reviews for: listing #44788 - Savannah, Georgia House rental

Gorgeous Historic Estate combines Manor & Carriage House
  • bedrooms  6
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths 
  • hot tub  yes
  • community  Historic Downtown
  • sleeps  17
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $585 - $685 /nt
    $3,510 - $4,110 /wk
    $12,000 - $14,000 /mth

sort by:

Super Comfortable

Review submitted: August 12, 2014   Date of arrival: July 26, 2014

My extended family from Minnesota and Iowa stayed for 6 nights and my brother's family joined us from Atlanta (ages 10 to 70). The younger generation stayed in the manor and the seniors stayed in the carriage house. We all loved it here - just like home, only better. The beds were super comfortable and everything you could possibly need was furnished. It's great to have a washer and dryer after a day at the beach! We grilled outside one evening and usually had a light breakfast and coffee before heading out each day. Some places we all enjoyed: we had great meals at The Florence and Barracuda Bobs as well as Mrs. Wilkes. Angela from Savannah Heritage Tours picked us up in front of the manor and gave us a great tour of Bonaventure Cemetery. We all loved Magic Mike's Dolphin Tour on Tybee Island and our meals at North Beach Bar and Grill and Sundae Cafe. The Taylor Estate is located in a quiet neighborhood with off street parking which makes getting around easy - whether you stay within the historic district or travel the short distance to the beach at Tybee Island. We would love to visit and stay here again.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: It always such a delight to hear I met my goal to provide truly comfortable and convenient accommodations for families and groups traveling to Savannah! In my opinion, comfortable beds should never be underestimated! Nor should a clean and pampering environment for groups to gather in, prepare meals, play games, and renew the bonds of family and friendship. It's why the best part of my time when I first meet guests on arrival to answer questions and usher them in...is when I open the front door and watch the smiles start on their faces!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Fabulous Home!

Review submitted: March 28, 2014   Date of arrival: March 15, 2014

Fabulous Home! Group of six stayed for a quick birthday trip over the week of St. Patty's Day...The house was beautiful and we were very impressed! (Bathrooms especially were upgraded and very nice.) Easy to walk to all local establishments and River Street! The owner Suzanne was a huge help in pointing out all of the festivities and great little Savannah gems! Everything we needed in a well stocked kitchen...Very comfortable beds and very soft linens. Our first experience renting a home and Suzanne made it simple and easy. Great experience and highly recommend the Taylor Estate!

The Lynch's

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: I am a big believer that you can stay in a 5 star hotel but if the bed is uncomfortable...then I, for one, will definitely not return. So it is always a delight to have it pointed out afresh that the beds in the Estate acheive my personal aim and are...seriously comfy!! When you've been out and about sightseeing and walking (for Savannah is a walking town)...what you want to return to is not an indifferent and austere "rental house" but a luxurious, yet comfortable "home". One that feels as if it's your very own. Despite a 144 year old history...That is the Estate. Much of the decor includes my family heirlooms. Plus my family and I lived in the Estate for years before we began it's use as a Vacation Home Rental. These are the reasons I believe you truly feel "at home". I blended together a decor to bring both the ambience of the 1870's with the comfort of the 21st century. I'm so happy my Guests tell me I acheived my goal!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Just as great the second time around!

Review submitted: August 25, 2013   Date of arrival: July 21, 2013

I brought my Girl Scout troop down AGAIN for a trip to Historic Savannah, we were first here in Aug 2010. We loved the Taylor Estate so much that we didn't even consider another option for lodging. Having the convenience of a real home with a kitchen and multiple bathrooms (very much needed for a bunch of little girls) made the trip all the more enjoyable! We love everything about the home - the price, the décor, the location (we walked everywhere), the owners! The Schulz family are amazing - addressed our every need, supplied the home with a map, brochures, suggestions, etc. Everything we needed was already provided without having to ask for anything. I will definitely be returning to Savannah in the future, whether with future girl scouts or my family, and will definitely be calling Mrs. Schulz again! Thank you so much for your hospitality and making your home available to visitors like us! Sincerely, Girl Scout Troop 1158 Smyrna, DE

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

campers

Review submitted: June 4, 2013   Date of arrival: May 17, 2013

I was looking for a house to rent near the Savannah Historical district for a group of friends who went camping together years ago. We needed a reunion spot but none of us had been in Savannah before. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Manor. Originally there were to be 7 retired couples, but one thing led to another and a few couples could not go - instead of renting the whole manor we were able to just rent the main house for 4 couples. Everyone loved the decor and the location was perfect. Suzanne and Mike were perfect owners and hosts to the city. They made recommendations and provided us with necessary directions to go everywhere we needed. All the couples said that they had a great time and enjoyed the home. Our Thanks to Suzanne and Mike for making our stay so wonderful. We have recommended this spot to others....

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Owners response: Thanks again for the wonderful comments on our hospitality...it's one of my biggest goals as Savannah is nicknamed the "city of hospitality" :) and I for one hope to provide that to each of my Guests! In addition, I've provided lots of brochures and individualized maps to make the stay and popular destinations easy for my Guests to discover and locate. Since our location is right in the heart of the original historic downtown...you can walk to everything and it is (as you put it so well)...."perfect!". So glad you are recommending us and we would love to have you return again anytime!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Long weekend extended family get-together

Review submitted: February 15, 2013   Date of arrival: February 14, 2013

I am a reluctant planner by nature, always afraid things won't work out and I'll be to blame, so when I decided to take the initiative and plan a big family celebration for my dad's 80th birthday, I was plenty worried about trusting that this place was as good as advertised, but it turned out so much better than I expected or even hoped. The Estate was just exactly what my family reunion needed - plus! We had a large group coming from different places - the reservation was for 16, but we ended up with a group of 13 including a baby - people who never get to see enough of each other but also need some space and privacy. I had feared we'd either be too crowded or feel separated but it worked out so well, with several large areas to congregate indoors and out, private bedrooms as well as a couple of open loft-type bedrooms, lots of queen size beds, a few singles, and enough bathrooms. I was so pleased and surprised that it really worked out for everyone, no complaints. The location is indeed an easy walk to almost everything we wanted to see in the historic district. We walked and saw the sights together, cooked and ate most meals together, split off for some, and ate out as a group too. We did a 1500-piece jigsaw puzzle we brought with us while we just hung out together. Some of us soaked in the hot tub and took time to watch a favorite TV show (Downton Abbey) together, and everybody had room to be off by themselves when they needed it. As is the rest of the estate, the 2 kitchens are well-equipped, a grocery store nearby, shops and restaurants and bars all walking distance. Nobody in our group made use of a pedi-cab or a bus and we barely used our cars, though all of those were at our disposal - the weather and the walking were wonderful. Even though we packed plenty into the time we had, the trip was so relaxed. Everybody, from 4 months to 80 years old, was able to feel right at home - as if we were in one of our own homes but better. This was my first chance to spend more than just a few hours in Savannah and I loved it. My interactions with the estate's friendly owner were all just great. This experience has given me confidence that even I can plan a trip. I thought it turned out perfectly. The only ones with anything to regret are the 3 who were planning to be there but couldn't make it. Poor them, they really missed out!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wedding "Home Away From Home"

Review submitted: November 19, 2012   Date of arrival: October 9, 2012

We had the pleasure of using Taylor Estates (both the Manor House and the Carriage House) while our extended family and friends gathered in Savannah Oct. 9th – 14th for our son’s wedding. We found the estate to be a perfect “home base” for our stay; ideally suited for both wedding-related and touristy activities. We enjoyed everything the estate had to offer, from the well-appointed furnishings in both houses to the courtyards and hot tub. The owners have gone to great lengths to make sure their guests are able to be comfortable and relaxed in the two houses, with detailed instructions for guests and great maps to local attractions and dining options. The estate is located on a charming side street that is within walking distance to Savannah’s historic district and to Forsythe Park. The off-street parking was also a much-appreciated amenity. Our son’s wedding in the picturesque beauty of Savannah was a memorable family experience, and staying at Taylor Estates helped make it so. We would absolutely stay there again, and would recommend the estate (or either of its two “homes”) to anyone looking for a recommendation for a place to stay in Savannah if they wanted a vacation home rental experience. We “tip our hats” to Mike and Suzanne for their embodiment of gracious Southern hospitality!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: This review is truly a difficult one to respond to because all I can do is
say "Awwwwwww....this is so sweet!". It warms the cockles of my heart. Thank
you and may I always have Guests as kind as ya'll. We do take our hospitality
seriously and try to provide those "little extras" that make a stay for those
unfamiliar with the city as easy, breezy, and wonderful as possible. Knowing
we added to the warm memories you'll keep for years of this precious moment in
your lives is what keeps us going :).

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Ladies Getaway

Review submitted: August 20, 2012   Date of arrival: August 17, 2012

This home truly is a treasure in the heart of Savannah! Our group of 17 ladies really enjoyed our mini-getaway in the Taylor Estate. What a great location and on top of that, there were plenty of bedrooms, bathrooms and living spaces to accomodate everyone! We had a large group of pedi-cabs pick us up at our doorstep for dinner downtown on Saturday night. This was such a wonderful way to experience the city; much more preferable than a regular cab ride! Overall, we had such an amazing time and will surely be back as soon as possible! Thanks for everything!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: So glad you enjoyed the Taylor Estate! When you have 2 complete homes on one spacious lot, it really does fit perfectly with any size group and group dynamic! Each has it's own kitchen, living room, courtyard, laundry room, etcetera ;) My personal pet peeve w/vacation rental homes our own family has rented over the years for our vacation needs are...sofa sleepers! Hate them. I don't want to tiptoe past sleeping members of the group at 3am when I want a kitchen snack or bathroom. So, I make sure my Guests don't have to do that either ;). All 17 persons have a bed inside of a bedroom leaving the living areas for the entire group to enjoy irregardless of the time of day (or night ;).
I certainly agree the Estate is a treasure! Whether its enjoying our outdoor Hot Tub or hopping on/off Pedicabs or one of the Trolley & Carriage Tours that give our guestscomplimentary pickup and dropoff at the doorstep..your stay will be that much better when you stay at the Taylor Estate!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

delightful stay

Review submitted: May 14, 2012   Date of arrival: May 6, 2012

The Taylor Estate in the historic district of savannah was perfect for my 60th birtday gathering with my brothers and sisters and their spouses . there is so many wonderful things to do and see and they are all within walking distance . The property was exactly as advertised, but better in person and my family had all the space and privacy they could wish for. the interior of both the main house and the carriage house was decorated tastefully. and all the ameneties were quite handy . we were able to cook for all of us and we had plenty of seating for our meals . the neighborhood is very peaceful and we felt right at home the moment we arrived. i would recommend this property for any type of gathering .

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: It truly warms my heart to get sweet reviews. They remind us that we are acheiving our goal...to become part and parcel of TREASURED memories for our Guests to take home with them! The huge "Cooks Kitchen" of the Manor is always a fave with our families, those looking to have private celebratory meals together, or simply our Guests on a budget. The fact we live next door to the Estate allows us to keep it meticulous and to be quick if a problem arises...yet the layout of the Estate prevents a feeling of intrusion by us or our other neighbors. Friendly waves do abound though as I have to admit,we have the friendliest street in the entire downtown historic district! :)

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Cozy Family Gathering

Review submitted: January 12, 2012   Date of arrival: November 10, 2011

We had a delightful stay in Taylor Manor for our parents' 50th anniversary. Located on a quiet street in the Historic District of Savannah, it was convenient to restaurants, parks, and shopping. The setting provided an intimate gathering spot for the family that a hotel would not have offered. We gathered for meals or to watch a movie together at night. The Manor was exceptionally clean and comfortable. I can't say enough about this wonderful place!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Terrific accomodations and location

Review submitted: December 21, 2011   Date of arrival: November 21, 2011

We spent Thanksgiving week at this well-appointed and comfortable rental. Both the manor and the carriage house were well-equipped, including cribs, the usual electronics, gobbles of kitchen equipment and more. I think we were 14 and a dog, but would have been comfortable with two more. It was great to have a playground across the street (ballfields as well, but we didn't use them) and historic Savannah at our doorstep. Easy walking to a commercial area, and through beautiful squares! Groceries require a car, but it is not far and the store is a good one. The property description is accurate, everything was in working order, and we enjoyed every minute of our week off!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: It's truly a delight to hear when Guests have enjoyed the playground and amenities located across the street at Beasley Park! Yay :) Guests bringing pets always love its fenced/grassy dog park. You get an insiders glimpse of the "local life" when you and your dog visit the dog park (since it's totally frequented by the historic downtown district locals). The Kroeger Grocery store is located 5 blocks away. Many times guests walk it. However, some may prefer to load up a car when heavier groceries are needed. It's a 10 min walk and a 3 min drive. Parkers Market is a bit further...very eclectic. It's Savannah's "unique" take on the "gas station/deli/gourmet-take-out-shop". Again...drive or walk but, in the latter case, I do recommend a car if you plan to bring home alot of groceries. In downtown Savannah, walking is wonderful every time of year. But, right now... Whitfield Square, many historic homes, & Broughton Street are lit up quite festively for the Christmas Season. Plus it's been in the 70's which has made luxuriating in the outdoor Hot Tub in the Manor Courtyard, day and night...heaven! (We know this first hand since we live next door..which means that when Guests are not in the Manor or Estate...I enjoy the Hot Tub TREMENDOUSLY! ;) Looking forward to more Holiday and non-Holiday Guests Always. Especially families such as yous for the Estate is simply a perfect family hideaway...as you put so succinctly!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

"The Perfect Place"

Review submitted: October 14, 2011   Date of arrival: September 11, 2011

Oct 14, 2011
"The perfect place!"

My son is a us army Ranger stationed in Savannah Georgia, and met his beautiful bride there. When nuptials ensued, a large part of our extended family wanted to attend the blessed event. We have been cast apart over time, and decided to use the event to get together and spend some time with each other. The Taylor Estate fit the bill to a tee! Everyone, from my 10 year old nephew to my 85 year old father in law, had a great time, and had all their needs met. The Estate gave everyone the privacy they needed, but allowed us to spend great time together. it was extremely comfortable, tastefully furnished, and had a great location that allowed us to explore Savannah and environs. Initial supplies, with obligatory coffee, got us started, and local markets were identified and close, allowing us to feed the contingents. Restaurants in the locale were plentiful and great. My duties with my job(s) required internet access, which was supplied, high speed, and without "drops". Multiple people showering at once posed no problems with hot water or pressure, and having a washer and dryer available helped with limiting our baggage for the vacation. It was hot and humid when we arrived (go figure!), but the air conditioning turned the house into an oasis of coolness, with the weather rapidly turning to out favor. The book of "instructions" told us all we needed to know about the house, and gave us a lot of insights that allowed us to maximize our adventures throughout Savannah. Even parking for our 4 cars, normally a nightmare in a crowded urban environment, was easily handled with off-street parking. I would highly recommend the Taylor Estate to anyone who has a few days to kick back and enjoy the splendor of Savannah! <p>

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

felt like home...

Review submitted: August 13, 2011   Date of arrival: August 3, 2011

We just stayed at the Taylor Manor, and had a wonderful time. There was 7 of us and we had plenty of room. The pictures of the home truely do not do justice for this home. Upon arrival and opening the front door we were overwhelmed with the beauty and cleanliness of this home. The youngest of the group a 18 year old absolutely loved the attick bedroom and TV area. She had her own little world. We will definitely be staying here again on our next adventure. Could not afford to stay here without other couples splitting the cost, but if we could we would stay here everytime we visit Savannah. Loved the location and the quietness of the area. Took nightly walks and enjoyed the parks. The owner has taken great efforts to make your stay enjoyable with brochures and maps and suggestions. The marked map in the kitchen was a great help being marked with the closets grocery store. We coooked a full breakfast every morning and had everything we needed to cook with. If you are planning a trip to Savannah Ga. this is the place to stay, it felt like home from the moment we walked in.
Thank you to the owners for opening up your home to us so that we can enjoy your great city. Hope to see you soon as we are planning another trip already in Dec. or Jan. Loved your decor, you did a great job decorating the home with even the smallest touches.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Excellent Home

Review submitted: July 14, 2011   Date of arrival: July 7, 2011

My family rented the Taylor Estate, which included both the manor and the carriage house. Both of the homes were breathtaking. The home suited the needs of all my family members from the children to my grandparents. The courtyard was equally as magnificent as the homes. The beautiful decor, accomodations and ideal location made our trip to Savannah that much more plesurable.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Owners response: That's my goal! Provide a relaxing experience of elegant comfort blended with incredible convenience as the sought-after downtown historic district with it's restaurants, parks, squares, museums, and shops are in your backyard!
Plus....I am installing a HOT TUB in the Manor Courtyard as I write this! So guests, future and past...come and enjoy the Taylor Estate which only keeps getting better and better! :)

Helpful votes: 0 / 2

 

Beautiful Accomodations

Review submitted: July 14, 2011   Date of arrival: July 7, 2011

My family rented the Taylor Estate, which included both the manor and the carriage house. Both of the homes were breathtaking. The home suited the needs of all my family members from the children to my grandparents. The courtyard was equally as magnificent as the homes. The beautiful decor, accomodations and ideal location made our trip to Savannah that much more plesurable.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Slice of Heaven

Review submitted: June 27, 2011   Date of arrival: June 9, 2011

Cottage only rental:

13 hours
5 women
3 generations
A long adventurous drive down from Ohio brough us into a slice of heaven. Thanks for the hospitality!
Love the Deibels & Masters

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

...the best accommodations by far!

Review submitted: June 27, 2011   Date of arrival: June 12, 2011

We had a fantastic stay here in Savannah mostly due to your hospitality of providing our "home" away from home!. It was very relaxing to return to after our bery busy days on-the-go. This is my 3rd trip here to Savannah with this one having the best accommodations by far. We want to thank you for being a part of our troop's memories!
Sandi Troop Leader #955
From Tampa Florida Troop 955...the Scouts themselves & Moms:
Well I'll start off saying your house is absolutely beautiful. You are a fantastic interior decorator :). I love the set up of the Manor...all 5 of us teenagers stayed in the attic. It was fun to have privacy which we wouldn't have as much in a hotel. Your kitchen is AMAZING!!! Very roomy and I felt very at home here! Me and my Mom pretty much think this is our dream house. Thank you so much for sharing it with us! It made our stay in Savannah that much better! Sincerely, Jamie Just wanted to let you know what a wonderful time I had in Savannah with my daugher. We loved your home!! I would love to come back with some of my family and stay for a week. thanks! Jamies Mom
I really enjoyed staying in this house. This is a beautiful house, makes me feel at hoe. I loved how the floors were set up. All the girls got to sleep together in the same room. The beds (well at least mine) were SO comfortable. Overall, I loved staying here. Thank you for sharing your house with us! Allie Troop 955
This house is beautiful! I love everything about it! This is my 2nd trip here to Savannah and this house is wonderful, just like this wonderful city! Stay Golden!
Alicia

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Amazing View and Great Experience

Review submitted: June 27, 2011   Date of arrival: March 11, 2011

Thank you for allowing us to stay in this house! We are a softball team from Columbus Ohio and 13 girls stayed in the Manor and our coaches stayed in the Cottage. The view around here was amazing and it was a great experience! Thanks again for everything!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Large enough to accommodate us all!

Review submitted: June 27, 2011   Date of arrival: February 7, 2011

5 couples in our family met in Savannah for Super Bowl weekend. The brothers, cousins, and wives had a wonderful time in your home. Taylor Estate is located close to the city's attractions we wanted to see. We ate out (thanks for the recommendations); we cooked in (great kitchen). We enjoyed having a place large enough to accommodate us all!
Phil & Sharon (AL), Larry & Connie (NC), Danny & Caroline (FL), Dwight & Cleo (FL), Dwayne & PattyKay (FL)

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

An Antique Heaven

Review submitted: June 27, 2011   Date of arrival: February 4, 2011

(Stayed in Cottage)
An Antique heaven. Your attention to detail is inspiring. The beds downstairs are all I can comment on and I would like to take this one home.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

I can't say enough about this beautiful home

Review submitted: June 26, 2011   Date of arrival: June 2, 2011

My girls scout troop just returned from beautiful Savannah Ga. We stayed at Taylor Manor and also used the cottage. We had 17 people in our group 10 girls and 7 moms. We had a lovely time at Taylor Manor the home is kept in pristine condition. The beds were very comfortable. The home is located withing walking distance to downtown savannah, we were able to make several trip a day without any problems. The beautiful home is equipped with all the furnishing one might need. From tv's for the girls, games, video tapes, great eating areas and even washers and dryers in both location. I cannot say enough about this beautiful historic home in Savannah Ga. I will certainly recommentd it at our next Girls scout event. Thank you so much for allowing us to share your home. The girls will have ever lasting memories of this fantasic trip. Thank You
Troop Leader
Esther Jaeckel

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Boricuas2011

Review submitted: January 17, 2011   Date of arrival: December 30, 2010

We rented the Estate to celebrate the 2011 in Savannah.Four families/16 people,total/7kids from 7y/o to 17y/o. We had a wonderful time!!!. The park is across the street,the river is at minutes walk,Good restaurants,Good nigth entertainment.The acomodations in the house were fantastic for everyone,the kids loved the attic space,I enjoyed my master room w/balcony,the kitchens are well supplied and spacious. We recommended this to any big group like ours. Suzanne was great to work with and very pleasant. Thank you for your wonderful home. We will be back again!! Wanda/Jacksonville.Fl.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Owners response: It tickles me to no end to know my home has contributed in a great way to a guest having a GREAT vacation here in Savannah! I especially love that ya'll enjoyed the park across the street. The fenced doggie run is there also, along with a baseball court w/bleachers, playground, and football field. The attic bedroom with its Nintendo and VCR along with its decor, dressing screen, and cushioned, custom dormir window seats always charms both young and old guests! I'm glad you enjoyed fireworks on the River celebrting the New Year! Since we're only 7/10ths of a mile from River Street, it's an easy walk. You don't have to even be on the river to see the fireworks though as they're visible from many of the squares too. Delighted you found everything delightful and, as always, I look forward to returning guests!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Birthday Celebration

Review submitted: August 12, 2010   Date of arrival: August 6, 2010

A large group travelled to Savannah to celebrate my wife's 40th birthday. The Estate was wonderful! It had plenty of room for everyone and was close to everything. We were able to walk everywhere without getting too tired. Suzanne was a pleasure to work with. She responded to all of my questions quickly and professionally. I can't think of anything negative! It was a great weekend!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: It's sometimes hard to get those from out of town to realize just how walkable the landmark historic district of Savannah is! Although it is the largest historic downtown on the national register (it measures 1 mile x 2 miles), the walk is amid moss-laden oaks and through landscaped, grassy squares with squirrels and birds running across the brick paths and surrounded by antique stores, museums, historic homes dating from the Revolutionary War Days and....well, it just doesn't seem like the same distance as it would if you were walking along a busy street with cars zooming by in both directions and neon signs everywhere! Also, the "Landmark" historic district, where the Estate is located, has the original borders of the original Georgia colony founded in 1793 by General James Oglethorpe. Since cars weren't invented, you can see why it is walkable. Beware though!!!!...the environs surrounding the Landmark Historic District often advertise themselves as being in the downtown historic district and, in a sense, they are but...they're not in the "Landmark Historic District" which is in the National Register and, hence, the distance is not truly very walkable and, many times, not at all walkable! So, do be careful when scouting for a vacation home that you find one in the Landmark Historic District which is bordered by Gwinett Street on the the south, the riverfront on the North, and MLK Blvd on the west and East Broad St on the east. And, then...come and enjoy as the Pude family did!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Archer/Harris Family Reunion

Review submitted: July 31, 2010   Date of arrival: July 18, 2010

Suzanne - Our stay in Savannah was absolutely awesome. One of the greatest highlights was our stay at the Taylor Manor. It was great and as close to home as you can get. My sister-in-law set up all the arrangements with you. She could not have made a better choice. My family stayed in the Carriage house. We were thoroughly excited and pleased. The accomodations for both places were perfect. The location of your home was perfect also. We were in walking distance of some things and had to drive very little to get to others. I cannot wait to visit Savannah againg and hope that Taylor Manor will be available. Thank you again for the opportunity to utilize your home. It was wonderful!!!

Donna from Texas

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Ahhhh....my personal fave is always the intimate and complete comfort of the Cottage! I love to just get folded up in the soft leather furnishings and decorating it was such a joy for me. But, as you said...the Manor is wonderful too! Together...I have to agree that they are perfect. But, hearing a guest tell me that truly warms my heart!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect for our large Group!

Review submitted: July 25, 2010   Date of arrival: June 10, 2010

What a lovely place you have. Our troop loved staying in your home. The decor is absolutely beautiful! Everything was convenient. With all us girls, we liked having so much space for each other. Your binder was helpful in all aspects of our trip,from the maps and brochures to the house information. The girls loved the juliette gordon low house tour and the ghost tours. The Scavenger hunts got sort of irritating for some of them. And the top bedroom....they found it amazing! I would definitely look into booking a stay with you again.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Owners response: I truly love my Girl Scout Troops! (As a former Girl Scout myself...ya'll simply are wonderful at treating my homes with respect and leaving them in the same shape you found them. Juliette would be proud :)
The attic bedroom is always a treasure for my guests! I strive to update my binder so that examples of menus and popular brochures, while available at the visitor center also, are handy from the moment you arrive.
Yours is the first feedback I've had on the Scavenger Hunt Tours though the ghost and JGL-Home Tour always get really good reviews. So glad again to know the spaciousness and floor plan of the homes worked beautifully for the needs of your Girl Scouts and Moms!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Taylor Manor review

Review submitted: May 29, 2010   Date of arrival: May 20, 2010

The house was beautiful and in a good location. We were able to walk to restaurants, River St., etc. in 5 to 15 minutes. The decor was classically Southern and very charming. The only complaints we had was that we quickly ran out of toilet paper, paper towels, and bath towels, and the remote control to the non-HD TV did not work. We were there for 4 days and spent most of our time out of the house, so we were surprised to run out of the necessities within a couple of days. Typically vacation rentals come fully stocked with these kind of supplies. Otherwise, this was a great vacation stay and we were happy with the house.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: We are delighted when guests enjoy the Taylor Manor as ya'll did! As for the paper towels/toilet paper, we happily supply a "starter kit" of one roll paper towels in the kitchen and 2 rolls of TP per bathroom, as well as some coffee and filters for the coffee maker, spices, and dish soap/dishwasher detergent, trash bags and bath soap. It is only a "starter" to get guests through the first couple days of stay and is mentioned in our email confirmations which go out to the guest actually making the reservation and it wasn't communicated to the rest of your group. All dishes, cookware, bakeware, bed linens and a complete set of bath towels for each person in the Manor are provided. A washer and dryer is available should you need to launder during your stay. The TV controller battery has been changed :) for our future guests. We appreciate your compliments on the decor. We strive to give our guests a true glimpse of southern living.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great Week at the Taylor Estate!

Review submitted: January 23, 2010   Date of arrival: July 10, 2009

Review Submitted: August 9, 2009 Date of Stay: July 2009
We rented the Taylor Estate for the week of July 5-11th for our wedding party to stay in the week of the wedding, and I don't think there was a single person who wasn't in awe of this beautiful house! The house has everything in it that you would need for the week, all we had to do was get groceries. The location put us within walking distance of everything we wanted to get to in downtown savannah, and Kroger was only a couple blocks away for any little things we had to get. For a family get-away you absolutely cannot pick a better house to stay the week at. One thing I noticed right away the first time we stepped foot in the house was that the pictures do not do it justice, you really have to see this place to realize how beautiful it is. Suzanne was a great host, and also very easy to work with on anything that might come up. We would reccomend this estate to anyone looking for a relaxing week in savannah!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

The Manor made our reunion that much better!

Review submitted: January 23, 2010   Date of arrival: March 4, 2009

We enjoyed your lovely home! It was a wonderful venue for our mini-reunion of 6 gals who were high school classmates. Savannah is a beautiful city and we found your suggestions very helpful. Thanks so much!
guest name: Kathy, Carol, Mil, Peggy, Laurie
guest city-state/province: Various

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Perfectly Lovely

Review submitted: January 23, 2010   Date of arrival: April 12, 2009

We had a wonderful 4 days celebrating Grandma's 65th birthday. There were 12 of us ranging in age from 1 1/2 to 65. There were items to be enjoyed by all age groups in the Estate. Both the Carriage House and the Manor are beautiful and comfortably furnished.The weekend was full of interesting experiences in this very special town.
guest name: Helen Feiner
guest city-state/province: Sarasota, FL

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Wonderful Place to Stay in Savannah

Review submitted: January 23, 2010   Date of arrival: July 16, 2009

Wonderful Place to Stay in Savannah
If you want the total Savannah experience you cannot do better that staying with Suzanne in her lovely home!
My extended family came down to Savannah to attend a graduation ceremony. The entire estate is available and was extremely comfortable for our large group. For a couple or small family the tastefully decorated cottage is a great getaway or place for a romantic weekend. Suzanne is close by in their own home if needs arise, but the house is separate for the guests privacy. The house is several blocks from the river front, but it is on a quiet street with plenty of free parking which is a bonus in Savannah. Arrangements were easily made and the house was more than expected. I recommend it highly.

guest name: Stephanie Middleton
guest city-state/province: LaGrange, GA

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

The Estate was just what we were looking for!

Review submitted: January 23, 2010   Date of arrival: July 21, 2009

As we planned our stay in Savannah we looked into several options for lodging. With a large group (14) we wanted to all stay together. The house and cottage where just what we where looking for. It went beyond our expections. Being in a restored old home in Savannah made our stay even more memorable. I would recomend this house to anyone who is planning on visiting Savannah. Thank you for making our stay in Savannah great.

guest name: Sandy Green
guest city-state/province: Louisiana

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Beautiful Home and Garden

Review submitted: January 23, 2010   Date of arrival: July 28, 2009

date entered: 07/28/2009

homeowner-added comment:
I thoroughly enjoyed staying in this lovely historic home. The listing description and pictures were very accurate. The property is very well maintained and clean and it was very nice to have the fully appointed kitchen to prepare meals in. Suzanne was most gracious and I truly enjoyed every minute of my stay in her beautiful home and garden. I have no reservations recommending this rental. A lot of the attractions were within walking distance from the house although the group I was with drove to a few sites while we were there. Here is a list of some of the great places we visited: A Lady and Sons restaruant, Mrs. Wilkes Boarding House, The Savannah River Boat Cruise, The Pirate House Restaurant, Tybee Island, Fort Pulaski, tours through the Andrew Low home, William-Mercer home and the Girls Scout Birth place,Trolly sightseeing, shopping on the River Front and a walking Ghost tour! We also just kicked back and relaxed!
Love Savannah!!


guest name: Valerie Rennert
guest city-state/province: Fenton / MO

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

The Manor was wonderful!

Review submitted: January 23, 2010   Date of arrival: November 16, 2009

A bunch of my girlfriends and I rented the house for a long weekend in October and we had a great time. The dining room, huge kitchen, outdoor patio and grill were perfect for dinners together. There was plenty of room for all 10 of us and everything was walking distance or a very short cab ride. It was the perfect house for us to have a reunion and many great memories were made here! We will definitely be coming back!
Recommended for: Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children

guest name: Lindsey Messick
guest city-state/province: Atlanta, GA

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Perfect Vacation Spot for our Family Reunion

Review submitted: January 23, 2010   Date of arrival: December 7, 2009

My family chose this historic Savannah property for our annual vacation and it proved to be the perfect decision. A friend who accompanied us was wheelchair bound and the handicapped accommodations were seemlessly incorporated into the design of the property, providing a delightful yet practical solution. Suzanne was an excellent host and we will always cherish Savannah's historical charm and friendly, colorful characters.

guest name: Sue Berry
guest city-state/province: Santa Monica, CA

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Prettier than the Pictures

Review submitted: January 23, 2010   Date of arrival: August 15, 2008

We rented the Taylor Estate for a combined bachelor/bachelorette party. There were 12 of us, and we had plenty of room! The house was beautiful - every room is like a dream! I couldn't believe it when we got there - it was even better than I had imagined.
We had a fabulous weekend - we were able to walk everywhere we wanted to go. We enjoyed a night in the house playing board games, and a night on the town at City Market.
We are definitely planning a trip back, and we will stay at Taylor Estate everytime we're in Savannah.
guest name: Holly Peace
guest city-state/province: Sharpsburg, GA

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

A Treasure in Savannah

Review submitted: January 23, 2010   Date of arrival: April 22, 2009

Thank you. My stay in your home was a relaxing experience. The convenience made the travel in your city a breeze. your home is a treasure box, each room shared the love and care throughout the house. Thank you again!
guest name: Lolita Ricks
guest city-state/province: Eutaville, SC

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Loved it!

Review submitted: January 23, 2010   Date of arrival: July 22, 2009

My stay at your home(It felt like I was at home) was great! The house had all the wonderful comforts of being at home. The rooms were decorated so beautiful and the beds were so comfortable. From the little touches of books to read and games to play to the huge comforts of televisions and dvd players, it made our trip to Savannah wonderful. The idea of having a complete kitchen with dishes and pans to having movies to watch, it was great. Thank you for having such an awesome place to stay within walking distance of so much of the city of Savannah.

guest name: Pickel Ballwin
guest city-state/province: St Louis, Missouri

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great Stay

Review submitted: January 23, 2010   Date of arrival: December 4, 2009

I brought my group of 11 sales reps to the house for a long weekend. Suzanne was very accommodating, the facility offered all we needed for recreation and food prep. We were able to walk to river street and all of the interesting areas the city had to offer. Very nice.

-Mike Abrams, Ambler, PA

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review