reviews for: listing #45256 - Santa Fe, New Mexico Cottage rental

Authentic Santa Fe Charm near the Plaza-102 Pena Place
  • bedrooms  1
  • pool  no
  • type  Cottage
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Guadalupe District
  • sleeps  3
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $750 - $1,200 /wk
    $1,800 - $2,700 /mth

sort by:

Guest Comment entered by owner

Our Casita Away From Home!

Review submitted: April 16, 2012   Date of arrival: March 4, 2012

Review Submitted: April 5, 2012 Date of Stay: March 2012
We just returned from a week in Santa Fe and the lovely Casita de la Luna. The owners must have been doing this a long time because they've truly thought of everything.

There was a goodie baskets including fresh fruit, cookies and everything we needed for breakfast for several mornings, lots of information about what to see and do in Santa Fe and the surrounding area, a very well stocked kitchen and a beautiful kiva fireplace and lots of wood. A bonus was the on site laundry.

The location is perfect with the plaza, shops and restaurants an easy walk away.

We had a car and took day trips to Los Alamos, Bandelier, Pecos, Glorietta and Las Vegas. Favorite dinner, Maria's, favorite lunch, Rooftop Pizza.

We highly recommend this casita and will return.
Rating
5 out of 5

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

A Little Gem!!

Review submitted: April 16, 2012   Date of arrival: January 19, 2012

A Little Gem!!
Review Submitted: January 23, 2012 Date of Stay: January 2012
We have been coming to Santa Fe for over 20 years and Casa del Sol is by far our favorite! The attention to detail and the ease of living in the casita makes it a home away from home. From the goodie basket, breakfast items, and wonderful bed linens, this rental has been really thought out.
The location is extremely convenient to the Plaza, Railyard, Whole Foods, and many restaurants. Even though it is in the "midst of everything", it is tranquil and quiet.
Recommended for: Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Dear Ms. F & Friend,
It really is our pleasure to have you stay at the casita. I am so glad that you are enjoying the accommodations. Many thanks for taking the time to write this review. Roxanne

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Pristine, luxurious, quiet - Perfect!

Review submitted: December 1, 2011   Date of arrival: June 1, 2011

Pristine, luxurious, quiet - perfect!!
Laura New Hampshire
Review Submitted: June 18, 2011 Date of Stay: June 2011
This Casita exceeded my expectations in every way! It is stocked with all the comforts of home: spices, plastic bags, CDs, ample storage, easy use of washer/dryer, just to name a few. The location was perfect. Literally 5 minute walk to the old town plaza, and in a quiet, clean and safe neighborhood. The patio was divine and I spend many hours on the comfortable chairs listening to the birds and basking in the great Santa Fe weather. I can't say enough about this rental, the pictures really don't do it justice. I consider myself somewhat of an accommodations snob, this was immaculate and very comfortable, especially the bed! The bathroom is gorgeous, with a cool sky light. Roxanne and Andy were so accommodating and helpful. I left my ipad charger behind when I checked out and Andy had it FedEx'ed to me the next day. There is so much to do in Santa Fe and the food is some of the best in the country. I will definitely be back and will stay here again!
Recommended for: Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Dear Laura,
You made my day. Thanks for this glowing review. I do hope that you are able to return in the future.
Regards, Roxanne

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Beaautiful and Comfortable - Location

Review submitted: December 1, 2011   Date of arrival: March 1, 2011

Beautiful and comfortable location
Mary Anne Ada, Michigan
Review Submitted: April 1, 2011 Date of Stay: March 2010
We spent the month of March, 2011, in Casita del Sol and loved it. It is a great location within easy walking distance to the historic center as well as numerous other locations. The Casita was well decorated in a southwestern style, very comfrotable and clean. The courtyard was a beautiful space for relaxing especially in the later afternoon and early evening. The casita was well apponted with everything we needed. The kitchen contained all cooking utensils and appliances we needed to cook meals. Roxanne had stocked the casita with breakfast foods which lasted us many days. There were numerous books to read and lots of information on local and New Mexico attractions. Our expectations were definitely exceeded and we will plan to stay here when we next visit SantaFe.
Recommended for: Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Hi Mr. & Mrs. T-
I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay in Casita del Sol. The highest form of compliment is those who say that they will be back again. We hope to see you in the future.
Kind regards, Roxanne

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Wonderful Week in Santa Fe

Review submitted: December 1, 2011   Date of arrival: August 1, 2011

Wonderful week in Santa Fe
Laura Mclean, VA
Review Submitted: September 9, 2011 Date of Stay: August 2011
My husband and I just returned from our stay in Casita des Sol. Everything was perfect. Beautifully decorated and FULLY equiped. Quiet, peaceful, cozy and bright. Roxanne provides breakfast treats, coffee, juice milk and cereal. So thoughtful. The location is ideal. A pleasant 10 minute walk to the plaza plus there are many wonderful restaurants just a block away. We enjoyed Azur, Ristra, Aqua Santa just across the river and Andiamo in the Railyard district, all very close by. The farmer's market is the most amazing I have ever seen. I can still smell the chili peppers roasting! The patio provides and ideal outside area to read, snooze or enjoy a glass of wine. I highly recommend this casita to anyone looking for a great place to stay in Santa Fe.
Recommended for: Age 55+, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Dear Mr. & Mrs. T,
It was our pleasure to have you stay in Casita del Sol. I hope you had fun with your friends staying in the other casita. We hope that you can return sometime for another visit. Roxanne

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Charming Casita

Review submitted: December 1, 2011   Date of arrival: September 10, 2011

Charming Casita
kevin west chester, pa
Review Submitted: October 5, 2011 Date of Stay: September 2011
This cute and comfortable vacation rental is blocks away from both the Plaza and the Railyard district. We were able to comfortably stroll to both. The casita was extremely clean. The bed was very comfortable. And the kitchen was well equipped with all of the necessary accoutrements. We enjoyed the kiva fireplace after a day of sightseeing, The patio courtyard, also, was a comfortable spot to relax and read during an afternoon break. We appreciated the owners' hospitality and attention to detail. Our week visiting Santa Fe was relaxing and thoroughly enjoyable. Our accommodations were positive in all respects and allowed us to thoroughly unwind and focus on having fun.
Owner's Response: Dear Mr. & Mrs. M,
I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay in Santa Fe. It is a wonderful place for a vacation. And thanks for your kind comments about the casita. Have a good holiday season and 2012.
Regards, Roxanne

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

A Great Place to Stay

Review submitted: December 1, 2011   Date of arrival: September 1, 2011

Rating
5 out of 5

a great place to stay
Helena London UK
Review Submitted: October 15, 2011 Date of Stay: September 2011
An utterly chariming casita and the owners could not be more helpful. The welcome food pack was beyond what one would expect and the local information left in the casita was extremely useful. It was great to be able to walk to the centre and to local restaurants and to stay in a neighbourhood as opposed to a souless hotel. I would recommend it unreservedly
Owner's Response: I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay and thank you for your kind comments. Let us know if you would every be interested in a house swap; our house in Santa Fe for yours in London.
Regards, Roxanne

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

This Casita Has It All

Review submitted: March 28, 2011   Date of arrival: September 29, 2010

This Casita Has It All

Guest: Sheila and Donald(Englewood, NJ)
Date of Stay: 09/29/10 Review Submitted: 10/10/10

Beautifully decorated, filled with charm, immaculately clean, amazingly well-equipped, Casita del Sol is one of the nicest places we've ever stayed. The owner's thoughtful extra touches, like providing breakfast for your first morning as well as toiletries and yummy local treats, mean that you can start relaxing the moment you arrive, without having to dash to the store for supplies. The location is lovely. Almost all the prime in-city destinations are an easy walk . Several restaurants, both fine and funky, are nearby. This cozy little adobe casita is the ideal home base from which to explore Santa Fe and it's wonderful surroundings.

Recommended for: Age 55+, girls getaway, tourists without a car, sightseeing, families with teenagers, families with young children, romantic getaway.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Perfect little vacation spot.

Review submitted: March 28, 2011   Date of arrival: September 20, 2010

Guest: Sharon(Omaha, NE)
Date of Stay: 09/20/10 Review Submitted: 11/03/10

Sometimes we "pays our money and takes our chances" when leasing vacation accomodations. Not in this case! This is the best located/ appointed/ managed property I have ever enjoyed in my many years of vacation rental hopping. You will LOVE it.

Owner response: Dear Sharon,
I am glad that you enjoyed your stay and thank you for entering this review. I hope that we see you again next year.
Roxanne

Recommended for: Age 55+, girls getaway, tourists without a car, sightseeing, families with teenagers, families with young children, people with disabilities, romantic getaway.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

A Perfect Cozy and Quiet Spot

Review submitted: March 28, 2011   Date of arrival: February 26, 2011

Guest: Clover(Minneapolis, MN)
Date of Stay: 02/26/11 Review Submitted: 03/13/11

We decided to find a home base in Santa Fe from which to tour the many splendors of New Mexico. The problem was actually LEAVING our perfect Casita de la Luna. Our relaxing mornings got longer and longer; our road trips away got shorter and shorter as we found ourselves saying, 'let's just go back home'. The owners obviously take making their guests feel as comfortable and as 'at home' as possible very seriously. Their thoughtfulness was readily apparent everywhere. We were charmed from the moment we opened the door. I must say, the photos we saw did not do the casita justice--it exceeded all of our expectations. The decor was well chosen and comfortable, the bed was a dream, the cupboard was stocked with basics and a welcome basket filled with breakfast treats greeted us. Everything we could possibly want or use was there--it truly felt like our home. We discovered several favorite spots (be sure to scan the menus in the basket) within easy walking distance to compare Margaritas--such a happy chore. Zia was my personal winner. We absolutely loved our two week stay and recommend Casita de la Luna to anyone interested in finding a perfect cozy, quiet spot close to wonderful shops and restaurants. If you plan on using it as a base don't be surprised if you find yourself staying closer to home than you had anticipated. You won't be sorry.

Recommended for: Age 55+, girls getaway, sightseeing, romantic getaway.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Better Than The Photos

Review submitted: March 28, 2011   Date of arrival: January 25, 2010

Guest: Gary from Wisconsin(Wisconsin)
Review Submitted: 02/09/10

What a wonderful place: exactly like the photographs in every detail. Comfort and cleanliness and convenience are impossible to portray in small online pix, however, and Casita de la Luna scores at the top on all counts. The neighborhood, an early barrio in the Railyard district, is made up of interesting adobe residential compounds, edged by shopping and services. The private compound of which the Casita is part is close to pretty much everything you'd want to see in and around the Plaza. Highly, highly, highly recommended.

Owner response: Thanks a lot for taking the time to do this review. I hope you can come again some time.
Roxanne

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Home Away from Home

Review submitted: March 28, 2011   Date of arrival: March 28, 2010

Guest: James & Pamela(Indiana)
Date of Stay: 03/28/10 Review Submitted: 04/12/10

Andy and Roxanne thought of everything to make our stay in Santa Fe our home away from home. The location was convenient as we were able to walk to the places we wanted to. They also provided fruit, milk, juice, cereal and a nice gift basket of goodies to help provide us with food to get us started on our stay. We definetly recommend this beautiful casita to our friends. We would stay there again

Owner response: Dear James and Pamela,
I am glad that you enjoyed your stay at the casita. Thank you for taking the time to enter your comments on-line. I am sure that it will help others who are looking for a place to stay here in Santa Fe. Come again anytime!
Roxanne

Recommended for: Age 55+, tourists without a car, sightseeing, people with disabilities, romantic getaway.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

New Year's Stay

Review submitted: March 28, 2011   Date of arrival: December 27, 2010

Guest: Texas Red(Lubbock, Texas)
Date of Stay: 12/27/10 Review Submitted: 01/04/11

My husband and I have just returned from this darling casita in Santa Fe. It was everything we'd hoped for: well located, warm, and well maintained. It looked just like the pictures. We met the owner, she was making sure everything was in order: fresh fruit, bread for breakfast, keys, etc. Very well located, not just to the plaza and downtown, but to the interstate, art galleries, 2 shopping malls with grocery, theatre and casual and fine dining. We had snow and freezing cold in the single digits, but we were warm and cozy. The pinion wood for the fireplace never ran out, it almost made things too warm with the other heater. The king size bed even had a heated blanket and fine quality sheets. Our week was over too quickly, we'll definitely return.

Owner response: Dear Mr. & Mrs. D - It was a pleasure to meet you. I very much appreciate you taking the time to post your comments. It is still quite cold here and I hope that you are a little warmer in Texas. We look forward to your next visit. Roxanne

Recommended for: Age 55+, adventure seekers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, sightseeing, people with disabilities, romantic getaway.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

An Adobe Home to Remember with Comfort, Charm, and

Review submitted: October 22, 2010   Date of arrival: August 22, 2010

We have stayed in more than two dozen vacation rentals in the U.S. and Europe over the years, and Casita del Sol is definitely among our top favorites. Roxanne truly has thought of absolutely everything! The premises are clean, welcoming, and very comfortable, perfect for a couple. So many thoughtful touches made us feel at home within moments of our arrival, from the generous welcome basket (we've never before received so many breakfast items and a bowl of fresh fruit, plus biscuits, chocolates, and a quart of organic milk!) to plenty of towels, our preferred down pillows, and CDs next to the music player. The cupboards were stocked with essentials so we didn't need to waste money buying staples that we'd never use up. There is even a screen to cover the skylight over the bed. It was great to sip coffee in the morning in the little private patio out back, or relax in the serene walled garden with its murmuring fountain after a day of exploring. The residential neighborhood, filled with adobe homes, was enjoyable to navigate as we walked to the Farmer's Market, Cowgirl BBQ, SITE Santa Fe, and other easily accessed spots. Free laundry facilities are another big plus. And neighbor Sharon, who lives onsite, was a wealth of helpful suggestions and thoughtful tips. (Tell her I miss Freddie the cat...) As others have mentioned, the bed is supremely comfortable and this place is QUIET. We came back to work super chilled out after a week here.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

This Casita Has It All

Review submitted: October 22, 2010   Date of arrival: September 29, 2010

Beautifully decorated, filled with charm, immaculately clean, amazingly well-equipped, Casita del Sol is one of the nicest places we've ever stayed. The owner's thoughtful extra touches, like providing breakfast for your first morning as well as toiletries and yummy local treats, mean that you can start relaxing the moment you arrive, without having to dash to the store for supplies. The location is lovely. Almost all the prime in-city destinations are an easy walk . Several restaurants, both fine and funky, are nearby. This cozy little adobe casita is the ideal home base from which to explore Santa Fe and it's wonderful surroundings.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Wonderful Place!

Review submitted: October 22, 2010   Date of arrival: February 9, 2010

What a wonderful place: exactly like the photographs in every detail. Comfort and cleanliness and convenience are impossible to portray in small online pix, however, and Casita de la Luna scores at the top on all counts. The neighborhood, an early barrio in the Railyard district, is made up of interesting adobe residential compounds, edged by shopping and services. The private compound of which the Casita is part is close to pretty much everything you'd want to see in and around the Plaza. Highly, highly, highly recommended.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Home Away From Home

Review submitted: October 22, 2010   Date of arrival: March 28, 2010

Andy and Roxanne thought of everything to make our stay in Santa Fe our home away from home. The location was convenient as we were able to walk to the places we wanted to. They also provided fruit, milk, juice, cereal and a nice gift basket of goodies to help provide us with food to get us started on our stay. We definetly recommend this beautiful casita to our friends. We would stay there again

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Casita del Sol and Casita de la Luna

Review submitted: February 9, 2010   Date of arrival: July 16, 2007

Rating
5 out of 5
Secluded, Charming Casita
JennyinSanFrancisco San Francisco, CA
Review Submitted: July 16, 2007 Date of Stay: August 2006
I've stayed at both casitas on the property on Pena Place for several years. I stopped looking for any other place to stay after finding Pena Place. The property is at the end of a quiet street in the lovely Guadalupe District. The casita is absolutely charming, and Roxanne, property owner, does a superb job of making it feel like home away from home. The vigas, floors, adobe walls and kiva are beautiful. The kitchen is well appointed with everything you need, if you want to cook in. When you arrive, you'll find a bag of goodies to get you started on your vacation (milk, juice, fresh fruit, bread and always a sweet treat!). The quiet courtyard is beautiful and secluded, with only the sounds of a water fountain. The landscaping is beautiful and the property is immaculate and exceptionally clean. Internet access, CD player, DVD/Video and washer/dryer, make it very easy to never leave the property. The neighborhood is great and you're just a pleasant 10 minute walk to downtown SF and less than that to great shops and restaurants in the Guadalupe District. Roxanne is responsive and will follow up immediately if you run into any problems. Each year that I've returned, she's added some new touch to the property to make it even more special. It is a very special, wonderful retreat!! Not to be missed.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Casita del Sol

Review submitted: February 9, 2010   Date of arrival: June 7, 2009

It was a delight to stay at Casita del Sol. Everything that you could want or need was provided by Roxanne. From the wonderful bread and cookies, to cereal, milk, fruit, coffee etc. The patio was aslo a wonderful extra. It is a great place for coffee in the morning, and relax with a glass of wine in the evening. It is an easy walk to downtown Santa Fe, and other restaurants in the area. It is nice to leave the car behind and walk this beautiful city. Also, having Sharon in Casita #1 to answer questions and give suggestions on what to see in New Mexico, and where to eat in Santa Fe was another plus. I would stay at Pena Place again, without a second thought. Thanx again, Roxanne!!!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Casita de la Luna

Review submitted: February 9, 2010   Date of arrival: February 1, 2010

What a wonderful place: exactly like the photographs in every detail. Comfort and cleanliness and convenience are impossible to portray in small online pix, however, and Casita de la Luna scores at the top on all counts. The
neighborhood, an early barrio in the Railyard district, is made up of interesting adobe residential compounds, edged by shopping and services. The
private compound of which the Casita is part is close to pretty much everything you'd want to see in and around the Plaza. Highly, highly, highly recommended.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Casita de la Luna

Review submitted: February 9, 2010   Date of arrival: October 24, 2009

We recently spent one week in Santa Fe staying at Casita de la Luna. Upon entering the Casita, we knew we had chosen the right place to stay. The decor was so tasteful and comfortable and was such a nice place to return to after a day of exploring Santa Fe. The Casita had everything that we needed. What a nice surprise to find thoughtfully chosen foods for breakfast the first morning (no dashing off to the market first thing). Also included, a nice basket of fruit and another filled with local goodies - chocolate, cookies, coffee. The cleanliness and the comfortable furnishings really made the Casita feel like home away from home. The extra added bonus was that it was within walking distance of the plaza, railyard (which has a wonderful farmer's market)and more. We would love to return to Santa Fe again in the near future and would stay at Casita de la Luna for our next visit.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Casita del Sol

Review submitted: February 9, 2010   Date of arrival: June 26, 2009

Casita del Sol (the companion casita to Casita del la Luna) is one of the finest places we have stayed in more than 35 years of traveling in the US and abroad. The property is delightful, with a private, well-maintained garden, and is meticulously maintained. The amenities and appointments are first rate, from the furnishings, to the bedding and linens, to the laundry facilities and the completely stocked kitchen, to the thoughtful and much appreciated complementary breakfast foods and Santa Fe snacks. Not a thing is overlooked. In this respect, the casita is without peer. We felt like we were housesitting for a friend rather than lodging at a public accommodation. On top of it all, there is not a better neighborhood to stay in all of Santa Fe. It was dead quiet at night; the only sound was the patter of rain on the roof. We kept wondering where the barks of the neighborhood dogs were--nothing! Plus, the casita is located a short stroll from the Sanbusco shopping district, the newly remodeled train yard complex and the plaza. The off-street parking is a most welcome addition. We've stayed in Santa Fe many times over nearly 20 years and this was our best experience yet. We commend for providing such a wonderful place at such reasonable prices. Certainly, this won't be our last visit.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Casita del Sol

Review submitted: February 9, 2010   Date of arrival: January 26, 2009

What a delightful casita! We walked in the door and
there was the wood and starter all ready to light in
the kiva fireplace, just one of the many thoughtful
touches provided by the owners. And there were
directions for building a lasting fire. There were
fresh food gifts, maps, directions and comments on restaurants, shopping, sightseeing. But the most pleasant unexpected surprise of all was
hopping out of bed that first morning onto a WARM floor--I padded around in bare feet,luxuriating on the radiantly-heated floor.

We walked to the Plaza, Tomasita's and other restaurants, and in general had an absolutely wonderful time. We'll be back.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Eureka!

Review submitted: February 9, 2010   Date of arrival: May 1, 2008

Eureka, we found it! The best casita in Santa Fe: the Casita de la Luna. It is quiet, restful, elegant and close to the Plaza. No details have been overlooked. Upon our arrival after 5 pm, we especially appreciatd finding the kitchen stocked with breakfast foods. We are already planning a return trip.
Wini and Lowell from Reno (May 2008)

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review