reviews for: listing #44991 - Show Low, Arizona Cabin rental

Lovely Country Cabin - Elk Ridge Retreat
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  no
  • type  Cabin
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $195 - $195 /nt
    $975 - $975 /wk
    $2,925 - $2,925 /mth

sort by:

Great Getaway Experience in Show Low

Review submitted: November 13, 2012   Date of arrival: November 10, 2012

My husband and I recently stayed at this cabin with our two dogs and another family of four just to get away from Phoenix and enjoy cooler weather. The cabin was even better than expected, as was the weather since we got to enjoy Show Low's first snowfall of the season! Everything we could possibly want or need was graciously provided by the owners, including even a bucket of goodies for making s'mores (which we did!). They even had the fire going for us when we arrived, making the cabin nice and cozy as the temperatures dropped down to a chilly 18 degrees outside. Our dogs thoroughly loved having a fenced-in backyard where they could play in snow for the first time. And all of us enjoyed the boardgames, the firepit, and just relaxing. If/when we return to Show Low, we hope to stay here again. The cabin is perfect for any season.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: We're committed to making each stay memorable and comfortable. Since we live right across the street, we customize your experience to your unique needs. How can we help YOU make memories?
Jeff and Karen

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

"A Truly Amazing Time!"

Review submitted: September 17, 2011   Date of arrival: December 23, 2010

We had a truly amazing time and can't wait to come back again. The cain is so cozy and lovely, and the scenery is by far the best in the area. We can't thank Jeff and Karen enough for their hospitality. The s'mores kit and fresh eggs were such a fun and entertaining twist. We'll recommend this to ALL of our friends! Marc and Erin

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

"Home Away From Home"

Review submitted: September 17, 2011   Date of arrival: January 14, 2011

We enjoyed ourselves so much we're making it our family annual trip. We have found Elk Ridge Retreat to be home away from home. Thanks to the great views, the snow, and hospitality of Jeff and Karen we have family memories that will last a lifetime! See you next MLK Holiday! James and Tracey

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

"Wonderful Retreat"

Review submitted: September 17, 2011   Date of arrival: July 10, 2011

What a wonderful retreat with a spectacular view! And we, as pet owners, appreciated the fenced backyard for our 2 Jack Russells! Being from the Midwest, we loved seeing the green grass at your retreat as well as at your home. What can I say about the accommodations other than GREAT!! We enjoyed our first breakfast of eggs from your hens. We had wonderful spinach and lettuce salads (from the garden) and used both in sandwiches too. We fished, my husband golfed, and we shopped at a few of our favorite gift stores. But, the best was coming back to the retreat to read, watch movies, play ball and walk the dogs! The dogs loved the backyard; we enjoyed the front deck. Played horseshoes, what fun! A truly relaxing vacation. Thank you and we will be back!! -- Keith and Diane

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

"Re;laxing Getaway"

Review submitted: September 17, 2011   Date of arrival: July 21, 2011

We had such a relaxing getaway at your cabin -- it was exactly what we needed. You have amenities for everything we could need, and we especially ejoyed the little touches that did not go unnoticed! The eggs were so much fun to make each morning, and we simply enjoyed sitting out on the beautiful deck. Thanks again! Ali and Scott

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

"Beyond Expectations!"

Review submitted: September 17, 2011   Date of arrival: July 19, 2011

Beyond expectations! Elk Ridge is a wonderful retreat and you thought of everything to the smallest detail. Thank you for the fresh eggs and yummy vegetables from your garden. We truly enjoyed every aspect of our escape to the White Mountains. The dogs loved it, too! We will definitely be back! -- "The Fab Five Friends"

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Little Bit of Heaven

Review submitted: September 13, 2011   Date of arrival: July 27, 2011

As Phoenix Valley dwellers, we were looking for a location to escape the summer heat and we found it and more. We found a home away from home and have plans in place to return next summer. Elk Ridge is truly a retreat with a relaxing and spectacular view from the front deck. From the moment you walk through the door into this spotlessly clean and well appointed cabin, you know you are in for a treat. Our two shepherds loved the fenced, grassed and shady backyard which backs up to the Sitgreaves Forest. 60 degree mornings and 80 degree days made for delightful walks. Close-by towns of Lakeside, Pinetop, Taylor/Snowflake and Springerville, made for wonderful outings and an opportunity to enjoy small town friendliness and some great food. Java Blues in Springerville, Darbi's and Charlie Clark's in Pinetop, Fiesta Mexicana, Branding Iron Steakhouse, Cafe Bocado and Torrean Grill in Show Low are all great tasting experiences. Hiking, using a 4 wheel drive vehicle or an ATV will bring you to back trails and breath-taking views with many opportunities to view antelope, elk and wild fowl. Jeff and Karen kept us supplied with scrumptious fresh eggs and veggies right out of the garden. They can't do enough to make you comfy. You can choose to be as active as you wish or just curl up with a good book or video from their well stocked cabin library. Yes, they have thought of it all...including the Smores bucket and fire pit our grandson just loved. Go and enjoy! You will not be disappointed.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: We hope you come and experience our "Little Bit Of Heaven" for yourself!
Warmly,
Jeff and Karen Hanson
Owners

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Perfect!

Review submitted: August 6, 2011   Date of arrival: July 21, 2011

What a prefect stay! You have nothing to worry about if you rent from Karen and Jeff. They were extremely hospitable and friendly, and they have the house stocked with everything you could possibly need. You truly only need to bring food! Everything was spotless, and it was so relaxing to just sit on the front deck overlooking the countryside. The backyard also had a very nice deck and grassy area, and we had a lot of fun doing bar-b-que every night. Thanks for everything!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: We love having guests, and since we live right across the street we do everything we can to make your stay as comfortable and worry-free as possible!
Jeff and Karen Hanson

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Best cabin stay yet!

Review submitted: July 25, 2011   Date of arrival: July 19, 2011

We give this cabin Five Stars! The owners thought of every detail for comfort and relaxation. Beautiful views from the front porch. A treasure. We will be back. The Fab Five Friends from the Valley.

Recommended for: girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Owners response: It is our pleasure!
Karen and Jeff Hanson

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Wonderful retreat!

Review submitted: July 17, 2011   Date of arrival: July 10, 2011

My family enjoyed our week getaway at your retreat! Our 2 jack russells enjoyed playing ball in the lush back yard. My husband and daughter played horseshoes, played catch and tossed a frisbee around on the 5 acre property. Beautiful mornings and spectacular sunsets were enjoyed each and every day. The cabin provided us with every amenity and was very well maintained. Fishing, golfing, hiking and shopping kept us busy every day, and the dogs enjoyed their walks around the neighborhood as well as meeting the retreat's four-legged mascots! We will definitely come back!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Owners response: In the summertime, there's fresh produce from our garden (we live right across the street) and fresh eggs from our chickens. We pay attention to our guests' individual needs and comforts!
Karen and Jeff Hanson

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Wonderful cabin - couldn't have asked for more!

Review submitted: December 30, 2010   Date of arrival: December 23, 2010

If I could rate this with 10 stars, I would!!

We had the great pleasure of staying at the Elk Ridge Retreat over Christmas this year and couldn't have been more pleased with our experience. First, the owners Jeff and Karen are incredibly hospitable and accommodating. When we arrived, the gas fireplace was on, music was playing, the heat had already been turned on, and they had left a s'mores making kit for us, as well as a dozen farm fresh eggs in the fridge.

The cabin is beautifully decorated, with three very comfortable rooms, a large kitchen and dining area, and a large living room. There are also two nice bathrooms, one connected to the master. There are extra blankets throughout the home and the kitchen is fully stocked, so don't worry about bringing up your own cooking tools, pots, etc. Additionally, there is a gas fireplace, a large flat screen TV, and a surround sound speaker system!

Cleanliness is SO important in a rental property, and this cabin didn't disappoint. It was clean from top to bottom - you can tell that Jeff and Karen take a lot of pride in this great place.

The cabin sits on a huge lot, which is great for pets or kids who want to explore without going too far away. They've also provided a large selection of area maps, nature hike information, and articles on activities in Northern Arizona. Again, going out of their way to ensure that guests make the most of their stay. The cabin is located about 8-10 mins outside of Show Low, so you're close enough to town if you need groceries or a quick bite to eat, but still feel like you're outside of the bustle and traffic. Also, there is a fire pit area outside, which offers an opportunity to sit out and enjoy the clear view of the nightly stars.

We've rented several cabins in the area before and will ALWAYS go back to this one - we were sad when we had to leave! Thanks, Jeff and Karen!

- Marc and Erin

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: We love to host guests, and to make your experience here, from reservations through your stay, the best you've ever had! It's a privilege!
Karen and Jeff

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

The Perfect Getaway

Review submitted: June 5, 2010   Date of arrival: May 24, 2010

We loved this cabin. It was extremely clean and perfectly kept up. The furniture was comfortable and in perfect condition. Karen and Jeff had the cabin well stocked with cooking utensils, BBQ & BBQ Utensils, towels, soap, even fresh eggs and so much more. We felt welcome and appreciated the friendliness that Karen provided. The cabin is also located in a convenient but private part of Show Low. There are so many things to see and do within a days trip that it is perfectly located for a getaway. We enjoyed early mornings reading on the front deck and evening walks in the trees. Unfortunately we did not see local wildlife but saw many signs of them. Our 16 & 20 year old children sat on the deck under the stars and contemplated the next family trip back. All of this and more made this a better rental than we have ever experienced before.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: We do our best to make sure every detail is taken care of for you so you don't have anything to do but have a great time! It's our privilege to be your hosts!
Karen and Jeff

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

The Perfect Getaway

Review submitted: June 4, 2010   Date of arrival: May 24, 2010

We loved this cabin. It was extremely clean and perfectly kept up. The furniture was comfortable and in perfect condition. Karen and Jeff had the cabin well stocked with cooking utensils, BBQ & BBQ Utensils, towels, soap, even fresh eggs and so much more. We felt welcome and appreciated the friendliness that Karen provided. The cabin is also located in a convenient but private part of Show Low. There are so many things to see and do within a days trip that it is perfectly located for a getaway. We enjoyed early mornings reading on the front deck and evening walks in the trees. Unfortunately we did not see local wildlife but saw many signs of them. Our 16 & 20 year old children sat on the deck under the stars and contemplated the next family trip back. All of this and more made this a better rental than we have ever experienced before.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Everything We Could Imagine !!!

Review submitted: January 4, 2010   Date of arrival: December 27, 2009

We had a FUN time in Show Low! This location was perfect for Grandparents to meet and play in the snow with our Grands!
Everything about the cabin was perfect! It is so well maintained, stocked, and the owners were soooo nice! We had plenty of after Christmas fun in and out of the cabin. We sledded right on the property and drove to Sunrise Ski area to do some serious sledding. Cold but Fun!
I can highly recommend this rental to anyone! Short drive to town, but very secluded feeling and View is soooo beautiful..Thanks for helping us make memories!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: We have a sign on our wall at home: "Life is all about making memories!" How can we help YOU make some wonderful lifetime memories at Elk Ridge Retreat?

Helpful votes: 9 / 9

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review