reviews for: listing #45586 - Hawaii Kai, Hawaii Villa rental

Villa Koko Luxury Vacation Rental
  • bedrooms  1
  • pool  no
  • type  Villa
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Gated Golf Course
  • sleeps  2
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $165 - $165 /nt
    $1,155 - $1,155 /wk

sort by:

My home in Hawaii!!

Review submitted: December 2, 2013   Date of arrival: October 31, 2013

We won't be able to forget our stay at Villa Koko. Marshall & Tweed are the best hosts we ever met. Marshall knows all precious info about unknown secret places / good restaurants...!! He treated us as a family so we truely felt villa koko like our home. Also Tweed is so friendly, sweet & smarty doggy. The house is just elegant & well decorated. You have secured parking lot & seperate gate to your house. This is our second time to Ohau and we had stayed at the Kahala which is one of the most expensive resort last time, But we surely can say staying at the Villa Koko was much much better. Hawaii Kai is very quiet, safe & beatiful residential area - Costco, Safeway, Ross & decent restaurants are just in 5 minutes away by car & sandy beach is 2 minutes by walk from the villa koko! We still miss Villa Koko, Marshall & Tweed so much & will definately go back to our hawaii home, Villa Koko.

??? ??? ???? ???? ?? ????. ??????? 1??? ?? ?? ? ?? ??? ?????. ??? ?????? ??? ???? ?? ????? ?? ????? ??? ??? ???? ????. ??? ???? ?? ???? ????? ??? ???? ????? ??? ??? ?????, ???? ??, ?????? ?????? ??? ??? ? ? ?????. ??? ??? ??? ??? ??? ?? ????? ??? ????? ???? 2???? ??? ?? ??? ??, ?? 5??? ??? ?????? ?? ???? (????, ?????, ???????, ??? ???????)? ??? ? ?? ?? ?????. ??????? ?? 15?, ????? ????? 15???, ??????? 3???? ??? ?? ????? ????. ???? ???? ?????? ?? ? ???? ??? ??????? ?? ?? ??? ?? ?? ? ?? ???????. ??? ? ?? ???? ?? ???? ?????? ???? ??? ??? ??????. ??? ??? ???? ???????? ??????? ???? ??? ?? ? ???? ??? ?????. ????? ? ?????? ?? ?????!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

30-Something SoCal Gal

Review submitted: August 30, 2013   Date of arrival: August 16, 2013

This was my first trip to Hawaii. I was attending my friend’s destination wedding in the area. During my trip I stayed for the majority of the time at Villa Coco and 1 night in Waikiki. I enjoyed my stay in Villa Coco much better. It was very nice to be (as Marshal put it) “away from the hustle and bustle.” I especially liked that the parking was not on the street, which made coming and going safe and convenient.

As a single women traveling by myself, Villa Coco suited me well. I felt that I could wake up in the morning and go for a run (of course I slept in most mornings). Villa Coco is a great location for anyone who likes to run because it’s just a couple of blocks from the beach and one of the most scenic drives (or runs) in Honolulu. I also enjoyed drinking my coffee in the morning in the courtyard which is only accessible to the tenant (me) and the owner (Marshall & Tweed). I felt safe and very much at home there. I definitely want to stay at Villa Coco again in the future.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Our Hawaiian getaway

Review submitted: April 13, 2013   Date of arrival: March 27, 2013

We found this property to be centrally located enabling us to see all parts of Oahu. Near Hawaii Kai shopping area and Costco. Free, convenient, secure parking is really a plus. The owner was extremely friendly and helpful. Being scottie owners were loved our "fix" with his charming dog "Tweed". Furnishing are attractive and adequate. Truly enjoyed the private outside courtyard.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Welcoming

Review submitted: February 6, 2013   Date of arrival: January 25, 2013

I can't say enough about our stay at Villa Koko. We enjoyed every aspect of our stay. The home was very comfortable and very well decorated and designed. Our hosts Marshall and Tweed were absolutely wonderful. We loved visiting with both of them. The house is within minutes to the beach and local shopping. The snorkeling there is unbelievable. Our stay was above our expectations.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Paradise Adjacent to Nature Preserve

Review submitted: July 14, 2012   Date of arrival: November 9, 2011

I am a regular visitor to Honolulu and have stayed many times at Villa Koko because this paradise is only a short drive from the business district and I can spend hours walking around the adjacent nature preserve in my free time. I am not sure why the preserve isn’t listed as a major reason for staying there. I have seen turtles, viewed Hawaiian seals and all types of dolphins while on my walks. Depending on the time of year, you may also see whales very close to the shoreline. Around the corner is a trail/cliff called Makapuu. At the end of the trail, a light house and a sheer cliff with views of an island bird sanctuary completes the hike. From there I have watched several people hang glide off the top. Others enjoy the sunset and use it as a naturally beautiful place to propose to a loved one. Myself in the early hours I’ve been fortunate to watch the sun rise. At the house, the neighbors all have a ritual of walking on the attached golf course after closing hours to chat with each other and exercise their pets. It is a very social atmosphere and a great way to meet new people.
NO HOTEL ROOM CAN COMPARE WITH VILLA KOKO! A room like this in Waikiki would cost a minimum of $600-$1200 a night. I know this because I work for a hotel back at home. The photographs do not lie! This is a beautiful place and a value for the price.
Thanks again,
John R.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

This is the way to go just beautiful ..

Review submitted: June 24, 2012   Date of arrival: June 4, 2012

This was one of the most beautiful places i ever stayed .I fely like a millionare. My husband and i cried when we had to go .Next year we will plan on at least a month . Bye bye Villa Koko many thanks to the owner wonderful place.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 7

 

Perfect Vacation stayed for a month

Review submitted: June 24, 2012   Date of arrival: April 30, 2012

Waking up in the morning with the smell of fresh roasted Kona coffe brewing. Then a stroll down sandy beach or a BBQ at bellows and wrap up the night at one of those fancy places with a show in waikiki---My Wife and i will allways remember this vacation everything was so nice and the owner treated us like family we will be back next year for sure.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: It was truly a pleasure having you both as guests. I was pleasantly delighted to hear you visited several of the special locations I mentioned on Oahu which so many visitors miss out on.
All that you enjoyed such as the tropical breezes and the aroma of fresh coffee brewing in the morning will be here awaiting your return…as will I.
My warmest of regards,
Marshall

Helpful votes: 5 / 7

 

Could not even stay

Review submitted: July 12, 2011   Date of arrival: June 17, 2011

The owner lives on the same property, unfortunately the layout of the suite does not allow for as much privacy as we were led to believe; the owner's access was right past the sliding door of the suite. The suite is nicely decorated and furnished. The location was quite good and the parking was free. As we arrived late in the evening it took us a while to size up the state of the suite. When we did we were aghast; the place was not clean.
The tub corners had mold/mildew in them, the tub walls were grimy, the sliding shower doors were covered with a film and all the edges were either black with mold or rusted. There was hair between the toilet seat and the tank and the bathroom counter was covered with a film of dust.
We wiped the edges of the bed railings with a tissue and it came up black, more of an oily texture than just dusty. The slats of the bi-fold doors that closed off the sleeping area were thick with dust. The first cup we took out of the cupboard had not been washed and still had coffee residue in it. Our overall impression of the suite was that it had not been cleaned properly in some time and the dirt had built up.
The owner refused to acknowledge that the suite was not clean and told us that the grass cutting and leaf blowing outside had produced a thin layer of dust and that otherwise the suite was very clean.
We had trouble sleeping that night as our breathing seemed to be effected by something. When the owner was challenged he admitted that since he had bought a new duvet cover and pillow shams he had noticed an odd smell emanating from them. Rather than washing them he sprayed them with Lysol two days in a row, just before we arrived. When we pointed out to the owner that this could have affected our breathing he was skeptical and refused to take any responsibility at all.
Finally, due to the air movement through the suite we became aware that the owner was a smoker before we ever saw him with a cigarette. Again, when we pointed out that we were getting his cigarette smoke in our suite he denied that such a thing was possible and refused to hear any more about it.
We were only able to stay in this accommodation one night even though we had paid for two weeks. When we informed the owner we would not be staying he reacted very strongly to say that if we thought we would be getting any kind of refund we were dreaming. At that point we had not even raised the issue; he was not willing to listen to us or to talk things out.

Owners response: As simply as I can explain, upon arrival these guests found Villa Koko “impressive” until learning their friends were staying on the complete opposite side of the island, hence they moved and all the excuses as to how bad Villa Koko followed.
I was never even made aware they had left until much later when I received a phone call saying they “made a mistake” and wanted to stay near their friends, not wishing to return. I mentioned to them how the area they had moved to was “far removed” from anything and a high crime area. I was concerned for their safety, keeping the suite reserved for them if they felt unsafe and wished to return. I also tried to comfort them by letting them know that I would gladly apply the full amount of their stay towards any future stay at Villa Koko.
If only I were made aware this was not only their first trip to the island but a business trip which involved friends who were staying on the complete opposite side of the island, it would have been my pleasure to have given a respectable reference of other lodging options and sincere advice.
It is my goal to provide my years of knowledge on Oahu to visitors but most importantly to share as much Aloha visitors are willing to accept that the islands have to offer.
Due to their late cancelation, I did all I could to assure a positive experience, offering a complete credit towards a future stay. This is much more than many other establishments would provide, especially after checking-in.
“It takes all kinds of people to say all kinds of things” is what I have learned…but I know that my conscious can rest on the fact that for twelve years I have had nothing but return guests and many kind words in return.

Helpful votes: 23 / 29

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review