reviews for: listing #44949 - Merida, Yucatan House rental

Casa Mango
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  yes
  • type  House
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Historic Center
  • sleeps  5
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $80 - $100 /nt
    $350 - $450 /wk
    $1,250 - $1,350 /mth

sort by:

Perfect for our family

Review submitted: July 16, 2013   Date of arrival: July 3, 2013

This house was perfect for our family. We are a married couple with two children (ages 6 and 3) and my mom traveled with us. The pool was just big enough for playing in with the kids especially after a day out and about. It was in a great location. We walked to the market for fresh fruits, veggies, tortillas, eggs, etc. We could also walk to the downtown area (although that was a little farther, but we like to walk) and went almost every night to the Sorbete restaurant on Paseo Montejo (only a two block walk). It was on a quiet street and we never had to turn on the air con, the ceiling fans were enough. Ignacio was waiting for us when we arrived to let us into the house and when we left he was there to return our deposit. The description says that the second bedroom has two single beds, but it's actually one double and one single, perfect for Grandma and the kids. Plenty of dishes, pans, etc. We ate every breakfast at the house. Comfortable beds and nicely decorated. We would stay there again.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

A place with a soul

Review submitted: May 7, 2013   Date of arrival: January 1, 2013

We’ve been in Casa Mango a few days in the beginning of January 2013 with our 3 kids (1, 6 and 8 years old). The spot is ideal for tourists : 2 minutes of walk from the Paseo Montejo, about the same from the Parque de Santa Ana and its market where you can get a typical meal during the day or fresh vegetables and meat. Nearby, you can also get fresh ground coffee and bread (typically covered with sugar) from a local panaderia. Casa Mango is a good place to start a visit of Merida and its old center.

The house definitely have a personality as it is almost a century old and you can feel it is part of Merida’s history. If you are looking for a totally quiet or extremely modern place, you should look for something else. You will find under this roof, all you need for a great stay and to cook. It is charming and colorful.

The owners, Ignacio and Mina, are very kind and really open minded persons. Both beeing artist, many of the pictures on the walls are their creations.

Casa Mango sleeps easily 4 persons or more if you use hamacs that are available.

The pool is small but deep enough to make everybody happy, especially the kids.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Un petit paradis

Review submitted: March 17, 2013   Date of arrival: February 1, 2013

Nous avons adoré notre séjour à la Casa Mango. Nous y avons passé 6 merveilleuses semaines. La maison est spacieuse et très confortable. La piscine constitue tout un atout ! Les propriétaires sont avenants et disponibles.

C'est tout près du quartier historique, du Paseo, bref de tout ce qui compte à Mérida, une ville par ailleurs extraordinaire.

Nous recommandons chaudement l'endroit que nous avons bien l'intention de relouer lors de notre prochain passage au Mexique.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

A Beautiful Houseā€”A Wonderful Experience

Review submitted: January 24, 2011   Date of arrival: December 25, 2010

My partner and I stayed in Casa Mango Christmas 2010 for a week. We had been to Merida and knew this to be an ideal area to stay.

We're food-focused and Casa Mango is halfway between two areas we usually fouind ourselves—the restaurants, food stands, and Municipal Market in Centro Historico; and the restaurants and super-sized supermarkets (WalMart, Mega, Chedraui) in the north part of town, where you can find anything you forgot to pack as well as a full choice of meat & vegetables. Casa Mango is a 15-20 minute walk either destination.

The house itself is something special. Lovingly restored to be cheerful, comfortable, and very clean. If you want to experience life in an old-style Mexican home, this place will transport you back in time. Every room has a different antique floor tile (pasta) pattern. Interior doors have antique glass panels. The kitchen is a modern take on old-style Mexican kitchens with everything one needs—range, full size fridge/freezer, and all the appliances, cookware, and utensils you'll need for any meal. We fixed breakfast every morning to enjoy on the patio. A couple of nights we cooked dinner, grilled out, and ate under the stars by the romantically lit pool. We spent most mornings by that pool in the very private, walled-in back yard.

Towels and bed linens were good quality—all cotton. The bed was very comfortable. To wake up in the back bedroom on a late December morning to birdsong, warm & bright sunlight, and flowers blooming right outside the door was pure joy.

A couple of blocks south from the house, by Santa Anna Church, is a market and food stalls. Go there for excellent and inexpensive comida Yucateca. A friendly, laid back atmosphere for a long lunch, a couple of beers, and great people-watching.

Ignatio and Mina are an artistic couple and good hosts. Throughout the house is interesting art by friends of theirs and Ignatio's photography. They made sure every need was met. When the stovetop wouldn't light, Ignatio was at the door in a few minutes to take care of it—just a turn of the knob on the propane tanks and we were cooking with gas again.

Only one thing isn't going to be like home and that's water pressure in the shower. But if you travel in Mexico a lot you know this condition to be the rule rather than the exception. The advantage you'll have at Casa Mango is right outside the door is a sparkling clean pool to jump into when you need to feel fully hydrated.

Highly recommended!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 9 / 10

 

We felt at home in Merida

Review submitted: October 21, 2010   Date of arrival: October 8, 2010

Casa Mango is a typical restored colonial Merida home, and that is exactly what we were looking for. After a day of sightseeing we wanted to feel like we were returning to our Merida home. Because we enjoyed the house so much, a couple of days we just stayed "home" to enjoy it.

The back patio has a table and chairs and small pool with a waterfall feature that we especially enjoyed in the evenings. As an added bonus, the avocados fell from the trees daily providing us with all the guacamole we could eat.

The location was nice and quiet, located on a side street with only local traffic. The main downtown area is a 10 to 15 minute walk and the grand Paseo Montejo only a block away.

The owners were very gracious and attentive to our needs. They we could be gotten in touch with by the phone in the house had we needed them or had there been any problems. We had no problems during our stay, but it was a comfort to know they could be contacted so easily.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

historical colonial in merida

Review submitted: July 6, 2010   Date of arrival: June 27, 2010

Casa Mango is in the heart of the beautiful "White City", Merida. The location is just steps from the famous Paseo de Montejo, a wide tree-lined street with restaurants, shops, galleries and museums. The casa is well maintained with a great 2 bedroom set-up. The back yard contains a beautiful pool. We enjoyed our stay in Merida and the owner, Ignacio, was very attentive to our every need, speaks english, and was there whenever we needed assistance. Casa Mango is a good place to stay in the heart of Merida!

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 

Great Value in Great Location

Review submitted: April 29, 2010   Date of arrival: April 6, 2010

Fred & Joyce Ottawa, Canada
April 6th - April 27th 2010
House is large and well equipped. The best feature of the house during our stay was the private pool which we used it seemed constantly.It is a fifteen minute walk to centro from the house were there are constant activities.

Ignatius, the owner of the property, is a good host. He is close by and available to help if there are any questions or there is a hand required.

We found an abundance of restaurants nearby and all reasonably priced. We were close to the grand boulevard and there is a shopping nearby.Public transportation in inexpensive and plentiful.Also, the experience we had with taxi drivers was always pleasant (by the way, this is a first for me).

We would stay at Casa Mango again.

Recommended for: families with young children, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Owners response: Thank you very much for you comments Joyce & Fred.
We always try to treat our customers the best way so they come back to Casa Mango.
You are wellcome again next year.
Mina & Ygnacio.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

House loved

Review submitted: March 9, 2010   Date of arrival: March 1, 2010

We had a wonderful time and loved the house, thank you!
Matt & Linda Greff / Michigan, USA

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Hope to come back

Review submitted: February 21, 2010   Date of arrival: January 8, 2010

We have just completed a very pleasant 1 week-long stay at Casa Mango, and we wish we could stay longer. The house is located not far from Plaza Grande (main square) and was very confortable. We hope to come back some days.
Ewa & Greg from Washington D.C. / January 16 th, 2010

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review