reviews for: listing #450202vb - Dominical, Costa Rica rental

BEACH FRONT in DOMINICAL!!! **Special $150 Rate**
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  yes
  • type  Villa
  • baths 
  • hot tub  no
  • rates (USD)  $ 150 - $ 282 / night
    $ 1,050 - $ 1,979 / week
  • sleeps  6
  • pets considered  yes

sort by:

Awesome villa

Review submitted: April 8, 2014   Date of arrival: March 28, 2014

This villa has everything necessary for a great vacation. The location is perfect. 5 minute walk to the beach, 8 minutes to the town. The unit is in excellent condition with great air conditioning in all the rooms. We were there during one of the hottest weeks of the year and the a/c was a life saver. Rosa the care taker is very friendly and helpful. She owns the restaurant next door to the units and it is one of the best restaurants in town. We will definitely stay here again next time!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Family Vacation

Review submitted: April 4, 2014   Date of arrival: March 11, 2014

Dominical is one of our favorite places in Costa Rica. This was a perfect location for our family vacation. Close to the beach, restaurants, and shopping. The accommodations were lovely, clean and spacious. We especially enjoyed the pool and gardens! Rosa was gracious and very helpful. We will definitely be coming back to stay.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Close to the beach!

Review submitted: February 13, 2014   Date of arrival: January 26, 2014

The house is large enough for a family and is well equipped for an extended visit . The yard and pool area are beautifully landscaped and is full of birds and small cute lizards. The house is centrally located to many activities including surfing, swimming, zip-lining, horseback riding and the waterfalls and beaches of Playa Ballena, Ventanas, Hermosa,Dominical. It is also close to wonderful restaurants, grocery stores, etc.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

great location

Review submitted: February 11, 2014   Date of arrival: February 11, 2014

my family enjoyed our stay at this property. the location was great being close to dominical with lots of great restaurants and a couple of great stores for groceries and supplies. really self sufficient a car is not needed as you can get a bus right to dominical from the airport. also with various ages in our family there were lots of places for nightlife or quiet times watching the sunset. the house is a great base for visiting along the coast. the pool is small but perfect for a refresh from the ocean. we loved the house it was very functional and with a nice open floor plan. dominical is a great community and we recommend it for any visit to costa rica.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Perfect spot for a Holiday

Review submitted: February 5, 2014   Date of arrival: January 12, 2014

We had a great 2 weeks here. Joe was very easy to work with & Rosa took care of any needs in Dominical. We were there with our adult children and three year old grandson and the setting was perfect. The house is well laid out and comfortable and the back yard is wonderful as a retreat from the heat and ideal for young children. Enjoyable all around.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Amazing property right next to the beach

Review submitted: January 19, 2014   Date of arrival: January 9, 2014

What can I say. We all loved this place! We were in Playa Dominical for one week in early January. We were amazed by the quality of this rental. Not only are the rooms big enough for a whole family, all of the commodities are there! Our 2 kids fully enjoyed the pool and we all loved the short walk from the villa to the beach. Definitely a place to stay if you are going anywhere close to Dominical.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect spot for our 2 families with 3 kids under 3!!!

Review submitted: January 16, 2014   Date of arrival: January 3, 2014

Just got back from this spot with our 2 kids (3 and 1) and my buddies family with a 1 year old boy. This place was amazing and gave us the perfect home base for it all. Stayed at Dominical before, chose to stay here again because of the consistency of the surf. This home is about 100 yards from one of the best beach breaks in the country. Although we missed all major swells, we still surfed 2-3 ft waves EVERYDAY. (and it was flat everywhere else). So glad and lucky that we stayed at this place, pictures definitely show how nice this place is and NOTHING about the description seemed oversold. We will keep this place at the top of our list for our next travel for sure!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Awesome Family Trip!

Review submitted: January 8, 2014   Date of arrival: December 29, 2013

Our villa was fabulous! We were traveling with our two kids - age 9 and 4 - and three other adult family friends. The house was the perfect size and the layout is great....lots of room to hang out together, enough space for privacy, an awesome kitchen for our foodie friends, and the pool was a huge hit for all of us. Our 9 year old learned to surf, and our 4 year old learned to swim in the pool. We'll definitely be back to Dominical, and will definitely stay here again.

The house feels brand new, the distance from the beach is perfect - a very easy walk (even with kids) and just far enough from the noise (we were there for New Years so it was definitely more crowded than usual).

This was our 8th trip to Costa Rica, and definitely one of our favorites - the villa had a lot to do with that.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Luxury without the crowds.

Review submitted: November 14, 2013   Date of arrival: November 7, 2013

We were a party of 4 and were there during the "Green Season" which actually meant it would rain only during parts of the day, usually in the afternoon. This didn't interfere with any of our plans or activities. Dominical has more to offer than surfing. It's a great little town.

The Villa was perfect. Away from the crowds. Clean, new and located for easy access to so many activities. Rosa was very accommodating and helpful. The only negative I could mention is that it is on a rough road so the vehicles going to and from the beach were a bit loud but only during the day. Most people left by night fall.

There were so many thing to do. I would recommend going to the Nauyaca Waterfall horseback tour and Hacienda Baru.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Dominical Luxury Domaine

Review submitted: July 1, 2013   Date of arrival: June 21, 2013

Spent 6 days 5 nights in this villa and enjoyed it tremendously. We came to surf, relax and just have fun on the 2nd week of a two week trip to Costa Rica. This was the perfect base for it all. This Villa is VERY NICE. The pictures don't do it justice. It is much nicer than I expected. Very convenient by foot to everywhere in Dominical including the beach break on Dominical Beach. If you want to surf other locales, you'll still need a car, but if Dominical is working, there's no need to go anywhere else. The town is loaded with great places to eat and drink, so you could literally park your car and leave it parked the entire time. The pool and outdoor shower are nice amenities and very worth it. When I first rented the place, I didn't think I'd spend much time in the pool, but we were in it all the time. The AC also works very well and was much appreciated.

If and when I go back to Dominical, I will definitely stay here again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Perfect for a Group Surf trip

Review submitted: June 3, 2013   Date of arrival: May 25, 2013

We just stayed here for a week - group of 6 on a surf trip. We have been visiting Dominical since 1995 and this type of rental property was long overdue. Super convenient access off the highway, meaning you don't have to deal with driving through town every time you want to come and go. The grocery store and bank are close enough to walk to, and the beach is just steps away.

The house had all the amenities you could ask for. Don't be misled by the pictures online (they will probably update soon). We thought the pool was a lot smaller and were not sure about the size of the place but once we go there we were extremely happy with both. Very spacious and private layout with the bedrooms/bathrooms.

The pool is great because it is not chlorine or any chemicals.

There is a cafe just steps away from the front door with great juice and smoothie options, and a great breakfast menu.

We will definitely be renting for our next trip to Dominical!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

The essence of comfort and relaxation

Review submitted: April 13, 2013   Date of arrival: April 2, 2013

Myself and three other women spent a week at the property. The house is true to the pictures - spacious and new with all the amenities you need for a relaxing and comfortable stay (e.g., A/C). The futon was not comfortable for an adult to sleep on but the owner said he plans to remedy that. The private pool was a major perk and was a perfect place to chill after a day of adventure. The property is nestled in a field/grove filled with birds and grazing horses but is just a mellow stroll to the beach or town. The property caretaker and the owner, who happened to be there, were extremely friendly and helpful. I would definitely go back to this affordable tropical paradise.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Awesome House in Dominical!!

Review submitted: March 25, 2013   Date of arrival: March 15, 2013

Rented this place for a week along with my boyfriend and two other couples. The house was spacious, clean, and had everything we needed--TV for lazy days, blender for making fruity drinks, A/C and private pool to cool off in--literally everything! Internet was super fast.

Dominical was a perfect location if you want to get away from the hustle and bustle of a city but still have all the amenities you need. Great food restaurants (costa rican, mexican, thai, japanese, pizza, wings) within walking distance and easy access to the beach within minutes. It was easy to rent surfboards for extremely cheap and booking tours seemed like it'd be a cinch. It was really nice to be in a smaller town with less tourists. Didn't have to worry about cars roaming everywhere, and there was a car rental right in town if you wanted to rent one (which we did). We went to the waterfalls nearby and it was awesome and Playa Ventanas with the caves was also nearby and cool. A national surf competition was being held in Dominical but unfortunately it was being held the day after I left.

Joe was really great and easy to communicate with. He answered all my questions quickly and even helped book transportation from SJO to Dominical and recommended awesome places to see. Definitely want to come back again in the future! Thanks for the stay!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Perfect Vacation Getaway

Review submitted: February 26, 2013   Date of arrival: February 15, 2013

My husband and I brought our 3 boys here for our winter break in Feburary and we loved it so much that we booked it for Christmas!

We looked and looked for the perfect spot for our active family and found it right in Dominical. What a gem this place turned out to be! It was even better than we expected! Our villa was very private yet walking distance to the beach and the town of Dominical . We didn't need to use our car much which was perfect for our family. We practically lived at the beach it was so close. Dominical was equally as close that we often walked to town for dinners or to just pick up groceries.

Did I mention the pool right on the back patio? Our boys loved to play in this in the morning as we had our coffee & in the evening after coming back from the beach.

The interior is very simple yet beautifully done. The teak wood is simply lovely and the kitchen has stainless steel appliances.The villa was quite spacious for a family of five (plus our dog!) yet it felt cozy. When we didn't feel like going out to dinner, we stayed in and cooked. It was perfect having dinner as we watched the sun go down.

We arrived to a very clean and well stocked house (sheets, towels, cleaning & paper products & even boogie boards!).

This is the type of place that once it gets known, it will become a very popular vacation villa.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Spot On!

Review submitted: February 26, 2013   Date of arrival: February 2, 2013

Have travelled to many places - Dominical is special and this property aligns perfectly with the energy of it.Brand new buildings. Incredible. Love the design. Eco-friendly elements. Location is wonderful. A few hundred yards from beach - not up in the hills. Comfortable. Relaxing. Amazing all around. Such a great property! Group of friends rented three units for a week. Spacious. Had plenty of space to be together. And, at the end of the day, a perfect balance of privacy at night.

Would recommend: waterfalls, zip line, surfing, beach walks, hiking, swimming. And just relaxing.

We're coming back!

Already booked our return trip.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great location, beautiful villa, excellent value!

Review submitted: February 26, 2013   Date of arrival: February 17, 2013

This villa has it all. A great location-close to the water and within an easy walk to everything I needed in town. I did not want to deal with a car. The villa is brand new and well constructed. It is modern, comfortable and built with attention to detail. You can tell the owner spent some time on these! I would recommend this spot as a great place to stay for a vacation with family or friends. For the money it is one of the best places I have been. I plan to return.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

At the beach

Review submitted: February 25, 2013   Date of arrival: January 7, 2013

Loved this place!! Right at the best beach in Dominical. The house is brand new and everything is in perfect condition. Beautifully built with gorgeous touches throughout. The location is perfect. Super close to the beach, and just far enough away from the hubbub of the Dominical scene to avoid that noise. We'll be back!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

The Best Spot In Dominical

Review submitted: February 25, 2013   Date of arrival: February 6, 2013

Great houses! Clean and spacious. Really comfortable and cool place to hang out. We traveled with two other couples and the house gave all of us enough space and privacy. It was absolutely the best being a very short walk to the beach and everything in town, it made the trip.

It takes about 2 minutes from the time you check the waves from your front patio till the time you are actually in the water paddling out, and that counts putting on your bathing suit!!

These Villas rent for such an affordable price and are so big, well appointed, and ideally located.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

A Cool Home in the Best Location In Dominical

Review submitted: January 1, 2013   Date of arrival: December 23, 2012

Finally Dominical has a nice place to stay right in town!! We just stayed at that Suenos Del Mar with two other couples for a week. The homes are brand new and weren't even there last year when we came down.The homes are well thought out and comfortable with so many patios, decks and garden areas to hang out on with a morning coffee or good book. It was great being so close to town and eveything we needed that we could easily walk everywhere. It was especially nice to be able to walk home after surfing or gettng drinks and not have worry about driving. The beds are comfortable and new, the homes are well appointed and everything is new and clean.
We've been coming down to Dominical for five years and have always rented different places, but now we've found our spot, the price, location, and quality of the homes cannot be matched. I forgot to mention the coolest part is the homes are green they have solar, salt water pools, duel flush toilets, and a bunch of other earth friendly touches.
Okay actually the coolest part is hearing the waves at night. Or maybe it is he horses coming right up t the back fence when you swim in the salt pool. Or waking up and sitting on the private back deck and spotting Toucans in the mango grove behind the houses, or maybe it's sitting on the front deck and checking the surf, or hitting the outdoor shower after surfing.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Awesome!!!

Review submitted: December 30, 2012   Date of arrival: December 25, 2012

Brand new, beautiful house steps to the beach, no car needed walk to everything also very eco friendly-solar panels, salt water pool etc...This is a great value nothing like it in Dominical!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review