reviews for: listing #447047vb - Waimanalo, Hawaii rental

Rental Vacation Studio Close to Beautiful Waimanalo Beach
  • bedrooms  0
  • pool  no
  • type  Studio
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • rates (USD)  $ 115 / night
    $ 805 / week
    $ 3,000 / month
  • sleeps  2
  • pets considered  no

sort by:

Absolutely Great Place to relax

Review submitted: July 6, 2014   Date of arrival: June 25, 2014

I stayed at the house for 16 days, and had a very relaxing time. If you are looking for a true taste of hawaiiana and not the feel of a large hotel chain, this is the place. Very close to the beach (less than 5 min walk). Private entrance, with a yard. Pau and Hau'i are very friendly and accommodating. Give it a try, you wont be sorry!

Recommended for: age 55+, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Waimanalo get away

Review submitted: May 13, 2014   Date of arrival: April 26, 2014

My husband and I stayed there for 5 nights and LOVED it. It was very cozy and had authentic hawaiian touches through out the cottage. The property is literally a 5 min walk to the most BEAUTIFUL beach in Oahu.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Very fair and accurate

Review submitted: April 27, 2014   Date of arrival: April 13, 2014

We were welcomed as though we were part of the ohana. Our hosts were so pleasant and had gone to extreme care and detail to make our visit to their place comfortable and the feeling of local Hawaiian hospitality was just what we had hoped for.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A piece of paradise

Review submitted: March 15, 2014   Date of arrival: March 7, 2014

Even prior to our trip we knew one thing-we wanted to be away from the hustle and bustle of Waikiki and Honolulu and find some place that could give us a true sense of what this beautiful island of Oahu is all about. Oh boy did we ever find the perfect place! Upon arrival we were given a warm greeting with a great bug hug and a nice Aloha :-) Right away the perfect start! Than, we were taken into our PERFECT home away from home for the week. The beauty of this place is not done justice in the photos posted. In reality it has all the little touches that make it feel like a home away from home and has so many Hawaiian touches to always remind you of the paradise you are in. The home is clean, the owners Hau'i and Pua are very kind and friendly, the neighbors are very sweet (one even let me husband use his water shoes for surfing...without us asking just offered), the yummy food places near by were excellent (although we were worried before trying them the first time-after that we couldn't get enough), the BEACH is the most beautiful beach in the world, the hiking nearby is unreal, and all in all Waimanalo is a place that will never be forgotten. Hau'i and Pua you have made this trip memorable by opening up this beautiful place. Away from the tourists-alone walking or running in evenings on that beautiful beach-this is what dreams are made of. Thank you for all the chats/emails ...the only regret we have is that we wish we were able to get to know you even better. Missing the warmth of Aloha in Hawaii already.

PS-to anyone renting a car and wanting to drive around the island-this place is very conveniently located to many great places. We went around the entire island.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect Hawaiian Get Away

Review submitted: February 8, 2014   Date of arrival: January 29, 2014

We stayed in Waimanalo for a week. The beach is amazing and the mountains are absolutely beautiful. A quick drive from the chaos of Waikiki to a true Hawaiian town. All the people were so friendly. Easy walk to coffee, Mexican food and Plate Lunch restaurants. The rental was very comfortable, private and perfect for two. Everything we need was provided including beach "toys". Mahalo to Hau'i and Pua.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

THE BEST !

Review submitted: December 18, 2013   Date of arrival: December 4, 2013

Haui and Pua are AMAZING! A sweet couple who made our stay in Waimanalo amazing. I had just returned from an overseas deployment and my mother and sister came to visit. Their flight was scheduled a day before I would be landing into the island and I made reservations with Haui for their stay. He was the most accommodating and the place was beautifully ready and clean upon my mother and sister's arrival. The kitchenette was so convenient and made breakfasts cheaper for us. He even brought a tiny christmas tree for my little sister to enjoy and let her keep an angel plush ornament that was on it upon our departure. They were very sweet and even provided towels and paddle boards for us to enjoy. They were more than welcoming and we truly felt like we were at home away from home. Thank you so much Haui and Pua! I look forward to returning as more visitors from home visit me on the island. :)

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great little place in paradise

Review submitted: December 8, 2013   Date of arrival: November 29, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this very clean and modern little studio. Haui and Pua were very friendly hosts and made us feel very welcome. Close to a very nice, less-busy beach and in the quieter town of Wiamanalo. We did make the trip to Kailua for food/drink regularly, but with the kitchenette we really didn't need to. The only complaint would be that it is located a few feet from a very busy/loud road, but with the AC on and windows closed, we couldn't hear it all. We hope we can return soon!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Artem & Valentina

Review submitted: November 5, 2013   Date of arrival: August 24, 2013

All was amazing!
I hope that we can repeat those holiday!
Thank you Hau'i and Pua.
We glad to acquainted with you!
Best wishes, Artem and Valentina

Recommended for: adventure seekers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Waimanalo Paradise

Review submitted: November 3, 2013   Date of arrival: September 17, 2013

Wiamanalo Beach is a quite little piece of paradise tucked away from the hustle and bustle of Waikiki but close enough to drive to should you want to shop etc. We love this location. The beach goes on for miles and miles for long dreamy walks. It is a quiet beautiful beach that very few people seem to know about.
H'aui and Pua Nani are a lovely couple who will joyfully do what it takes to make your stay a wonderful one. They are warm friendly and approachable and they truly love Hawaiian culture. They are happy to tell you where there is a great restaraunt, where the fireworks are and where the best hiking is. They truly are filled t the brim with warm Aloha. It was a pleasure to stay with them at their home.
The suite is impecccably clean and well maintained. If you need anything they are more than happy to help you out - just ask.
Paradise...

Recommended for: sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Owners are friendly, kind and exude the Aloha Spirit.The apt. was very clean & new. Wonderful!

Review submitted: August 14, 2013   Date of arrival: July 29, 2013

Owner's are truly great people.The apt. is very nice with a comfortable bed and great shower. Kitchen is fine. Nice little fenced in yard with loungers to sit on and relax. Lots of items that are authentic Hawaiian to put you in the mood. Owner's have boogie boards and flippers for your use. Apt. is just off the main street which makes it a bit noisy, but you can turn on the air conditioner at night and close the windows, which totally drowns out the car noise. Great Mexican restaurant and health Food Restaurant up the street. Close to Waimanalo Beach Park, Sea Life Park, Hanama Bay. The Luau at Sea Life Park is fabulous with a great view. Very easy to get around the island from here as you can totally bypass Waikiki area, unless you want to go there. We would highly recommend this vacation rental. It was the best vacation and our daughter was doing an internship at Sea Life Park and her rental room in a local's home was 5 minutes away from the apt. So perfect! the mountains around Waimanalo are so beautiful!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Couple from Australia

Review submitted: July 16, 2013   Date of arrival: July 7, 2013

Well appointed simple yet beautifully presented studio, a few blocks back from Waimanalo beach is just what we needed for our honeymoon get away. The owners were kind enough to lend us their SUP so we had a lot of fun.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

AMAZING AlohAdai!

Review submitted: July 8, 2013   Date of arrival: June 27, 2013

Much Mahalo to Hau'i and Pua for sharing their beautiful Waimanalo HALE with us!!
Super flawless process from the get go!!
The Studio IS impeccably well maintained and filled with the ALOHA spirit!
With, in my opinion, the MOST stunning stretch of beach on Oahu a short stroll down the road and delicious options for local grinds just a few minutes on either direction, this place is PERFECT!
WE will return!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Beautiful place

Review submitted: July 1, 2013   Date of arrival: June 17, 2013

Such a beautiful, cozy, clean, and well equipped studio. My husband and I wanted to visit Hawaii for the first time, but we didn't want to go to a busy, crowded area, and our friend recommended this place, we are so glad she did that. Similar to one of the other guests, I am always worried about the cleanliness of places, even top hotels. But I was so impressed, since the studio was spotless. We also loved the decor and attention to details. The beach is lovely although it can be slightly rough on some days, but there are plenty of great beaches nearby. We didn't have the pleasure of meeting Haui and Pua since they were away but their son, Stephan, looked after us. Nevertheless, Haui was always so prompt in responding to our initial and follow up inquiries. We have already recommended this place to our family and friends and if we go back to Oahu, this would be our first choice.

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Always a pleasure to be a small part of someone's vacation experience!
We want others to know the true beauty that we have discovered here in Waimanalo. Thank you for staying with us!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

"Downtown" Waimanalo

Review submitted: June 19, 2013   Date of arrival: June 9, 2013

My family and I really enjoyed our stay at Hale Hinalea, Hau'i and his wife have made a beautiful apartment that was airy, modern (and super clean) yet had lovely touches of traditional island furniture and artwork. Their beautifully landscaped yard was a welcome sight each morning on our way out for adventures, and upon our return each evening we knew our street corner by the lush tropical plants in front.

The only thing that would keep my overall rating from the top tier is the factor of the location: (only) 2 blocks up from the beach road, on Waimanalo's main street which is also the coastal highway, with surprisingly heavy traffic until quite late into the night. If you used the air conditioning it probably wouldn't be as noticeable (or set your iPod in the available dock to play wave sounds ; ) ), and it wasn't really an issue for us, (with an 8 month old baby very little keeps us from sleeping!) however, looking at a map of Waimanalo you wouldn't think it possible.

Even so, our stay was very pleasant, from the welcome basket, to a playpen/ crib available onsite, nice amenities and our very friendly host & hostess (and fresh mangos from their tree), it suited us well and was quite convenient. For an infant the waves of Waimanalo beach were too rough, so we drove out to other spots on the island everyday -we had chosen our lodging in Waimanalo primarily based on it being a friend's wedding venue. Luckily Kailua is very nearby for great dining options and shopping, and the beach at Lanikai offers a more tranquil ocean experience.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

So much better than a hotel!

Review submitted: June 1, 2013   Date of arrival: May 22, 2013

Hale Hinelea was better than expected. The studio was very clean and had a well equipt kitchenette. There were plenty of towels too! It is such a great place, and stylishly decorated. They frequently checked in with us to see if we needed anything. We highly recommend this place!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect!

Review submitted: May 23, 2013   Date of arrival: May 14, 2013

By far the cleanest place I have ever stayed. I am never perfectly comfortable staying in hotels, even the nicest, because I never feel they are really clean. The place was really clean and I was very comfortable here. You can tell they have really tried hard with all the personal touches as well, to make this space as nice and as comfortable as they can and to think of everything that people may need. Loved the books- we read two and looked at the others. My husband forgot dental floss but didn't need to run out because there was some in the cabinet along with many other toiletries you might forget. We felt very much at home here. Also loved the authentic Hawaiian decorations- very cool. Made you think about where you were and consider the history of the place. They made sure that we knew they were available if we needed anything, but then had our complete privacy. Felt like a nice apartment with separate entrance and all- even an outdoor space to sit and read or just relax. Also had a really nice big bathroom, and the kitchenette had everything we needed to eat at home if we wanted to. And, only a block to a super great beach Really charming place and super nice people. This may be a best kept secret.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Highly Recommend!

Review submitted: May 12, 2013   Date of arrival: March 29, 2013

Mahalo Hau'i and Pua for such a welcoming experience for Fritz and I during our stay in Oahu. We couldn't have picked a more perfect place to stay. Rental is impeccably clean - less than 5 minute walk to the ocean. We will definitely come back to your rental when we are back on the islands. Thanks again for your hospitality and thoughtfulness! Many blessings your way!! Highly recommend for a couple looking for an affordable place to stay, completely awesome experience for my boyfriend and I.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: You are very welcome Jenny,
It was great to see Fritz adventurism and enthusiasm for the
Hawaiian lifestyle. Please remember us on your next get away.
Mahalo Nui Loa!!
Hau'i and Pua

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

The best vacation ever

Review submitted: May 5, 2013   Date of arrival: April 8, 2013

Our stay at Hale Hinalea could not have been any better!!! We will NEVER stay in a Hotel ever again. We will certainly be booking with you on our next visit if you will have us. We spent 9 glorious days in beautiful Waimanalo away from tourists and nestled up against the most beautiful white sand beaches on the island. We have recommended Hale Hinalea to all of our friends and I would imagine our next stay will need to be booked way in advance!!! The pictures we viewed did not do Hale Hinalea justice at all. We were so pleased from the second we walked in until the moment we walked out for the last time (we were very sad to leave). You provided everything we needed for our trip! All amenities were of very high quality. We felt quite spoiled!!! You are both doing Gods work by sharing your home with the world....please don't ever stop! For those reading this review, Hau'i and Pua are the epidumy of Hawaiian hospitality!!!!!! You will not be disappointed!! Mahalo to you both!

Aloha,

Josh and Kim

Owners response: Mahalo Nui Loa Kim and Josh,
Always a pleasure to have such beautiful people
Come and stay. Please come back on your next Hawaiian Vacation.
Our home is always open. God Bless. Aloha
Hau'i and Pua

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Amazing home. Amazing location

Review submitted: April 27, 2013   Date of arrival: April 16, 2013

Mahalo Hau'i and Pua for a wonderful stay. This was a great place to stay for our 10 day vacation. The studio is a short 2 minute walk to the most beautiful beach we have ever seen. The studio was immaculate and had everything we needed and more. Hau'i and Pua are two wonderful people that have so much information about the island. They made us feel so comfortable and at home. This was a home away from home.

Aloha!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: What a beautiful friendly couple. thank you for staying with us, you are always welcome. Mahalo Nui Loa Ron and Kristy!!!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

We found a new "home" in Hawaii!

Review submitted: April 9, 2013   Date of arrival: March 13, 2013

My husband and I stayed at this place for our friend’s wedding. This was our third vacation in Hawaii, and I have to say that we had the most delightful and relaxing time thanks to the owners’ hospitality and wonderful facilities. When we first walked in to the room, we were welcomed by a bottle of wine and macadamia nuts, and when we proceeded further into the bedroom area, we were blown away by the homeyness of the Hawaiian decoration! The bathroom was also very spacious and was equipped with a plenty of bathing and beach towels. All rooms were kept very neat and clean (and believe me, I’m very picky when it comes to this sort of thing…), and you can see that the owners paid enormous attention to every single detail of the room to make our stay the most comfortable it could be. For couples like ourselves who also like to cook, having cups and plates, a mini-stove-top, microwave, utensils, dish soap, and even zip lock bags, came in very handy and allowed us to try out new local ingredients and enjoy a balanced approach to meals during our trip. The owners checked in with us occasionally to see how things were going and if we needed any additional items or assistance. The couple is so friendly and caring, and my husband and I felt like we found a new “home” in Hawaii. I’d definitely recommend this place without question - if we can, we will stay here again for our future travels to Hawaii.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Fabulous vacation!

Review submitted: March 29, 2013   Date of arrival: March 19, 2013

Amazing place! Owners are very friendly and helpful. Perfect location away from the city life but a only a 30 min drive to Waikiki if your looking to go out. The beach is beautiful and only a short walk down the street. Great price for what you get, studio is very clean and you have everything you need. Can't wait to go back!

Recommended for: romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for Staying with us Julie. Mahalo Nui Loa!!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Hawaii's secret spot

Review submitted: March 20, 2013   Date of arrival: February 24, 2013

Where to start; this is truly Oahu’s secret beach. It’s one of the nicest beaches we’ve seen and we’ve traveled a bit through the Caribbean. The pictures on the site don’t do it justice. It’s truly the white sanding beach people search for, with crystal clear blue water. The beach is normally very quiet with few people on it; this is due to the distance from Waikiki (only 45 mins). We found that many people on the island do not like to travel long distances, this limits the amount of tourists and locals at the beach, given most people live and stay around Waikiki.

The studio is located at the end of the street from the beach, refer to map above. Its only takes a moment to get there with a baby. The pictures above provide the best representation of the unit. Traveling with an 11 month old baby we found the space to be adequate. The owners have thought of everything we might need for our stay. The kitchen is well stocked with utensils; the bath has plenty of towels and there are extra sheets for those long stays. As well there were beach towels, chairs and even a paddle board for our use, which we fully used.

The owners are absolutely incredibly people. From the moment when we arrived to the moment we left we left like family. We arrived late on a Sunday and Haui was there in the front yard waiting for us, as it was dark and hard to see the house numbers. He helped us get settled in and checked up on us in the morning and continually through our stay. He was always accessible by phone or email if we needed anything.

Traveling with a baby is not the easiest at times but both Pua and Haui made things more comfortable for us. They even watched him, while they were hosting a party, so we could pack on our last day.

Thank you Pua and Haui for opening your home to us.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you Leyla for your kind words. We always enjoy the people that come here from all parts of the world. Please give Jacob a big hug for us. We hope to have you all back real soon. ALOHA!!!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

A TRULY AMAZING SPOT

Review submitted: February 16, 2013   Date of arrival: February 14, 2013

WOW!!! had a such an amazing stay, if you want to chill out & relax this is the studio for you. Situated a 30sec stroll to the beach, excellent, confortable furnishings thoroughout. Owners have great attention to detail- awesome bed, every kitchen utensil and gadget is there, dozens of beach towels, paddle board, ocean equipment, walking distance to cafes and shops.

The owners Pua and Haui are very helpful, friendly, and make your stay so enjoyable.

The only negative is that i wished i could of stayed longer!!

A truly magical spot.

Recommended for: romantic getaway

Owners response: Mahalo Cory. We are glad you enjoyed your stay!! Aloha!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review