reviews for: listing #44790 - Dominical, Costa Rica Villa rental

Jungle Villa with Waterfalls and Toucans!
  • bedrooms  8
  • pool  yes
  • type  Villa
  • baths 
  • hot tub  yes
  • community  Cana Blanca de Baru
  • sleeps  25
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $299 - $429 /nt
    $1,895 - $2,995 /wk

sort by:

Green Adventure in a luxurious Costa Rican Villa

Review submitted: June 30, 2014   Date of arrival: June 22, 2014

The property was well kept and beautiful. The grounds were carefully maintained and lush. Toucans and macaws cavort in the trees right by the swimming pool. The rooms have AC and deluxe showers with plenty of hot water. Vivianna the house manager is a good communicator and did her best to see that we had a great stay. Our kids loved the media room where they chilled out with a movie after the days of river rafting, surfing and hiking and the over sized chess set in the garden.
There is a decent Mexican restaurant up the hill from the villa. if you want to cook they have a fabulous kitchen to cook in. Patricia, the cook can whip up anything you wish. If you want really healthy fish and meats ask her to grill on the BBQ otherwise everything will be sauteed.
Patricia makes a delicious plantain and serves all her meals with care and a flourish. Her steamed veggies and chicken soup were the healthiest things we ate in Costa Rica.
We would come back again for sure!
Ellie from the Palisades

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Amazing Experience

Review submitted: May 16, 2014   Date of arrival: April 27, 2014

It will be tough to top the week we had at the Villa Los Aires.
Rachel helped coordinate our excursions before our arrival as well as our transportation to and from the airport. Viviana was there to help us with anything we needed once we touched down in CR. I would strongly recommend taking advantage of the cooks on site for meals. For one thing it's a bit of a ride, 30 minutes or so to the nearest restaurant, but also because your not going to find anything better than the incredible, fresh home cooked meals Patricia and company will prepare for you. I might miss the food the most! Rachel recommended the Titi Canopy Tour, and the Catamaran tour. Both were about an hour ride from the property and big hits with my friends/family. Highly recommend them both. The property itself is very clean and the surrounding views are impressive. Very secluded, quite and peaceful. I married my girlfriend of 13 years at Villa Los Aires, with 19 guests, and we couldn't have picked a better spot. We can't wait to go back!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Good trip

Review submitted: March 2, 2014   Date of arrival: February 7, 2014

We stayed at Villa Los Aires in February 2014 for 6 nights. We had a great time. The use is beautiful and the views are breathtaking. Viviana and her husband did a great job accommodating us. They were extremely helpful and flexible with out big group of people. They did a great job cooking meals for us, and accommodating members of our group with food allergies. Viviana set up snorkeling and white water rafting trips for us, both of which we're amazing. She also recommending a certain company for zip lining which we ended up doing on our own. Again, it was an amazing time. We couldn't have asked for better caretakers.

Here are a few things people may want to consider before renting:

1. One of the rooms in the main house does not have AC.

2. The weather was beautiful. No rain, no wind, sunny days, yet the house is in the mountains of Central America which is why I think we lost power almost everyday we were there. Once we lost power for about 12 hours, but according to Viviana the whole area did. It was from approximately 10pm to 10am. It must happen pretty often since all the rooms are equip with battery powered LED light strips which was helpful. The unhelpful thing is about half of them didn't work, and none of them worked in our room. To use the bathrooms we took pool water in a 5 gallon jug and hauled it up to our rooms to fill the toilet tank. We were okay with all of this because it's all part of the adventure. But I think it would be helpful for others to know.

2. The hot water didn't work in our bedroom for the first 2 days we're were there and the cold water didn't work in the upstairs bedroom the entire time we were there.

3. The hottub didn't work while we were there which out of everything was probably the one thing we were disappointed about. The nights were cool and it was perfect hottub weather.

4. One screen in our bedroom windows was old and had tears in it. One tear was quite large.

5. The chess set was ill maintained with spider webs all over it and debris on the board.

6. Their website says the hiking trails are maintained, but they are not. There is a large waterfall pictured on their website, but the trail is no longer there. We never found it after a day of hiking.

We had a great time at Villa Los Aires. Thank you very much

Recommended for: adventure seekers

Helpful votes: 9 / 10

 

Excellent choice

Review submitted: December 25, 2013   Date of arrival: December 9, 2013

We truly enjoyed our vacation at this villa. The description and amenities of it were accurate, the property is meticulously clean and well maintained. The staff is extremely friendly and helpful. We surely recommend it.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Beautiful Private Estate

Review submitted: August 28, 2013   Date of arrival: August 19, 2013

The home was more beautiful than the pictures shown on the website. One of our favorite days spent in Costa Rica was the day we hiked down to the waterfalls and river on your property. Viviana was very helpful and made reservations and maps to guide us to the waterfalls, a zip line tour and horseback riding day. Christian attended to all our requests around the home. The toucans came every morning to entertain us during breakfast! With eight family members the chess set on the lawn, gym, jacuzzi, pool and gardens were all enjoyed! Please thank all your staff for their services we had a wonderful stay at your home.

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Spring Break in Costa Rica

Review submitted: April 9, 2013   Date of arrival: March 29, 2013

Villa Los Aires delivers on every promise! The villa, the staff, the food, the amenities, the wildlife - BEST vacation ever. Many, many thanks to Henry and Viviana for making this stay a memory our family will never forget!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 7 / 8

 

Secluded paradise

Review submitted: February 5, 2013   Date of arrival: January 26, 2013

I stayed there with 11 friends for my 50th birthday party, there was nothing we weren't pleased with. The estate is a beautiful open-air property, with plenty of room for all of us. The staff was very pleasant and helpful, and the building, grounds and pool were kept clean and maintained during our entire stay there. One vehicle was late in arriving (3am) due to a late flight, but one of the staff was still awake and waiting for them to arrive safely when they finally arrived. It's a bit of a drive to get there from San Jose airport (around 4.5 hours), but it's worth it for the seclusion and beauty. It's secluded, you can be as loud as you want to be, and enjoy nature from the pool (toucans land in the trees every day by the pool, and monkeys howl in the morning). We had several lunches and dinners cooked and were happy with the meals. We took several day trips to scuba dive, zipline, ATV ride and hang out at the beach, so it's a great home base for adventures. I recommend a 4 wheel drive vehicle, the dirt road leading there is pretty rough for a sedan-type vehicle and would be tough to navigate if it was muddy. Very happy with our stay there, and thanks to Stephan for his help in answering our questions and booking our trip. You won't be disappointed!

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 

Beautiful Villa with Stunning Views

Review submitted: August 16, 2012   Date of arrival: July 29, 2012

Los Aires is a beautiful place for a large family or group of dear friends to stay who are adventure seekers. We had a family reunion with 13 members aging from 17 to 77 and it was the most memorable experience that we have all shared together. Because of its isolated location and logistical challenges, we relied heavily on the staff which were very accommodating. I arranged in advance and prepaid with Stephen, the owner, to have meals prepared for all of us each day of our visit. In addition to the fruit and cereal already included, Viviana prepared eggs and bacon or pancakes for breakfast. Patricia prepared delicious dinners for us every evening and Henry drove us to most destinations. It was expensive to have these services but well worth it because it allowed us to completely relax and enjoy our stay. No shopping, cooking and cleaning! Viviana, the concierge, did an excellent job arranging daily excursions. As someone who is neurotic about safety, we had complete confidence in the guides she recommended for Cano Island/Corcovado National Park; white water rafting on the Savegre River (even our experienced kayakers enjoyed the 2-3 rapids) with Dominical Surf Adventures; surfing; zip lining at Mid World (double cables and the guides brake for the zip liners--no frayed zip lines); and a tour of Manuel Antonio National Park with Miguel (very knowledgeable and has a monocular for viewing wildlife). Extra information--The property is down a long, very steep, unpaved road and requires a 4 wheel drive vehicle with a powerful engine to access it...12-16 minute drive to a paved road. We rented from Solid Car Rental, in Dominical, a Mitsubishi Nativa automatic and it handled beautifully. Have the car delivered to Los Aires. My 24 year old nephew sliced his chin and needed stitches. Viviana recommended a clean, well equipped clinic in San Isidro and it was an excellent experience. Late July and early August is a wonderful time to be at the Villa. We did all of our activities in the morning and early afternoon and were home by about 3-4 pm when it started to rain. If you hike to Nauyaca Falls on your own and want to jump off the falls, you might want to make sure guides are at the sight and available to help you climb the rocks with their ropes and show you the safe spots to jump and swim. Knowledge of Spanish is also very helpful! Finally and most importantly, Los Aires is all that it promises in its photographs and description!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 10 / 10

 

Amazing Experience!

Review submitted: August 11, 2012   Date of arrival: July 29, 2012

We stayed for almost two weeks at this home and absolutely loved it! There are monkeys and all kinds of wildlife on the property, you have the most amazing views in the world, and you are in a part of the country that is still relatively free from tourists!

Advice for anyone considering this property:
You have the option of using the services of Viviana - who is something of a guide / translator / consierge. She was AMAZING - definitely use her recommendations for the best trips and where to go.
The roads are all paved except the final part of the road to the house. It is a muddy hill that takes about 15 minutes so be prepared for that. I would recommend, depending on your group size, renting a 4x4 car or using Henry as a driver. We tried using a second driver who couldnt make it up the hill. Henry knows the area excellently and people here seem to know him as well.
Finally, the experience was made complete because we enjoyed fresh cooked dinners every night. I would say this is a necessity. You may be tempted to eat out or cook for yourself but you wont beat the price and quality of the cooking but Hernan and his wife. They cooked excellent meals every night and left us 100% satisfied.
The house is very secluded which is amazing but is something you need to consider. It takes half an hour to get to the beach at Dominical (I recommend Playa Hermosa for swimming / sunbathing) and an hour+ to the touristy area of Quepos. This was fine for us but it means that, among other things, eating logistics can get difficult and stressful. That is just another reason to use the food services offered at the house.

We loved our stay and are already planning a return trip!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

Los Aires Jungle Paradise

Review submitted: March 30, 2012   Date of arrival: March 18, 2012

Los Aires comfortably suited our family of thirteen. The area is remote and quiet, with beautiful waterfall excursions nearby. I recommend always using the cook for dinner as there are no nearby restaurants, and the drive from 243 is a steep, curvy dirtroad. We ordered in lunch and it was both reasonable and good. The included breakfast was the same everyday, cereal and fresh fruit juice and coffee.

Avoid arriving on Sunday as the drive from San Jose was very long since the new toll road wasn't open. The return trip was much better, making use of the toll road. Bring plenty of cash, since all groceries(add 18% service charge), meals, taxiing, tipping must be in cash...Even the fishing excursion ($800) had to be cash...The nearest ATM is over 1/2 hour away...

The concierge and property manager/taxi were accomodating in every way.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Guests from Germany at Villa Los Aires

Review submitted: February 14, 2012   Date of arrival: January 23, 2012

Hi Stephen,

our trip was absolutly great. Everyone was happy and we had a lot of fun. Special thanks to viviana, patricia, henry, rolando and jorge it was a really good time for us with you.

best regards
KS

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 

A Family Paradise Like No Other

Review submitted: March 29, 2011   Date of arrival: January 14, 2011

We stayed at Los Aires in January 2011 and it was one of the most amazing experiences ever. Our group had 2 families, including 5 children, ages 3 - 9. The lay out of the house was perfect for our group and the pool was great for the kids. It was warm, had a shallow area for the youngest member, and was just outside the living area, so supervision was easy. As all the bedrooms are upstairs, we felt we could put the children to bed and continue our evening. The theater room was KEY for giving the kids a little "down time" every day. The view is UNBELIEVABLE and it was so refreshing to look out and only see jungle and no neighbors. We hiked to all the waterfalls on the property, most of which the children made it too. The nice thing about Los Aires is that you will never run out of things to do.

The house was very clean and well-decorated, with comfortable beds. The staff, especially Viviana and Henry, were so accommodating, and the meals by Patricia were amazing. We had her cook 5 out of 7 nights and had no regrets. The food was varied and delicious. Having staff on site was so nice and made you feel very secure...but they gladly gave us privacy whenever we asked for it.

We LOVED our stay here. We were close to so many activities and the beach, without the hustle and bustle of tourists. We cannot recommend Los Aires enough. We hope to return next year! Do not hesitate to rent this home...you will not be disappointed!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 10 / 10

 

Breath Taking

Review submitted: September 16, 2010   Date of arrival: April 10, 2010

The pictures do not do justice to this property. The views are amazing, the staff is even better and the house is one of a kind. Me and my wife had the most relaxing week ever here. I would recomend the house to anyone looking to relax or for any one looking for a great adventure. Property is close to the beach and other great activities. I would recomend the horse back riding to the falls(make sure you jump off the falls!).

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 12 / 12

 

The perfect place

Review submitted: September 16, 2009   Date of arrival: September 12, 2009

Las aguas is a really amazing property in Costa Rica.
Everything is working, The staff is really helpful and the villa has everything you need to have a really great time there, even with breahtaking views.
The only problem is finding a good reason to leave so comfortable place
A jewel.
Absolutely recommended.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 11 / 11

 

A place in Paradise!

Review submitted: August 6, 2009   Date of arrival: June 13, 2009

What a wonderful place.... We took a group of 11 people to this house and it was perfect. The cooks did a great job and the house stayed clean. I would highly suggest using Stephen when booking excursions for Costa Rica he made it easy and the companies that he choose were fantastic. This was our first time deciding to stay in a rented house in Costa Rica and we could not have choosen a better one.

Thank you Stephen for making this one of the best vacations.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 15 / 15

 

Review submitted: March 29, 2009   Date of arrival: March 29, 2009

Comment Text: We spent 3 wonderful days and nights at Las Aguas in February, 2009. It was absolutely the best part of our 11 day trip to Costa Rica. The owner, Steve is top notch and the lodge is awesome. We saw Toucans virtually within our finger tips; were woken up each morning by howler monkeys; hiked to a neat waterfall; and took in the most amazing vistas from every direction at the lodge. Dining was excellent and staff was very friendly. We would recommend Las Aguas to anyone. In fact, upon our return to Des Moines we decided to bring an entire group of our friends to Las Aguas next winter. We just made our reservations to take over the entire lodge for a fun filled week in February, 2010

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 

A Dream

Review submitted: April 7, 2008   Date of arrival: March 13, 2008

I stayed at Villa Las Aguas with a group of 15, and we all loved every minute of our stay. The house is unbelievably well designed and appointed, the staff was helpful and cheerful, and the location combined both tranquil seclusion and easy access to amazing beaches and nearby urban areas. The property itself has access to some beautiful trails, waterfalls, and swimming holes. The food was delicious and varied. Stephen, the property owner, also helped a great deal with planning activities during our stay. I could not recommend Villa Las Aguas more: I wish I could have stayed much much longer.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 22 / 23

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: July 20, 2007   Date of arrival: July 1, 2007

THIS WAS A VERY MEMORABLE VACATION. THE HOUSE IS BEAUTIFUL, THE MOUNTAIN VIEW CANNOT BE BEAT AND MOST IMPORTANLY, THE STAFF AND OWNER COULD NOT BE TOPPED BY ANY VACATION WE HAVE EVER BEEN ON.WE LEFT FEELING LIKE FAMILY. I HIGHLY RECOMMEND LAS AGUAS TO ALL WHO WISH TO GET AWAY IN LUXURY AND STYLE. P.S. THE FOOD WAS GREAT.

Helpful votes: 16 / 19

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review