reviews for: listing #446826vb - Playa Hermosa (Guanacaste), Costa Rica rental

Breathtaking View From infinity pool with 'Jewel Of The Mountain'
  • bedrooms  4
  • pool  yes
  • type  House
  • baths  4
  • hot tub  no
  • rates (USD)  $ 499 - $ 699 / night
    $ 3,400 - $ 4,499 / week
    $ 8,900 - $ 14,699 / month
  • sleeps  10
  • pets considered  ask owner

sort by:

fun people

Review submitted: April 12, 2014   Date of arrival: March 22, 2014

Loved Costa Rica. Will return. House was nice. STILL waiting for our return of our damage deposit. No communication after we left and I have reached out. Love the pool and the view. Best part of the house. I like the location as you can really explore from there. I loved the recommendations for the tours. Those were GREAT!!!! Definitely need a car. It takes for ever to rent a car there! But it's worth the time.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Owners response: Hello Renee,
We are glad your enjoyed the home, the view, and the wonderful people. Your deposit was refunded, and you probably forgot the contract said it took two weeks after departure for the refund. We really processed it very promptly. I am particularly glad that you enjoyed all the wonderful tours and activities nearby, it is such a beautiful country! Warm Regards, Alicia

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Magical Place

Review submitted: March 19, 2014   Date of arrival: December 28, 2013

Our family of eight adults had the pleasure of staying at Joya de la Montana the last week of December 2013. The word magical came up many times to describe our experience, from the fun tours we did to New Year’s Eve watching the fireworks down at the beach while comfortably seated on the patio chairs by the infinity pool. The house is indeed special and beautiful, just like the pictures show. And if we needed anything, Gus, our designated concierge, was incredibly quick to respond. The only thing that was inconvenient, especially considering that this is such a luxurious place, was the fact that there were no closet rods or hangers anywhere. You could unpack into drawers. But for any clothes that required hanging, you were simply out of luck. Still, we made do because the rest of the experience was, for lack of a better word, magical.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Spectacular view with terrific accommodation

Review submitted: March 15, 2014   Date of arrival: March 1, 2014

We arrived LIR airport and took the Budget van to their facility about 5 minutes away. Fairly simple getting the Toyota RAV 4 ... With the mandatory local insurance. (Ask lots of questions and know your credit card coverage inside out).

Directions are easy (we bought a GPS download for our Garmin) from the owner, takes about 25 minutes to Playa Hermosa. Guss and Tim at the Beachfront Real Estate office welcomed us. Guss took us to the property in about 5 minutes. Showed us around and how things worked.

The pool and view is SPECTACULAR. The house is quite new and in good shape with a lovely Master Bedroom on the main floor with a huge bathroom. Upstairs another Master with a view and great bathroom plus two more bedrooms sharing a bathroom.

Main floor is spacious with great appliances and amenities and a "common" bathroom.
Large dining table, island, sofa and chairs looking out over the pool and ocean. A small TV area with another sofa. WIFI coverage and speed in the house was very good. No house phone but you can get a local unlimited cellular from Beachfront for $25/week.

We had the local chef (Rocio) prepare and serve dinner for us one evening. An excellent option if you want a nice meal at home with no work! (The owner provides the contact info)

To enjoy this property you really must have a car to tour, shop, eat, beach etc. We drove extensively, shopped for groceries in Playa Coco (15 minutes away). Playa Coco has a main street of restaurants and bars. All good and all different. Very casual.

We experienced no bugs during our stay, day or night. A few Iguana's around and Howler monkeys in the neighbourhood. At night a large Toad hung around the pool area, I suspect that explains the lack of bugs. (We saw a scorpion on the deck. They like to hide under things so don't leave towels clothes etc on the floor or deck.)

The beach at Playa Hermosa is very nice for walking and sitting etc. We went one day to the Cordez waterfalls. An easy drive (~1.25 hours) past the airport and south of Liberia. Worth the trip but wear runners for the 10 minute hike down to the falls. Wear your suit under shorts etc so you can swim. Take along drinks and snack.

Our week at Joya de la Montana was a terrific break from home. The house is open, spacious with a view, day and night that is magnificent. Watch the sunburn!

The owner was very helpful with a pre arrival package by email and answered all our questions. Thank you Alicia.

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Dear Rob and Shirley,
Thank you for spending your holiday at Joya de la Montaña. I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay at the home, and seeing the beauty of Costa Rica. You are welcome to come back any time, it was a pleasure having you at our home.
I am happy that you liked the design of the home. The open floor plan feels welcoming to a small family, a couple, as well as a larger group. Our guests love spending time in the pool, looking at that incredible view. It sounds like your local outings were fun, I love that waterfall, and of course all the local restaurants and Rocio's delicious homemade meals.
Thank you so much for taking the time to write us to share your kind comments about Joya de la Montaña. I hope we see you again soon, Rob and Shirley. Warmly, Alicia

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

luxurious spacious Hill-side abode with unrivaled views of Bahia Hermosa and Pacific beyond.

Review submitted: February 14, 2014   Date of arrival: January 26, 2014

Breath-taking sunsets, star-filled deep-night skies, pool-side constant-breeze, ocean surf sounds, luxury, & serenity-This beautiful house perched high above Playa Hermosa, Bahia Hermosa & Bahia Culebra, is stunning in all that it has to offer. Short trip from new airport, thru sugarcane, rice/cattle-grazing fields into coastline range of high hills to Palo Alto, a gated community of lovely homes populating the steep hillside overlooking the village and harbor. A road climb of approximately 1000 feet brings you to the extraordinary Joya de la Montaña. Built for the incredible views from this location, it has large glass windows/sliding doors that illuminate the open floor plan with natural light & bring unobstructed ocean views. The disappearing sliding doors open onto a rock garden, large patio & infinity pool with large chaise lounge beds for siestas. The infinity pool’s far edge disappears into the azure water of the pacific. Each evening, long-lasting sunset-colors fill the western sky-exceptional part of our day. Every morning, brightly plumaged tropical birds came with sunrise to sing their song for us. (If you, as we do, enjoy the outside early morning light, breeze, & view, & perhaps the excellent local coffee, then the birds, unafraid, will alight nearby & also reward you with song and sight.) Morning also brings the sound of the male Howler Monkey as the family passes nearby while grazing their territory. Later in the day, when sun-warmed, you will be visited by large friendly iguanas who hang out on the roof, nearby terra firma, & low tree branches. The Kitchen is fully-equipped & with the outside grill & accessories, provides for either cooking mode. A US-like well-stocked supermarket is in nearby Playa Del Coco for provisioning. Dining out choices range from well-done fare in local restaurants to first-class resorts with picture-perfect food presentations. Our group enjoyed both. The 2-master bedrooms would be the envy of any 4-star U.S. hotel even without those incredible views. The living area is a large space for dining, dance & games. Sliders open & extend the living area to the Pacific Ocean. There were Avail. services up to 4-star level thru their Beachfront CR manager & Tico Tour services. Our group of 6 were very pleased with this beautiful abode, avail. services & its near proximity to the expansive list of Northwest Costa Rica Attractions - Tom and Alicia. Thank you so much…Our expectations now are 4-star level. Mark & Annmarie

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Unrivaled Views, Serenity, and Luxury

Review submitted: February 11, 2014   Date of arrival: January 4, 2014

I recently had the pleasure of staying in this beautiful house and can't speak highly enough of our experience. From the moment you enter the gated community, it's a steep climb up to the house and the short drive offers unbelievable views of the coast. Upon entering the house, I was pleased to see an incredibly open floor plan with natural light illuminating the house. The entire living area is bordered on one side by huge glass windows and sliding doors, offering an unobstructed view of the ocean... one that only gets more beautiful upon entering the enormous patio surrounding an infinity pool. From the stylish and comfortable pool chairs to the fully equipped kitchen to the wonderful master bathroom equipped with a huge tub, no detail in this house was overlooked.

Owners response: Dear Kara,
We are so pleased that you and your family enjoyed the home. I am especially glad that you enjoyed the open floor plan, and the incredible ocean view. Please come back any time, you are always welcome at Joya de la Montaña! Warmly, Alicia

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Family Vacation

Review submitted: May 31, 2013   Date of arrival: May 14, 2013

My husband and I wanted to treat our 3 adult kids with an accompanying boyfriend and girlfriend to a special family vacation. After weeks and weeks of research we chose Playa Hermosa and "Jewel of the Mountain".
First of all, Playa Hermosa is outstanding-small,quaint, quiet, hospitable people, immaculate brown sand beach with bath temperature water. There is nothing here not to love. An added bonus is Playa Hermosa is 10 minutes from Playa Coco with lots of shops, every imaginable restaurant, USA type large supermarket. A great place to visit for dinner and souvenirs but just not the relaxing, laid back atmosphere we were looking for. 12 minutes away is Ocotal with beautiful black sand beaches and outstanding snorkeling-eels, rays, tropical fish-it has it all. There are several national parks within an easy drive as well as a beautiful waterfall. We also made a 2 day trip to Arenal, Monteverde, night hikes and amazing ziplines. BUT it was oh so nice to come back to the pool at Jewel of the Mountain and the beach at Playa Hermosa. About the house-like I said-I did weeks of research....... Really look at some of the pictures of other rental houses. You will see fences and neighbors right next door. Not with Tom and Alicia's house. It is at the top of a rolling hill in a beautiful gated community. When you are by the pool, you really have to try to see the other houses in the neighborhood. You will have complete privacy when you spend your entire vacation living outside on an amazing patio enjoying the beautiful pool. The outside living area is perfect. Also, the pool was quite larger than the pools at the other properties I looked at.The house itself is stunning. Brand new with beautiful furnishings. We had seven adults and the main living area was laid out beautifully to spaciously and comfortably accommodate us all. This house was priced less than others I looked at with the same features so I was somewhat skeptical before arriving. I can not begin to tell you how thrilled we all were with this lovely property. If you want to be "wowed", I would highly recommend this home. An added bonus for our family was being able to watch all the beautiful birds and several groups of monkeys on the surrounding property. Also, there is a very friendly iguana that hangs out on the roof and likes to watch you in the pool. We named him Telly-when your rent this lovely home, please tell him that we all miss him!!! Thank you, Tom and Alicia and Beachfront-CR

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Dear Tammy,
Thank you for the lovely, thoughtful, review. We loved having your family stay at the Jewel of the Mountain, and hope you will come back to be our guests again. I am so happy that you loved the home, we designed it hoping to bring the outdoors in, and for those who love beautiful views of this incredible country. We fell in love with the view, and the lovely atmosphere of Playa Hermosa, and the wonderful people there. I am sure everyone there loved you and your family, and it was our pleasure to have you enjoy our home. Pura Vida, Warmly, Alicia

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Home on Mountainside what a view of the ocean, sunsets and the stars at night !!!

Review submitted: April 16, 2013   Date of arrival: April 16, 2013

This home is great, relax in the infinity pool view the ocean and the sunset. Have a cookout on the patio and watch the monkeys go by.If you like the beach its a stones throw away and very refreshing. Plenty of great restaurants and sights to see. Try out the Cortez waterfall or visit an active volcano outside of Liberia. A fun week awaits you. You will love this very quite and beautiful home on its mountainside perch,plenty of space,great kitchen and lovely yard. CU there....

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Beautiful House with an unbelievable view

Review submitted: March 12, 2013   Date of arrival: February 23, 2013

My wife and I stayed for 8 nights in this beautiful house. We wanted total privacy at the pool and we had it. The view over the ocean with the islands in front is incredible. We spent a lot of time in the pool just looking towards the ocean.

Security at the house is great. The road in is gates and maned, though I never saw any reason to need security in the area. We felt completely safe.

The house was well equiped with four large bedrooms. The kitchen is huge and the master bathroom - wow. The kitchen is pretty well equipped. It could use some more knives, but thats a nit. The whole place is air conditioned and there is lots of shade by the pool (and you'll be glad for it). It was very clean, the bed linens were high quality. Everything about the house is top shelf. You will need a car. This is not a place to stay without one.

The grocery is nearby. Gingers restaurant is 5 mins away and very good. More meal choices in nearby Coco Beach.

The best part was being 15 mins to the airport. Its nice when you land being so close and then when you leave, we got to spend half the day at the pool relaxing before driving to the airport.

Don't be shy (despite what others say) to rent a car. We drove to Conchal and Tamarindo - 4x4 necessary though, but it was a fun and easy drive. We did tubing and zip lining at Rincon de la Vieja - we drove ourselves. It was about 1hr or so away. The ziplining was through a gorge and it was awesome. Just go north from Liberia on Route 1.

We also did a day at Palo Verde - south of Bagaces. Nice hike to the top of a hill with a great view - but otherwise, dry and dusty. My wife liked it, but I'd pass on doing that again. Later that day we drove to La Fortuna and stayed overnight at Tabacon hotel - OMG - amazing hot springs at the hotel. Google it if you get a chance, the place is stunning. The drive was nice, we did a rainforest tour and drove home that afternoon. We were back by 4pm.

This house is beautiful. It was sunny and hot every day. The pool is a perfect temperature. I have no reservations about this house and highly recommend it. The North Pacific Coast is not a Costa Rica rainforest though, its hot and dry.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Sean, Thank you for your review, and it was truly a pleasure to have you both stay at our home. I really appreciate the feedback about the knives, we have bought a replacement set to replace those that went astray! I am so glad that you enjoyed the home, the Playa Hermosa area and Arenal. It sounds like the zip line and the park were also wonderful day trips. Most of all, I am glad that you both found the home and trip restful, and giving you the privacy and respite you needed. Please come back anytime, our home is truly your home whenever you wish to return. Pura Vida! Your new amiga, Alicia

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A Wonderful Magical Place.

Review submitted: December 12, 2012   Date of arrival: November 18, 2012

My family and I were fortunate to have spent a week at this gorgeous property. If you think the photos of this place are gorgeous wait until you get there. Like the Grand Canyon, you don't appreciate the panoramic beauty and serenity of the place until you experience it. The mountain that the property is located on his half the fun of getting there. The infinity pool is brand new and beautiful. We especially loved swimming at night. You could actually hear the waves hitting the beach from the pool patio. The bedrooms are big, bright and scenic with a grand balcony and over looking the ocean. The sunsets were magnificent every night. Playa Hermosa offers a lot things to do. You'll never be bored. We experienced great restaurants all over the area and were able to get delicious fresh fish to cook back at the house. The house is clean, modern and extremely spacious.We came with our family of 5 and their boyfriends and girlfriends. Everyone agreed, they want to come back!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: David, it was our pleasure having you and your family enjoy the Jewel of the Mountain. I am so happy that you and your family were able to have such a great Thanksgiving holiday in Playa Hermosa. Catching your own Thanksgiving Tuna must have been lots of fun! We look forward to your return next year!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Truly Breathtaking View-Beautiful!

Review submitted: December 4, 2012   Date of arrival: November 25, 2012

We had the good fortune to spend a week here in November. The view is breathtaking-atop a mountain overlooking the Pacific. We loved spending our time in the infinity pool, and could not believe we were staying in a place this beautiful. It was like a dream come true. The home is very close to many great restaurants, and the beach is only two minutes away. We could have walked it, but the car was easier getting up the mountain! The community is very luxurious, beautiful homes, gated, we felt like royalty. I just wish we had reserved it for two weeks, one week was not enough to see all the great sites nearby.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review