reviews for: listing #44833 - Smith Mountain Lake, Virginia House rental

Cedar Point-level point lot-sand beach in cove
  • bedrooms  4
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths 
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  8
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $200 - $300 /nt
    $1,400 - $2,100 /wk

sort by:

Perfect Location

Review submitted: July 8, 2014   Date of arrival: June 28, 2014

This is the third time we've stayed at SML, and this was easily our favorite rental house. The house is close to the lake -- no hill to climb. The lot has a small peninsula which made for a great view, especially at sunset. This is on a nice part of the lake, just upstream from the bridge. It's close to town, but out of the "busy" part of the lake.

The house itself is roomy, clean, and comfortable. We had six people and there was more than enough room. Everything was in good condition. The owner was present when we checked in and made sure that we knew where everything was and how to get in touch if there were issues (there were none).

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for your review, especially when I know you ran into problems trying to post. We try to improve each year and add things as we are able and still keep the cost in reason. We do hope to see you again. Lori & Ralph

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect for My Young Family

Review submitted: January 14, 2013   Date of arrival: September 2, 2012

Having young children in our group, we needed a place with limited stairs, beach access to the lake and controllable areas to keep the little ones safe! Cedar Point was PERFECT!!! I will list the things we love about the property first:

1) The kitchen was great! Everything worked and it's open floor plan kept those with KP duty involved with everyone else.
2) The multiple living areas allowed the adults to talk, laugh, watch tv & hang out w/o worrying about waking up the kids. We really enjoyed the pool table, too.
3) The location on SML was ideal. A mostly quiet cove (deep water) with a short boat ride to Parrot Cove marina was great! There is enough room to ski, tube and kneeboard right in front of the house without being on the main body of the lake. The water remains relatively calm, too.
4) The large dock with grill was a great place for a cookout while swimming & fishing (caught several dozen catfish and bass off the dock in a 4 hour time slot)
5) The view from the living room and front porch is INCREDIBLE!!! Best anywhere on SML.
6) The house was absolutely spotless for us! Lori and her husband do a great job keeping everything maintained!

I won't call the following "negatives" because they are so minor! Just some observations that give the place character:
1) The floating dock is showing some wear and became rather challenging to navigate when the water was low.
2) One of the rooms has 2 twin beds that "convert" to a king. However, it isn't very comfortable in that formation. I would suggest just using the twin beds and calling yourself "Lucy & Ricky" for the week :-)
3) The lower patio is the PERFECT place for a hot tub! Hint, hint!

We had a fantastic week at Cedar Point and plan to return in 2013! I recommend it to anyone, as long as you stay away from my week! Enjoy.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: So glad you are considering Cedar Point aor another vacation. Unfortunatley due to already HIGH insurance rates the hot tub is out, however we are definatley taking care of the bed situation...we have put a queen in the upper beroom and a queen in the lower level (new sleeping area). This wasn't done when you were there...we have covered the floating dock & added a slide.
We aren't able to control water levels but we thought of taking this floater out all together (there are 2) as there is so much dock area now,.
We appreciate your input, that helps us make improvements for our great guests..Thank you, Lori & Ralph

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Cedar Point

Review submitted: January 5, 2013   Date of arrival: November 21, 2012

Thank you for letting us stay at your beautiful house. We had a wonderful visit with our extended family. So grateful that dogs were able to come too. This made it easier on all of us. The house was more beautiful than in the pictures.
Very clean and well maintained. The lakeview was wonderful. We had beautiful weather and all the kids went out on the lake. The dogs were happy chasing the waves when the boats went by. I would recommend this house to anyone that likes the outdoors or just enjoys looking at it. Thank you again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Owners response: Thank you so much for your kind review and I'm so glad you are choosing Cedar Point for your next vacation..It is always appreciated to deal with such nice guests also..We strive to keep repeat guests. I loved the pictures you sent, it is great to see a good time taking place. Thank you again, Lori

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Gorgeous!

Review submitted: May 21, 2012   Date of arrival: May 11, 2012

We've rented many properties at Smith Mt, but, by far, this was our favorite! An absolutely beautiful home with many amenities. The property owners were fantastic to work with. It was beyond what we expected! Watching the sunset at night was the best. Thank you so much for sharing your lovely and peaceful home with us. We will be back!

Recommended for: families with young children, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Owners response: Hello Al & Maureen
Thank you for your time and response. We want to keep upgrading our home your input would be gratefully appreciated. I welcome any comments. We are redoing the lower dock this fall & staining all decks...new patio furniture also. Thank you again, Lori & Ralph

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

thanksgiving

Review submitted: January 5, 2012   Date of arrival: November 23, 2011

We found this home a perfect home away from home...clean and well maintained with plenty to do for everyone.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Owners response: Thank you for your kind response...I hope you get many butterfly visits

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Wonderful vacation spot

Review submitted: September 20, 2011   Date of arrival: September 3, 2011

We had a wonderful week-long stay at Cedar Point. We were impressed with the house itself and the location. in addition to the usual lake activities, the drive to Blue Ridge Parkway is an easy one for some biking as well.

The owners did not skimp on outfitting the house. Since we love to cook, we were very pleased to see that in the kitchen there were sufficient pots and pans (nice quality) and dishes to warrant the term "fully-stocked". The laundry facilities were also top-notch--something important with an extended vacation.

The layout of the house was great--very family and socializing-friendly. One of the things we were particularly pleased with is that the owners had several pieces of furniture that were sized perfectly for small children (lawn chairs, tables, etc). Our toddler enjoyed having his meals at the outdoor toddler-sized picnic table on the deck and he was very disappointed to have to leave their Fischer-Price grill at the end of our vacation.

Thanks for such a great spot! We will definitely keep you in mind for future vacations.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Owners response: We try to please and improve all the time, that's why we encourage our guests to leave honest comments on how we can do this, we want to have our wonderful guests return to Cedar Point...Thank you for helping us meet your needs as well. Lori & Ralph

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Best and most peaceful Vacaction we've had

Review submitted: July 11, 2011   Date of arrival: June 25, 2011

I cannot say enough about our vacation experience at Cedar Pointe. The views were wonderful and the home was gorgeous. We had so much privacy! My kids loved the private beach, and kayaking aound the lake. This is by far the most wonderful experience we've had on a vacation.

The owners are so very kind and take such pride in their home. You feel like you've known them for years.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you so much for taking the time to post...Having great guests like you makes it easy for us to be able to offer Cedar Point so many can have a great vacation experience..Lori & Ralph

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Wonderful vacation

Review submitted: June 27, 2011   Date of arrival: June 6, 2011

we had a wonderful time staying at this beautiful house. it was a last minute opportunity for us and the owners were very accommodating. When you first walk into the house...Wow!. Beautiful sunsets from the deck. Very quiet and relaxing. Thank you for letting us stay in your home.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Owners response: we try hard to see that our guests have the best vacation ever and return to Cedar Point, thank you for a great compliment

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

AWESOME!!!!!!!!!

Review submitted: January 18, 2011   Date of arrival: June 5, 2010

WE LOVED THE HOUSE AND THE PEOPLE WHO OWN IT ARE VERY NICE. WE HAD AN AWSOME VACATION JUNE 2010. IF I HAD MY WAY I WOULD VACATION AT THIS HOUSE EVERY YEAR.THE BASS FISHING IS GREAT. THE KIDS HAD AN AWSOME TIME WAKE BOARDING AND TUBING. IF YOU ARE LOOKING FOR A NICE CLEAN PLACE TO STAY THIS IS IT. JUST DON'T TAKE MY WEEK!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Great house

Review submitted: September 15, 2010   Date of arrival: September 3, 2010

This is an outstanding property! A truly beautiful home on almost 2 acres with private beach and huge pier. The house is immaculate, new and extremely well designed. The owners are low maintenance, easy going and friendly people who made renting their property very easy and although we never met, seemed liked old friends over the phone. There are no down sides to this review and we highly recommend this property for anyone who would like to enjoy the lake, be close the bridge and yet get away from the main traffic areas. In sum, if you are planning to rent a house on SML this is one of the best and most affordable properties available,.Enjoy!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 12 / 12

 

Best Vacation Ever

Review submitted: July 6, 2010   Date of arrival: June 26, 2010

Our family cannot say enough about this property. We arrived on Saturday afternoon and found out the A/C was not working due to a manufacturer defect. The owner had already went and purchased additional fans and a portable A/C to make our stay pleasant. The A/C was fixed very quickly. The location is perfect. Deep water for boats and big kids and shallow water with a sandy beach for the little ones. Very, very easy access to the water....no steps. The house and all the amenities were great. We want to make this our yearly vacation.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 16 / 16

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review