reviews for: listing #45056 - Sanibel Island, Florida Condo rental

Sundial Direct Gulfview
  • bedrooms  1
  • pool  yes
  • type  Condo
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Sundial Beach Resort
  • sleeps  4
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $1,060 - $2,060 /wk

sort by:

Best vacation ever!

Review submitted: September 1, 2013   Date of arrival: August 17, 2013

Our trip was the best. Candy was so helpful and patient with all my emails and questions. The condo was perfect. It had everything we needed and was the best location. Close to the beach and the weather was hot and sunny during the day. It did rain at night with some thunderstorms but it added to the experience. We sat on the balcony and watched the sky light up. It was beautiful. We tried to rebook it for a few months later but it was already booked. You need to move fast to get this gem. Candy made our trip to Sanibel easy and memorable. Thanks Candy, we will be back!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks so much. I do appreciate your booking through me for your next vacation even though B307 was already booked. I look forward to your returning to the Sundial.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

A little piece of paradise

Review submitted: February 23, 2013   Date of arrival: January 19, 2013

My husband and I stayed in this condo for three weeks this year. We have chosen this condo for the last several years. The condo is nicely decorated, as comfortable as home and well equipped with everything you need for a wonderful vacation.
The owner is always available to answer any questions. She has equipped the condo with everything you need including even small items such as a flashlight, extra light bulbs and a pair of binoculars.
The view is beautiful. It is relaxing to sit on the lanai and watch and listen to the waves and birds. The brown pelicans fly right over the building at the end of every day heading to their roosting spot inland. And a stroll onto the beach near sunset will reward you with views that change by the minute, every evening, day after day!
I would definitely recommend this condo for a beautiful destination.

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 10 / 10

 

Lovely condo on the beach

Review submitted: January 22, 2013   Date of arrival: January 12, 2013

This condo is adorable, clean, very comfortable and well-equipped. The screened-in balcony was a delight. The beach is literally just a few steps from the steps or elevator door. Contrary to the photos, the pool is not part of the rental price, but with the beach so near, who cares? We enjoyed the Ding Darling Nat'l Wildlife Refuge immensely. The condo has a pair of binoculars, but I advise bringing your own if you have. You do not need to bring beach towels, as mentioned in Royal Shell literature. There are plenty of decent restaurants nearby with the island flair. Doc Ford's was good and the fried oysters at Lazy Flamingo are to die for. We also enjoyed Sweet Melissa's, which is more of a conventional restaurant with a sophisticated menu. We enjoyed visiting Bowman's Beach and Lighthouse Beach as well. Although there is a pull-out sofa in the living room, this property is most suited for a couple.

Recommended for: age 55+, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks for your nice review. The pool in the photo is most certainly part of the rental--sorry if you didn't understand that was your pool. I think you must be confusing use of the adjoining property pool which is restricted to only their guests or paying a fee.

Helpful votes: 10 / 10

 

Satisfied guests

Review submitted: November 20, 2012   Date of arrival: October 27, 2012

My husband and I will definitely come back to Sanibel Island. Hopefully, we will get the same condo, (B307). It was well-kept AND well-equipped.....All the comforts of home and more! It was nice having a view of the ocean from the living room and the bedroom. I will be recommending this place to my sister when they travel to Florida in February.

Recommended for: age 55+, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you, Martha, for your nice review. We looked forward to your return next year.

Helpful votes: 9 / 9

 

Hampshire, England

Review submitted: November 7, 2012   Date of arrival: October 13, 2012

Enjoyed the apartment very much, with bikes a lovely bonus, which we used every day. Have stayed before at Sundial, witha garden view, and so the partial sea view was nice, however, we did expect to be right on the beach, and not across car park and grounds, so slightly disappointed here. But if you hadn't been before, then the view would be fantastic. Generally Sanibel was quiet, being October, and everything was to our expectation. Would recommend to anyone thinking of visiting to stay here, as the apartment had everything you could possibly need for a good holiday.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Since the 70's both federal and state regulations determine how close to the beach buildings can be constructed (to protect the structures, the environment, and beach erosion). There are several buildings on Sanibel that were grandfathered in and do exist in front of the coastal setback line. My condo is as close to the beach as is currently permitted. All of the photos were taken from the condo with the exception of the dolphin shot. Thanks for your comments.

Helpful votes: 11 / 11

 

Very relaxing

Review submitted: August 12, 2012   Date of arrival: August 4, 2012

My husband and I just spent a week in this condo while celebrating our 30th anniversary. The condo is exactly as described. It is very well maintained and clean. We were able to relax and make ourselves at home. The beach is just steps away. We used the beach chairs, umbrella and small ice chest. Shopping and restaurants are a short drive or long bicycle ride away. We didn't ride the bicycles because of the higher temps while we were there, but I can imagine riding them everywhere when the weather is cooler. I can't think of anything we needed that wasn't available in the condo. When we weren't on the beach or out exploring the island, we were very comfortable lounging around the condo or sitting on the balcony listening to the ocean. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here. A very relaxing week!!

Recommended for: romantic getaway

Owners response: I'm glad you had a good time. Please come back again.

Helpful votes: 6 / 7

 

Lovely Island, Lovely Property

Review submitted: April 24, 2012   Date of arrival: April 14, 2012

We had a wonderful stay at this 1 bedroom property. The view of the ocean was wonderful and we loved to have the sliding doors to the screened portch wide open to hear the ocean. We had quick access to the beach and the pool, which was great. The condo worked very well with our 2 year old. All the extras were nice to have....The sand toys, beach chairs and umbrella all came in very handy. Having access to bikes was great too!

The place is beautifully decorated and the furnishings are lovely. The leather couches are VERY comfortable. I would highly recommend this unit to anyone!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks for the great review. Please come back to visit again.

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 

relax,relax,relax!

Review submitted: June 21, 2011   Date of arrival: June 4, 2011

My husband and I had a wonderful time just relaxing and enjoying the tranquility of the beach and condo. Loved it!! Thanks for the bikes.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks, Terri, for the nice review. We strive to make our condo as nice as possible for our guests' vacations.

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 

Lovely Easter Holidays at the SUNDIAL Resort

Review submitted: May 3, 2011   Date of arrival: April 16, 2011

I had a lovely easter holiday with my 6 year old son at the sundial resort.
This year we were pleased that there were more children to play with at the pool and we enjoyed the closeness to the ocean.
The apartment was excellent - all features need including sand pit toys.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children

Owners response: Just for the record, I did not write the review, but for some reason the guest used my name. Thanks for your nice review. Glad you had a good time. Just to clarify, this is a private condo and not part of the adjoining Sundial Resort.

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 

Beautiful and comfortable

Review submitted: May 1, 2011   Date of arrival: April 23, 2011

What a beautiful and comfortable condo in a wonderful area. With the north facing deck I was able to sit outside at anytime of the day to enjoy a book or the view ocean and enjoy the breeze. Nothing negative to say about this property. Close to shopping and resturants but not on the main drag. Quiet and relaxing. I hope to go back to Sanibel and will see if this condo is again available. Thanks Candy for sharing your home.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 

As Advertised!!

Review submitted: May 1, 2011   Date of arrival: April 9, 2011

This property was advertised as having all those extras that you don't find in other VRBOs and it did not disappoint. The unit was updated, had a great view, was well kept and comfortable. All the extras you needed for the beach and then some were available in the storge room. Bikes were more than adequate and were used daily. When we heard others on the beach talk about how they had rented bikes, had to purcahse chairs and coolers for the beach etc, we were very pleased that we had all of this available with our rental without having to go out and purchase. Wouldn't hesistate to work with Candy and rent again!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

A lovely week on Sanibel Island, October 2010

Review submitted: December 2, 2010   Date of arrival: October 2, 2010

The accommodations were lovely, the weather perfect! I'd recommend going to Florida in October as the perfect time of year for a stay. Our rooms were nicely furnished and very clean. We were even witness to a lovely wedding on the beach right in front of our condo! It was great and I would go back in a New York minute!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Wonderful place to stay on Sanibel!

Review submitted: April 25, 2010   Date of arrival: April 16, 2010

Updated, clean, and beautifully decorated! Fantastic beach view from living room, bedroom, and lanai. Kitchen is fully stocked with all the amenities. Owner is very accommodating! Definitely returning for another visit soon-- highly recommended!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Another day in paradise!

Review submitted: March 1, 2010   Date of arrival: January 16, 2010

Candy, thanks for once again making our stay perfect. This January was our 5th year staying in your condo. It is always clean and well supplied when we arrive. It is so comfortable, like being at home. All of the extras that you provide make it even better. And you can't beat the view. We'll be back next year!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Review submitted: December 21, 2009   Date of arrival: December 21, 2009

We had a wonderful stay here--great view of the Gulf, condo is beautifully decorated, and the kitchen is updated with all the conveniences. We will definitely return in the future.

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 

You thought of everything!

Review submitted: November 29, 2009   Date of arrival: October 3, 2009

Candy, Thanks for the maticulous attention to the details of our visit. Sanibel provided the beautiful setting and wonderful weather but you provided all the extras...beach chairs, towels and bicycles! The kitchen had everything I have at home and it was all new and clean. Your deco is so pleasant I feel like I'm on vacation the minute I walk in. We'll be back!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Review submitted: October 1, 2009   Date of arrival: October 1, 2009

This is a very lovely condo. We have stayed here multiple times and would not hesistate to recommend it for a family vacation. The owner is wonderful.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Review submitted: November 26, 2006   Date of arrival: November 26, 2006

Beautiful place! Fantastic view of beach and gulf from living room and bedroom. Love the lanai for relaxing! Great beach for walking and shelling. Condo has all the conveniences you need and beautifully decorated. Have stayed many places and this is our favorite!

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review