reviews for: listing #44253 - Kailua-Kona, Hawaii House rental

Kona Sunset House
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  yes
  • type  House
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Sunset
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $180 - $350 /nt

sort by:

Wonderful vacation home

Review submitted: February 6, 2014   Date of arrival: January 21, 2014

This home is well named. The sunsets seen from the lanai were spectacular. This was our first time renting a vacation home and this place mostly exceeded our expectations. The home and grounds were super clean and well maintained. Rooms were spacious and comfortable. When the propane barbecue ran out of gas, the caretaker had another tank for us right away the next morning. Rooms cooled off nicely at night and were very pleasant during the day. Top of the line appliances. We highly recommend this place for your holiday on the Big Island. (The owner, Stuart, was very accommodating, too!)

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks for the great review. I think we will get and extra propane tank just in case.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great House!

Review submitted: January 22, 2014   Date of arrival: January 7, 2014

We rented this house for a two week vacation with our two adult children. The house was absolutely beautiful and well maintained inside and out. For us the best part was the lanai, a perfect spot to watch the sun set in the evening. We also enjoyed having our own private pool. I would most definitely encourage friends who are thinking of a Hawaii vacation to consider this house.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you so much for the great review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Place to stay

Review submitted: November 4, 2013   Date of arrival: October 20, 2013

We had a great time. I was scared to book online because you never know what it really is... Well no worries here! We were amazed of how wonderful the house was compared to the photos. So much better. It was clean, quiet neighborhood, well stocked and the view was great! The view on the photos posted is not true to how beautiful it really is. We will go and stay again on our next vacation!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

A million dollar view

Review submitted: October 16, 2013   Date of arrival: October 3, 2013

This house was absolutely stunning.Very clean, very well equipped and with a lot of extras as bath supplies, soap, washing supplies and kitchen supplies. house was very clean and the garden was just stunning with an amazing pool. And the lanai was the best we ever had, the view is amazing!!
I was a bitworried if we would hear the cars but absolutely no problem at all. We will return for sure if we are lucky to come back to hawaii!

Recommended for: families with young children, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Kona Sunse House Dream

Review submitted: September 15, 2013   Date of arrival: September 6, 2013

We absolutely loved everything about our stay in this beautiful house! We found it extremely clean, the kitchen had all new appliances and was very well stocked. The view, lanai, pool, and location could not have been better. We highly recommend Kona Sunset House to anyone who wants a truly special experiance.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for the wonderful review.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Amazing Lanai and Views

Review submitted: August 13, 2013   Date of arrival: July 3, 2013

Sunset House was everything we anticipated and more! The lanai was by far our favourite part of the home - we ate all of our meals outside and enjoyed lounging in the swing and the futon. The house is located on a road popular for runners with a great view. We struggled a bit to find the house at night as there are no street-lights and the house numbers are difficult to see - but the instructions provided were accurate. The carport allowed easy access into the house through the laundry room, which was convenient for packing and unpacking items. The pool is lovely, although there is a set of steep stairs to go down so you will want to make sure you go down with children. Our children (8 and 10) also enjoyed playing in the grassy area. The location is perfect - you can see the ocean from the lanai, and the house has rightfully earned its' name. We were able to explore Kailua-Kona and Kohala. There are many historical sites near by and great beaches to spend the day at. We chose to stay on the Hilo side of the island when exploring the Volcanoes National Park and other attractions, although it is drivable if you put in a very long day. We loved the luau, Waipaio Valley, the beaches (especially Hapuna), and snorkeling. The owner, Stuart, is very prompt with his responses and offers a lot of valuabe information. There is no air conditioning in the house, however, there are several very powerful fans so we were always comfortable. We would recommend this home to others and would love to stay again if we could!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you so much for the great review. I have never thought about the address numbers and location. I will move them to a more viable area and see if we can light them up. Thanks again.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

value, beauty, proximity

Review submitted: July 15, 2013   Date of arrival: June 15, 2013

Kona Sunset home is a great value. We were a family of 5 ages 21 to 70 traveling this summer. We all comfortably fit in the home. The pool was a favorite feature. The sunsets beyond the lanai smack of paradise. The home has no AC but we all managed and adjusted; the ceiling fans and breezes were enough that no one complained of a "bad" night. The proximity to Kailua-Kona was ideal. We went for karoake, luau, bowling, dancing and bar hopping all within 5 miles of the house.
Stuart, the owner was prompt in responding to emails and was gracious in his terms. We truly felt a honored guest.

Thank you Stuart

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks for the great review.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Loved this home!

Review submitted: May 4, 2013   Date of arrival: May 10, 2012

We loved this house, it was so comfortable and clean. The view was fantastic! wish we could stay there for ever!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great set-up,

Review submitted: April 23, 2013   Date of arrival: April 8, 2013

We loved our stay here. In fact, we asked if there was any additional time we could book and unfortunately for us there wasn't. Next time, we would book a longer stay. Great set-up with the bedrooms divided by the living area and kitchen. We enjoyed, most of all, the porch which extends the width of the house. We had our meals outside and relaxing times as well. The location was perfect, in a quiet subdivision yet close to town and beaches.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Our third stay; we love this property!

Review submitted: April 6, 2013   Date of arrival: March 25, 2013

Very nice house with its own pool and all amenities. Well appointed and family friendly!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Kona Sunset House

Review submitted: March 26, 2013   Date of arrival: March 17, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Kona Sunset House for a week, and had a very enjoyable time.

The house was very clean and very well-equipped. The back porch has an almost 180 degree view of the ocean and the view are outstanding. The pool was clean and big enough to do laps.

Also, the barbecue grill was very clean, and did a good job of cooking burgers/steaks.

We highly recommend this place (we travel twice a year and only stay at vacation home rentals).

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Kona Sunset House

Review submitted: March 26, 2013   Date of arrival: March 17, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Kona Sunset House for a week, and had a very enjoyable time.

The house was very clean and very well-equipped. The back porch has an almost 180 degree view of the ocean and the view are outstanding. The pool was clean and big enough to do laps.

Also, the barbecue grill was very clean, and did a good job of cooking burgers/steaks.

We highly recommend this place (we travel twice a year and only stay at vacation home rentals).

Recommended for: age 55+, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Geri and Mark (Salem, OR)

Review submitted: February 28, 2013   Date of arrival: February 7, 2013

Our Favorite place to stay!! The Home is comfortable, convienent and clean. The lania has a fanastic view of the harbor and coastline. Pool is fantastic, no need to go anywhere, you can spend hours reading a book enjoying the sun with dips in the pool. Walking trails outside your front door which run for miles. Close to shopping, grocery stores, local farmers markets, shopping centers, resturants and golf. All that aside, it is in a quiet neighborhood in the Kailua sun belt. Local property manager is available and accommodating. Can't wait for our next vacation at Sunset Kona House!! Definitly a Bright Star Destination!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Amazing!

Review submitted: January 18, 2013   Date of arrival: December 15, 2012

The best accommodation yet since we have been returning to Kona for the past 12 years! We had our whole family stay together in the house over Christmas, 3 adult kids, Grandparents and us. We never felt cramped and even had more family members over for Christmas dinner! The kitchen was well equipped, the lanai was huge and to have our own pool was so lovely. Anyone who loves to walk I highly reccommend the trail that the house is located on, such friendly people and beautiful views of the ocean, only made it to the end once! The property manager was excellent in responding to any minor problems. We will hopefully return soon!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Our home away fro home....

Review submitted: November 25, 2012   Date of arrival: April 8, 2012

We rented the Kona Sunset House on the advice of friends that had stayed here previously. We had an amazing time. We had all of the amenities of home and great care was taken with the few problems we did encounter. It was nice to be in a residential neighborhood where evenings were quiet and the view was amazing. Thank you so much for the Hawaiian hospitality and we hope to return again sometime.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Beautiful house overlooking the water!

Review submitted: November 10, 2012   Date of arrival: October 8, 2012

This was such a beautiful and spacious home, with a gorgeous view over the town and the water.
We had six people staying in the house and there was plenty of room, as well as being lovely and quiet as it is out of town.
We rented the house as we were in Kona for the Ironman Triathlon and it was a fantastic place to rest up before the race and recover after, so relaxing! We never wanted to leave :)
Thank you for the use of your amazing home!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you so much for your comments. We try very hard to keep it nice as we love it too. Thank you again.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Place

Review submitted: September 26, 2012   Date of arrival: September 11, 2012

This house exceeded all of our expectations. Great neighborhood, easy access to everything you could want or need in Kona. The pictures do not do it justice. The house and grounds are impeccable, beds are very comfortable, furniture, linens, kitchen equipment is all first rate. The pool is a great place to spend the afternoon. The best part is the lanai that is accessible from most rooms in the house. The views are incredible, you will not find a better place to watch a Kona sunset. The owner is very easy to work with and the property manager is easy to get ahold of as well as being a very nice guy. We have rented many vacation homes in the Islands and this is hands down the best value and most comfortable place yet.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful Place

Review submitted: September 26, 2012   Date of arrival: September 11, 2012

This house is in a great neighborhood, convenient to everything Kona has to offer yet private and very comfortable. The photos do not do the view justice, it is great. The house and grounds are impeccably maintained. The beds are comfortable, the kitchen is very well equipped and easy to work in. The pool is a great place to spend a quiet afternoon, but he best place is the lanai. It is accessible from the master bedroom, one of the secondary bedrooms as well as the dining and living rooms. The owner is very easy to work with and the contact person is easy to get ahold of as well as being a very good guy. I would rent this place again in a minute. We have stayed in many vacation homes in Kona as well as all of the other islands and this is hands down the best for comfort and value.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you so much for your kind words. We are always glad to here when our guests have a great time. It is our home away from home and we want our guests to feel the same way.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Had a fantastic time.

Review submitted: August 21, 2012   Date of arrival: August 4, 2012

Very appropriatyely named. While it had an excellent kitchen and ample bedrooms, the real high point was the lanai. The lanai was an outdoor living room with one of the best views at sunset on the island.

We had the priviege of both exploring the island from this base, and being able to recharge and lounge here. The pictures really don't do in justice, especially in relation to the back-yard, which features a pool I stepped off as being close to 20 x 40 feet.

If you want to walk to the beach and be in the middle of the bustle, get a different spot. If you have a vehicle, this can be a a short drive from that same beach. Easily accessed by car - two blocks away from the main highway, but could neither see nor hear it.

Property manager was close and absolutely easy to contact. The sweep stopped running in the pool, and was corrected the day after I let them know.

Very ample room for a family of four, with mom-in-law along in comfort.

No air conditioning, but A/C appears to be pretty rare in a residence here as I understand.

Good books on the shelf, and a great view of the harbour as the fishing boats take off in the morning.

Had a great time, and would definitely stay here again should I ever return to the Big Island.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Sad to Leave

Review submitted: August 16, 2012   Date of arrival: July 14, 2012

Our party of seven had a wonderful time staying at the Kona Sunset House, where we enjoyed ten glorious days. We made a point to be on the lanai each evening for sunset--as it truly seemed the ideal place to soak in the beauty. The house is amply stocked. The furniture, particularly the beds, is high quality and quite comfortable. We ate ninety-five percent of our meals "at home" which was a real savings. There is a lot of beach gear--chairs, coolers, floaties--making it extra easy to enjoy the many beautiful beaches. The house is screened throughout so the Hawaiian breezes kept us comfortable. The pool is clean and inviting. Although there are two TVs, not once were they turned on, everyone happily relaxing without resorting to TV watching. It was convenient having a washer and dryer to keep up with laundry, although it seemed we were mostly in our swim suits. The accomodations were everything we had hoped for--in fact, so nice some of us spent most of our time simply enjoying the serenity of the house--not stepping foot off the property for days . We really felt that it was our home for the time we were there and enthusiastically recommend it to anyone looking for peaceful, gracious living while in Kona.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Owners response: Thank you so much for the wonderful review.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Kona and her amazing sunsets!!

Review submitted: June 16, 2012   Date of arrival: May 28, 2012

The Sunset House is a beautiful property with an excellent location that provides an easy access to all the beaches, attractions, and the town. The view from all the rooms in the house is spectacular. In the afternoons, you can enjoy the amazing sun sets from the comfortable lanai while your having dinner and in the mornings when it is more sunny you can start your day at the pool and enjoy swimming. During our stay we experience the feeling of being in a resort but just for us. The house is very private and in a nice, safe and friendly neighborhood. The rooms are very spacious and well maintained, the entire house is very clean and well taken care of.. We love the Geckos!!! they are very cute, colorful and fun to watch, they just are part of Hawaiian nature and scene. We can wait to go back!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you so much for your kind review. It is our goal to maintain the house in the best condition possible as we love to stay there as well and this is our little resort from our everyday stressful life. Thanks again.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Fabulous House - Cold Pool!

Review submitted: March 19, 2012   Date of arrival: September 26, 2011

I stayed here twice (May 2011 and October 2011) and feel this is an above average vacation rental. It's clean, ideally located, has plenty of room, and is in a quiet subdivision close to a walking trail. The owner is very responsive and easy to work with. The only drawback, and a significant one to me, is that the pool is not heated. As an avid lap swimmer, I found early morning or evening swims are uncomfortably cold. (Due to the cost of heating pools by gas or electric, you'll find that most private residential pools in Hawaii are not heated - something that should be noted.) If warm pool water is not a priority though, by all means I'd highly recommend this property.

Recommended for: families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you so much for your kind words. The pool is not heated as most in Hawaii are not. It usually stays between 75 and 82 degrees. Just about ocean temp.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great property our second visit

Review submitted: March 6, 2012   Date of arrival: February 17, 2012

Very comfortable house, well maintained in a nice neighborhood. Scenic walkway close by. We enjoyed the pool and sunsets!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Hannah

Review submitted: March 6, 2012   Date of arrival: March 1, 2012

This house was amazing! We loved ever thing about it! It's close to everything and in a great neighborhood. Thanks for letting us stay at the sunset house:)

Recommended for: families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: You are very welcome and I am glad that you enjoyed your stay.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Our Wonderful Two Weeks at Kona Sunset House

Review submitted: February 13, 2012   Date of arrival: January 26, 2011

The Kona Sunset Home is a very comfortable home. The house is situated in a nice neighborhood with a walking path that goes for miles. The ocean view is fantastic, sunsets from the lanai were incrediable. All of our meals were on the lanai enjoying the view. We spent most of our days at the pool relaxing and enjoying the Kona sunshine. Town is just a few minutes away, with shopping and restaurants. Our favorite "Dive" restaurant, Da Poke Shack is down the hill minutes away. We'll be back, the comfort and location makes this a must stop for the Kona coast.

Recommended for: families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Home away from home

Review submitted: January 3, 2012   Date of arrival: December 17, 2011

This house was perfect for our family (girls ages 7 and 11). We felt right at home right away. It was well stocked, clean, and nicely furnished. It is far enough from town to feel "away from it all" but close enough to be convenient. Also, the road turns into a nice walking trail at both ends. The pool is big but, like most there, not heated and a bit of a trek from the house. The BBQ could use an upgrade but these are very minor things compared to all of the great aspects of this house.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers

Owners response: Thank you so much for taking the time to comment about our home. The weather there is very hard on BBQs and unfortunately they just don't last. We have replaced it now with a new one. Should be good for another six months. LOL

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect House Name

Review submitted: November 30, 2011   Date of arrival: November 18, 2011

Long west facing lanai with amble space and seating to enjoy the sunset or watch the kids in the pool. My family of six with two big kids and two college kids thoroughly enjoyed the two bedrooms with extra blankets and the spacious master bedroom. The kitchen was fully stocked. The toaster didn't work but the toaster oven did. The property was clean and well maintained. My kids were upset that I forgot about the closet of pool toys until the last day. The neighborhood is quiet and friendly. We enjoyed the walking/running path that started across the street. Stuart was incredibly accommodating and responsive with planning and implementing our visit. We strongly recommend the Kona Sunset House and would come back.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you so much for your kind review. We love our home and we try to make it a wonderful place to visit. It's nice to here when others enjoy it as well. Also we have replaced the toaster with a new one. Thanks again.
Stuart

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful Home

Review submitted: September 15, 2011   Date of arrival: August 30, 2011

My husband and I rented this Kona home for four nights in August, and we were extremely pleased. It was much more space than two people need, but we wanted to treat ourselves to the private pool (which was amazing). The house is wonderful, though I imagine most visitors spend most of their time on the lanai. It's huge with lots of comfortable seating, dining table, and a gorgeous view of the ocean...there's really no reason to be inside! Another huge perk was that we didn't need to purchase soap, shampoo, detergent, or any beach or pool gear. It was all there. One caution: if geckos make you skittish, this probably isn't the place for you. They were always present...though they're totally harmless, stay out of your way, and they're actually quite cute. I think they're also pretty common around Kona. House was 15 minutes from the downtown area, 10 mins from a Safeway and Walmart, and in a very safe and quiet neighborhood. I highly recommend.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Kona Sunset House Review

Review submitted: June 20, 2011   Date of arrival: June 11, 2011

We really enjoyed the house, and especially the lanai, with its cool breezes and terrific view of the ocean. The equipment was excellent, with the right cooking gear, towels and some start up cleaning supplies and soap. The house, grounds and pool were all immaculate. When we had questions the owner or property manager promptly addressed our concerns. The owner even provided recommendations on local food and activities, which proved to be right on the money. The neighborhood is quiet, relaxing and friendly and out of the main tourist area, which was fine with us, however a car is necessary at this location. We are hoping to return to Hawaii, and we definitely will stay in the Kona Sunset House again if possible.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Home away from Home!

Review submitted: May 24, 2011   Date of arrival: January 15, 2010

My husband and I have spend 2 or 3 months here in the Sunset House three of the last 4 winters. We love the island feel and the closeness to all the amenities of the Kona area.
The sunsets are truly beautiful from the lanai. The walking trail is wonderful, though when I first started walking it, I never thought I would make it all the way to the end....I am not a walker.
I hope to find time there this winter to return to our "hme away".
Thank you Stuart for the wonderful memories!

Jerry and Susan

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Excellent Place to Stay! Excellent Value! Photos don't do it justice!!

Review submitted: April 6, 2011   Date of arrival: March 28, 2011

This truly is a sunset house - breathtaking view of the coast off the HUGE lanai!! House and pool were well maintained and clean, very spacious. A 5 minute drive from downtown/coast/grocery stores. Right on a bike/walk path. Everything we needed was there and more! Some starter amenities were provided which was nice in case we forgot something... Even the twin beds pushed together in the smaller bedroom made one nice king size bed all ready for us when we arrived.

If you are a late sleeper (hard to be in this place with so much to see!!) take one of the back larger bedrooms because Hawaiians in this neighborhood are up and at 'em full of aloha EARLY in the morning!!

We have AT&T & Verizon cell phones and had full bars at this location.

This was a GREAT deal for the price compared to other rental properties we looked at which were around 300 a night and might have been a bit larger - but had no view. We hope to return someday!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

A Perfect Holiday

Review submitted: March 22, 2011   Date of arrival: March 10, 2011

Kona Sunset House was exactly the Holiday we were looking for. The owner was very friendly and always quick to answer any questions that came up as we were planning for the trip. He also sent me some additional photos when I asked. The house was exactly as described and clean. All the beds seemed comfy (especially the Master which was ours) and the location of the house was truly ideal, especially for walkers/runners who like to fit a workout in as the house is right on a great trail system enjoyed by many throughout the day. Heading out for a walk early in the morning with the sun shining and the birds singing just made my day (there's some great hills to go up too with incredible views). The pool was clean and the grounds were well maintained. The pool is a little chilly to get into in the morning, but by the afternoon it was perfect. We spent the majority of our time in the house on the lanai, which had lots of space for our group of 6. I would definitely recommend this house to anyone planning a Kona Holiday and if we do return to the Big Island, I can't imagine staying anywhere else!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

excellent home to share with couple and family with kids

Review submitted: March 16, 2011   Date of arrival: February 16, 2011

Great layout of house, nicely stocked kitchen, good supplies for beach, beautiful pool with grassy area. Very nice house and bedrooms that lead on the lanai. Layout of the house is great for privacy in bedrooms but then nice living room/dining/community area. Accessible from airport and easy to get into Kona or head to the many beaches. Would highly recommend for two couples and third bedroom is ideal for kids and/or single adults.

Only thing I would change is allow to move the grill (if it's raining, it's less fun to grill) and add more seats for the pool area. I would highly recommend this house and would use it when visiting again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for your comments. The grill is on wheels and guests are more than welcome to move it under cover. We have four chairs and two lounges but will certainly add more chairs to the pool area. Thank you again.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Hawaii Five-O

Review submitted: February 21, 2011   Date of arrival: January 29, 2011

What a great place to celebrate my 50th birthday! The Kona Sunset House was everything we could have hoped for. Great location, beautiful views of the ocean, nice layout, clean and well appointed, comfy beds, and a great pool. We felt instantly at home when we arrived (unlike the feeling when checking into a hotel). It was a great base from which to make day trips. And provision of the "little things" such as coolers, sand mats and boogie boards were much appreciated. I whole-heartedly recommend this property to anyone looking to rent on the Big Island and my family and I look forward to our next trip to the islands where we will definitely be staying at the Kona Sunset House!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Kona Vacation

Review submitted: December 31, 2010   Date of arrival: December 22, 2010

Thoroughly enjoyed Kona Sunset House and would recommend to anyone. House was spotless and well appointed. Owner clearly cares for the property and the house, yard and pool were in top condition. Neighborhood was very nice with a combination of roads and paths that lend themselves to walks of various lengths and grades. Central location made for easy grocery shopping, trips to downtown Kailua and access to water.

House itself was very comfortable, rooms well laid out and central living area conducive to family gathering, meals, etc. Lanai has terrific views of the water, sunset and Kailua. Comfortable couches and lounge chairs made it a favorite spot for all and at all times of the day/night. Kitchen was well stocked with utensils, appliances, dish and glassware.

Tatami mats and coolers for beach going especially welcome and a thoughtful touch. Boogie boards and sun umbrellas added all one could need for a day of sun, surf and sand. Handy storage at the exit to the house made for easy grab & go and storage and towel drying upon return. Thoughtful layout keeps the house clean and uncluttered.

Overall, a 5 star experience for our family and we're generally not easy graders. A very nice blend of comfort, cleanliness, thoughtful appointments and layout made for a really nice family experience.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

The best and most Wonderful vacation and home ever that we stayed in

Review submitted: December 13, 2010   Date of arrival: April 10, 2010

Hello,
I would highly recomend staying at the Kona Sunset House. It is just a short drive from the airport. It is just a short drive from the little town of Kona. The house is clean, has a washer and dryer, Gas bar-b-que that is clean and easy to use. the house has the best view of the ocean from the master bedroom, living room and the second bedroom. Windows are all across the back side of the house. The kitchen is fully stocked with dishes, pots and pans and silverware, all seasoning that you need to cook your steaks and large with plenty of room for cooking. The best meals my granddaughter and I shared were out on the lanai watching the sunset, and every morning eating our breakfast watching the ocean. The beds were all freshly made with clean sheets etc. The furnature was beautiful the house was very welcoming and made me feel like I was at home. The house manager lives next door which was great because he is friendly and very helpful if you have any questions on how to work something. If you get a chance to go to the volcano you should drive to it. My granddaughter and I spent a day driving around the Island and stopped at the volcano and wished we would of spent more time there. The little town of Kona has the best little shops to walk around and by gifts, and keep sakes. I won my trip to Hawaii from K-hits and Mr Hess was kind enough to provide the housing which I am truely grateful for since I would have never been able to go other wise. I would stay there if I ever return to Hawaii in the future. Oh yes the pool was clean and large. One of my most favorite things with the house was the gecko's are so cute and sweet. I had the master bedroom and my granddaughter had the second bedroom which gave us the best views to go to sleep and wake up to. The master bedroom has a huge dressing area and bathroom with a walk in shower that is so large. I miss the house the island and the gecko's. If you like to take walks when you come out of the garage take a left and you will have a nice stroll. The road is paved for a little way then turns into a dirt road which you will see the most exotic flowers, trees and we saw wild horses. You will need to rent a car, which is available at the airport they have several car rental lots.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Lovely views

Review submitted: December 13, 2010   Date of arrival: October 5, 2010

This is a very comfortable home in a nice quiet neighborhood. Morning coffee on the lanai as the sun came up was a wonderful way to start each day. The nearby running trails are great. We enjoyed our week here very much, and would definitely stay here again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful Time

Review submitted: December 7, 2010   Date of arrival: November 25, 2010

Our stay at the Kona Sunset House was wonderful. The house was everything we were hoping for and that was advertised. It is located in an upscale area, with a walking and jogging trail right there on your road. Easy access to Kailua and all the local activities. As all the reviews said, and we confirm, the lanai (deck) with a great view of the ocean, makes morning coffee and evening sunsets the highlights of the day. We will contact the owner again when we plan another trip to Kona.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Paradise Found

Review submitted: July 13, 2010   Date of arrival: August 29, 2007

Wow this place is awesome! This house is like one of those houses right out of Paradise Magazine. Plus the house comes complete with a beautiful and amazing sunset. I slept out on the Lanai and it was picture perfect. The pool is great and I think that I have spent more time in the water than out.This is the best vacation ever. I hope that I can come back to paradise someday.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Wonderful Lanai

Review submitted: July 13, 2010   Date of arrival: August 29, 2007

You may here this all the time about how wonderful your Lanai is. It is the best view in Hawaii. Your house is like a bed floating in the clouds. After snorkeling for ours with sunburned backs and barley able to walk we make our way to the Lanai and and peer down at the beautiful gardens and watch the sunset. The geckos are amazing and fun to watch.Aloha!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Married in Hawaii

Review submitted: July 13, 2010   Date of arrival: October 4, 2007

We had such a wonderful time here and your home is so beautiful. It helped make our stay even better. Our ceremony was beautiful and the honeymoon is great. We enjoyed the Lanai the most. Can't wait to return. Mahalo

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Slice of Paradise

Review submitted: July 13, 2010   Date of arrival: February 24, 2008

Our extended family had two weeks in your comfortable slice of paradise. We did all the normal tourist stuff that folks from Idaho do and each day we returned to the comfort and view of the Lanai. The novelty of Gecko's swishing their tails like cats before pouncing and the joy of jumping in the pool anytime the urge struck us was overwhelming. We take home brain fulls of sounds, images, and memories that will resound through stories and told in dreams till we again visit the Island of amazement and abundent joys.Does it ever get better than this? Many time over Mahalo!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Graduation in Hawaii

Review submitted: July 13, 2010   Date of arrival: July 29, 2008

We had a great time in Hawaii. A beautiful and comfortable place with awesome views.We did lots of things but not enough time to do them all. We would love to come back soon. It was a great graduation vacation.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Spectacular Sunsets

Review submitted: July 13, 2010   Date of arrival: August 7, 2008

We had a wonderful stay in your home. Our kids had a great time in Hawaii with all the beautiful sites to see. Our evenings on the Lanai were so relaxing and dining out there while watching those spectacular sunsets is priceless. Hope to return someday. Mahalo

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Gecko's Everywhere

Review submitted: July 13, 2010   Date of arrival: March 22, 2009

I am here with my family and having a wonderful time. The gecko's are everywhere and fun to watch. We've gone snorkeling,fishing,swimming,shopping,site seeing. The house is sooo comfee! The Lanai and the view is sooo beautiful! The pool is great and the perfect temperature.I am sad to leave, my trip was just AWESOME!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Honeymoon in Hawaii

Review submitted: July 13, 2010   Date of arrival: May 24, 2009

This is our last night here on our Honeymoon. We could not have chosen a better place. Sunsets at the top of Mauna Kea and Helicopter rides. The house is great and we can't wait to come back.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Relaxing on the Lanai

Review submitted: July 13, 2010   Date of arrival: June 6, 2009

Aloha! This is our last morning in Hawaii and I sit here on the Lanai with a mug of Kona coffee, sweetbread french toast and a fresh Papaya, enjoying the view one last time. My family had an unforgetable month here in your lovely Kona Sunset House. Thank you so much for the care you have taken to make it perfect-even a rice cooker. My three boys enjoyed the pool 3-4 times a day and watching the gecko's was amusing.I read ten books and remembered how to really relax. I think my husband saw every single sunset this month and called us all out on the Lanai every night for the big show.We went to the beach, Mauna Kea,snorkeling and to the Volcano. It was lovely to have the old Walua road and walking trail right outside our door. The lights in the lower yard and pool made our evening cocktails on the Lanai magical and Bob the caretaker was friendly and helpful. I know my family will always remember this month long change of lifestyle. Thank you

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Kids and Gecko's

Review submitted: July 13, 2010   Date of arrival: April 22, 2009

What a wonderful time we had in Hawaii. Breakfast and dinner on the Lanai. Watching the sunsets, fishing, snorkeling, shopping and site seeing. But most of all watching the kids play at the pool with the geckos and the birds singing.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Life at 35 mph seems to be Kona Time

Review submitted: July 13, 2010   Date of arrival: October 4, 2009

We could hardly leave the Lanai or get out of the pool. We felt so comfortable here. To much to do in one trip so we will have to come back. Our high points are; early morning breakfast on the Lanai, sunset dinners on the Lanai, evening cookies and wine on the Lanai, (listen and you can here the waves), mornings in the pool, Mauna Kea at sunset, snorkeling at Capt Cook, the Volcanoe and of course this beautiful house with the wonderful furnishings and awesome views. Thank you so much.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Christmas in Hawaii

Review submitted: July 13, 2010   Date of arrival: December 20, 2009

I have been here many times but never at Christmas. The weather is perfect and the house is more than we hoped for. The owners thought of everything and our stay has been great. We hate to leave but we will be back.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Sad to leave

Review submitted: July 13, 2010   Date of arrival: January 14, 2010

We have been here for a month and I am sad to leave. We have fallen in love with your home. It's so comfortable here. The back deck is such a great place to enjoy dinner with the family and watch the sunsets every evening. The pool is a great place to cool off in the afternoon and each morning we take a run on the trail.We have all begun to feel like this is our home. Thank you.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Wondeful Vacation

Review submitted: July 13, 2010   Date of arrival: April 10, 2010

This has been a life dream of mine. I love Hawaii, I love this house, it is so beautiful. I love the Lanai and watching the sunsets and the Geckos. Enjoying our meals on the Lanai is so wonderful. Watching my grand daughter laugh and smile ever since we got here is priceless. Thank you so much and God Bless.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Loves Hawaii

Review submitted: February 8, 2010   Date of arrival: August 26, 2006

I love this house! It has a great view of the sunsets each day and has a great pool in which my family and I go in every day. I have been to Hawaii 2 times before this and haven't had this much fun! This is by far the best house in Hawaii in my opinion. I also like the Lanai with the outside tables and swing. I have had a blast. As far as Hawaii, I love snorkeling and sitting under the umbrella wile sipping lemonade while the breeze flows through the palms. Thank you for letting my family and me stay at this awesome place and I hope to come back soon.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Loves Hawaii

Review submitted: February 8, 2010   Date of arrival: August 26, 2006

I love this house! It has a great view of the sunsets each day and has a great pool in which my family and I go in every day. I have been to Hawaii 2 times before this and haven't had this much fun! This is by far the best house in Hawaii in my opinion. I also like the Lanai with the outside tables and swing. I have had a blast. As far as Hawaii, I love snorkeling and sitting under the umbrella wile sipping lemonade while the breeze flows through the palms. Thank you for letting my family and me stay at this awesome place and I hope to come back soon.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review