reviews for: listing #44258 - Amelia Island, Florida House rental

Ocean Front Beach House
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Fernadina Beach
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $272 - $397 /nt
    $1,904 - $2,779 /wk

sort by:

Sweet Summer!

Review submitted: July 7, 2014   Date of arrival: May 24, 2014

What a sweet way to slip into the summer season! Our time at this special little place by the sea was a perfect way to kick off our summer. We enjoyed the luxurious simplicity of the home, as well as, it's perfect location. This is truly one of those places you visit and then find your soul longing for well after you have departed.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Awesome House

Review submitted: June 24, 2014   Date of arrival: June 16, 2014

We fell in love with this house from the moment we arrived! It's charm and decorations were exactly our style and it was literally 10 steps from the ocean. We also loved how clean the house was and how well stocked it is. We have stayed in many beach houses and this one was stocked with everything we needed. It's also located just a few miles from downtown so that was awesome. We will be back for sure!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

BEST BEACH VACATION!

Review submitted: April 8, 2014   Date of arrival: March 31, 2014

I cannot imagine a better vacation house, location, or beach front retreat! I have stayed in this cottage for four Spring Break vacations and have already planned a fifth! The cottage feels like home, you can enjoy the beach from the decks, relax in the hammock, and catch the evening sun on the front porch. The best part: you are RIGHT ON THE BEACH. One of the most beautiful and uncrowded beaches you could imagine!

The town of Fernandina Beach is beautiful. Restaurants - YES! Shops - YES! Fun - YES! You will not be disappointed.

You will be welcomed with hospitality, beauty, and a vacation that will help you recharge your batteries. This home is one of my favorite places on the planet and I look forward to returning in 2015! The owner rocks, too!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Home away from home

Review submitted: April 3, 2014   Date of arrival: March 26, 2014

After a long, brutal winter, a visit to Amelia Island over Spring Break was just what we needed. The cottage was perfect! Beautifully decorated but comfy and cozy. Cottage was impeccably clean and well appointed with high end amenities. Muffins and coffee upon arrival was a nice welcoming touch : ) Enjoyed the many sunrises (while lying in bed) and the beautiful uncrowded beach in the backyard. Easy 2 mile drive to downtown Fernandina Beach with wonderful restaurants and shopping. We so enjoyed our first trip to Amelia Island and can't wait to come back! Thank you Marlee for opening up your wonderful home to us.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Most relaxing week

Review submitted: March 4, 2014   Date of arrival: February 2, 2014

Our family spent a week at this beach cottage, and it is completely true to its' description and reviews. It has amazing views, charming decor, a great location and it is impeccably clean. It is a truly special place, as it immediately makes you feel welcomed and at home. More than anything, we miss the sound of the ocean from every room in the house. The owner is very professional and has stocked the house with all of the essentials, even champagne glasses. We can't wait to come back!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Good vacation at the beach.

Review submitted: January 24, 2014   Date of arrival: December 22, 2013

My wife and I celebrated Christmas this year at the cottage and had a wonderful time. The accommodations, weather and beach were outstanding. The proximity to the beach is ideal as well as the appointments in the cottage. We also enjoyed many of the local restaurants in the area, especially Joe's 2nd Street Bistro in Fernandina Beach. Look forward to going back.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Delightful Stay

Review submitted: October 28, 2013   Date of arrival: October 19, 2013

The Florida autumn through rain and wind at us, sun and breeze, and we watched the ocean change from the deck of this lovely beach house. It was perfect for us: quiet, right on the beach, a short drive to the really lovely old town with its shops and bars and restaurants. Highlights for us were the excellent Ghost Walk and a splendid dinner at "Davids". Thank you, Marlee.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Can't wait to return!!

Review submitted: October 2, 2013   Date of arrival: September 27, 2013

Oh my goodness, where to begin? From the outside it is just a modest rather nondescript little house. Open the door, and, WOW!! Charming, cozy, picturesque, welcoming, relaxing, beautifully decorated without feeling overdone... We were there for a girls getaway and never went downtown! The views, and sounds of being right there on the ocean are captivating. Long walks on the beach, getting up to watch the sunrise with our coffee on the deck,watching movies in the cozy family room at night,all made for a wonderful stay. Bring good wine, good food, and good company, and you will never want to leave :-)

Recommended for: families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: Sue, thank you so much for kind words! It's truly amazing to be able to share our home with people who love it as much as we do! I so agree with you, there is something very special about our home! Please come back soon! It's to be enjoyed all year round!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Amazing oceanfront jewel!

Review submitted: September 25, 2013   Date of arrival: September 19, 2013

We spent three days in the beach house for a girls weekend getaway. It was so relaxing and absolutely beautiful! We aren't sure the TV's in the house work, we never turned them on!! We walked on the beach, sat on the deck at sunset and enjoyed the enclosed patio room with the ocean view. This house is equipped with everything you need. We enjoyed dinner at the Crab Trap and live music at the Green Turtle in Fernindina. It is truly difficult to leave such an amazing place.

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you so much for your glowing review! It's a pleasure to share our beautiful home with others! It's an amazing home with incredible views and a cozy, inviting interior! Please come back and visit! Any time of the year is wonderful! Thank you!!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Fantastic Weekend Rental

Review submitted: September 12, 2012   Date of arrival: August 31, 2012

We had an amazing time at this beach cottage rental. The house is well appointed and looks just like the photos! You are on the beach- we had ample opportunity to take long walks on the beach and enjoy the moonrise on the back deck. The house has everything you need, we cooked the entire stay and there were ample towels and even beach items for our use. This is a great seaside cottage!

Recommended for: girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Very Relaxing

Review submitted: July 2, 2012   Date of arrival: June 25, 2012

This was an exceptional place to stay. We were not disappointed. It was exactly as promised and we felt blessed to be so close to the beach. We didn't have the problem of lugging everything to the beach because we were right there. I am not a sun-worshipper so I was able to enjoy the shade of the lower level in the morning and the upper level in the afternoon. I good get as much or as little sun as I wanted, while still enjoying the sound of the surf. It rained a good deal while we were there, but this didn't dampen our spirits. Brought groceries so we could cook in and the kitchen was well stocked. This is an excellent rental and if Marlee will have us, we would stay there again. Best stuff to do: Kayak tour of Simpson Creek, walking the beach for shells, Fort Clinch beach for sharks' teeth, playing games and doing puzzles with the kids, lying in the hammock, eating in downtown Fernandina Beach: Brett's Waterway Cafe and Kelley's Courtyard Cafe- recommend the Mahi-Mahi sandwich- Delicious! Peppers was fine if you wanted a chain-feel atmosphere- not what I look for at the beach.

Recommended for: families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Exceptional and well appointed cottage at the beach!

Review submitted: May 2, 2012   Date of arrival: April 23, 2012

My husband surprised me with a visit to this adorable cottage! The owners touches are tasteful and heartfelt...coffee, muffins and grapes were left along with a handwritten note. We left a few sea shells and mini crab shells as others did. We signed the guest book, so make sure u do as well! She wasn't kidding when she said food, toothbrush and clothes are all you need. Picturesque views from each room that are quite memorable! The bathroom was a zen spa (minus water pressure in tub) and even had sunscreen ready for us! Pompoes - the signature pie was taboo and Kariboo are excellent restaurants in town. Marlee is a gem, and we want to stay once more before it is sold...a perfect romantic getaway!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

What a gem!

Review submitted: January 12, 2012   Date of arrival: November 11, 2011

My husband and I needed to get away without traveling far and we picked the right place! The cottage is immaculate and beautifully decorated. Stocked with extras and owners were so helpful. We enjoyed relaxing on the deck at night and listening to the waves. We definetly will return for some R & R. We truly enjoyed our visit and would highly recommend this piece of paradise.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Fell in love with this beach house!

Review submitted: January 2, 2012   Date of arrival: August 11, 2011

We had such a FABULOUS time at this home on the island!!!!! I don’t know where to start. The the house is gorgeous, beautifully decorated, stocked much better than a five diamond hotel (FAR better than my opinion of the high end Ponte Vedra Resorts ), views are amazing, and the owners were so easy to work with!!!! It doesn't get better than this. We will be returning again and again!!!

Recommended for: families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Excellent from beginning to end

Review submitted: June 7, 2011   Date of arrival: June 3, 2011

My friend and I just returned from a 4 days "girls" weekend at this home and it was nothing short of wonderful. It was a perfect location for a girls getaway, couples, or a group of friends. The decor is impeccable, but you almost miss it when you first walk in the door from the incredible view of the ocean. The owners care for this properly deeply and it shows. Every detail that you can think of is available for you, you literally need to bring your toothbrush and bathing suits. Incredible- thank you for a wonderful vacation Marlee!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Perfect Family Beach Vacation!

Review submitted: May 6, 2011   Date of arrival: April 17, 2011

We spent 5 nights in this beautiful cottage for our daughters' (ages 6, 10, and 11) first trip to the beach. Everything was perfect...the house was truly a home away from home. Its beauty took our breath away the moment we walked through the door. And the ocean views...amazing! Step off the deck and you are on one of the cleanest, most uncrowded beaches in Florida. Our girls spent countless hours collecting shells and jumping the waves. And the town of Fernandina Beach couldn't be more charming. Wonderful restaurants around every corner, and don't miss watching the sunset over the marina. We enjoyed biking through Fort Clinch State Park, and a quick day trip to Savannah. There is so much fun to be had on Amelia Island! That is, if you must leave the beach house. Owners were extremely kind and helpful. We truly could not have asked for a better beach vacation!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Amazing and Romantic Getaway

Review submitted: April 8, 2011   Date of arrival: March 25, 2011

This place is one of a kind! If you are looking to get away from the hustle and bustle of city life, then this place is for you! Cozy and well decorated, as soon as you walk in the front door you are taken away with the views throught the dining room of the ocean. Went for an anniversary and my wife's birthday and had the best vacation in a long time. Lots of close restaurants and the fishing right on the shore was great! Full kitchen and everything you need away from home. Super clean and even better looking than the photos! Owner is prompt to return phone calls and emails and answer any questions. Going back soon!
Recommended for: 30+, families with young children, couples, romantic getaway, fisherman

Recommended for: families with young children, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Perfect Beach Cottage

Review submitted: January 19, 2011   Date of arrival: January 14, 2011

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The house is charming, cozy, and perfectly decorated. It was also meticulous ... the bathroom is spacious and spotless, kitchen updated and easy to use, bedrooms extremely comfortable and cute, and the living room is cozy. On top of that, the ocean views are amazing! We will definitely vacation there again. If you are particular about the cleanliness and overall appearance of your vacation getaway, then this is the place for you. The owners are extremely friendly and eager to provide a pleasant experience for their tenants.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: August 11, 2010   Date of arrival: July 10, 2010

"In our twelve years of visiting Amelia Island this is the most tastefully decorated, cleanest, and most comfortable beach home we've rented. The owners have extended great hospitality to us and made sure that every detail of our stay was covered, from all the home supplies to arrival gifts such as a wonderful breakfast basket. We would love to rent this home year after year."

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review