reviews for: listing #446715vb - Mal Pais, Costa Rica rental

Luxury Ocean View 4 Bedroom Villa
  • bedrooms  4
  • pool  yes
  • type  Villa
  • baths  4
  • hot tub  yes
  • rates (USD)  $ 500 - $ 1,200 / night
    $ 3,500 - $ 8,400 / week
  • sleeps  10
  • pets considered  ask owner

sort by:

Outstanding host and home!

Review submitted: July 15, 2014   Date of arrival: July 10, 2014

Outstanding. Wonderful house, great beaches, great town. We felt very welcome from the start and the house and view were better than the photographs! The back of the house also faces the forest, so you have the constant sound of birds and daily howler monkeys around you. The owner also made extra efforts to help us and our friends more than once during the stay.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

This is PuraVida!!

Review submitted: June 12, 2014   Date of arrival: May 30, 2014

We are a couple of spoiled non surfers (beach bums/divers) exploring costa rica's beaches for the first time.
We found our home away from home in casa makasi!
The owners were kind enough to close the extra (3) bedrooms and let us enjoy the privacy, beauty and views that this magical place provides.
You can see the ocean from every (literally!) window of the house...even in the shower!!
We loved the contrast between the modern perfection of the house and the lush wild jungle surroundings.
You can have breakfast in the patio and see monkeys in the trees just outside the house!!
The house itself is very well designed and practical, ac and safe in every bedroom, fully stocked kitchen, bbq...very close to the local fishing village...this is by far one of the best accommodation option you can find in the area...whether you are a couple looking for a secluted corner of paradise or a group of friends/family looking for a dynamic space able to hold and engage everyone as well as providing abundant privacy for all...the pictures don't do the place justice, at all!

We decided to extend our trip because of this house, we tried leaving it for a cheaper one but came back after 3 nights only...nothing beats the views you have here...every corner is blessed...you see only soothing green and blue...from every window, from the pool, the hammock...the jacuzzi...
The house is usually fully booked during higher seasons but you may be lucky in the green season and score this gem!
The fact that the owner let us use a 4 br house by ourselves only proves how much they love this place!
A lot of home owners wouldn't open their big home for a couple only...in casa makasi they did. Clearly because they want this paradise to be enjoyed!
They definitely did the right thing as we're still in the house but i felt the need to write this review and let the world know how amazing this place is!
We have yet to leave and already looking forward to return!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Gorgeous place!

Review submitted: May 6, 2014   Date of arrival: January 31, 2014

The house and watching the sunset from the pool is incredible. We stay there for holiday and our wedding and we had our best time there. Lila is very nice and helpfull and here staff take care of us all the time. The house is perfect equipped and the interior design is comfortable.
We all already talking about our next trip there next year!
Thanks for this wonderful time from all of us.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Our Trip To Paradise

Review submitted: March 24, 2014   Date of arrival: February 18, 2014

We stayed at Casa Makasi for a week and it was incredible. Wonderful accomadations a lovely place to gather and views that were breath taking. I would certainly reccomend Casa Makasi to anyone and everyone. The sunsets were amazing which can be viewed every night from the pool. Ocean views are incredible and was just a fantastic place to relax. Our needs were met completely and we are already talking about our next trip there. Thanks for a wonderful vacation!!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Exceptional Service Throughout Your Stay

Review submitted: March 24, 2014   Date of arrival: March 14, 2014

The listing was accurate as to the location. The photos accurately reflected the property. The property was extremely well maintained and clean. The owner was responsive to every question and provided accurate recommendations. The owner was prompt in replying to calls and emails. I would recommend this property to my family and friends. The food in the area was exceptional. The local people very cordial and and hospitable. There is so much to see and do in the area.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Feel like royalty!

Review submitted: December 18, 2013   Date of arrival: December 4, 2013

This home does not disappoint! We happened to be staying in Malpais for a destination wedding. My sisters, myself and our respective families, and our Uncle (=11 people total, representing ages 2-64) all stayed VERY comfortably in this home. The upstairs rooms were all very spacious and clean. It was wonderful to each have our own bathrooms (that you CAN flush the toilet paper). One suite has a bathtub. Our Uncle stayed in the downstairs main level bedroom (which would also make a great nanny bedroom as it is separate from the upstairs bedrooms and does not necessarily have access to the upstairs sleeping areas). All bedrooms have a view of the ocean. It was wonderful to see the sunset over the infinity pool edge! The pool also has seating for three by the edge inside of the pool if one would like to enjoy a sunset cocktail.
The kitchen was wonderful! It has a very spacious refrigerator/freezer. They also provided drinking water (even though Costa Rican water here is considered safe). We enjoyed cooking our deep sea fishing catch. We also love to cook so it was very easy to accomplish in this very well equipped kitchen. Barware was also not an issue. All is provided.
The interior design is very comfortable and eye catching. It is also wonderful to have access to laundry.
The outside tile choice was wonderful because they are not slippery when walking with wet feet. Plenty of towels were provided.
One will need a four wheel drive car when visiting Malpais due to the dirt roads and terrain.
I would recommend this home for young children only if you are comfortable keeping a diligent eye on them when outside. The drop offs are steep. There is no fencing to stop one from going over the edge. We had NO issues. My teenage children LOVED it here.
Our family also prefers privacy.
We felt very safe here as there is an onsite caretaker, locked exterior doors, lockable main driveway gate, and onsite safes.
The owner was very easy and pleasant to work with. We would DEFINITELY stay here again!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Nice House!!

Review submitted: July 18, 2013   Date of arrival: July 11, 2013

We went for 4 days and we loved the house (Brand new 2013), the view is spectacular and the nature. Lila was so kind, she helped us with everything, we will come back.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

What a magical place!

Review submitted: July 16, 2013   Date of arrival: June 6, 2013

I came to Costa Rica with a few friends and this is probably the closest we have ever gotten to a stay in paradise!
Set in the beautiful forest, with monkeys, birds and loads of butterflies, we managed to truly disconnect and find a week of sports and peace. The house was awesome, we loved the style and the views are breathtaking. We went on some great side trips, caught some big fish, did some nice walks and caught some beautiful waves. Thanks to the house concierge for all the help organizing our activities, everything was amazing! After a fun day of surfing and the BBQ with the catch of the day in the background, you simply can’t beat watching the sunset from this infinity pool – we’ll be back next year for sure, pura vida!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Phenomenal Breathtaking Experience!!

Review submitted: May 20, 2013   Date of arrival: May 4, 2013

Our experience at Casa Makasi started out when we saw the view; standing at the edge of the infinity pool, we just stood there and gazed, in awe, at the panoramic ocean and jungle view. It was absolutely breathtaking.

Our hostess Lila helped us get surf lessons, and also recommended restaurants, tours and fun things to do. She really made our stay comfortable, relaxing and fun; we didn’t have to worry about a thing!

We fell so much in love with this place that we have already booked it for our next trip to Costa Rica; we know we’ll come back again and again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great Place for a Wedding

Review submitted: May 20, 2013   Date of arrival: February 23, 2013

My husband and I got married in Santa Teresa and we stayed at Casa Makasi with our friends for the 4 days before our ceremony; The infinity pool, with it’s stunning backdrop of ocean and forest, was perfect for our small sunset ceremony and, of course, the fun party afterwards.

After the wedding, my husband and I went on to travel around the rest of Central America and our friends stayed on at Casa Makasi in Mal Pais.

I can’t thank Lila enough for all that she did. The house was absolutely gorgeous, her staff took wonderful care of us and she really connected us with the right people to create the perfect party, from an amazing local chef who privately catered our evening to a special delivery of flowers from San Jose. Our wedding couldn’t have been more beautiful or perfect.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Paradise in Mal Pais

Review submitted: May 8, 2013   Date of arrival: April 17, 2013

Loved it!!!! The house is impeccable. And the view is breathtaking. We actually are going there again and want to go for a third time during the summer.
Lila is very helpful. Also there are many things to do and restaurants to go to if you want to eat out of the house.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you Alexandra!
It was really lovely to host you guy, we look forward to your next stay with us!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

This place is Amazing! 5 Star Living in the Jungle with BEAUTIFUL Views

Review submitted: May 7, 2013   Date of arrival: January 22, 2013

This place is the best place I can image to have a relaxing, beautiful vacation.  From the second we walked in the place and saw the jungle and ocean views over the infiniti pool to driving away, not wanting to leave, we had the best experience here.  

The house is gorgeous, the views are spectacular.  It was a great house to entertain our whole family with kids.  The kitchen, showers with views, pool, outdoor areas, grill, this place has all you need and it's done in style.  

The owner helped us get surf lessons, massages, recommended restaurants, ziplines and made our stay so comfortable, relaxing and fun.  

We fell in love with this place that we brought our friends back for a week so they could enjoy it.  We all love it.  I'll be coming back here over and over.  

If you are looking for a family vacation, romantic getaway, relaxing holiday, surf trip, pretty much everything you are looking for, this place has to offer.  We'll be coming back again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review