reviews for: listing #45237 - Santa Cruz, California House rental

Tranquility Base
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  yes
  • community 
  • sleeps  5
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $125 - $165 /nt
    $875 - $875 /wk

sort by:

Very cozy Cabin

Review submitted: November 21, 2012   Date of arrival: November 15, 2012

Our first impression of the cottage was how cute it was and on entering how cozy it was. All things you could want in a stocked kitchen, very private hot tub out the back door under the trees. The cottage has a very secluded feeling yet only minutes from Felton and Sant Cruz and an Alpine lake. Great hiking and walking in the woods right from the front door. Eclectic collection of music for all moods. So very warm, cozy, we are sure to return

Recommended for: adventure seekers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Relaxing home base

Review submitted: July 11, 2012   Date of arrival: July 6, 2012

I like to think of this as a treehouse. Stairs lead up into the trees kind of like a ladder into your childhood treehouse. There are a lot of seating areas outside with firepit, screened porch and hot tub. With the large redwoods, it feels like you're all alone. Inside, all the rooms are very close together. It can be dark but the skylights help bring in light. The beds in the bedrooms are very comfortable. With the subdued light, don't be surprised at sleeping longer. The unit is a ways up the road but it's fairly close to the town of Felton. A beautiful redwoods park is only a few miles away. Santa Cruz is also very easy to get to. It was a very pleasant, relaxing stay.

Recommended for: girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 

Tranquility Base

Review submitted: June 13, 2012   Date of arrival: June 8, 2012

Absolute amazing home, location was easy to get to given the very detailed directions by house owner. It was clean, tidy, and very organized. There were plenty of blankets, heaters and everything we needed for our comfort. There were even toys for kids, and a guitar for a jam session.

Janea the owner, is very kind, clear and detailed; she had a binder with maps, activities, restaurant menus etc... Not only would I recommend this house to a friend, and you fellow reader, but I am returning again.


The hot tub jets was not working but nonetheless it was nice, warm, and we enjoyed it! This property has very good vibes, and def rejuvenated my friends and I.


All the best,
Xoxo

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

My stay at Tranquility Base

Review submitted: April 19, 2012   Date of arrival: April 14, 2012

I stayed at Tranquility Base for two days with four of my best friends. This tiny cabin tucked away in the Santa Cruz mountains was just perfect for us. The scenery was beautiful and the cabin, extremely comfortable. Cute tiny kitchen, hobbit door, hot tub, fire pit, was all that we needed. We stayed very warm at night, went on a beautiful hike on the nearby trails and with Janea's directions found the place without any trouble. I highly recommend Tranquility Base.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

very special place

Review submitted: March 5, 2012   Date of arrival: March 1, 2012

We really enjoyed our time at Tranquility Base. Wonderful place to relax and gather our family. Janea was a wonderful hostess and had the fire going and a light on to welcome us.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

You can't help but relax

Review submitted: August 27, 2011   Date of arrival: August 24, 2011

The cabin is located in a narrow canyon with a running creek, and is covered in deep forest. There is almost no traffic, as the road ends not far from the cabin. Built into the side of a hill, it felt somewhat like a treehouse. Our host was very gracious and knowledgable; she lives in the next house down. It was compact at 600 square feet, but somehow everything we could possibly need was stashed in there. We weren't crowded. The large deck with firepit was nice; there was a screened popup canopy where we could sit without dealing with the occasional mosquito. A very private back patio contained a steaming hot tub that we enjoyed. There were 3 TV's, DVD, CD, wifi (although we left computers at home). The most amazing thing was the intense quiet, quiet so deep you can feel it. The living area has large windows, and we enjoyed the lush, green view of the forest all around us. Was there any downside? The water pressure is limited, especially in the shower. You need to be able to lug your stuff up a lot of steps (but it's worth it.) There is no cell service; you would have to drive a few miles toward Scotts Valley if you need that. We went to escape the stress of life for a few days. By the first morning I felt more at ease than I can recall for a long time. Heartily recommended.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review