reviews for: listing #44341 - Mazatlan, Pacific Coast House rental

Ocean view steps from beach restored Centro Historico
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  3
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Centro Historico
  • sleeps  8
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $400 - $600 /wk
    $600 - $1,600 /mth

sort by:

Really Enjoyed Staying Here

Review submitted: March 20, 2012   Date of arrival: March 16, 2012

Considering the cost, I am rating this 5 stars. We stayed for a week in March. The house was clean, plenty of kitchen utensils, laundry worked, wi-fi reception was good. A very unique experience having 3 levels. The lower street level had a private bedroom and a small bed between the bedroom and bathroom. Laundry facilities also on ground floor. Up a flight of stairs is an open room connected to the kitchen and a bathroom. Small bar and dining room table, tv with many selections and a modest living room. Past the kitchen is a door that opens to a patio with nice views of the neighborhood, lots of plants and a staircase that leads to the 3rd floor. All kinds of windows and great views from there. Small kitchen, large refrigerator, bathroom and comfortable bed. Going out the opposite door leads to another small patio and a spiral staircase going up to the roof. What a magnificent view! You can see most of Centro, the cruise ship area and Olas Altos area, which by the way, is just a short walk away. The roof area is surrounded by a wrought iron fence and is quite spacious. I enjoyed doing my morning exercise there each day including jump rope. Several lawn chairs which made it perfect while we watched the Carnival fireworks while sipping some very good tequila.

It's a nice neighborhood, but you will hear barking dogs, but not a big detriment. The location is ideal for getting to Olas Altos, Centro, the Cathedral, Market and Plaza Machado.

We found Janice to be very nice to work with as well as Larry her English speaking caretaker. I'm hoping to be able to return to relive this great experience.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

prospero - no caliban

Review submitted: January 24, 2012   Date of arrival: October 9, 2011

this was the 2nd time renting this house for a month. both experiences have been excellent. the owner is congenial, communicative, and very willing to work with me to make sure my stay is stress-free and relaxing. the location is perfect. just far enough back from the hubbub to be quiet, yet just a short walk to the beach or any of the centro cultural events and dining. the view of the beach and all of central mazatlan and beyond is panoramic. i'll be renting here as often as i can.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

lovely home

Review submitted: January 16, 2012   Date of arrival: December 15, 2011

the house is huge, and very well maintained - tons of room and the views of the ocean and the city are spectacular. Easy walking distance to everything from the beach to the teatro, markets and more. Excellent housekeeper. Great colours and charm.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, pet-friendly, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Amazing House and Location

Review submitted: November 1, 2011   Date of arrival: June 13, 2011

We stayed in this house the summer of 2009. When we walked into the house, we couldn't believe our eyes. It was much more beautiful and larger than the pictures show. There is room for a few families to stay, yet it was comfortable for just the three of us as well. The kitchen is fully equipped. The patios are relaxing and give you the feel of Mexico. The owner was extremely responsive and timely. Anything we needed, she immediately responded and did everything to make our stay comfortable and pleasant. The beds are comfortable with pillow top mattresses. The cleaning service was also a treat.

The location was perfect. (all times are walking) Just 5 minutes from the beach, 6 minutes from the Plaza, 5 minutes from the yoga studio and 3 minutes from the massage place:) The food choices around the house were varied in both price and taste. There was anything from fresh bread at the tienda just outside the door (a woman sold this from her house - 10 cents a piece) to sushi mexican style, the taco shop just by the little park down the hill, the the Shrimp Bucket or many swanky up-towny such options about 4 minutes away.

I highly recommend this as the perfect place to stay in Mazatlan. It is my dream to return!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

great place no problems

Review submitted: September 21, 2011   Date of arrival: July 1, 2011

It was very clean, well maintained, perfect location, quiet deadend street, authentic friendly neighborhood,lovely ocean breezes and views... The house manager was available at all times for any queries. I would recommend this property to anyone. I was there for three months and never once smelled anything so I don't understand the last complaint. If there was anything wrong the manager and the builder who works around the corner, would have been there to take care of it.
I liked Cuevo de Lion minutes away with a view of the ocean. Also loved the Letties on Stone Island.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Spectacular spot, great place, problem

Review submitted: July 7, 2011   Date of arrival: March 20, 2011

Having been in Mazatlan now for 6 months I believe I can confidently say this house is in one of the very best spots there is. While those who sleep very lightly may not want to sleep on the top floor because the many louad barnking roof dogs in close by properties tend to go through the night, this area is no worse than many in that regard, and perhaps living in the 1st floor medrooms may reduce that noise. The casa has a great view of everything important, and it is very close to everything happening in the character filled and exciting historical area. The house is fine and contents also were quite satisfactory. The net connection is quite unusually strong and reliable, and fast enough. It was my intention to stay for many months and I was very happy until the sewer gas smells begun. In the months since they remained intermittent, often not appearing even for weeks. I lived only on the top floor of the house which has most of what is needed (and of course up on the rooftop which is great!), and hardly spent any time on the 2nd floor living area or in the 1st floor bedrooms. A couple of times I did notice bad smells from the drains in the courtyard when hanging the washing down below but otherwise I am unaware if the sewer smells are on hte house on the first and second floors. Had it not been for this problem, which was not fixed in spite of many weeks of advice to the owner and manager, and repeated visits by the owner's handyman, I would have wanted to stay forever in this wonderful casa.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review