bath and access from their room to the deck while the other two bedrooms were upstairs. The master is big -- I was working all winter and there was plenty of space to set up a computer table in the corner of the master (so I could watch the kite surfers and pelicans while I worked). Furnishings are a definite notch above average beach rentals. We had a few maintenance issues, all of which were handled cheerfully and expeditiously by Jenny and Rick. Downtown St Augustine is five minutes away and Vilano Beach Town Center, with its just-opened Publix grocery store and a really good Italian restaurant called Benito's, is a minute down the road. The beach is full of shells and the winter weather was perfect. Couldln't have asked for more.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Owners response: As the property manager of Beachcomber, there is not much we can add to this very kind review from our guests who were at the home for over three months. We (and the owners) are so grateful for their nice comments. They indeed, did "live the life" while they were there. We and the owners take great pride in providing one of the premier homes on the beach in this area and providing first class service to our guests while they are there. Thanks, Dale.

Rick and Jenny Carney

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Beach vacation

Review submitted: August 10, 2011   Date of arrival: July 30, 2011

This was the third year our family visited !!! The home is lovely & right on the ocean. We were comfortable & have always felt at home here. The house is clean & well-maintained. We will hope to visit again ! The setting is great for a family reunion.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Beachcomber Oceanfront Home

Review submitted: June 21, 2011   Date of arrival: June 11, 2011

Our family stayed at this home in June 2011, I could not have been more pleased and surprised by the cleanliness, and the added extras (soap, detergent, etc). It really made the stay much more relaxing. The master bedroom and bath was really nice and comfortable. The other bedrooms were great for the kids. The two balconies were very large and comfortable. It was great just to walk out and step on the beach. The attractions were just down the street and the traffic was minimal and we could get around very easily. Of course the trollies are worth riding on to get around town as well. We really enjoyed staying at this home and being in St. Augustine. Lots of things to do. We would defineately recommend this home. Rick and Jenny were very accomodating and we could not have asked for more.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Pretty much the perfect beach house

Review submitted: June 15, 2011   Date of arrival: June 4, 2011

The Beachcomber has everything a beach house needs - a great location right on the sand, a nice floor plan, beautiful furnishings and appointments and thoughtful amenities. The heated outdoor shower and beachside restroom particularly nice touches. We hope to be back!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Very nice stay

Review submitted: April 29, 2011   Date of arrival: April 16, 2011

This place was just the kind of place that my wife and I have looked for. A lot of places say beach front and it turns out to be across the street, over the sand dunes, behind other property or on a public beach park. But this place is no doubt the real thing. All the comforts of home. We had a very pleasant stay, just wish it could have been longer. Could not have asked for more. Would gladly come back again.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Beach Comber property in St Augustine - Vilano Bea

Review submitted: April 13, 2010   Date of arrival: April 3, 2010

We had a wonderful time. It is just minutes from the oldest city in the United States and you can walk out the door and be on the beach. You can hear the waves coming in at night.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review