reviews for: listing #45349 - Panacea, Florida Cottage rental

The Stewart Cottage
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  no
  • type  Cottage
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Ochlocknee Bay
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $90 - $90 /nt
    $540 - $540 /wk

sort by:

Fourth of July 2013 Weekend

Review submitted: July 21, 2013   Date of arrival: July 4, 2013

We stayed at the Stewart Cottage over Independence Day weekend with another couple who are long time friends. The cottage was immaculately clean and was stocked with everything we would need. The beds were very comfortable, too. We loved the large screened back porch and spent most of our time out there. We had stopped by the farmer's market and seafood store to pick up supplies for cooking. The kitchen is fully stocked and we enjoyed cooking our meals, especially in the large cast iron frying pan. We had the best fireworks show(s) right from the back porch from across the River/Bay and had a great fireworks show that Holiday Campground put on. While there we saw a fox come up in the back yard near the birdfeeders one night. He fled when he noticed us but we enjoyed watching him. We did a lot of sightseeing driving around, stopping for lunch in St Marks, Alligator Point, and Wakulla Springs. The husbands went fishing at the public pier while we girls went antique and thrift store shopping. Highly recommend Pottery man in Sopchoppy and bought fresh eggs from him right from under the chickens! We loved our vacation and would definitely recommend it to anyone. We plan on returning. Thank you, Susan, for sharing your vacation home!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you Vickie for such a glowing review. We do so enjoy sharing our home-away-from-home with our guests and we try very hard to make everything as clean and convenient as possible.

So glad you all found the pottery place in Sopchoppy. It's a very interesting place to visit (didn't know he was selling egg though).

I had heard that the fireworks were GREAT this year in spite of the inclement weather. Glad you guys were able to see all from the cottage.

Thanks again for choosing "The Stewart Cottage" and for leaving everything in such great shape. I look forward to hearing from you all again for a return visit.

Regards

Susan

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Fishing

Review submitted: June 26, 2013   Date of arrival: June 17, 2013

Stewart's cottage is a great place to stay especially if you like to fish. There is a public boat ramp about a half mile from the cottage. Chaires creek (beautiful) is right across the bay from the cottage and there's good fishing around the oyster bars out in front of Bald Point. We caught flounder, red fish, trout and Spanish Mackerel. Evidently there is good Tarpon fishing right outside of the bay. We saw several boats set up waiting for them to run through.

There is a paved bike trail on the road in front of the cottage and an off road hiking/biking trail which is across the road from the boat ramp. Mashes Sands is at the end of the road. Not your typical beautiful Florida beach but people do sun there and cool off in the water.

The cottage is very clean and comfortable, the beds are very comfortable and the kitchen had everything we needed. There are several restaurants within one to five miles of the cottage and fish houses where you can pick up fresh shrimp, seafood, etc.

We thoroughly enjoyed the view from the back porch. When the wind was too strong to fish and we weren't riding bikes that's where we were. There is a beautiful view of the bay. Also there were lots of birds. I think Susan, the owner, filled up the feeders right before we got there. Thank you Susan. I also saw my first white squirrel while sitting on the porch. Maybe because the wind was blowing too hard or the screen was sufficient to keep them out, there were no nasty Florida stinging insects.

I am looking forward to going again in the fall and/or spring when the fishing should be even better. Patricia

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Nice

Review submitted: April 13, 2013   Date of arrival: March 10, 2013

Deb and I enjoyed are stay at the Stewart cottage, it is just as it is described. It is conveniently located and well kept. The owner was very pleasant. Susan if you read this we left a partial bag of sunflower seeds in the container by the door to the sun porch.

Thank you,

Terry and Deb

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Terry and Deb, Thank you for the wonderful review. We try very hard to keep things as you would at home so our guest will be comfortable and will know the cottage is clean. We did find the sunflower seed, and thanks again. Hope you guys will consider coming back sometime in the future.

Regards

Susan

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Had a wonderful stay!

Review submitted: March 25, 2012   Date of arrival: March 23, 2012

Great place at a great price! Its quiet, its relaxing, its just really nice..clean, all the amenities you need to make your stay more enjoyable..My wife and I basically stayed on the porch for 90% of the trip. The porch offers a beautiful view of the bay,pleasant breeze, what more can I say. I slept on the porch both nites, it was that comfortable. We will be back.

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway

Owners response: Thanks so much Jeff, we are looking forward to seeing you back soon. Hubby is down now working on those leaves in the yard.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Breath of fresh air

Review submitted: July 31, 2011   Date of arrival: July 31, 2011

What a beautiful place to relax! This is a very cozy cottage with spectacular views. It's easy to see why people love to return! Everything you could ever need is right here. We both cook, so the well-equipped kitchen was a big plua.

There's boat access at the end of the street so it's easy to get out in the bay. Beautiful clear spring-fed rivers are so close, there's something for everyone.

The adorable needlepoints done by Pat, a sometimes tenant, really add to the charm. Panacea is a quiet town with a lot going for it besides the view. Nice people, slow way of life, and $4.00 oysters in season. Mmmm-mmmm-mmmm! Thanks Susan and Pete for sharing.

Mary Ann & Pete Parham

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Breath of fresh air

Review submitted: July 31, 2011   Date of arrival: July 25, 2011

What a beautiful place to relax! This is a very cozy cottage with spectacular views. It's easy to see why people love to return! Everything you could ever need is right here. We both cook, so the well-equipped kitchen was a big plua.

There's boat access at the end of the street so it's easy to get out in the bay. Beautiful clear spring-fed rivers are so close, there's something for everyone.

The adorable needlepoints done by Pat, a sometimes tenant, really add to the charm. Panacea is a quiet town with a lot going for it besides the view. Nice people, slow way of life, and $4.00 oysters in season. Mmmm-mmmm-mmmm! Thanks Susan and Pete for sharing.

Mary Ann & Pete Parham

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Mary Ann and Pete,

Thank you so much for your glowing review and we are so delighted that you two had such a wonderful and relaxing time. Panacea truly is a relaxing, quite but very interesting place to spend time and the surrounding areas offer lots of adventure and places to explore.

Ms Pat is going to be so appreciative to read that her needlework does indeed add to the charm of the cottage, I told her so but hearing it from another guest will make her day. She is such a talented lady.

Thank you again and we do hope to have you as guests sometime in the near future.

Regards,

Pete and Susan

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Fantastic Getaway

Review submitted: July 12, 2011   Date of arrival: July 8, 2011

We really enjoyed our stay with the kids and grandkids.The cottage is very nice and very comfortable. The children really liked fishing in the backyard and having the beach so close by.There favorite was the marine lab. Thanks Susan for everything.Look forward to renting this again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks Phyllis for your review and as we discussed earlier, maybe you and hubby can get away by your selves for some quality time down at "The Cottage" where you can just sit on the porch and watch the river go by.

Look forward to hearing from you in the future.

Susan

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Our stay at the Stewart Cottage

Review submitted: June 23, 2011   Date of arrival: June 4, 2011

My husband and I stayed at the Stewart Cottage for a week. The cottage was clean , cozy and had everything we needed !! This cottage and area is very quite and relaxing !! Our favorite spot was the huge screened porch looking out to the bay !! We spent most of our time here !!We loved this house and hope to come back asap !!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, people with disabilities, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you so much April for your review on the cottage. We, my husband and I, strive to have the house as pristine as possible, so we do the cleaning ourselves. We try also to be sure our guest have everything on hand that they may need for their stay, other than groceries.

We are so pleased that you all enjoyed it, especially the porch, one of our favorite places also, and we hope you will be able to come back again.

Regards,

Susan

PS: Maybe you all could make it back for the scalloping season, it starts June 25th and lasts till sometime in September.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Winter on the River

Review submitted: September 13, 2010   Date of arrival: November 1, 2009

My home away from home. What a wonderful day that I found this great cottage rental.. I spent the entire winter (6 months) of 2009-2010 at the Stewart cottage and enjoyed everyday...even the freezin cold winter.. From Upstate NY so this did not bother me a bit...Will take warmer clothes this year!!

I am slightly handicapped so the no stairs and all one level was perfect. You can drive up to the door to unload those groceries...

Being a bit of an interior decorator, Susan let me put my personal touches on her Southern cottage so now it looks a bit country on the river!! Guess she liked it as I see it remains the same...

My favorite spot is the screened in porch.. and the twin bed is very comfortable..Even slept out there some nights...Wake up to the birds singing and the squirrels tormenting for more food...Wonderful place for morning coffee...and warm cinnamon buns... I kept a list of birds and had over 50 kinds of birds..

My winter time guests enjoyed the cottage and this peaceful area of Florida...no traffic but shopping is very convenient in Crawfordville...Seems that my niece liked to spend a lot of time at Ace Hardware!!! Not exactly sure but did you ever hear of an Ace Hardware stocking embroidery floss??

Many great improvements have been made at the Mashes Sands Beach which is very close... even flush toilets!! You should visit when the tide is out...you can walk forever out on the sand bars...and the sunrises are spectacular...

Going back? For sure!!! Have reserved for this winter also...

Thank you so much, Susan and Pete for making your wonderful Coastal home available to a Snow Bird....I just love it...

"Now, let me see.... what can I do to it this year?" Maybe more flowers planted outside!!!

See you soon, Pat

Recommended for: age 55+, people with disabilities, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Peaceful cottage

Review submitted: July 20, 2010   Date of arrival: July 11, 2010

This is a wonderful place. Far enough out to be really peaceful, but still close to restaurants, stores, etc.... Comfortable beds, well stocked kitchen utensils, even a deep fryer.

If you need a great vacation hide away, this is the place. We took our 13 & 15 year olds and a canoe, they had a blast. Great fishing, no mosquitos in the back yard. The screened in porch was pleasant all day with a SW bay breeze.

Wakulla Springs is a must, then drive down to the river and rent a canoe. Be sure and visit the Gulf Marine Specimen Lab, after having lunch at Posey's Dockside cafe. The lab has a hands on area, really cool for all, also turtles, sharks and other non touchables.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks for the wonderful review. As we say on the welcome sheet at the cottage it is our "Home away from Home" and we love to be able to share it with others. We wish more folks like you all would come and enjoy.

Thanks again,

Susan

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review