reviews for: listing #45337 - Woodstock, New York Cottage rental

"The GIFT" Awesome!! HOT TUB, W/B Fireplace, Steam Room,
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  no
  • type  Cottage
  • baths 
  • hot tub  yes
  • community 
  • sleeps  4
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $399 - $399 /nt
    $2,399 - $2,399 /wk

sort by:

Truly a gift

Review submitted: January 13, 2010   Date of arrival: January 8, 2010

I was there with my wife and another couple early in January. The house is amazing, better than the pictures. The Interior design is great, its warm, clean and comfortable. Hot tub works, great new kitchen, central heat, etc. We felt like we were in the country side but with out having to give up any degree of comfort in order to that. We are already planing our next visit! Almost don't want to rave about it to much so it does not become to popular... Forgot to mention super friendly and helpful owner. Great get away from NYC.

Recommended for: romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Beautiful Country Cottage best of the best!

Review submitted: June 13, 2014   Date of arrival: June 6, 2014

I travel all over the United States and i am in Hotels, B&B's Cottages and condos almost every weekend in the summer so i have seen the best and the worst. I can truly say that this was one of the most pleasant stays i have had in almost 7 years of travel. The Cottage is off a private gravel road which adds to its charm, the kitchen is a chef's dream, the beds are VERY comfortable, The screened in porch has a stellar view of the woods and the small creek. There is a great double lounge chair on the deck that was my home for most of the trip... cooking great food with good friends, enjoying the hot tub, grilling, sitting by the fireplace at night and sleeping in complete comfort... if you don't like these things then stay away! ****** that's six stars! Really amazing, enjoy and just minutes into Woodstock proper... Judy and her husband are invisible unless you need anything then they are super attentive which made our stay even nicer....

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

FANTASTIC PLACE FOR A PAIR OF LOVE BIRDS!

Review submitted: February 3, 2014   Date of arrival: January 25, 2014

What a fantastic place for a pair of young lovebirds to get away!!! The fireplace is awesome and the beds are super comfortable for sleeping in! We found every little
convenience like the coffee machine and the speaker system for our I-Pads.
The snow storm was like "icing on the cake".
God Bless!!! Maybe we'll see about your places in Chile.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

MAGICAL WAY TO BRING IN THE NEW YEAR!

Review submitted: February 3, 2014   Date of arrival: January 4, 2014

We had a truly memorable stay during the "snow storm"! What a magical way to bring in the New Year! The home was lovely and looked suitably Narnian with the snow covered trees surrounding. Would highly recommend and return in the future.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

A REMARKABLY TASTEFUL DELIGHTFUL, COMFORTABLE HOME

Review submitted: February 3, 2014   Date of arrival: December 31, 2013

A remarkably tasteful and comfortable home. We took full advantage of the amazing kitchen, wood burning fireplace, couch (!), steam room and the surrounding countryside.
What was particularly striking was the superb attention to detail. The porch - enclosed but separate, the kitchen in the corner but open to the dining area and living room - I could go on and on, but the bottom line - delightful!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

WE HAD A GREAT TIME RELAXING BY THE FIREPLACE!

Review submitted: January 25, 2014   Date of arrival: November 18, 2013

Thank you so much for your beautiful house. We had a great time, relaxing by the fireplace and enjoying your space. We can't wait to come back with our friends and family!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

GREAT PLACE TO STAY! THE HOT TUB IS TO DIE FOR!

Review submitted: January 25, 2014   Date of arrival: October 13, 2013

The Villa is a great place to stay! The hot tub is to die for!
Everything was perfect and lovely!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

YUP, WE ARE BACK AGAIN!

Review submitted: January 25, 2014   Date of arrival: November 25, 2013

This has definitely become our second home! We know exactly what we are going to do and where we are going to do it the second we get up here!
We can't wait to come back again Judy!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

WE WANT TO MOVE IN!

Review submitted: January 25, 2014   Date of arrival: December 1, 2013

Thanks so much for sharing your beautiful home with us. We weren't kidding about wanting to move in!
Everything was amazing and we are already planning when to come back.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

NO REASON TO LEAVE EXCEPT TO GO TO THE HOT TUB!

Review submitted: January 25, 2014   Date of arrival: December 8, 2013

We had an amazing time! We relaxed and found no reason to leave this beautiful house except to go out to the hot tub! We cooked and thoroughly enjoyed each other. Thank you so much for "The Gift"

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Spot!

Review submitted: December 4, 2013   Date of arrival: November 22, 2013

Judy was a great caretaker and the house was a gen! Hot tub was a perfect reprise after hiking Slide Mountain in the winter!

Kitchen was spacious and contemporary. Perfect for two couples.

I would definitely rent from Judy again!

Best!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

"The GIFT" FAR EXCEEDED OUR EXPECTATIONS!

Review submitted: October 17, 2013   Date of arrival: October 14, 2013

This was our second Columbus Day weekend in Woodstock. "The Gift" far exceeded our expectations. We will definitely be back! The evenings by the fire pit were our favorite part and the boys loved "building a bridge" over the stream. Thank you so much.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

MEMORABLE HONEYMOON WE WILL NEVER FORGET!

Review submitted: October 17, 2013   Date of arrival: October 7, 2013

Thank you for making our stay so relaxing! The Cottage has everything you need!
We enjoyed seeing the deer and the chipmunks!
It was a memorable honeymoon that we will never forget

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Being here as husband and wife is truly the best!

Review submitted: October 17, 2013   Date of arrival: September 13, 2013

This is our second time renting "The Gift". It is truly a special place for us and will continue to be our 'get away' for years to come. We couldn't have picked a better place to come after our wedding! And being here as husband and wife has truly been the best feeling in the world. We had a great time walking in town and even seeing some familar faces from the last time. Oriole 9 and Cucina are our favorites.
We will be back soon. Thank you

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

TRANQUILITY FOUND!

Review submitted: October 17, 2013   Date of arrival: September 9, 2013

Thank you so much for allowing us to stay in your beautiful cottage, The Gift. We
came here the day after our wedding to decompress and reconnect after all the bustle of the wedding and could not be happier! Tranquility Found!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

"THE GIFT" IS A BEAUTY!

Review submitted: October 17, 2013   Date of arrival: July 14, 2013

The Gift is a beauty! Our last minute weekend getaway was exactly what we needed! Relaxing by the campfire and enjoying the Hot Tub was a perfect ending to our hike at Kaaterskill Falls. Dinner at Cucina was delicious!
Thank you for all of your recommendations, We are looking forward to another trip here.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

SO RELAXED AND COMFORTABLE! We slept like babies!

Review submitted: October 17, 2013   Date of arrival: June 21, 2013

We had a wonderful weekend at The Gift! The house is beautifully appointed and we enjoyed warm cups of coffee outside on the deck each morning. We slept like babies in the upstairs bedroom and felt so relaxed and comfortable.
Thank you for a great weekend away from our hectic lifestyle!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Such a treat!

Review submitted: May 28, 2013   Date of arrival: May 24, 2013

We had a fantastic stay at 'The Gift". The cottage is gorgeous and the kitchen was so well stocked with tools and equipment that we were able to really cook up a storm! Whether it was sitting by the fire, soaking in the hot tub or exploring the surrounds, this is the perfect location for a getaway.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

BEAUTIFULLY APPOINTED HOME OFFERED EVERY AMENITY

Review submitted: May 25, 2013   Date of arrival: May 19, 2013

This weekend served as THE IDEAL OPPORTUNITY to unwind and decompress from the insanity of New York City.
Your beautifully appointed home offered us every amenity we were looking for, for a weekend escape! The fun, fabulous kitchen and grill gave us the inspiration to cook all of our own meals in house.
The fireplace acted as an ideal back drop for winding down each night. We enjoyed a hike up to Overlook Mountain with our two dogs.
We have thoroughly enjoyed every aspect of this extraordinary "gift".

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

BEAUTIFUL TOWN AND BEAUTFUL HOME!

Review submitted: May 25, 2013   Date of arrival: May 13, 2013

This was our first trip to Woodstock - beautiful town and beautiful home! Your home is so lovely and very comfortable.
We cooked and grilled everyday, and enjoyed coffee on the screened in porch and soaked in the hot tub.
We hope to see you again soon!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

TRULY A "GIFT"

Review submitted: March 25, 2013   Date of arrival: March 17, 2013

Thank you so much for a wonderfully beautiful time at your rental.
It was truly "a gift"

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great, quick winter escape from the city.

Review submitted: February 26, 2013   Date of arrival: February 2, 2013

Our family was looking for an easy weekend getaway to just relax in peaceful, quiet surroundings. This house was perfect for what we needed. We wanted to be able to cook some good food (the kitchen is great) and make a fire to take naps by. We look forward to going back in the spring our summer to enjoy the outdoors!

Recommended for: families with young children, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

AN EXCEPTIONAL STAY IN EVERY WAY!

Review submitted: February 19, 2013   Date of arrival: February 18, 2013

Beautiful, well crafted villa.
Kind and thoughtful hosts.
An exceptional stay in every way!
We hope to return for a longer visit so we can enjoy the very inviting out-door spaces.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

WE LOVED IT!

Review submitted: February 19, 2013   Date of arrival: February 15, 2013

What a great few days we had here at "The Gift"!
Just the R&R away from the city we were looking for!
We look forward to coming back this summer or fall!
Thanks

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

WE GOT TO ENJOY THE JACUZZI OUTSIDE IN THE SNOW!

Review submitted: February 14, 2013   Date of arrival: February 10, 2013

Amazing Place! We absolutely loved it. We even got to enjoy the jacuzzi outside in the snowstorm! The setting was beautiful. The house itself was gorgeous, cozy and elegant. You have put it together perfectly.
Two nights sitting by the fire was exactly what we needed to recharge the batteries. THANK YOU!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

GREAT NAPS IN FRONT OF THE FIRE!

Review submitted: February 14, 2013   Date of arrival: February 6, 2013

The Gift is just what we needed. Some quiet time away from the city to spend time with our 16 mo. old son and our dog, without the interruptions of everyday life.
We made lots of great comfort food in the beautiful, well-equipped kitchen and we took some great family naps in front of the fire.
We will try to come back with the summer arrives as well. Thanks so much

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

THIS PLACE IS A DREAM!

Review submitted: February 14, 2013   Date of arrival: January 6, 2013

Awesome stay!!!. We are definitely coming back - This place is a dream!!
P.S. Roger is a gem!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

FANTASTIC LOW KEY WEEKEND

Review submitted: February 14, 2013   Date of arrival: January 13, 2013

We had a fantastic "low key" weekend! It was just what we needed.. We love the cottage decor - very country! WE WILL BE BACK!
Thanks for a wonderful time

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We Love "The Gift"! It just kept on giving!

Review submitted: December 9, 2012   Date of arrival: December 9, 2012

We came for the "Ramble" Thank you Judy!
- Great stay-
We Love The "Gift". It just kept on Giving!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Very comfortable stay

Review submitted: November 28, 2012   Date of arrival: November 21, 2012

The home is as advertised, and the owner couldn't have been more accomodating to us (thanks). We took our kids (5 yr and 3 yr olds, who are small enough to share a bed) and we were very comfortable for 3 nights (we spent most of the days away from the home). The kitchen is well-equipped and the appliances are top-notch; cooking was easy an enjoyable. WiFi worked great, and cell reception is strong (if that matters to you). The fireplace is wonderful and there was pently of wood. A very clean and well-maintained house.

It's also small and very quaint (absolutely no negative implication intended). Upstairs bath is a powder room only, but with young kids, having only one shower wasn't an issue for us. The stream in the back is also small, but the kids enjoyed the time there tossing pebbles. We never turned it on, but the TV is a little awkwardly placed on a side wall (which could present an issue if you're headed to Woodstock to watch TV).

If any of that counts as a critique, that's all I got. All in all, it was a great place to stay for us.

Recommended for: families with young children, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Tranquility Personified!

Review submitted: October 12, 2012   Date of arrival: October 5, 2012

Perfect, tranquility personified. Great getaway, walks, forest, leaves are turning.
"our vision of the Fall in New York"

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Wonderful, Relaxing Stay

Review submitted: October 12, 2012   Date of arrival: October 1, 2012

Relaxing stay and it was wonderful to sit on the deck in the thunderstorms!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

The Perfect Spot to Get Away!

Review submitted: October 12, 2012   Date of arrival: September 3, 2012

Many thanks! We truly enjoyed our stay. You have a terrific place. We found the perfect spot to get away and catch up with our family.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Just What We Needed!

Review submitted: October 12, 2012   Date of arrival: August 31, 2012

The Gift was just what we needed....to relax in between our wedding in DC and our move from LA to NC, Relaxing!! Hiked the red trail to Mt Wittenberg. Needed the steam shower and hot tub after that. A day kayaking was enjoyable and fun. The town of Woodstock was great to bike and shop. The best restaurant was The Bear with a fantastic view and the duck was amazing!!! We don't want to leave. Good luck getting us out of here!! Many thanks...

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

What an Awesome Time!

Review submitted: October 12, 2012   Date of arrival: August 22, 2012

What an awesome time. This trip was a get away to relax and refresh, which is exactly what we did. Loved the peace and quiet. Did a little hiking with our dog too. Thanks!!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Incredible Place with Remarkable Amenities

Review submitted: October 12, 2012   Date of arrival: August 13, 2012

It is difficult to add any description or comments not already recorded in this sweet guest cottage. Incredible place with remarkable amenities and decor, peaceful deep woods setting. We enjoyed it all. Definitely plan to come back another season.... or even sooner!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Better than my own home!

Review submitted: August 15, 2012   Date of arrival: August 9, 2012

This is an excellent vacation rental. It is fully equipped. The gourmet kitchen has high quality appliances, dishes, glasses and pots and pans. The linens are exceptional and the hot tub is sparkling. Close to town and beautiful mountain streams. The owners are very friendly and helpful with regards to local attractions. Go here!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

An Incredible Place in a Peaceful Setting!

Review submitted: August 12, 2012   Date of arrival: August 12, 2012

It difficult to add any description or comment not already recorded. "The Gift" is an incredible place with remarkable amenities and decor in a peaceful deep woods setting. We enjoyed it all. Definitely plan to come back in another season.
Thanks so much for maintaining such a wonderful home! We had a blast!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

What a Joy!

Review submitted: July 18, 2012   Date of arrival: July 18, 2012

The Gift Cottage was an absolute delight and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay in Woodstock.
Thanks again for your hospitality.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

beautiful place

Review submitted: June 2, 2012   Date of arrival: May 21, 2012

We stayed 4 nights at 'the gift' and really loved it. The setting was quiet and peaceful in a sparsely populated residential area but also backing onto some woodland which you look onto from the porch or hot tub. Woodstock is a quaint town and only 5 minutes away. So you get to feel away from it all but being actually near a town. The owner, Judy, lives opposite, is available and friendly and goes out of her way to be helpful. The house is interestingly and tastefully decorated, with a very modern kitchen and a steam room, which was really great. It seems reasonably expensive, but not more than comparable places in the area charge, and definitely worth it if you want to treat yourself.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

The Gift is Beautiful!

Review submitted: May 28, 2012   Date of arrival: May 28, 2012

We had a lovely Memorial Weekend at your place. It is so beautiful!! Thank you!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Peace and Love!

Review submitted: May 6, 2012   Date of arrival: May 6, 2012

Thank you so much for opening you home to us. Staying at "The Gift" has been an absolute treat. The house is just amazing with its wonderful decor. We've had great restful sleeps and great steam showers. The surroundings are very serene and remind us of our country place in Sweden. Additionally we've had the pleasure to explore Woodstock and experience its message of peace and love. Our visit to the Buddhist Monastery was so interesting and relaxing.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Above and Beyond....

Review submitted: April 23, 2012   Date of arrival: April 23, 2012

Thank you so much for building and maintaining this loving home with such warmth, elegance, attention to detail and ease of use.
You went above and beyond at every possible opportunity to make our stay so wonderful - starting with holding my hand to navigate here, to getting us a special BBQ cookbook.
This was a very special weekend, with my father and daughter. All three of us are deeply grateful for making it such a cherished experience. With love and thanks

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

The Gift is WONDERFUL

Review submitted: April 3, 2012   Date of arrival: January 25, 2012

I headed to Woodstock for a two-month writing sabbatical and staying at The Gift served my purposes perfectly! Chef's kitchen, outdoor hot tub, room for an occasional guest, fireplace, state-of-the-art shower, great linens, washer-dryer, screened porch for warmer nights...even writing this review makes me want to go back.

Upon arrival it was spotlessly clean, and for my longer stay I was given access to a great cleaning service that kept the place immaculate. The owners are really delightful to interact with - both socially and in business transactions. I found the entire process straightforward and hassle-free.

If you're looking for peace and quiet with an easy 3 minute drive to town, this is the place. Between the stream, the lack of street lights, and the firepit outside, in ANY weather and for many options, staying at the Gift is a true delight.

I will definitely be back and will always recommend it to others.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

What a Surprise For My Birthday!

Review submitted: April 1, 2012   Date of arrival: April 1, 2012

What a surprise I received for my birthday! Our own private cottage in the woods. Lovely decor, very homey and sooo quiet!
I wish we could have stayed longer to explore the nearby hiking trails. The hot tub was a definite plus on these March nights as was the steam room. We walked "The Resevoir" (see Walking Woodstock, p. 93) It was amazing!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

The Snowfall Transformed the Woods and Stream!

Review submitted: January 29, 2012   Date of arrival: January 22, 2012

We stayed at "The Gift" and went to The Midnight Ramble. We had the best time! "The Gift" gave us great times around the fireplace, yummy BBQ'd steaks, cooked by the stream, rest and recuperation and a snowfall that transformed the woods and stream. The steam shower and the leather recliner topped off a very memorable weekend! We also loved the tasteful, well-curated early American decor!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

"THE GIFT" IS TRULY A REAL GIFT!

Review submitted: January 19, 2012   Date of arrival: January 16, 2012

Thank you so much. You made us feel very warm and welcome! Your generous energy permeates the cottage - from the meticulous lighting to your well-equipped kitchen and
all the other joys that everyone has already mentioned - the STEAM SHOWER (ahhhh),
the HOT TUB (double ahhhh), THE COZY FIREPLACE ..... All truly make "The Gift" a real
gift!

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

WE LOVED "THE GIFT" SO MUCH!

Review submitted: January 19, 2012   Date of arrival: January 2, 2012

Thank you for a wonderful stay at "The Gift". We are so sad to be leaving, we loved it so much we hardly left the house! We even chose to stay in for New Year's because we felt so cozy and happy here. We enjoyed all the wonderful amenities including the hot tub, fireplace, surround sound and TV hookup. Our dog Rowdy also had a fantastic time running around in the woods and he even fought his normally timid spirit and ventured to cross the babbling brook.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Thank You a Hundred Million!

Review submitted: January 19, 2012   Date of arrival: December 3, 2011

Great friends, the man I love, music at the Ramble that touches your soul. Peace and balance at the monastery - what a beautiful place to stay and focus on what life is really about!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We Truly Felt as Though We "HIT THE JACKPOT"

Review submitted: November 28, 2011   Date of arrival: November 27, 2011

WE LOVE THIS PLACE!! We had such an amazing and relaxing Thanksgiving, a perfect escape
from the hustle and bustle of New York City. This cottage is GORGEOUS and we loved all the
amenities - we truly felt as though we hit the jackpot! We took advantage of the cozy wood-burning fireplace, the hot tub and its gorgeous natural surroundings and the babbling brook truly set the backdrop for a wonderful and perfect escape.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Beautiful Cottage

Review submitted: November 9, 2011   Date of arrival: July 18, 2011

We enjoyed an extended stay at this lovely cottage. It is truly a high-end rental home. The owners have spared no expense on this property by decorating with antiques and installing top-of-the-line appliances, cabinetry, and fixtures. The home is perfectly located close to the town of Woodstock, yet you will feel away from it all in the midst of the woods. Sit on the back porch and enjoy the sound of a babbling stream. The home will also appeal to anyone who appreciates detailed cleaning. We highly recommend this property.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Chile and now Woodstock!

Review submitted: May 1, 2011   Date of arrival: May 1, 2011

My husband and I stayed at your Villa Puertazul (www.villasinchile.com) for our first anniversary and had an amazing experience. When it came to choosing a weekend getaway spot with our friends, I knew we wouldn't go wrong staying at another one of your properties - and I was right! Everything was absolutely lovely- all of the great attention to detail really makes this place special. We are looking forward to future stays in both Woodstock and Chile!! Thanks for everything, especially Toyita's jam!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Our Second Visit to "The Gift"

Review submitted: April 24, 2011   Date of arrival: April 23, 2011

We love all of the special details that Judy has put into this home. After exploring Woodstock and hiking it was truly a pleasure to come back and use the hot tub, make a fire and relax in the steam room. We can't wait to come back again and create more memories @ "The Gift"!! We also recommend Oriole 9 and Cucina for great meals..

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

As an Architect I Appreciate the Design!

Review submitted: April 24, 2011   Date of arrival: February 4, 2011

We had a wonderful weekend. We went skiing, hiking, sightseeing and saw "the 200th Ramble" at Levon Helms' Studio. It was all great fun!!
The cottage is perfect! As an architect I can appreciate how ell it is designed and built. The kitchen/dining/living area is open and well lit. The bedrooms are cozy. The fixtures are very good as is the craftsmanship of the house. Thanks for everything and we would love to come back.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

As an Architect I Appreciate the Design!

Review submitted: April 24, 2011   Date of arrival: February 4, 2011

We had a wonderful weekend. We went skiing, hiking, sightseeing and saw "the 200th Ramble" at Levon Helms' Studio. It was all great fun!!
The cottage is perfect! As an architect I can appreciate how ell it is designed and built. The kitchen/dining/living area is open and well lit. The bedrooms are cozy. The fixtures are very good as is the craftsmanship of the house. Thanks for everything and we would love to come back.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

As an Architect I Appreciate the Design!

Review submitted: April 24, 2011   Date of arrival: February 4, 2011

We had a wonderful weekend. We went skiing, hiking, sightseeing and saw "the 200th Ramble" at Levon Helms' Studio. It was all great fun!!
The cottage is perfect! As an architect I can appreciate how ell it is designed and built. The kitchen/dining/living area is open and well lit. The bedrooms are cozy. The fixtures are very good as is the craftsmanship of the house. Thanks for everything and we would love to come back.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

"The Gift was a Dream"

Review submitted: April 18, 2011   Date of arrival: April 13, 2011

Wonderful visit!! "The Gift" was a Dream and a week was not long enough.
From the hot tub to the steam shower to the deer greeting us in the evening - Thank you for everything!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfection

Review submitted: March 10, 2011   Date of arrival: February 18, 2011

My boyfriend & I rented "The Gift" for President's Day weekend with another couple. We were so excited for our "get out of the city" retreat. Usually rental properties in the Catskills are knotty pine & tacky interiors with plaid or black leather furniture. I was so surpised when I found "The Gift" listed here. It looked like a "home" instead of a rental property, and that's exactly how it felt inside.
Upon arrival, the owner's assistant showed us around & helped familiarize us with the different appliances & switches in the cottage. He was very friendly and offered to come back anytime if we needed anything or had trouble getting anything to work. Once settled in, we lit a fire. There was plenty of firewood stocked inside the house as well as on the porch & even an extra stash stacked beside the house in case we ran through everything on the porch (which we nearly did).

The living room has a huge flat screen & wonderful stereo setup. It even has an adapter for your iPod. They've really thought of everything here. You've got state of the art appliances at your fingertips for cooking. There are games & DVDs to entertain yourself. The hot tub was just wonderful! One day we sat out in it & watched the falling snow while drinking our morning coffee. Just perfection! The upstairs bedroom has two skylights. We loved to fall asleep watching the stars or the clouds rush by. One night we even saw a full moon. There is a steam shower in the main floor bathroom. It was a little too intense for me, but it sure opened up my pores. The beds were incredibly comfy, we wanted to check what kind of matresses they were, but forgot. There is a state of the art washer/dryer so you can do laundry if need be. The property is 8 acres, so you can take a nice long walk if you want. There was about 1 1/2 feet of snow while we were there, so we didn't really walk anywhere. We did enjoy having the nice screened in porch to lay on. It was about 30 degrees or colder there most of the weekend, so we just pulled one of the down comforters out to the double chaise on the porch & snuggled under it to watch the snow. It was so peaceful & quiet. There wasn't any noise from neighbors or the road.

In short, this place is amazing! It was the perfect escape from the city for us & we left feeling relaxed and rejuvinated, which was exactly what we hoped for. Thank you, Judy, for making creating such a lovely experience for your renters. We plan to be back many more times in the future.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We Just Don't Want to Leave!!

Review submitted: January 23, 2011   Date of arrival: January 23, 2011

We've been here for 1 week and we just don't want to leave, But we must. But....we'll be back.
Recommendations: Woodstock Prime Meats, Cucina for dinner, 28 West Gym for day pass, Overlook Mountain for day hike.
Whatever you do, though, what a great area and
a great place to stay!! Thanks.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Love, Love, Love The Steam Shower!!

Review submitted: January 23, 2011   Date of arrival: January 10, 2011

Well, what can we say? It was the best of times here at "The Gift". Judy was very helpful and kind, a great host! Love, love, love - the steam shower. We can't say enough about how relaxing it was here!! Thanks for everything!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Fabulous!! The Fireplace was Incredible!

Review submitted: January 2, 2011   Date of arrival: January 2, 2011

We had the best tie, inside and outside spaces were equally fabulous. One of our most relaxing trips! Thanks for everything -- the fireplace was
incredible!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We were truly amazed by your place!

Review submitted: January 2, 2011   Date of arrival: January 2, 2011

My friends and I did not want to leave. I live in Michigan and only make it back to NY once or twice a year - but I can easily see spending some extra time here to stay in your wonderful cottage!
Thanks you again..

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Beautiful Decor, Fireplace and Hot Tub

Review submitted: January 2, 2011   Date of arrival: December 26, 2010

Great Place! We enjoyed the beautiful decor, the hot tub, the modern appliances and the great kitchen. And the home theater system!
Thanks and until next time...

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Your House is Done with Taste and Intelligence!

Review submitted: January 2, 2011   Date of arrival: November 26, 2010

Visiting from Paris. A great time was had by all. This house is wonderful, beautifully done! We used the hot tub and saw the stars. Definitely want to come back in the summer. We cooked some great meals, rested and relaxed peacefully - it is Woodstock, after all. We could stay another month for sure!! You house is done with taste, but more important with intelligence - Thank you!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect Getaway! A+

Review submitted: November 24, 2010   Date of arrival: November 14, 2010

Absolutely Amazing! As other reviews have mentioned the pictures (although still great) do not do it justice. This comfy home was more than we could have imagined. Everything from the appliances to the flooring is of highest quality, indoors and out. We are from NYC so our expectations are always a bit too high and this fabulous retreat met and surpassed each one. We did not want to leave! After a long hike closeby we would have wine in the hottub and then relax by the gorgeous fireplace at night. The owners are super sweet and referred us to great restaurants in town as well. We will DEFINITELY be back. Worth every penny!! JUST FABULOUS!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us. We enjoyed meeting you both and are so happy that you enjoyed your week's getaway. We do need better pictures, I know!! Look forward to seeing you again soon...

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

A Perfect Place!

Review submitted: November 21, 2010   Date of arrival: November 21, 2010

All I can say is we just did not want to leave!!
Thank you for sharing your home with us. Our time spent here was rejuvenating and peaceful.
We could not have imagined a more perfect place to spend a week away from the city. The fireplace,
steam room, kitchen, and hot tub were too much to ask for!!
We look forward to our return!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

What a Great Autumn Getaway!

Review submitted: November 21, 2010   Date of arrival: October 24, 2010

Thank you so much for the opportunity to experience Woodstock and your beautiful home. We
sat in the hot tub and drank coffee both mornings and took in the color of all the leaves and watched
some deer passing by. What a great autumn getaway!! We enjoyed going into town and shopping at all the stores and found our way to the Farm Animal Sanctuary. There we heard stories about the rescue of each animal and had a real hands on experience - really cool!
From the moment we walked in, to packing up again, we truly enjoyed every moment here. We are already working on scheduling another visit before Christmas. Thanks again..

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

This Place is Amazing!

Review submitted: October 25, 2010   Date of arrival: October 24, 2010

Thank you so much. This place is amazing! We just finished up breakfast after coffees in the hot tub. Exactly the getaway we were looking for! Now we just need to figure out how/where to build our own! But in the meantime, we're already planning our next visit. Hope you are enjoying your time away as much as us!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Absolutely Gorgeous!

Review submitted: October 10, 2010   Date of arrival: October 10, 2010

An absolutely gorgeous place! Very serene - We had a chance to recharge and enjoy the beautiful fall weather! We would love to come again. Thanks
so much Judy.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

So Cozy its Hard to Leave

Review submitted: October 10, 2010   Date of arrival: October 3, 2010

I enjoyed another restorative stay at "The Gift".
The cottage is so cozy and homey that its hard to leave. Thank you Judy, for sharing your home!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Incredible Tranquility & Beauty 5 min to Woodstock

Review submitted: September 1, 2010   Date of arrival: August 31, 2010

Thank you for sharing "The Gift" with our family...from the moment we arrived and met July, we felt right at home. The accommodations were incredible from the beautiful kitchen to the steam shower, every comfort and need was covered... and then some...
The tranquility of the woods and the beauty of the cottage made our stay so relaxing, which was well appreciated. Our family loved spending time exploring the grounds, chilling our on the screened-in porch and splashing in the hot tub... all within minutes to the village of Woodstock, where we found great music and an awesome swimming hole.
The quality time we spent together is invaluable and will be remembered always. We can't wait to come back. Thank YOU!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

This was the First Time I Ever Rented a House !

Review submitted: August 26, 2010   Date of arrival: August 20, 2010

I found it on the internet and was a bit apprehensive. I was pleasantly surprised to find
the Cottage was everything promised and MORE!
We enjoyed leisurely country walks, using the hot tub while deer passed by. We loved eating outside in the rain (thanks to the spacious screened in porch) Judy's warm welcome along with the house's charm helped me feel at home instantly. I can't wait to return!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Best Week EVER!! In the Top 95% !

Review submitted: August 26, 2010   Date of arrival: August 12, 2010

We have traveled all over the US, Mexico and Canada in the last two years. "The Gift" is certainly in the top 95% of all the vacation homes we have visited. We loved it. It was the perfect rendezvous for two long distance lovers!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

What a Treasure!

Review submitted: August 26, 2010   Date of arrival: August 3, 2010

What a wonderful way to end a two week break. Four nights in a perfect setting! The Woods, the Town, and the house -- what a treasure! From the kitchen to the steam shower to the hot tub - everything was perfect - especially Judy's hospitality. She and Nat thought of everything. Would love to come back and hope to in the near future.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

LUSH WOODLAND- Lovely, Inviting and Comfortable!

Review submitted: July 30, 2010   Date of arrival: July 30, 2010

We've really enjoyed our relaxing visit here - this cottage is lovely, inviting and comfortable. We enjoyed reading on the porch with lush woodland
surroundings. The beds were really comfortable too.
Thank You!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great Stay - Great House!

Review submitted: July 30, 2010   Date of arrival: July 21, 2010

Judy & Nat couldn't have been more hospitable and eager to please. Love the kitchen and screened i porch. And we had great hikes! I am coming back soon!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

BLISSFUL WEEK AND A HALF

Review submitted: July 23, 2010   Date of arrival: July 23, 2010

We have just spent a blissful week and a half at "The Gift". It truly has been a fabulous stay. The kitchen, the gardens and just the ambiance and fabulous mix of antique and modern was perfect!
We live in Ft Lauderdale, Fl, but my husband grew up in Woodstock and we will be constructing a small cottage on 11 acres we have up here.

Of course, it was great to gather ideas for our cottage as we love what Judy & Nat have created here at "The Gift".

Thanks so much!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Thinking of the Comforts of all Your Guests!

Review submitted: July 10, 2010   Date of arrival: July 5, 2010

Our stay here was full of "Gifts", one detail after the other one - there is nothing I could have thought about and said,...I wish I had - I found everything! Thank you for thinking of the comfort of your guests in every way. Lots of love!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

A Magical Place, Full of "Gifts"!!

Review submitted: July 10, 2010   Date of arrival: July 5, 2010

This is a magical place. Thank you for "The Gift"!
We truly enjoyed our stay and look forward to coming back soon.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Amazing Backyard Experience!

Review submitted: May 31, 2010   Date of arrival: May 31, 2010

We wanted an escape from the city for Memorial Day weekend with relatives who traveled far to be with us. "The Gift" was absolutely perfect. Close to town, but enough away for quiet relaxation. The PERFECT kitchen for cooks - and an amazing backyard experience with BBQ, picnic table, hot-tub, fire-pit and lounge chair for the perfect nap/ And the screened in porch was perfect when the bugs came out. Comfortable and luxurious. Close to everything. Already thinking about coming back! Thank You!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Sun-dappled Moss and the Owl on a Branch

Review submitted: May 31, 2010   Date of arrival: May 13, 2010

Things I loved: the sun dappled moss filtered through the tress. The owl on a branch watching from the distance - and the silence - What a perfect home in an idyllic setting - what a wonderful weekend! Can't wait to come back.
The real treasure of staying in your beautiful cottage was getting to know you!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: May 31, 2010   Date of arrival: May 28, 2010

We wanted an escape from the city with relatives who traveled far to be with us.
"The Gift" was absolutely perfect. Close to town, but enough away for quiet relaxation. The
PERFECT kitchen for cooks - an amazing backyard experience with BBQ, picnic table,
hot-tub, fire-pit and lounges for the perfect afternoon nap. And the screened porch
was perfect when the bugs came out. Comfortable and luxurious. Close to everything - we
are already thinking about coming back. Thank you!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: May 31, 2010   Date of arrival: May 13, 2010

"The real treasure of staying in your beautiful cottage was getting to know you! Coming Back for our annual pilgrimage!"
Things I loved - the sun-dappled moss filtered through the trees - the owl on a branch watching from the distance - and the silence - what a perfect house - what a wonderful weekend.
A wonderful house in a perfect idyllic setting - can't wait to come back -

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: May 2, 2010   Date of arrival: May 2, 2010

As soon as we arrived, the thoughts of city living completely faded away. Your cottage is stunning and we were thrilled when we walked through the door. From the hot tub, to hiking up Indian head Trail, sleeping with a cool spring breeze, snoozing comfortably on the screened porch and laughing around the fire pit -
we had a great weekend!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

The "Gift" is Stunning!

Review submitted: May 2, 2010   Date of arrival: May 2, 2010

As soon as we arrived, the thoughts of city living completely faded away. Your cottage is stunning, we were thrilled when we walked through the door. From the hot tub, to hiking up Indian Head Trail, sleeping with a cool spring breeze, snoozing comfortably on the screened porch and laughing around the fire pit - we had a great weekend!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

What a Weekend!! What a home! What an experience!

Review submitted: April 30, 2010   Date of arrival: April 4, 2010

What a weekend! What a home! What an experience!
We absolutely enjoyed every second of our being here. We felt so welcome. From relaxing by the stream, to drinking wine on the screened porch, to reading by the fireplace, this cottage experience was peaceful and unforgettable. We will surely be back again to enjoy everything "The Gift" and Woodstock has to offer.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: April 30, 2010   Date of arrival: April 9, 2010

What a weekend! What a home! What an experience! We absolutely enjoyed every second of our being here. We felt so welcome! From relaxing by the stream, to drinking wine on the screened porch, to reading by the warmth of the fireplace, this cottage experience was peaceful and unforgettable. We will surely by back again to enjoy "The Gift" again and everything that Woodstock has to offer.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: April 30, 2010   Date of arrival: April 4, 2010

The Cottage is beautiful! From the babbling brook, fireplace, steam shower, hot-tub and the wonderful surroundings. We loved it all. We will definitely be back. Thanks for everything!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: April 30, 2010   Date of arrival: March 10, 2010

As soon as we walked through the door, we felt like we were home. We love the setting, the beautiful early American furniture and the modern comforts. It is PERFECT!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: April 30, 2010   Date of arrival: April 22, 2010

This is our third time here and each new visit we discover something else that we love about this cottage.
I've been here in spring, the winter and the fall and each is so beautiful. It is this only place I stay in Woodstock.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: April 30, 2010   Date of arrival: March 19, 2010

Thank you so much for offering this amazing cottage! We had such a relaxing time in the hot-tub and the steam shower, not to mention the beautiful setting. We will definitely be back!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: April 30, 2010   Date of arrival: February 5, 2010

This was the perfect retreat for four stressed out people. We are leaving feeling refreshing and relaxed. "The Gift" didn't have anything missing. It feels like a five-star cottage! We spent most of our time relaxing in front of the fireplace. We look forward to coming back soon!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: April 30, 2010   Date of arrival: January 15, 2010

We can't thank you enough for our lovely stay at "The Gift". We had a fantastic time! We will miss the hot-tub, the awesome kitchen and the cozy fireplace at night. We will be back next year!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: April 30, 2010   Date of arrival: January 10, 2010

While the pictures on the website looked really nice, they DO NOT DO IT JUSTICE! We were so excited when we saw it and had a fantastic time. The kitchen is great to cook in and the fireplace make the living room so cozy. We can't wait to come back!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

The Babbling Brook, Fireplace, Steam & Hot Tub WOW

Review submitted: April 4, 2010   Date of arrival: April 4, 2010

Dear Judy,
The Gift Cottage is beautiful! From the babbling brook, the fireplace, steam shower and hot tub and the wonderful surroundings. We loved it all!
We will definitely be back again! Thanks for everything.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Felt Like We Were Home!

Review submitted: April 4, 2010   Date of arrival: March 13, 2010

As soon as we walked through the door, we felt like we were home. We love the setting, the beautiful Early American Furniture and the modern
comforts. It is perfect! look forward to our third stay!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Third Time Here!

Review submitted: April 4, 2010   Date of arrival: March 5, 2010

This is our third time here and each time we discover something else that I love about this house. Each season is beautiful here - its the only place to stay in Woodstock!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Nicer Than The Pictures on the Website!

Review submitted: February 2, 2010   Date of arrival: December 28, 2009

The time has passed very quickly and and we just wanted to let you know how much we enjoyed staying at your cottage over the holidays. It was even nicer than the pictures on the website, and we have already let our friends and family know about it. We hope to return for another vacation before too long! Thank you again, and all the best to you and your family for the new year,

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We'll Miss the Hot-Tub!

Review submitted: January 31, 2010   Date of arrival: January 15, 2010

We can't thank you enough for our lovely stay at this house. We had a fantastic time! We will miss the hot tub, the awesome kitchen and the cozy fireplace at night. We will be back next year!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Pictures Don't Do It Justice!

Review submitted: January 31, 2010   Date of arrival: January 8, 2010

While the pictures on the website looked really nice, they still don't do it justice. We were so excited when we saw the Cottage when we arrived - and had a fantastic time. The kitchen is great to cook in and the fireplace makes the living room so cozy. We can't wait to come back! Thanks, Judy!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review