reviews for: listing #453974vb - Montezuma, Costa Rica rental

Tranquil Ocean View, Constant Breezes, Eco-Friendly!
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  yes
  • type  House
  • baths 
  • hot tub  no
  • rates (USD)  $ 175 - $ 430 / night
    $ 1,225 - $ 2,950 / week
    $ 2,499 / month
  • sleeps  6
  • pets considered  ask owner

sort by:

Escape from reality

Review submitted: August 26, 2014   Date of arrival: August 9, 2014

I would highly recommend this house and location to get away from it all. The house is beautiful. When we were there we lived outside. The views are fantastic and there's not a home in site. One night we were treated to a troop of howler monkeys right outside the house.
Words can't say enough about how helpful the property manager, Gini was. She helped us arrange anything we wanted to do, including having a chef come to house on my birthday and having fresh fish delivered to the house on another night.
While staying there we enjoyed zip lining, hiking to and swimming in the waterfalls, snorkeling and seeing dolphins and whales. Upon returning home everyday, it was lounging poolside and cocktails on the upstairs deck that had nearly an panaramic view.

Owners response: Hi, Diane,
Thank you so much for the great review! As always, Gini and the house are stars. We are so grateful for her help.
I am very happy that you enjoyed your stay. We agree that Chef Camilo is awesome as well! In fact, we are currently at the house and he is coming to cook for us tomorrow.
I hope we see you and your party here again one day; there is always so much to do in the area that a week is not long enough to do it all.
Once again, many thanks,
Kathy

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Amazing home with incredible views

Review submitted: June 6, 2014   Date of arrival: May 27, 2014

My wife and I stayed in this amazing home and will definitely be coming back. Everything about this house was great and the views are simply incredible. We really appreciated how well stocked the house was and great cookware. We ate dinner everynight at the house and simply enjoyed the views from the pool and upper deck off the master bedroom. The beds were comfortable as well as the outdoor furniture. The property manager was great and was able to attend to our needs. This is a great place to stay and we definitely recommend staying here. Thanks for everything!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Owners response: Caroline and Kevin,
Thanks for the great review! It was so nice to meet you both. I'm glad you enjoyed the house, the views, the horizon pool and the kitchen - we cook there often as well. It's nice, sometimes, to be able to stay in and enjoy a wonderful homemade meal. And, our guests always have the option of heading out to some awesome nearby restaurants. Best of both worlds.
We look forward to having you visit again one day soon.
Many thanks again,
Kathy and Kevin

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Lovely, Amazing, Perfect!

Review submitted: April 12, 2014   Date of arrival: August 1, 2013

Casa Solipaz is a beautiful home with a fabulous view of the ocean and surrounding *jungle*! We spent a week there over the summer and I would highly recommend it to friends visiting Costa Rica. The house looks exactly like the online pictures - gorgeous, clean & comfortable. The pool was also clean and well-maintained - perfect to jump in at all hours :) Our boys were in the pool multiple times each day. We spent plenty of time while here relaxing at the home- swimming, cooking, reading, playing cards, meditating, watching the the view, and just chilling :) We went for many walks around the surrounding community - Armonia... which were always beautiful and exciting as we saw many birds flying and monkeys jumping around in the many trees. The view of the ocean from this home was incredibly calming. There are great beaches, nice hikes, delicious food and fun surf spots quite close. Gini is fantastic! She checked in regularly to make sure we had everything we needed and responded immediately anytime we called. She directed us to local beaches, great restaurants, nearby shopping, and answered any and all questions we had. A perfect adventure & incredible vacation in Montezuma at the lovely Casa Solipaz. We can't wait to return!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Hi, Kathy,
So nice to hear from you; it's been a while since you were our guests. I hope this means you're thinking about coming back?
You captured so well the essence of Casa Solipaz and Armonia Eco-Village in your review - from the abundant wildlife to the peace of our view and the restfulness of just being in the house.
We are so close to activities in town and the surrounding area while still being an oasis of calm.
Like most of our guests, you pinpointed one of the reasons our guests love Casa Solipaz: our fantastic property manager, Gini. She is very friendly, speaks three languages, and is a genuinely nice person and efficient manager. We are very lucky to have her.
Hope to see you again soon. Many thanks,
Kathy Swanwick, owner, Casa Solipaz

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great place to stay***

Review submitted: March 29, 2014   Date of arrival: February 23, 2014

The views from this house are stunning - love the infinity pool. The house itself is beautiful and very well kept...even some fun surprises like a walk in shower room! The kitchen was great and had everything we needed - the pizza oven was AWESOME. Wi-fi worked well during our whole stay. You may get some furry visitors in the back :) The property manager was awesome and very accommodating!
Thanks Casa Solipaz!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks, Kelly,
Gini really is awesome, isn't she? She is such a valuable addition to our Costa Rican experience!
And I'm happy you enjoyed the house! We so love it there and our guests have seemed to share our enthusiasm for the house, the view, the jungle and the Montezuma area in general.
I do hope that you'll come back to stay again one day!
Pura Vida,
Kathy

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Exquisite house in a wonderful location!

Review submitted: February 28, 2014   Date of arrival: February 20, 2014

My family recently at Casa Solipaz and couldn't have been any more pleased. The house is spacious, well decorated, clean, modern and well equipped. The views of the sunrise over the Pacific from the master bedroom are simply amazing. While just minutes away from Montezuma, the house affords the utmost in comfort and privacy. Kathy and Gini were both very helpful and accommodating. We can't wait to return!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Patrick,
We can't wait for you to return! We have had just the loveliest guests who really "get" Casa Solipaz: the beauty and seclusion if its location; the amazing sunrises and sunsets; the proximity to - yet distance from - the fun of Montezuma, and the tranquility afforded by our infinity pool and spacious patios.
Many thanks for your generous review.
All the best,
Kathy, owner, Casa Solipaz

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Peaceful, tranquil paradise

Review submitted: February 15, 2014   Date of arrival: February 2, 2014

My husband and I and two other couples spent a glorious week at this magnificent property. We were made to feel welcome from the moment that we made our reservation till the moment we reluctantly had to leave to return home. Kathy, the owner, and Gini, the property manager, were unbelievably helpful in all aspects of our stay. Gini bought us fruit and vegetables before our stay and brought us a BBQ so we could cook outside. And the wood-fired pizza oven outside was lots of fun! The house itself was beyond belief. All 3 bedrooms have their own spacious bathrooms (we had the outdoor shower....loved it!). The beds and linens were very comfortable. The kitchen was well stocked with everything we needed for our meals, most of which we cooked at the house because we didn't want to leave. The highlight of the house was the infinity pool. We were in that pool from morning sunrise to night star-gazing. The veranda with the dinner table, comfortable chairs and chaise lounges, and multiple fans made our stay there more pleasurable than we could ever have hoped for. The location was spectacular. We had a beautiful view of the ocean, watching the sun rise each morning. The wildlife and birds were so fun to watch. We were visited by monkeys, coati mundis, agoutis and many, many beautiful birds. The location of the house was so quiet and peaceful that we came home from our vacation rested and relaxed. I would highly recommend this house. We will be back again next year.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Owners response: Hi, Debbie and Bill,
First, I am so pleased to see that you are booked again for next year! I was very touched to see that you had enjoyed your stay at Casa Solipaz so much.
I know what you mean about hating to leave - my daughter and I just snuck in a few nights there and it was really tough to head out! We sat outside after swimming on our last night and just took in the vastness of the sky over the moonlit ocean, surrounded by the jungle. For me, words cannot describe the feeling.
I appreciate your comments about the location, beauty and functionality of the house. We built it to take advantage of the ocean breezes, so that the numerous fans throughout the house provide really lovely cooling on most days without having to be closed in with air conditioning (although we do have a/c in each room for the days it is needed!). Open the front and back doors and windows and just breathe and enjoy!
I am happy you enjoyed the pool and the oven - all great fun.
Thank you for mentioning how wonderful Gini is! She really is very concerned that each guest enjoys their time at the house as much as possible.
Looking forward to your next visit!
Many thanks for the great review,
Kathy

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Secluded Paradise

Review submitted: February 4, 2014   Date of arrival: January 18, 2014

This was a beautiful, secluded home, thick in the jungle with lots of wildlife. The house was very clean with all the amenities needed, along with ceiling fans in every room. There were six of us (three couples), and we each had our own bedroom, bathroom, and patio. But then we would all gather in the kitchen/living area, front patio, and upper deck for meals, happy hours, and relaxation. In town, we enjoyed the locals, bars and restaurants (highly recommend Puggo's and Cocolores), and lots of adventures: Isla Tortuga, hiking and waterfalls, the beach and surfing, and zip-lining under the canopy.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, tourists without a car

Owners response: Thank you, Kurt,
That's the thing about Casa Solipaz - you're right in the thick of the jungle magic, with all the modern conveniences of home. Sounds like you got in a bunch of fun activities! I agree about Puggo's and Cocolores - excellent food and atmosphere!
I hope we see you back again one day soon.
Many thanks,
Kathy, owner, Casa Solipaz

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

You Must Stay Here!

Review submitted: February 3, 2014   Date of arrival: January 4, 2014

OK, only 2500 words, where to start. Location is perfect: the ocean and mountain view, the absolute privacy along with ease to get to, the immaculate grounds, the amazing wildlife at your door (coatis, agoutis, aracaris, parrots, howler monkeys and birds, birds, birds). The house was ideal for us (three couples). We each had a very private bedroom and the most beautiful baths (a view from every shower and gorgeous sinks - never thought I'd rave about a sink!). The great room with kitchen, dining and living area was enormous and the perfect meeting area, especially when you opened up the double sliding doors to the ocean-view patio and pool. Being high up gave us the most amazing breeze that, along with the quiet, heavy-duty ceiling fans left us rarely using the air conditioning. When we did use the air, it was great to have it separate for each room so each couple had their own preference. We did a lot of cooking at "home" (it really felt like home for that 3 weeks) and there was never one item we found ourselves in need of. The kitchen was wonderfully stocked with very high quality items. We had a great time with the pizza oven out back. We found a small Argentinian pizzeria in Mal Paiz and bought thin crust pizza shells. We made pizzas four times, once when we invited some wonderful people we met up for dinner. Such fun doing a make your own pizza night. The back patio was wonderfully shaded and cool for morning exercises (to work off the pizza). The upstairs bedroom has a huge front and side porch with wonderful, relaxing furniture. The side has a huge L-shaped couch and chairs with ocean, mountain and jungle views (sunrise and sunsets!). This was our cocktail spot. We each took the upstairs bedroom for one week and it was our favorite. Waking in bed to look out at the sunrise over the ocean through extra large sliding doors, with the sound of the jungle is something I very much miss. We can't say enough about Kathy or her support staff. Gini was attentive, helpful and very, very approachable. She was amazing! My husband and brother-in-law had a lot of fun conversations with Heme (sorry for the spelling) the caretaker, even with the language barrier. He was so friendly and helpful. We had housekeeping on the Saturdays and they were quick, friendly and very thorough. I'm running out of words so just let me say: this was the most amazing house in Costa Rica - GO THERE! Thanks so much Kathy.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks, Mary, for that wonderful review!
Gini tells me you and your friends were fun guests, and so pleasant to work with. She and Jaime really are the nicest, most helpful people.
I'm glad you enjoyed all the wildlife around the house; composting and bringing the organics to the back edges of the property really encourages visits from so many species.
Very happy that you made use of the pizza oven; it helps makes a great party, doesn't it? I'm also happy that you enjoyed the services of the local chef who came to the house to cook and entertain. We have to try that ourselves one day!
And I agree about the upstairs master bedroom. All three bedrooms are lovely but that one is special indeed. It's roomy and comfortable, and the outdoor patio furniture guarantees relaxing afternoons and evenings.
Thank you for mentioning the panoramic ocean, jungle and mountain views; they are the reason we decided to build there, along with the ocean breezes.
I hope you will return one day, and thank you again.
Pura Vida!
Kathy

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

The pictures do not do it justice!

Review submitted: December 18, 2013   Date of arrival: December 3, 2013

I can't say enough good things about the house, the experience, and the property manager & owner! We were here for 4 days prior to a wedding in Guanacaste with three couples and this place was by far our best experience in Costa Rica! The howler monkeys in the morning are an unforgettable awakening, a coati came up and ate bananas a few feet away, parrots flying by, it really is an amazing property. We went fishing down in Montezuma only a 5 min drive away and came back to a huge kitchen and dining area with all the amenities you can imagine for a great home cooked fish dinner! Thank you for a great time Gini!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks, Ryan, for that great review! And you're right - Gini is a lovely person, always concerned with our guests' happiness. We are very lucky to have her as our property manager and friend.
Fishing in Montezuma and cooking your catch in our well-equipped kitchen sounds like such fun! Glad you enjoyed it.
And you're right about the photos. We have to rectify that so people can get a feel of the tranquility and appreciation of Nature we all feel when we're there.
I hope you and your friends will come back again one day soon.
Many thanks,
Kathy Swanwick, owner, Casa Solipaz

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect Honeymoon Getaway

Review submitted: November 1, 2013   Date of arrival: October 12, 2013

My wife and I stayed in Casa Solipaz for the first half of our honeymoon. We were blown away by the property and fully enjoyed our stay. We didn't want to leave when our time was up. Gini was a gracious host, leaving us some thoughtful gifts to start our trip. Kathy was extremely helpful in tying up all the details and generously offered us a discount as a honeymoon gift. Each morning we woke up to watch the sunrise from the top floor master balcony, which is gigantic. The kitchen was well stocked with all the tools we needed to eat in rather than going out for every meal. The pool is awesome and made it hard to want to go to the beach, although there are several beautiful beaches in the area. The downtown area of Montezuma is a short drive away but the position of the home, at the back of the "neighborhood" makes it feel like you are miles away from everything. Privacy was a bit of a concern prior to renting because the pictures do not show how close the neighbors are and I had mistakenly thought that the "rancho" was someone elses home. There is not a neighbor in sight and the rancho turned out to be a lovely little covered happy hour spot for us to enjoy. We will certainly be back in the future to enjoy this fabulous home and in fact my parents are renting Casa Solipaz in March with another couple after hearing such rave reviews from my wife and I. Thanks again to Kathy and Gini for a great vacation!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Hi, Jack,
I am so very pleased that you enjoyed your stay at our house! You and your lovely wife were our first honeymooners - we only finished building Casa Solipaz this past February.
Gini and I both wanted to ensure that you would feel the enchantment of the home and its lush, tropical surroundings. I'm so glad you appreciated the views from the upper balcony; I'm always amazed by the sunrises in front of the house, and the rich sunsets out back.
And what a nice surprise to hear from your mother about renting in March! Thank you for sharing such glowing reviews with her about the house. I look forward to corresponding with her further as your family prepares for their trip.
Thank you also for your comments on the "rancho." I've now realized I need to describe that area better in our property listings: It's a covered patio situated atop the garage where you can relax in comfy chaise loungers under a cooling overhead fan. Another great spot from which to enjoy the natural beauty of the area!
Again, very happy you were satisfied with your stay!
Many thanks,
Kathy

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect, Perfect, Perfect!

Review submitted: August 2, 2013   Date of arrival: July 22, 2013

If you are going to vacation in Costa Rica, don't miss out on staying in Montezuma for a few days, and you must stay at this property! The house is exactly as it's described and IMMACULATE! After the first few steps up the stairs, you know you made the right decision. The pictures posted for this property don't do it justice as it's even more beautiful in real life. The beautiful patios are inviting and comfortable and we spent a lot of time out there! The infinity pool was a great way to start or end the day. The views of the countryside and ocean are spectacular! The peace and quiet was only interrupted by the sounds of the birds and monkeys. Montezuma is only a few minutes away by car so if you're worried about this house being too private, serene and peaceful, you can run into town to get your city life fix. The house interior is perfect as well and the lay out is suitable for a family or several couples to share. The kitchen is well stocked with all the utensils, plates, pots and pans you'd need to cook at home if you so choose. All appliances are brand new and in perfect condition. Also, the nice aspect of this home having solar power is that if the power goes out, you're not completely out. Our only regret is that we never cooked a pizza in the brick oven! Our early communications with Gin, the property manager, prior to our stay were always very promptly answered and she is a gem!! She was very concerned that our stay was perfect! We would highly recommend this home for your stay in Montezuma! When you do stay here, don't miss out on taking some adventure tours with Eco-Tours, and hiking up to the Montezuma waterfall- take or wear your swimsuit because you'll want to swim once you've conquered the hike! There is a parking area for the falls near the Hotel Amor de Mar, but we drove further up from there to the Butterfly Garden. You can park for $1 there and it cuts the hike in half. Stroll through the Butterfly Garden before or after your hike! We also enjoyed a delicious meal at Playa de Los Artistas for our 26th wedding anniversary. Montezuma is wonderful and we can't wait to go back!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you, Jeff, for that lovely review of Casa Solipaz!
And thank you for recognizing our property manager, Gini, who really is priceless! She truly strives to make each guest's stay at our house memorable and highly enjoyable. No detail escapes her, from making sure there is a nice fruit and flower presentation in the house upon renters' arrival to always being available to answer any needs that may arise.
She told me she thought you all were a pleasure as well and was happy to meet you!
We hope you will come back again one day.
Many thanks again,
Kathy, owner, Casa Solipaz

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Excellent retreat with my Family and Friends.

Review submitted: July 22, 2013   Date of arrival: July 12, 2013

I took my Wife and two daughter to this magnificent home last week and we were amazed at how beautiful this property was. We met the builder as well as he just lives down the road and owned the surrounding land. We were pleased to see some amazing animals. The kids enjoyed the Howler Monkeys which were all around us every day at various times. The pool was well kept by Hymee (sorry about the spelling). Everyone was very friendly. Gin was very accommodating and Cathy the owner even checked in on the phone to ensure everything was to our liking. I would strongly recommend this place. Great value and good times had by all.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Hi, Rob,
Thank you for your kind review! I agree - it is amazing to watch and listen to the Howlers in the surrounding trees. Their loud "chatter" is astounding and such a joy to wake up to!
Gini and Jaime are very hardworking; thanks for that recognition for them.
We hope to see you and your family back soon!
Sincerely,
Kathy, owner, Casa Solipaz

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Gorgeous property

Review submitted: May 17, 2013   Date of arrival: April 11, 2013

I invited my parents to Costa Rica for my father's 60th birthday. We gave them the master bedroom on the second floor. They were like the queen and king, the whole second floor for themselves. We took the downstairs bedroom. Everybody had privacy and the terrace was a great place to gather We loved the privacy and comfort of this house. The breeze is delicious, you just don't want to go anywhere.

We got to see monkeys, parrots and even an armadillo. The infiniti pool was great and the light is simply gorgeous for night swimming. The beds are comfortable and all the kitchen equipment and linen are excellent quality. There is a great terrace over the garage to make BBQ. We didn't use the pizza oven, may be next time!

The terrace was perfect for my morning exercises...facing the ocean and listening to the birds. You must watch the sunrise over the ocean it’s simply incredible. My aunt could not resist watering the beautiful garden while having her morning coffee before we would go for our daily tours. Montezuma is great. I keep on coming back. Casa Solipaz ….I’ll be back! Geneviève, Canada

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you, Genevieve,
We're so happy you enjoyed our home! It seems like you felt the magic, as we do whenever we're there.
I'm thrilled you felt the property's peace and appreciated all the local wildlife - waking up to the call of the howler monkeys continues to enchant me. And I was amazed the first time I caught a glimpse of an armadillo - just wild!
The view from the upstairs patio is just outstanding, as you say - the perfect spot to do yoga or exercise. Or just hang out...
And we'd like to thank you and your family for leaving the house in perfect condition; you were the ideal guests for our new home.
We hope to meet you one day in Montezuma.
Many thanks for your kind review,
Kathy, owner, Casa Solipaz

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

You will never want to leave!

Review submitted: April 5, 2013   Date of arrival: March 1, 2013

This house is exactly what everyone needs for a perfect vacation. The photos in the listing don't begin to do it justice. The property and everything in it are immaculate and brand new. The gorgeous pool and constant breezes keep everyone cooled off. It is amazing to be transported to this stunning jungle location with panoramic views of the ocean and still have all of the modern conveniences of a high end hotel. The owners and staff are helpful and attentive and Montezuma with it's beaches, shops and restaurants is a short journey by car or a nice walk down the hill. The kitchen and outdoor wood fire pizza oven actually inspired us to stay in and cook. It was hard to tear ourselves away from the view and pool!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: Jennifer,
Many thanks! We are thrilled that you enjoy the house and environs as much as we do!
Kathy, owner Casa Solipaz

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review